"Don’t book with McRent"
We booked a motorhome through McRent at Lowdhams this summer and unfortunat...
We booked a motorhome through McRent at Lowdhams this summer and unfortunately had a really bad experience. When we picked up the motorhome, Lowdhams/McRent took the full £1000 deposit from my credit card when they should have only placed a holding deposit. While we were on holiday, another driver caused some minor damage to the side of the motorhome. As a result, Lowdhams have retained the full £1000 deposit despite confirming that no repairs have been carried out. We’ve also obtained an independent quote that has confirmed the damage would cost less than £300 to fix. I really wouldn’t recommend booking any motorhome rental through Lowdhams or McRent and am incredibly disappointed with their behaviour.
Dear L. Honey,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfyed with our service.
Some of our rental stations just preauthorize the deposit and others charge the deposit upon Pick-Up. Our rental station in Nottingham always charges the deposit from our customers credit card. According to our Terms & Conditions this is completely fine.
If a third party caused a damage to our motorhome during your trip, you need to collect the insurance information from the third party. Our rental station then keeps your deposit until we have received the refund from the third party's insurance. After having received the money, we will refund your deposit. Thank you very much for your patience in this case.
If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly: [email protected] . We are more than happy to help you.
tried to book a camper for next june (in november) but despite a great price and black friday deal no camper was available and the booking request was cancelled. I doubt there was ever a possibility of booking a camper at that price from the outset. Also their Bristol depot is in ilminster in somerset, no-where near Bristol? All a bit odd and a waste of time.
Dear P. Morris,
Thank you very much for your Feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you could not find an available vehicle on the Hit The Road Website.
They usually mark the vehicles with "instant confirmation", if the vehicle is available and can be booked instantly. If the note "24 hours confirmation" pops up, then your request is sent to the staff and they confirm your booking manually or in case the desired vehicle is not available they should offer you possible alternatives.
Due to a festival in the end of June 2020, our rental station in Ilminster is already sold out on some days. For all other dates in the year you can currently find an available vehicle. If you want to rent in the end of June, we could offer you e.g. a motorhome in London. Please feel free to contact us, if you would like to receive an offer.
Our rental station is located in Ilminster, that is correct. However, as one of the largest motorhome rental companies in Europe with more than 100 rental stations, we have customers from all over the world and therefore, we name the stations after the next big city. This way we can make sure, our international customers also have an idea, where the station is located approximately.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out to us.
Your McRent Team
BEWARE!!! RV are not well cared for .. read other reviews too not only mine. Our camping van had sinks completely clogged. The fridge did not work for 4 days. This business did not give proper advice, directions when handing over and did not help to restore problems that relates to the lackof servicing and check up . After a ton af calls and emails we had to take care of these problems ourself by seraching the web for long hours / days. We were not compensated for this shortfall despite having asked for. When returning the van, they denied to make note about these issues and behaved in an inadmissible rude and unethical way. They did not, won't bother to answer our email requests for compensation. IN CONSTRAST they have returned 200 euros less from the security deposit without any expalnation which they will not give even if you request for and call to do so... AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
Camper not checked by them.
Lot of troubles
Don t rely on service nor wiling to solve
AVOID WASTED MONEY