Cruisin Motorhomes Review

Customer rated 3.6 / 5 from 24 reviews

Editors Review

Cruisin' Motorhomes is one of Australia's premier Motorhome and Campervan rental companies. A family-owned business, they have an excellent range of mid-range to luxury campervans and motorhomes in differ in sizes.

About Cruisin' Motorhomes

A family-owned company, Cruisin Motorhomes have been in operation since 1999. Based out of Tasmania and at first and called Cruisin’ Tasmania, they soon expanded to cover more of Australia, and now have branches up and down the east coast in Hobart, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, and Cairns. Offering a range of vehicles with 2-berth campervans being the most affordable option, as well as motorhomes ranging from 2 to 6 berth  their focus lies primarily on providing a modern, home-away-from-home travelling experience. 

Fleet

All vehicles in the fleet are a maximum of four years old. Cruisin’ are the third largest company of their type for 4- and 6-berth rentals in Australia and offer motorhomes in these sizes, as well as 2/3-berth motorhomes and campervans of the same capacity. All vehicles come equipped with linen, cutlery, crockery, and bedding. None are equipped for car seats for children under four years of age, although they are suitable for seats accommodating children between four and six. These can be hired  along with camping chairs and tables  for the duration of the journey at$35 apiece.

Vehicles

2-3 Berth  Hi-Top  

The 2/3-berth Toyota Hi-Top is one of only two campervan models in Cruisin Motorhomes fleet. Featuring a double bed with an additional overhead single, its a good size for parents with one child or a couple on a budget whod prefer not to drive a full-blown motorhome. As is to be expected from a vehicle of its size, there are no toilet facilities, but it features a microwave,two-burner gas stove and fridge.

2 Berth Adventurer

The 2 berth Adventurer motorhome may be the smallest self-contained motorhome in the fleet, but it can pass as a 3 berth campervan with an overhead double bed and dinette single. Best for two people, either with or without a child to bring along, it is compact and cost-effective. Along with the amenities that come with the campervan models, a 90-liter fridge-freezer means that those who are planning to bring food along and save on costs are well-suited to the Adventurer.

2 Berth Sandpiper 

The 2-berth Sandpiper campervan model is much more luxurious with its additional space, along with a toilet, shower, and television in addition to the cooking facilities of the Hi-Top. An open walk-through passage between the drivers area and the main cabin is a bonus. For two-person groups with a little more money to spare and a preference for having enough room to move around, who would still prefer a campervan to a motorhome, the Sandpiper is the best option. 

4 Berth Seeker

The 4-berth Seeker motorhome seats four adults, and has one permanent double bed in the rear and one above the driver. Bathroom facilities and a relatively spacious kitchen are provided, along with a radio, television and CD player; it is also equipped with an awning. This is one of the newest motorhomes in the fleet and is a smooth ride. The permanent bed in the rear could be seen either as a bonus because you don't have to set it up each night or a pain as it means all table activity happens around the one small table situated behind the driver. Personally, I would prefer the option to pack the rear bed away. Also, the shower is see-through enough that if you are two couples travelling together there will be some privacy/access issue whilst they happen. All in all, though this is a plush camper.

6 Berth Discovery

Cruisin Motorhomes offers two 6-berth motorhome models. Let's begin with Discovery. The Discovery comes with one permanent overhead and 2 fold-out double beds in the rear. Along with all the other amenities provided in the 4-berth Seeker, it also has a whopping 110-liter fridge-freezer and a 3-burner gas stove. It will be the older of the 2 6 berth models so expect a little wear and tear. It is built on the VW base with a diesel engine and auto transmission.

6 Berth Deluxe

The Deluxe, as the newest addition to the fleet, is significantly larger, with two main living areas and a 150-liter fridge-freezer. Built on a Fiat base, it's the plushest motorhome that Cruisin' offer with a guarantee that it won't be over 2 years old. With all the latest design features this motorhome is sure to satisfy anyone looking for a full 5 star apartment-on-wheels when they travel.

Insurance

All Cruisin Motorhomes vehicles come with standard insurance, which is a $5000 bond. This payment is collected by credit card at the point of creation of the rental contract. You have the option to reduce the liability and security bond to $0 b thru the Liability Reduction Option at $45 per day.  Further, there is the Maximum Cover Package at $55 per day that includes windscreen and tyre damage, pre-purchase LPG, GPS, camping table and chairs, toddler and child seats— on top of the Liability Reduction Option coverage. 

