- Reviewed 1 week ago
- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.
All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.
It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.