McRent UK Review

Rated 3.0 / 5 from 6 reviews

Editors Review

McRent is a large motorhome company in Europe with over 70 locations and five stations across the UK to house their fleet of luxury motorhomes.

What McRent Tells Us

It's not a question why McRent is one of the leading motorhome hire companies in Europe. They offer several locations to cater a wide range of travellers looking for a fancy stay on wheels. Renting a unit from McRent does not necessarily mean spending all your riches in just one setting as the company provides options to cater different types of travellers, from their Urban Plus to Family Luxury. Still, spending your holiday in a McRent motorhome lets you travel in high-end comfort. Further, the company now offers one way rentals to allow you to see and explore the beauty of England and Scotland without driving back your motorhome to the original rental depot. 

Fleet

Probably one of the most significant features of the McRent motorhomes is that all vehicles on fleet are relatively new and not older than 2 years. Plus, these units are from Dethleffs, a leading motorhome manufacturer in Europe. Since these are mostly luxury units, you will experience a rather posh holiday with all comforts of a home. Ranging from their cheapest option, the 2 berth Urban Plus to their Family Luxury unit, you can choose what best suits your preferences and budget. All motorhomes are designed with a fully-equipped kitchen, full bathroom as well as awning, bike rack and entertainment set. 

Vehicles

Urban Plus

Urban Plus is the cheapest McRent motorhome good for budget couples with a kid. Even if this is tagged as the most affordable unit on fleet, this motorhome will not disappoint you as it comes with large windows in the living room as well as the fixed and spacious bed at the rear. When dining, rotate the front swivel chairs or easily seat down at the dinette seating area. The layout is perfect your small family!

Compact Plus


Another option for couples or starting families is the Compact Plus. The unit is a slight step-up in terms of vehicle fit out and vehicle dimension. Yes, it is designed for three people on-board, just like the Urban Plus, but this one leaves more space and comfort because of the extended, length, width and internal height. Hence, this motorhome is much suitable for taller travellers who want to save money.

Family Standard

The Family Standard is a semi-integrated vehicle with 4 beds, which means it is suitable for travelling family or group of friends up to 4. Because of the added sleeping capacity, the motorhome is also bigger with extended internal height at 291 cm. The sleeping area at the rear features two single beds, while the other beds are located at the living room area. There's less and smaller windows for this model though.

Family Plus

Another in the Family series is this 6 berth motorhome, which  is great for big families. This alcove model is equipped with a convenient layout, especially at the rear, with two bunk beds for your kids. For other passengers, they can sleep comfortably at the double bed at the cab-over or at the convertible dinette in the living room. Since the dinette also acts as another bed at night, this will give more space for walking around. 

Family Luxury

The Family Luxury is the most coveted out of all three 6 berth motorhomes because of its luxury features and cozier interior. From the name itself, you will be greeted with fancy facilities that start with the well-kitted kitchen up to the spacious double rear bed. Not only that, this motorhome is just large in almost everything, and that includes a large garage for your outdoor equipment. But of course, you need to spend some extra Euros for this rather fancy ride.  

Comfort Standard


The Comfort Standard is best suited for couples in honeymoon or even those who just want to experience a posh holiday on wheels. Even if this is a 2 berth motorhome, there are 4 seat-belts provided so you can squeeze in two extra passengers on-board. The whole rear area is dedicated for the king-sized bed, plus there's a cozy wash room before your bedroom, aside from the fitted shower and toilet.  

Comfort Luxury

Looking for a motorhome that gives you breathtaking views of the road? Well, you must check out this Class A motorhome on fleet. As the only unique motorhome type, this easily books out so you need to act fast if you want this one. The Comfort Luxury is a 4 berth motorhome that provides a palatial private bedroom at the back and a comfy sofa adjacent to the dinette. 

Insurance

As required by the company, the security deposit amounts to GBP 1000, which will be in the form of credit card and will be collected before the start of the hire. Further, that amount also corresponds to the liability excess of GBP 1000 per damage. Unfortunately, there are no insurance options noted to reduce the excess. 

Reputation

It is with no doubt that McRent is a very popular motorhome hire, not just in the UK, but also across New Zealand and the USA. Accordingly, they have established a name in the rental industry, with a fleet of modern and well-maintained motorhomes. The slight disadvantage with the numerous stations being offered is the inconsistency of service given, especially that this is a pretty large rental company. 

Summary

McRent, as a whole, is a good and reputable company, by which you can rely on with your holidays on the road. Their newer fleet of luxury vehicles is set to make your trip comfortable but you just have to consider the rates among other things. 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Large motorhome rental
  • Modern rental vehicles
  • Several stations across the UK

Cons

  • Pricier rates
  • Service really depends on the station

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
C. B. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great vehicle, very nice people."

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Last summer I spent a really nice vacation in Scotland with my family.
We received a very modern RV from McRent with a great quality. The staff at the rental location took a lot of time to show us all features in the vehicle and they helped us to find a supermarket nearby.
We had some questions, while we were on the road and could called the rental location. The team always answered all our questions and assited us during the trip. Very freindly and helpful people. Thank you very much for making our vacation a great one! We had a wonderful time and hope that we can travel soon again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Dear C.B.,
    Thank you so much for your nice feedback.
    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with our McRent motorhome. Please feel free to contact us, when you plan your next trip. We are always happy to assist you with your travel plans.

T.G - avatar not loaded
, Barbados
1 Review

"Beware of Mcrent"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

My wife and I rented a van for 9 nights from Mcrent. We were in Ireland in the beginning stages of Covid 19 and despite the challenges, we enjoyed ourselves and the van. Half way through our vacation, we received notifications from the two airlines we were booked with to return home that they were cancelling flights on the original days we booked. So we had to cut our trip short and reschedule the flights to get home before the cut off period for flying, meaning we only got 6 nights with the van.