Reputation

Customer opinions of Cruisin Motorhomes are divided. Many have praised the low rental rates and comparatively high quality of the vehicles in their fleet, which are reportedly easy to drive and are equipped with great amenities. There is also plenty of appreciation fort heir wide range of pick-up and drop-off locations.

However, a sizeable minority has complained that despite the well equipped and modern nature of the vehicles, they often come out in bad condition and are poorly maintained. Flimsy awnings and faulty batteries have been reported, along with necessities like fly screens being barely functional, and oversights that can end up making vehicles road-illegal such as missing rear bumpers. Whats more, the company can apparently be dismissive of these important issues, claiming that the blame for pre-existing faults lies with the customer, and reportedly using any excuse to withhold bonds and get extra money out of those who complain, as well as providing poor customer service overall. Communications and refund requests have ended up being ignored or delegated to the point where it is impossible to get a straight answer out of the company, and some report that its as if they are trying to avoid responsibility at all costs. 

Many of the reviews with a generally positive tone still mention badly-maintained vehicles and stinginess with bondsthese problems seem to be near-universal among Cruisin Motorhomes customers, which is a serious cause for concern.

Summary

Whilst Cruisin' Motorhomes is one of the well-favored campervan rental options in Australia because of its business longevity and extensive fleet, this family-owned company continues to be work in progress, but in a good way. 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Good choice range
  • Some good campervan designs
  • Expanding motivated company

Cons

  • Limited depot choices
  • East coast and Tasmania only

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
M. Bardram - avatar not loaded
, Denmark
1 Review

"Missing customer service and bond"

  • Reviewed 1 day ago

The customer service don't reply. We have not heard anything about our 5000AUD bond yet and we returned the car a week ago.
They keep telling us that they will send our mesage to another department and then we never hear anything.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
WordGirl - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"I regret Choosin’ Cruisin Campervan hire"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Hobart office. Shocking customer service. Electrical faults with van. Wrongfully charged me for damage caused by previous customer. Attempted to wrongfully charge me to replace damaged awning ($1250) they later admitted caused by previous customer. Day 1: Booked van broke down. Had to wait 3.5 hours for another van to be (rushed) prepared. Was sent off at 6:15pm without ANY instruction on how to hook up van (or anything). Staff member had to go do paperwork, told me to watch video when I got there. Drove into first ever caravan park in the dark. No idea how to open side hatches to access power cable. Wasted an hour while children hungry for dinner. Used camp kitchen. Day 2: wasted 30 mins calling Cruisin trying to isolate why electric hot plate didn’t work. Unresolved. Used camp kitchen. Night 2: wasted an hour trying to isolate why internal electrics not working . Included moving the van in the dark to another site. Cruisin adamant the issue was with caravan park, their vans ‘never have electrical issues.’ Day 3:(In total lost 5 hours due to problems) Left Park 2 hours late as had to charge all devices in camp kithen. Caravan park management (rightly) argued the electrical issues were not with them. Abandoned plans to free camp as van had not been charged. Arrived at new caravan park. Internal electrics still not working. Wasted 2 hours, called Cruisin, (message) waited 1.5 hours for return call. Cruisin wanted me to stay at caravan Park for one hour til local electrician could get there. Seriously. No! Was finally taking my kids for a walk in Bay of Fires - cut walk short and ended up driving to electrician’s workshop. One hour later most of electrics working thanks to strung up extension cable(!) Had to prepare dinner with electrician lying across floor. Hungry children again ate dinner late. Fed up with all issues . Returned the campervan one day early. On return was accused of causing paint scuff to awning, and charged damage administration fee. (they later admitted was previous customer). Do not trust them!!! take your own pictures of the entire campervan before driving it away!!! One week later got an invoice for $1250 for replacement of damaged awning! They had to admit damage was caused by previous customer and not charge. Our trip was planned for months, and long looked-forward to. Thanks to all the time wasted trying to work out problems with the van, we missed out on major highlights of the trip - didn’t get to Wineglass Bay, kids didn’t get to see fairy penguins in Bichenot and all soul-crushing phone calls to the Cruisin helpline instead if enjoying our holiday. Several people we met along the way had van breakdowns and other issues with Cruisin. I heard very good things about Apollo campervan here. Would go with them next time.

