I was really happy with my little orange rocket. The spaceships mob have a ...
The car was old and worn. Inside, appliances, such as electronics and fridge, barely worked. Staff generally wasn't interested, when we reported problems. Finally, after the car's lock got jammed, we were requested to spend hours of our last vacation day in search for locksmiths to fix the problem by ourselves. The pricing was also incredibly high. I cannot recommend the company to anyone.
had a great little time, but a little small for my long legs.
Van was good for a budget van and had everything you needed (very worn though).
But there was bed bugs which we didn't realise until the last night. Bites in pair, really itchy, big welts. Gave us full refund, but massive hassle and bother. Would not go with them again.
had a great time. Australia is ace! Luuuuurve byron bay.
I was really happy with my little orange rocket. The spaceships mob have a really friendly vibe about them and seemed to make an extra effort to get the little things in the car right. It pulled a bit to the left but otherwise everything was as expected. Well done Spaceys!
I'm glad you had a great time. Like they say in the restaurant trade, if you like us tell the world, if you don't, tell us.
The van we got was outdated and the interior was worn very very basic. Electric windows in the car were faulty and we had to drive half the journey with a window stuck down. In addition to this the customer service post trip was absolutely horrendous. We were stung with hundreds of dollars in toll and admin fees that were not made clear to us. Avoid this company.
We hired beta(suppose to be a middle range) from Cairns for 7 days end of May.
Staff are nice and explaining the car very well, and mentioned that car has to be "clean" when returning it. We thought we just need to clean the front and back windows. WRONG! You have to really clean it inside out, so next customer can use it as it is. Otherwise, $100 cleaning fee. We went to car wash around the petrol station to save the $100.
The car seems old, but didn't break down! We were a bit worried by the look of it. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. But we only stayed in the car for 2 nights, when it's raining, it's not fun, and you can't sit straight.
Overall, I would hire a bigger camper next time.
- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.
All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.
It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.
The concept is good but the state of the campers we rented were inacceptable.
Mid March 2017 , we rented two Spaceship campers, one in Sydney and the week after, another one in Brisbane.
In Sydney, it tooks 3 Hours to have the camper operational. The sliding doors were not working, the body panels had to be fixed as well as the battery.For these issues, the manager gave us a one day refund. We finally had during our trip a battery break down and after few days we could hardly open the sliding doors and it was impossible to open them from inside the car creating a safety issue in case of accident.
The week after, we took another Spaceship in Brisbane. Few hours after we left , we had no more electricity in the car: no more fridge, no more light inside. The staff of Spaceship tried to help us, they send a technician to replace the battery but the problem was not solved. We return the car 3 days in advance and we were refund for these 3 days.
The staff was helpful but there campers are so old that making them working properly in mission impossible.
Spaceship has a very attractive web site which is misleading regarding the quality of their campers. Just avoid to contract with that company.
My friend and I rented a van to travel along the east coast of Aus, the issue though was the person that we rented the van from seemed to have little understanding of the vehicle that we were getting. He was also extremely unclear on how the toll system in Aus works, being from Canada most tolls are payed at the start or the end of the toll road and not recorded then mailed later. My friend and I attempted to use the internet site with little success and had less success with the phone number that we were provided as they directed us to the website. I have since received a toll notice in the mail informing me that it could have been payed at gas stations which we were completely unaware about. The total toll amount has equaled over 180$ so far, some of which I have had the charges appear on my credit card and one noticed has been mailed to me.
When returning the van the worker seemed sympathetic stating that they heir temp staff for busy seasons and seemed to know the staff member that gave us the van and understood that we might not have received the the clearest of information in regards to tolls. The tolls are sent to a 3rd party company that collects the from the renter which means they have no ability to assist renters with toll charges, they also charge an administration fee that is 30$ per toll.
That being said the van worked well, my friend and I had no issues with the equipment provided, our only complaint is the poor information provided about the tolls system and the money that we are paying a month after our vacation has ended.
I picked up a camper in Sydney but the transmission failed about 15 min later inside the M5 tunnel. After a few hours I got back to the depot and picked up another van but found that the rear side door was locked and would not unlock. During our second day I repaired the lock but both side doors would not lock with the remote. The second vehicle was better than the first but I was still disapionted.
Loved driving around in a Spaceship. Easy, just like a car. And still big enough to fit me (1.86m) and partner. Perfect for a 2 person road trip. Would recommend.
It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food
Lots of possibilities to store, sleep, view the starts, cook, drive, listen to the own Iphone – music – little fridge lots of fun.
Loved it!! “Scarlet” was awesome! Only thing is we thought they need a bigger sized fridge!! But Overall we had a brilliant trip and i will be selling these to my clients for sure!! :)
Good car & enough room (spacious) easy to drive, good explanation.
Best wedding ever!! I think our clothes still smell like wine/ shots. Definitely lots of spills and some memory loss. Ohh and the &qhtt;Suoos! Shots! Shots!" song still makes me slightly nauseous! Haha. Love you guys! Happy Anniversary (again)!
Everything works great – friendly staff.
The van is excellent, even the older/cheaper models. Drove from Cairns to Melbourne and nothing failed (low expectations). DVD/fridge etc all well put together,fairly economical with fuel. Worth shopping around for price though, there are some very good deals away from this supposedly “cheaper” option. The customer service varies and they can be quite rude. Overall, will try Jucy when go back to Oz.
Less space than we expected. Interior could be better organised to allow easier/quicker access to storage bins. Chairs & a table would be a nice addition. Still, drives well and gets us where we want to be.