Rockin Vans Review

Rated 3.1 / 5 from 14 reviews

Editors Review

Rockin Vans has several locations across the UK, including London, Glasgow, Edinburgh and Manchester, and rent a variety of modern motorhomes and VW campers.

What Rockin Vans Tells Us

As one of the largest motorhome and camper hire companies in the UK with two depots and several drop off/ pick up locations, Rockin Vans makes rental easier and convenient. This relatively popular rental started with humble beginnings and eventually managed an extensive fleet of small, medium and large campers and motorhomes. Their prices, however, change every season. They may not be the cheapest option but their good reputation is seriously way attractive. This company allows you to explore the countryside in comfort, style and luxury. 

Fleet

Managing a fleet of over 40 motorhomes and campervans, there has been few to zero issues about vehicle maintenance, which is actually great! This means that all vehicles are maintained and service carefully. Well, the company is renting out only modern vehicles and brand new iconic vans like VW. For your convenience, these units are also possible for one way rentals! The fleet, however, has a mix of manual and automatic transmission vehicles. So if shifting gears all throughout the trip is an issue for you, then you need to check with the company first before booking. 

Vehicles

Budget Camper

Considered as the baby of the fleet, the Budget Camper or Explorer is a converted VW Caddy. This brand new VW campervan is a petite yet compact camper with all the mod-cons. Small with a practical layout and fuel-efficient engine, this van is suitable for singles or couples, who don’t mind being pretty close together. Because of its wee dimensions, this is very easy to drive and park. Not only that, you are supplied with a useful kitchen sink, drawer fridge, storage under the bed, and pop top roof. The seating area becomes a cozy sleeping quarters at night with its pull out bed. 

VW Camper

As bright as the sunny day, this orange VW camper will surely turn heads while on the open road. The campervan is easy to maneuver and has a low fuel consumption. Its iconic pop-top roof adds spacious headroom for you to stretch your legs and arms as well as cater two passengers at night. The extra bit of space also extends the living/ dining area that is complete with kitchen essentials like sink, dinette, fridge, and gas hob. The leisure battery of the campervan allows you to camp anywhere while still drawing power. 

Midsize Motorhome

In contrast to its name, the recent Midsize Motorhome is the smallest unit on fleet making it the easiest to drive. But this one is a manual transmission so you need to shift gears all the time. The exterior may look very simple yet the inside is very sleek and spacious with luxury finishing. This 4 berth motorhome comes with a fixed double bed and an additional upper bed that also acts as storage rack. The forward lounge-diner can cater all passengers with the swivel front seats rotated. Lastly, there's an on board shower and toilet to save you from any discomfort during your holiday.

Escape Motorhome

One of the larger berth motohomes, the Escape is good for either couples or family of four. The motorhome furnishes a cornered rear bed and convertible L-shaped dinette for a cozy sleeping. The rear bed provides an ample amount of storage area, which is also accessible from the outside to make it more convenient for you. On the other side of the back area is the modern bathroom with a toilet and separate shower. The practical kitchen at the side features a sink,  150L fridge with separate freezer, and overhead cabinets. In any case you are not mesmerized with the outdoor views, you can enjoy the entertainment system kitted out with TV/ DVD/ CD player and iPod connection.

Adventurer Motorhome

The other large unit on fleet is the 6 berth Adventurer comfortably catering a big family or group of friends. This particular model boasts its large windows that provide panoramic outdoor views all throughout the trip. There are three double beds on board― at the rear, double dinette and cab-over bed. If you want extreme space for your retreat, then you can have the U-lounge bed at the back; you also have the option to convert the double bed into two singles, just in case you need more privacy. The other sleeping area at the living area are also nice options, especially for your kids. 