1Service 3Mechanical 4Interior 1Value
C. Timpson - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Deceptive Company"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Booked a specific vehicle. Was advised by competitor (when checking prices) that this vehicle was not available in Cairns. Sought and got an assurance from the company I was dealing with that it was available.
On arriving for pickup, sure enough, different vehicle. On questioning this, the Cruisin staff member confirmed "we never have that in Cairns". They took my booking knowing full well we were not going to get the requested vehicle. That is dishonest trading.
They say it's an "upgrade" like they have done me a favour.
Had they been honest I would have chosen s company that had a vehicle to suit our needs.
Condition of vehicle was spotlessly clean. Broken rear fender. 2 pot drawers that fall out, had to take them out when travelling.

4Service 5Mechanical 1Interior 2Value
Richard - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Great camper van experience"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Check in and check out were really fast for me but we did pick up early. The van we had was great, the best we have had in Australia and we have had a few. The price was good compared to others we have used.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. Middleton - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Great value 6 berth"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We hired a 6 berth campervan at the end of September. From the Brisbane depot. The office was really busy when we arrived with people checking in and out and the staff were a bit run off their feet but still smiling.
We had to watch a comprehensive video before we drove off where we picked up some useful info.
The camper was spotlessly clean, great to drive on the open road and it felt quite new so no significant rattles and no mechanical issues either.
Because we hired it during shoulder season, the rates were very reasonable.
BEWARE of third party insurance companies selling you cover if you’re not booking directly on the Cruisin website. You will have insurance options when you collect it (and not pay twice like we did).

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
John - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Poor service and livability - Sandpiper Motorhome"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Hired from Sydney. Service was very poor. Took over two hours to arrange the hire. Only one staff member with multiple customers. Some local staff had a poor command of English which made communications difficult.
Sandpiper is very cramped and bed height was an issue for us. Toilet /shower compartment is small. Television did not work - even after assistance from company could not tune in stations.
Mechanically vehicle performed well.

1Service 4Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
M. Moser - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"perfect from a to z"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

picked up my campervan in cairns within minutes, got an upgrade to an absolut perfect camper. wish i could have kept it. had the best 3 weeks in australia with this absolutely amazing camper. staff is also friendly and uncomplicated. (the only thing, that i could suggest to improve, is that there is a management fee of 100$ that was not really clear stated when i booked the camper. this fee should be included in the rental price so the comparison of the vans actually make sense...). thanks a lot to cruisin for everything!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Nadine C. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Perfect trip and excellent service!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We had a perfect Trip with the van of No Worries! We can definitely recommend it!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Amalia B. - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Great campervan for our roadtrip! Definitely recommend!"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

The campervan we got was the 2/3 Berth which was an older model but actually had a great setup and enough space for 2 people to move around! Everywhere we were stopping by, people looked at our camper and were impressed by the look of it.
We have driven for 3 weeks from Sydney to Cape Tribulation and we had no issues, it was actually perfect size, not too big so that wouldn't drive fast enough and not as small that can't move in it!
On our way, we also stopped by the Cruisin in Cairns and the staff was amazing and friendly, helped with any questions, tiny issues and provided with tips for the rest of our way.
On our final day, the guys gave the order to release the bond liability which was actually back in my account within a week although informed that may take up to 2 weeks. In addition, Cruisin also returned back the interest amount that my bank charged due to the transaction made!
Overall we were very happy with the campervan, the total experience and the young & friendly staff! Compared to previous experience as well as the price on others companies, our campervan was similar/better and cheaper.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
M. Ninkovic - avatar not loaded
, Slovenia
1 Review

"A family trip"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

A family holiday,traveling from Brisbane to Townsville with a Cruisin berth 6 a great motorhome,lots of space for the kids,very easy to drive in good condition all in all a very positive experience,would recomend to enyone.Also the price was great,we took the motorhome for a month and no problems at all.The service at Cruisin was very profesonal and frendly-great job.

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value
T. McB - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Vehicles okay but bad cs"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Okay vehicles. Not very clean but nice but my experience with customer service was a nightmare.

3Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
Not Happy - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"BEWARE: HARD TO GET YOUR $5000 DEPOSIT BACK"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

When you rent from Cruisin they debit your credit card $5000. The debit appeared on our credit card the following day. We returned the van and it was agreed there was no damage. Fifteen days later we are still waiting for our $5000 back. They tell me it is over Xmas and things take longer. They tell me their accounts department takes that long to process the return of our money. They tell me it was transferred back to us 8 days ago. Why don't I believe any of that?
This is simply not good enough. There is absolutely no reason for them to continue to hold our money.
So if you want to rent from Cruisin be aware of this.

3Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
C. Hunter - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"MIxed"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Allow a lot of waiting time on collection of your vehicle.
Inspect every aspect of your vehicle thoroughly.

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
N. Krogdahl - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Really bad experience"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

We have hired the deluxe motorhome from this company at the beginning of December but there was nothing deluxe about our experience. The motorhome was not clean properly with cockroaches everywhere at night which made it very uncomfortable for the whole family. In fact we ended up staying in a hotel the last night of our holiday. Anyway save your money and either choose another company or go to a hotel. We will never repeat this experience again.

3Service 4Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
R. Stoeckigt - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"Poor usability/design"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

4 people, 2 adults and 2 kids, 4 and 6 years old - we had great 3 weeks on Tasmania. After som good experience in NZL begore we choose once again a 4 berth hightop camper. The choice for fixing 2 child seats has been very limited.
Demonstrating how to install the (extra charged) seats seemed to be a bigger problem for the service staff which has not been motivated at all. Same when we asked for a self containment certificate. In fact there was not any but no one could explain us whether there are limitations in Tasmania regarding using free camp spits with out type of campervan. Finally we were not allowed to use some places as grey water collection and a toilet had been required. Both is not part of the 4 berth van.
Furthermore the interior was very disappointing.
No fixings for curtains...in the morning it gets quite clear in the camper. Sink and fridge, cupboard hard to reach as hidden under overhead boards.
Bedsize very short for persons taller than180cm. Mattress won't last very long and gaps remain open after installation.
Hand rail at ceiling on co pilot side cannot be flapped in and provokes many head knock ons.
Micro wave unnessecary as available on all camping spots where power sites are available.
Service fee paid for bond... as we did not want to pay for unnessecary insurance.
Cooking in the camper often started fire alarm even when all doors were open.
Limited storage space but need for storing car hand book and so on.
Technical condition was okay. Battery lasts okay. Navi worked well.
Next time i would chose simular size but other interior design and other company.

2Service 3Mechanical 2Interior 3Value
L. Stevanka - avatar not loaded
, Czech Republic
1 Review

"waste of time, no deposit yet"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

I'll be short because of my holiday, will write more after. We return our wehicle on Monday, they said to us, the deposit 5000 dollars will be on our account in 3 day (why so long, i dont know). Now is Friday night and the money nowhere. As I said, the other expericence will I write later.

4Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
P. Z - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Really good"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

We hired a cruisin camper in cairns. Really friendly staff and we got a new campervan! It was perfect i really would recommend them. When we brought the camper back they called a taxi for us.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
B. Wong - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Friendly customer service, new van and clean campervan"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Had a very very friendly customer service rep - Grace
She really influenced me and assured me a lot of things leading to me booking a campervan. This was my first time booking a campervan and I have definitely enjoyed the great experience. Brisbane was the hire place, we went around Brisbane, Sunshine coast and Gold Coast. Gearbox and car was easy to drive, it takes time to get used to the long and wide car but if you drive a 4WD like me, it was pretty easy to get used to it. Plenty of essentials provided, towels, bed linen, pillows and blanket. Other companies (cheap ones) would not provide this, and I'm VERY glad I booked through these guys.
Campervan was well maintained, got a newer one even though I booked an older vehicle. Cruising motorhomes accommodates the 3 of us with a bigger/newer/comfortable van with auto. We did not complain.
Utensils was clean, bed was clean, cabin was clean
Cruising motorhomes was very nice, I would rent again if I go other parts of Australia like Tasmania. Thanks so much for the good service

The van would be cheaper for off peaks with discounts from time to time

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
T. Howard - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Absolutely outstanding"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We hired from the place in Sydney .Absolutely outstanding staff went above and beyond for us we hired a six berth campervan for a month every thing we needed was included very clean ,you can't go wrong with this company we.if we return we will definitely hiring from this company again we wouldn't use anyone else. We came from England in September felt very welcomed! If I could rate it 10* I would

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Marie - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Check for charges!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

My van was OK...things fell off the van interior, the fire alarm battery ran out at 5am the first morning with ensuing warning siren....but being hit with bank charges for a bond that amounted to more than 2 days' rent and having to wait 10 working days (so about 3 actual weeks) was very shoddy. Be aware that your reasonably priced van becomes a much more expensive proposition in reality. Seems ridiculous as costs just not necessary: hold the credit card details, like other hire companies. Also be aware that the opening hours (in Sydney) so not apply to the van: they expect vans back much earlier, cutting down your rental time.

3Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 2Value