Spaceships Rentals Review

Customer rated 3.4 / 5 from 26 reviews

Editors Review

Spaceships Campervans were winners of the 2011 and 2013 Golden Backpacker Award in the category: Best Car / Campervan Rental Australia: Is there a good reason?

With no hidden costs, plenty of amenities and full 24-hour roadside assistance for those unpredictable times you run into problems, Spaceships Campervans Australia makes a good case for why it’s one of the country’s best campervan rental companies!

Spaceships Campervans Community

Spaceships Campervans Australia also encourages its own community of clients and enthusiasts that huddle around the company’s proprietary “Space Mates,” outposts along the road for Spaceship renters to meet up, collect information, swap DVDs to help pass the time on long trips, and generally touch base with other like-minded individuals as you pursue your adventure!

Spaceships campervans on the road

This emphasis on community building has surely helped to build the company’s great reputation. In fact, fans of Spaceships Campervans Australia are really ardent in their love! Proof of this love can be found quickly and easily by taking a look over at their Facebook page. With thousands of “Likes” and a very active community of individuals engaging directly and regularly with the company, it’s clear Spaceships Campervans Australia is deeply appreciated by their clients!

At the time of writing, Spaceships Campervans Australia offers 36 of these different “Space Mates” throughout the country. These stations are located conveniently, dotting the Eastern coast with a few planted in the south around Melbourne and in the Northern Territory around Darwin and Alice Springs. Keep in mind that not all of these Space Mates are fully-stocked depots. Despite offering a large number of Space Mates rest stops, Spaceships Campervans Australia only offers depots for picking up and dropping off your vehicle in Brisbane, Cairns, Melbourne and Sydney. While limited compared with some of its competition, Spaceships Campervans Australia’s small range of depots is located centrally enough that most people won’t have any problems hiring their services.

Spaceships campervans - original 2 berth

Spaceships Campervans Australia now offers its clients 3 kinds of campervans. The original “Spaceship” is a custom Toyota Estima called the Alpha 2 berth. It doesn’t come in 4WD or an external awningand it runs off a tank that can only take you 500 km without a refill. The cars themselves are stylish, iconic and filled with plenty of perks. Each Spaceship comes packed with a large double bed that can extend outwards for external sleeping, a dual-burner cooker, seating for 3-4, a DVD/CD player that can connect to your iPod, a large and secure storage space, a small fridge and even a solar-powered shower!

Spaceships campervans - Beta 2 berth

The Beta 2 Berth based on the Toyota Previa is very similar to the original Alpha 2 berth but has an extra side sliding door and an awning the comes out the back to help protect against the elements when cooking. Both models seat 4 people and I have come across a Dutch mob that was sleeping all 4 inside the campervan at night. I don’t recommend it for maximum comfort, but maybe if you get a small tent…

The latest additional model is the Beta 2S― a premium campervan that seats 2 people with a lot more space. However, the campervan has more or less the same features with Beta, except for a more roomy interior and lesser tank supply at 15 liters only compared to the previous ones at 20 liters.

Spaceships was founded in 2004 by a group of businesspeople who spent a quarter century catering directly to the needs of backpackers and other travellers. The minds behind Spaceships Campervans realised that most travellers wanted an option in between the bare-bones offerings of most budget campervan rental companies and the oversized, overstuffed, and overpriced alternatives rented out by the high-end companies. To this day Spaceships Campervans Australia has remained a small business focused on meeting the needs of independent travellers and backpackers looking to explore the world on a budget without sacrificing comfort and style! However, this vision was shared by another company – Jucy Campervans. Jucy is the only other campervan hire company in the market that has these type of vehicles

As a young company, Spaceships Campervans Australia offers late model cars. While Spaceships Campervans was founded in 2004 it didn’t reach Australia until 2007 (starting in New Zealand), and none of the campervans in their fleet is older than that, with new cars (complete with new features) developed regularly. Last year Spaceships Campervans Australia had about 200 campervans in its fleet with plans to expand up to 400 units in coming years.

For a small and young company, Spaceships Campervans Australia has done very well for itself. It’s found a unique place for itself in the market, it’s attracted a close-knit group of loyal clients, and it’s managed to grow at a fast rate without sacrificing what makes it so great!


Overall, these guys are great value for money and will try hard to please you. If you only have a small amount of luggage, prefer driving a car rather than a van and want to be welcomed by other drivers when you see them, this little campervan hire company are for you.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.


  • Campervans that drive like cars
  • Great community
  • Cheap
  • Stand out in a crowd


  • Only 3 models to choose from
  • East coast only
  • Can't cook inside camper
  • No standing up
  • Kinda like sleeping in a car rather than a camper


Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Compare prices now

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
visa - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Barely functional"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The car was old and worn. Inside, appliances, such as electronics and fridge, barely worked. Staff generally wasn't interested, when we reported problems. Finally, after the car's lock got jammed, we were requested to spend hours of our last vacation day in search for locksmiths to fix the problem by ourselves. The pricing was also incredibly high. I cannot recommend the company to anyone.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
A. Pawley - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"boo yah"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

had a great little time, but a little small for my long legs.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
G. Water - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review


  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Van was good for a budget van and had everything you needed (very worn though).
But there was bed bugs which we didn't realise until the last night. Bites in pair, really itchy, big welts. Gave us full refund, but massive hassle and bother. Would not go with them again.

2Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
S. Ozolins - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"loved it"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

had a great time. Australia is ace! Luuuuurve byron bay.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
N. Towle - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review


  • Reviewed

I was really happy with my little orange rocket. The spaceships mob have a really friendly vibe about them and seemed to make an extra effort to get the little things in the car right. It pulled a bit to the left but otherwise everything was as expected. Well done Spaceys!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hi N.Towle,

    I'm glad you had a great time. Like they say in the restaurant trade, if you like us tell the world, if you don't, tell us.


H. Hatcher - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Terrible customer service, old rundown van"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

The van we got was outdated and the interior was worn very very basic. Electric windows in the car were faulty and we had to drive half the journey with a window stuck down. In addition to this the customer service post trip was absolutely horrendous. We were stung with hundreds of dollars in toll and admin fees that were not made clear to us. Avoid this company.

1Service 3Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
JX - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Never again"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

We hired beta(suppose to be a middle range) from Cairns for 7 days end of May.
Staff are nice and explaining the car very well, and mentioned that car has to be "clean" when returning it. We thought we just need to clean the front and back windows. WRONG! You have to really clean it inside out, so next customer can use it as it is. Otherwise, $100 cleaning fee. We went to car wash around the petrol station to save the $100.
The car seems old, but didn't break down! We were a bit worried by the look of it. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. But we only stayed in the car for 2 nights, when it's raining, it's not fun, and you can't sit straight.
Overall, I would hire a bigger camper next time.

3Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
R. Delwel - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
2 Review


  • Reviewed 11 months ago

- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.

All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.

It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
P. d'Hoop - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Far from the "Swiss Army Knife" quality!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

The concept is good but the state of the campers we rented were inacceptable.
Mid March 2017 , we rented two Spaceship campers, one in Sydney and the week after, another one in Brisbane.
In Sydney, it tooks 3 Hours to have the camper operational. The sliding doors were not working, the body panels had to be fixed as well as the battery.For these issues, the manager gave us a one day refund. We finally had during our trip a battery break down and after few days we could hardly open the sliding doors and it was impossible to open them from inside the car creating a safety issue in case of accident.
The week after, we took another Spaceship in Brisbane. Few hours after we left , we had no more electricity in the car: no more fridge, no more light inside. The staff of Spaceship tried to help us, they send a technician to replace the battery but the problem was not solved. We return the car 3 days in advance and we were refund for these 3 days.
The staff was helpful but there campers are so old that making them working properly in mission impossible.
Spaceship has a very attractive web site which is misleading regarding the quality of their campers. Just avoid to contract with that company.

3Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
S. Nielsen - avatar not loaded
, Canada
2 Review

"If your new to Aus make sure you completely understand the toll system"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

My friend and I rented a van to travel along the east coast of Aus, the issue though was the person that we rented the van from seemed to have little understanding of the vehicle that we were getting. He was also extremely unclear on how the toll system in Aus works, being from Canada most tolls are payed at the start or the end of the toll road and not recorded then mailed later. My friend and I attempted to use the internet site with little success and had less success with the phone number that we were provided as they directed us to the website. I have since received a toll notice in the mail informing me that it could have been payed at gas stations which we were completely unaware about. The total toll amount has equaled over 180$ so far, some of which I have had the charges appear on my credit card and one noticed has been mailed to me.

When returning the van the worker seemed sympathetic stating that they heir temp staff for busy seasons and seemed to know the staff member that gave us the van and understood that we might not have received the the clearest of information in regards to tolls. The tolls are sent to a 3rd party company that collects the from the renter which means they have no ability to assist renters with toll charges, they also charge an administration fee that is 30$ per toll.

That being said the van worked well, my friend and I had no issues with the equipment provided, our only complaint is the poor information provided about the tolls system and the money that we are paying a month after our vacation has ended.

2Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Needs more attention to mechanical"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

I picked up a camper in Sydney but the transmission failed about 15 min later inside the M5 tunnel. After a few hours I got back to the depot and picked up another van but found that the rear side door was locked and would not unlock. During our second day I repaired the lock but both side doors would not lock with the remote. The second vehicle was better than the first but I was still disapionted.

2Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
Mart - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Small yet awesome"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Loved driving around in a Spaceship. Easy, just like a car. And still big enough to fit me (1.86m) and partner. Perfect for a 2 person road trip. Would recommend.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
H. Christensen - avatar not loaded
, Denmark
1 Review

"It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Anette.S - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

Lots of possibilities to store, sleep, view the starts, cook, drive, listen to the own Iphone – music – little fridge lots of fun.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
Kavita.T - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

Loved it!! “Scarlet” was awesome! Only thing is we thought they need a bigger sized fridge!! But Overall we had a brilliant trip and i will be selling these to my clients for sure!! :)

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
Ronny.K - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

Good car & enough room (spacious) easy to drive, good explanation.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Alex - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Best wedding ever!! I think our clothes still smell like wine/ shots. Definitely lots of spills and some memory loss. Ohh and the &qhtt;Suoos! Shots! Shots!" song still makes me slightly nauseous! Haha. Love you guys! Happy Anniversary (again)!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Steve.O - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

Everything works great – friendly staff.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
Alan.W - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 6 years ago

The van is excellent, even the older/cheaper models. Drove from Cairns to Melbourne and nothing failed (low expectations). DVD/fridge etc all well put together,fairly economical with fuel. Worth shopping around for price though, there are some very good deals away from this supposedly “cheaper” option. The customer service varies and they can be quite rude. Overall, will try Jucy when go back to Oz.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Hershell.B - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

Less space than we expected. Interior could be better organised to allow easier/quicker access to storage bins. Chairs & a table would be a nice addition. Still, drives well and gets us where we want to be.

4Service 3Mechanical 1Interior 2Value