Insurance

The amount of security deposit, which will be required before the start of the hire period, depends on the rented unit: £750 for campervans and £1,000 for motorhomes. The security deposit also corresponds to the amount of insurance excess. So you will be liable for the first £750 (campers) £1,000 (motorhomes). Aside from that, repair and replacement of tyres and windows are to be shouldered by the renter. These rates, however, are only for drivers between the ages of 22 and 70, with a driving license for at least three years with no endorsements or endorsement. Accordingly, drivers outside these specifications will still be considered but with additional charges. They have an excess insurance reducer at £15/day, which will reduce your liability at a more affordable rate. 

Reputation

Being one of the largest rental hire companies in the UK, Rockin Vans is rocking the rental industry with a bang. Really, they are one of the few recommended campervan and motorhome rentals with several drop-off and pick-up locations along with their two depots in London and Glasglow. Their extensive fleet of different vehicle sizes is very much convenient for varying numbers of travellers. Not only that, these units are mostly modern units that lessens the possibilities of maintenance mishaps while on the open road. The rates may be a bit higher than those similar vehicles on the road, but the service given and facilities supplied are way nicer than you expected. 

Summary

Rockin Vans is a complimented campervan and motorhome hire for couples, starting families and bigger group of friends. Each rental unit is ideal for different type of travellers who wouldn't mind spending some extra Euros for a spectacular holiday.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Several locations with two depots
  • One of the largest rental hire companies in the UK
  • Extensive fleet of small, medium and large
  • Modern units

Cons

  • Rates are not that competitive
  • Few negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
F. Vac - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Great car, absolutely no organisation whatsoever"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The handover process sucks.

In our response email following the rental, an address appeared (on Datchet Road a few miles from Heathrow) and the email seemed to suggest we would collect the vehicule there. We were landing at Gatwick. Thus we took a cab (~60 or 70 pounds) to get to Datchet Road. However, it appears, there's no office there anymore, just a bunch of Indian mechanics working who know nothing about "Rockin Vans". So we tried to call the phone number to talk to someone at Rocking Vans, multiple times, and always landed on a recorded message. Sure this was a Saturday, but it seems to be if you're expecting multiple pick ups (more on that later) on any given day, you would need to have someone able to pick up the phone. Or at least provide a real, usable address for the pick up location. We just landed in the UK from Canada, so had not UK phone number (borrowed people's phone for a quick call attempt here & there).

We then went to the pub nearby, where people there told us they saw from time to time Rockin Vans cars & people showing up. After ~2 hours of screwing around, this was the first time we were about sure we didn't fall for some internet rental scam and started to think again that maybe we would see our rental that day after all.

By shear luck, we found 2 other travelers there who were also looking to pick up their Rockin Van rental. They only spoke spanish and where thus (understandably) a bit confused. My broken spanish allowed us to somewhat coordinate. They had booked their rocking van through EuropeCar or something. After some time, EuropeCar called them back and told them they had managed to get hold of Rocking Vans and that "Sophie" would call them (we still didn't have a phone number to actually talk to anyone at rockin van at that point!!!!!!). We were to meet @ Heathrow terminal 2 long term stay.

We got there and eventually got at text message from Sophie telling us she was there.

That's how I managed to get my rental.

I get RV is doing that to save on rent for their handhover place, however it would be pretty easy to have some phone number available with someone actually being able to pick it up and answer on days where you expect rentals to come in. That being a Saturday is no excuse - if you guys don't want to work on Saturdays then just close for the week-end and don't do pickups on that day. If you're doing handover at an airport, one would assume some of those people may not have a UK phone number upon arrival, and/or won't have one for their trips.

Also, I assume moving out of an office (e.g. the one on Datchet Road) isn't done in a random afternoon, so ensuring your system doesn't spit out to renters false addresses to get to is pretty basic.

The van itself however was great, not complains whatsoever.

1Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
G. Johnston - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"No van and still waiting on refund over 5 weeks later"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I booked a VW camper van for 5 days hire in July, at a cost of around £800. On the day of collection I went to pick up the van to be advised it was not available as it had been in an accident. This was disappointing, but obviously no fault of the company. Rockin Vans offered a very large motorhome instead which I declined, and agreed the would refund my money.
To cut a long story short, it is now September and I have not received a refund. I am £800 out of pocket, despite numerous rubbish excuses why a refund has been delayed.. computer systems.. backlog of refunds. I have had to seek a refund from my Credit Card company instead.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
E. Van Der Stel - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"WARNING!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

not reliable
- they dont do what they promis
- made out holiday difficult
- still waiting for our money

Unfortunallity I have to wright a bad review about this company.
We hired a nice campervan for 8 days starting the 8th of August untill the 16th of August. Three days before our departure to Schotland they cancelled the campervan, because the company they work with went into administration. At first they offered a campervan for another date, but that was not in our holiday period, so I pressed on to get our money back. This left a big strain on our holiday, not only because we had to change our plans lastminute but also because we still dont have our money back. Money what we needed for our holiday.
The company said we would get our money back within 10 days. Now the 11th day, no money yet. After another e-mail contact they said 10 till 14 days and that it must have been autocorrected. Which leaves us still waiting for our money.....

So no money yet and you cant rely on them. If we did not had friends in Schotland we would most likely end up onder a bridge, because almost everything is fully booked this time of the year! So I would reccomend everyone to pass by rockinvans!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
R.B - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Amazing trip!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a VW Campervan, it was perfect for our trip. The lay out was brilliant and the van had everything we needed. 

Staff were friendly and very helpful. When we arrived paperwork was completed swifty. We then got a very detailed show round of how the van works... this set us up for the trip! 

We done the NC 500 without any issues at all the whole week. You get a helpful handout with further details on the van, some useful contact numbers including an out of hours text service number, we did not have to use it but think it's a great idea! 

We can not wait to book up again for another trip with Rockin Vans, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Thanks again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
E. CHAIBI - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"A TRAP !! Still waiting for our money back !!!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We rented a van in April. The staff asked for a 2000£ deposit, and took it directly from our bank account, saying that the day we'll return, they will refund it. 4 months later, we are still trying to get back that money. No help at all, on the phone the staff saying the same thing all the time about a new informatic program... A SHAME !!!!!! Justice on the road.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
M. Rumpl - avatar not loaded
, Austria
1 Review

"Great, will rent again"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great Van, friendly staff, very fast reply on e-mails! We had a perfect time with our almost new campervan, will come back again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
L. stewart - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Very friendly staff"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Van overall worked very well and served us true on an 8 day adventure holiday! It had everything we needed and they kindly chucked in a camping stove

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
I. B. S - avatar not loaded
, Norway
1 Review

"A fantastic roadtrip!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

This was our first time roadtripping, and the nice van and the fantastic service from the staff at RockinVans made it a great adventure! They recomended some romantic and quiet places to stay overnight, always with a great view and sunset. Our van was easy to drive, and we enjoyed all the possibilities it offered. We cant wait for our next roadtrip adventure!

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
A. Ferguson - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Terrible Service and Faulty Van"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Terrible service – advise anyone considering renting to look elsewhere

Hired the new VW campervan with a plan to wild camp up in the highlands for a long weekend. However on our first night we found out that there was a fault with the van and that the leisure battery had no charge despite driving for the last 4 hours. This meant no lights and no heating or cooking equipment.
I phoned Rockin’ Vans who, after having me trying to investigate under the bonnet in the pouring rain for 20 minutes advised me that in the morning we would have to go to the nearest city (Inverness) to have the battery replaced. We spent the first night relying on our head torches in the cold.

In the morning however they called back and said that the battery was in fact working (despite no-one having looked at it or having no more information than before) and that instead of going to a garage that I should go to a campsite to charge the battery overnight. I voiced my disappointment as we were wanting to wild camp all weekend and were not planning to go to campsites, and concern that if the issue wasn’t solved we’d be hundreds of miles from Inverness and on a Sunday and far less likely to get it fixed. We were however again told that we would have to go to a campsite regardless and that this would definitely fix it.