We explained the situation to Mcrent and requested a possible partial refund for the 3 days we were forfeiting due to the circumstances which was caused by neither them nor us, and they said no. We then asked for the option to waive the additional fee for returning the van to the airport (instead of the rental station which was hours away) in order to maximize our remaining vacation time and in order not to lose a half day of precious time on the road returning the van, to which they also said no; and that we would have to pay full price for that option. Both of our airlines waived their fees for changing flights, as did our hotel at our stopover location on the flights back. The only unaccommodating entity on our trip was Mcrent.

The Mcrent Irish team were very helpful and accommodating with our van experience which we enjoyed, and they went above and beyond to help us out on our trip and even pleaded our case to Mcrent Germany who saw it fit to be unaccommodating in a situation that warranted special attention outside of their regular policies. If other companies throughout the world could do it, why not them?

While the van experience was pleasant, I would not recommend them as the corporation itself is extremely inconsiderate and inflexible with their policies and whether you are travelling at a time of peace or unrest, you could not be certain of whether a situation would arise where they would take advantage of you. So if you decide to use Mcrent, I recommend to proceed with extreme caution.

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value

  • Brand Manager

    Dear T.G Barbados,
    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you had to stop your holiday earlier than planned due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We really understand that this is not what you have expected from this trip. However, please cosider that these measures were byond our control, as well as they were byond your control. Therefore, none of us can be made responsible in this case. Nevertheless, we tried to assist you in this situation as much as we could. Our goal was to help you out of this unfortune situation as smooth as possible. You have originally planned to bring the vehicle back to our rental station in Limerick. As you were already close to the Cork Airport, we sent out two employees to meet you half way at no additional charge. I hope you can understand that we always do our best that our customers can enjoy their holidays. We would be happy to welcome you again at McRent in Ireland, when this pandemic has come to an end. So you can go on a great advanture with our nice motorhomes and you can catch up on the rest of your planned trip.

L. Honey - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Don’t book with McRent"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

We booked a motorhome through McRent at Lowdhams this summer and unfortunately had a really bad experience. When we picked up the motorhome, Lowdhams/McRent took the full £1000 deposit from my credit card when they should have only placed a holding deposit. While we were on holiday, another driver caused some minor damage to the side of the motorhome. As a result, Lowdhams have retained the full £1000 deposit despite confirming that no repairs have been carried out. We’ve also obtained an independent quote that has confirmed the damage would cost less than £300 to fix. I really wouldn’t recommend booking any motorhome rental through Lowdhams or McRent and am incredibly disappointed with their behaviour.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Dear L. Honey,

    Thank you very much for your feedback.
    We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfyed with our service.
    Some of our rental stations just preauthorize the deposit and others charge the deposit upon Pick-Up. Our rental station in Nottingham always charges the deposit from our customers credit card. According to our Terms & Conditions this is completely fine.
    If a third party caused a damage to our motorhome during your trip, you need to collect the insurance information from the third party. Our rental station then keeps your deposit until we have received the refund from the third party's insurance. After having received the money, we will refund your deposit. Thank you very much for your patience in this case.
    If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly: [email protected] . We are more than happy to help you.

P. morris - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"don’t waste your time"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

tried to book a camper for next june (in november) but despite a great price and black friday deal no camper was available and the booking request was cancelled. I doubt there was ever a possibility of booking a camper at that price from the outset. Also their Bristol depot is in ilminster in somerset, no-where near Bristol? All a bit odd and a waste of time.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    Dear P. Morris,

    Thank you very much for your Feedback.
    We are sorry to hear that you could not find an available vehicle on the Hit The Road Website.
    They usually mark the vehicles with "instant confirmation", if the vehicle is available and can be booked instantly. If the note "24 hours confirmation" pops up, then your request is sent to the staff and they confirm your booking manually or in case the desired vehicle is not available they should offer you possible alternatives.
    Due to a festival in the end of June 2020, our rental station in Ilminster is already sold out on some days. For all other dates in the year you can currently find an available vehicle. If you want to rent in the end of June, we could offer you e.g. a motorhome in London. Please feel free to contact us, if you would like to receive an offer.
    Our rental station is located in Ilminster, that is correct. However, as one of the largest motorhome rental companies in Europe with more than 100 rental stations, we have customers from all over the world and therefore, we name the stations after the next big city. This way we can make sure, our international customers also have an idea, where the station is located approximately.

    If you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out to us.
    Your McRent Team

B. O. - avatar not loaded
, Hungary
1 Review

"McRent Portugal - BEWARE - rude staff, RV's are not taken care off"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

BEWARE!!! RV are not well cared for .. read other reviews too not only mine. Our camping van had sinks completely clogged. The fridge did not work for 4 days. This business did not give proper advice, directions when handing over and did not help to restore problems that relates to the lackof servicing and check up . After a ton af calls and emails we had to take care of these problems ourself by seraching the web for long hours / days. We were not compensated for this shortfall despite having asked for. When returning the van, they denied to make note about these issues and behaved in an inadmissible rude and unethical way. They did not, won't bother to answer our email requests for compensation. IN CONSTRAST they have returned 200 euros less from the security deposit without any expalnation which they will not give even if you request for and call to do so... AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

1Service 2Mechanical 5Interior 1Value
J. van der bliet - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Lot of troubles AVOID AVOID AVOID"

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Camper not checked by them.
Lot of troubles
Don t rely on service nor wiling to solve
AVOID WASTED MONEY

3Service 2Mechanical 4Interior 1Value