Captain Billys 4WD Hire Review

Customer rated 1.0 / 5 from 1 reviews

Editors Review

Located in Cairns, Captain Billy’s 4WD Hire offer what they consider to be the safest 4WD hire vehicles for off-road conditions. The company’s range of 4WD hire vehicles, includes Bush Rangers, Bush Campers, Kimberly Bush Kampers and Kimberly Kampers. Captain Billy’s 4WD Hire offers the resources to experience the real Cape York outback for yourself.

Cape York Peninsula is located in North Australia and is situated just north of the tropical resort town of

Extending over 750km’s along with a narrow peninsula to its tip in the North, Cape York covers approximately 207,000 square kilometres and is surrounded by the Coral sea to the east, the Arafura sea and the Gulf of Carpentaria to the west, and the Torres Strait to the north.

Captain Billy’s Cape York 4WD Hire is located in Cairns and offers what they consider the most suitable and safest 4WD hire vehicles and Accessories for the extreme off-road conditions you’ll encounter during your exciting Cape York self-drive discovery!

Summary:

If you’re looking for an off the beaten track outback adventure, you should consider Captain Billy’s 4WD Hire. Best suited to those who are looking for vehicles for extreme off-road travel or 4WD enthusiasts.

Branch Locations

Get a quote on your next camper holiday

1 reviews from our community

Write review
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 4 years ago

Worst car hire I have ever experienced:
1. Worst post-hire customer service
2. No handbrake
3. Different size spare tyre
4. Slow puncture
5. Expired rego sticker
6. Past service due
7. Confusion over camping equipment booking
8. 2 of above were detailed in the damage report – which we somehow did not end up with (got all other paper work)
Details below:
From: Gerry Buitendag
Sent: Saturday, September 15, 2012 1:47 PM
To: Stephen Turner
Cc: Tom Cairns
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hi Steve
Obviously you are not interested in trying to solve this issue amicably.
As we reported on return the aerial broke on our trip on the first full day before we even left the tar so I am not sure how we could have caused in-pack damage.
Your extremely slow (almost 2 months) and arrogant response solidifies my case that this is by far the worst car hire experience of the many that I have had.
I still await the refund.
Gerry Buitendag
From: Stephen Turner
Sent: Friday, September 14, 2012 10:29 AM
To: [email protected]
Cc: Tom Cairns
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Tom has answer your questions, theirs no issues, the only issue I have is the damage to UHF radio aril you have done ( broken) $293 to replace and don’t tell me you didn’t do it because I go up to the Cape 4 times a year doing tag a longs, I have look at aril and has in-pack damage.
I have look into your complaints after arriving back from 16 day tag a long tour to the Cape and their is no justification to your complaints, etc punctures you are liable to fix, inside door light bulb you can buy one and we would refund.
Will refund $300 cleaning fee, have had a good talk to Tom about your issues and he’s done good job with addressing them to you.
R1 Handbrake was noted on Vehicle condition report which you signed
2 The tyre issue — I should have sent you off to get it repaired when you found a Tyre service open .
It was not a slow leak , a roofing screw was the cause .
I gave you the only 5 Stud wheel I had as a Spare .
3 The Rego was paid prior to due date — Receipt was in folder handed to you
This was also documented in Vehicle condition report
4 When Vehicle left here it was almost one thousand Kms prior to scheduled service ,
All oils and fluids ,Tyre pressures ,etc are checked prior to every hire
5 Confusion over CAMPING equipment hire was caused by one of your Passengers phoning here
and advising me you did not require the extras ,you required the Vehicle only ,
You were subsequently supplied everything you asked for on the day at no extra cost to you
Sent from my iPad
On 14/09/2012, at 7:57 AM, Billiard Empire wrote:
—– Original Message —–
From: Gerry Buitendag
To: Billiard Empire
Sent: Thursday, September 13, 2012 9:02 PM
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hi Steve
I am now tired of trying to phone you as you are not returning my calls.
I was hoping we could resolve this issue amicably.
Please phone me on 0011 64 21 475 849.
Gerry Buitendag
From: Gerry Buitendag
Sent: Thursday, August 23, 2012 9:41 PM
To: Billiard Empire
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hi Tom
I have not received any answer from this email.
I think you should discount this hire by 25% ($889) and refund the cleaning costs($280.50), else I will be taking this issue further.
from: Gerry Buitendag
Email: [email protected]
From: Gerry Buitendag
Sent: Monday, July 30, 2012 8:07 PM
To: Billiard Empire
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hi Tom
I am not arguing the details, for an annual care-free holiday, the expensive car hire, was not anywhere near worth it.
I have never hired with so many issues – even cut-rate in 3rd world countries.
Come back to me with the refund (I am in Africa 1/8 to 21/8 so may not be reading emails often).
Gerry
From: Billiard Empire
Sent: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:47 AM
To: Gerry Buitendag
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hello Gerry
I am presently waiting for the owner of Business to arrive from Cape York tour .
However
1 Handbrake was noted on Vehicle condition report which you signed
2 The tyre issue — I should have sent you off to get it repaired when you found a Tyre service open .
It was not a slow leak , a roofing screw was the cause .
I gave you the only 5 Stud wheel I had as a Spare .
3 The Rego was paid prior to due date — Receipt was in folder handed to you
This was also documented in Vehicle condition report
4 When Vehicle left here it was almost one thousand Kms prior to scheduled service ,
All oils and fluids ,Tyre pressures ,etc are checked prior to every hire
5 Confusion over CAMPING equipment hire was caused by one of your Passengers phoning here
and advising me you did not require the extras ,you required the Vehicle only ,
You were subsequently supplied everything you asked for on the day at no extra cost to you
Regards
Tom
—– Original Message —–
From: Gerry Buitendag
To: Captain Billy 4WD Hire ; [email protected]
Sent: Tuesday, July 24, 2012 8:03 PM
Subject: Re: Captain Billy 4WD Hire Booking Confirmation #QLD3052 (Cairns)
Hi Tom
I have not received any of the expected communication from you since we handed the car back last Saturday or the expected refund of the cleaning costs.
I assume there was no issue with the car or its cleanliness or you would have mentioned it earlier.
Just to recap, I have paid you:
26/3 $500.00
21/6 $3055.72
30/6 $280.50
————
Total $3836.22
We were not happy with the car, due to the following problems:
1. No handbrake
2. Different size spare tyre
3. Slow puncture
4. Expired rego sticker
5. Past service due
6. Confusion over camping equipment booking
I spent the first week of the holiday wondering what would go wrong next.
I am someone who strongly believes in feedback to companies about good & bad service & that this car hire was the worst I have ever had by far. Your prices were not greatly different to other companies I checked, but I would not accept this kind of a car hire from anyone.
I think you should discount this hire by 25% ($889) and refund the cleaning costs($280.50), else I will be taking this issue further.
Thank you .
from: Gerry Buitendag
Email: [email protected]

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value