That night, as instructed, we went to a campsite and plugged in however as feared this didn’t fix the issue. We told Rockin’ straight away however received no further contact from them meaning we were stuck with the faulty van for the rest of the weekend, staying at campsites we didn’t want to stay at and paying for them out of our own pocket.

Also, after having paid £50 extra to have the van dropped off and collected in Glasgow, no-one showed to collect the van. Eventually after calling the head office a member of staff had to drive from the Kilmarnock to come collect it more than an hour later, leaving me late for work.

I complained to Rockin’ Vans to get the money back for the campsites and to discuss my disappointment with their service but as yet I am yet to receive any refund for the campsites or for the cost of the van and have now had no responses for more than a month despite many emails and phone calls.

Not sure if I’ll ever see my money again but advise anyone considering renting with them to stay well clear and book someone else…
Terrible service.

1Service 1Mechanical 5Interior 1Value
K. Meadows - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Stay well away from Rockin Vans"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Shocking service from start to finish.. having booked and paid for an early collection mid January for our hire in mid April, we were surprised to receive an email 3 days prior to going to holiday, stating that we couldn't collect it until noon without explanation, meaning we had to wait around the airport for 3 additional hours before starting our holiday.
Once at the depot, the staff were clueless and despite the van being "cleaned", it was covered in crumbs and had an absolutely awful smell. We waited a further 30 mins for it to be "cleaned" again however the smell lurked for over a day - pretty disgusting despite the additional pink chemicals!
At our first destination stop, we realised the back door lock was faulty meaning all our belongings were insecure. It took several phone calls and a waste of a further 1.5 hrs to rectify this issue as several staff members who took the call and promised to call back - didn't.
There was no kitchen sink plug - only discovered at the time of needing to wash up. Very inconvenient especially when widl camping in Scotland, no where near a shop and on a tight water supply. We had to schedule in a hard ware shop stop to purchase one the following day.
Pretty much all the blinds in the van were ripped or broken meaning they were especially difficult to pull down or keep down.
There was no real handover from a staff member about the van, there was no manual or insurance form in the van and when a fuse was blown we didn't even know where to look which resulted in more time on the phone to the office.
All in all a shambles and a very disappointing start to our holiday. We have tried to "live chat" with Rockin Vans about these issues but as soon as they know it's a complaint, they hang up. A letter of complaint has been sent and acknowledge on 23.4. with a promise to reply within 7 days. There has been no reply, even though this has been chased. Website looks glossy, the service certainly isn't!

1Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 2Value
F. Dickenson - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Amazing holiday with a great company!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

I love Rockin Vans! They helped us from start to finish with our trip. The camper we rented was awesome, super high end luxury feel with everything that you could need. Kitchen was well equipped and bed was really comfortable. The vehicle itself was only 3 months old and drove fantastically. It was our first time heading to Scotland so they helped us plan our route around, and told us about places we would have never found otherwise. Brilliant company and an amazing trip! Thanks guys!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J Cannon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Winter Break - Cosy and Affordable"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

My partner and I spent one week driving around Scotland in December of last year in one of Rockin Vans VW camper vans. The trip was absolutely magical from start to finish. With great advice on where to go and what to do at that time of year from the rental staff at Rockin Vans, our trip was a success from the start. We got a really comprehensive handover on pick up of the van at the Kilmarnock depot and were given a brand new VW camper van complete with every mod-con you could think of from heated seats to the latest sat-nav and control panel showing the level of charge in the car battery, leisure battery and amount of fresh water in our water tank.

Scotland, although pretty freezing was like an untouched, deserted fairytale land. Initially a bit concerned about how cold it would be, we were pleasantly surprised at how cosy our camper was. Once the heating was on, the campervan heated up within 5 minutes and with additional heat from us cooking it stayed super cosy for hours.

Only major mishap was getting a flat tyre on a rough road up north. Luckily for us, we were not far from a pub so while we waited for Rockin Vans AA to arrive we went for some pub grub and game of darts.

Really happy with the experience and customer service and would recommend to anyone looking for a slightly alternative holiday away from the business of normal life. Also, seeing remote parts of Scotland in the Winter is completely different and with hardly any other people about we had the views to ourselves!

Thank - you Rockin Vans!

Jessi & Brayden

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
M. Richardin - avatar not loaded
, Thailand
1 Review

"Many equipment not working - Rockin Vans ruined our holidays"

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Here is the list of things not working in our Rockin Vans camper. We discovered this after arriving at our first camping site the first day we got the van, but 400Km away from their office so too late to exchange. I sent them several emails describing all the issues not working and they NEVER once replied!

Front Right hand mirror side tuning light not working
The grey water tank open/close handle is missing!!! Very hard to open/close the drain just by pulling on the rod ! I nearly have to lay flat on the road to open/close the drain and then I get splashed by the dirty grey water.
Rear left brake red light not working
gas burners: 1 out of 3 is working. the other 2 do not stay on after releasing the knob, even after pressing the knob 30 seconds
The oven is not working, cannot ignite the gas. Gas switch is on.
Impossible to do proper cooking with a single burner !!! Basically we can boil water for tea but have to go to restaurants every days.
you provided only one level ramp so pretty useless to try to level the camper van for the night
The rear left storage compartment door cannot be opened so only one side access to storage, not practical at all
the heating system is hard to start every day because the switch against the window (to prevent the heating to work with window open) is not working well. I have to press the switch by hand first and then quickly press it against the closed window for it to start.
The gas door cannot be locked using key.
The rear left storage compartment : only one turn knob can be locked using key, the other one doesn’t stay locked.
TV: 0 ATV and 0 DTV channels found. Basically cannot watch anything.
Most of the sofa cushions have the velcro pad either ripped off of too hold to work anymore. So the cushions move forward when we sit and we have to keep pushing them back.
The heating combi system is very dirty. the air entrance door (under the sofa, inside the compartment) is full of dust. The compartment itself is very dirty, with even a book, medicine tables, game cards, etc. lying in the combi heating compartment! Did you ever clean your vans ?
When we first opened to drawers to look for knifes and forks, we noticed that the cutlery were very dirty, sticky and greasy. We started by washing what we needed before being able to use anything.

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
S. K. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
3 Review

"Don't trust this company!!!"

  • Reviewed

No matter what makes you think about hiring a camper-van from Rockin Vans, be sure it's not worth it. This company is dishonest. They rented us a van with a dangerous gas leak that we ended up having to find a garage to fix for ourselves, as they don't have a proper support network and all the garages they recommended us couldn't fix it. They promised to refund us for 2 nights in camping ground that we were forced to go to not loose all our food and not to freeze at night, plus a gas bottle as not only the one they had installed in the van leaked away, as well as the new overpriced bottle we've bought from them and part of the bottle we've bought during the one week trip... They gave us a collection of lame excuses and in the end they said they've lost all the original documents regarding our rental and the receipts! Plus, to try to escape their responsibility, as their disorganization is evident and their customer support is almost null, they lied in a very coward and shameless way, trying to blame us for the bad maintenance in the van, saying they've spoken to the garage and the employee who fixed the gas leak (without confirming the names) and supposedly the mechanic told them the leakage was our fault (!!!). The most coward strategy as I have 2 emails from the garage that fixed our van saying very clearly that Rockin Vans never contacted them and even less the responsible employee. Now the garage is informed that Rockin Vans is using their good name to try to support a lie! I'm sure now that they cannot be trusted, they will lie and lie to you, plus your life will be at risk as they don't seem to care at all about proper maintenance, only money! Please read all the reviews about them in several places... pay attention to the positive reviews, lots from mysterious people that never wrote another review... Plus the names, similar to several of their employees... and then read the real reviews fr customers, especially the ones pointing serious maintenance flaws and/or about an inexistent aftercare to solve problems... I regret I didn't read the reviews online before renting the van with them, which costed me having my birthday week holidays ruined by Rockin Vans. And months after, we are still passing through stressful days because of their lies, dishonesty and disrespect. Friendly advise: stay away!

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value