Lucky Rentals Australia Review

Rated 2.0 / 5 from 13 reviews

Editors Review

Concentrating on the budget market, Lucky Rentals Australia has multiple depots across Australia and is heavily linked with Jucy rentals. Find out why...

About Lucky Rentals 

With Lucky Rentals, you'll probably get lucky in terms of spending your money on adventures rather than on expensive campervan hire. Well, they are an ultimate budget campervan rental company in Australia that caters to those looking for the cheapest campervan around. If you're wondering why Lucky Rentals is heavily linked with Jucy, it is because the latter sends off their older vehicles to Lucky Rentals as soon as these are no longer suited to the Jucy brand. Most major companies do this to protect the brand but continue to run an asset that is still useable, and Jucy is one of them. Whilst they only have depots in Cairns, Sydney, and Perth, they also offer pick-up/drop-off in Brisbane and Melbourne.

Fleet

Considering this campervan hire practice, expect the Lucky Rentals vehicles to be older and have some wear and tear― but, of course, they will be much cheaper. Jucy has been making quality vehicles for years and whilst the new ones under the Jucy brand have better designs and attributes, the older model available at Lucky Rentals is the reason why Jucy has become the one of largest campervan hire companies, not just in Australia, but also in New Zealand. The Lucky Rentals fleet is composed of Toyota and Nissan models, all automatic transmission and sleeps 2 to 4 adults. 

Vehicles

Lucky Rookie

A 1997-1999 Toyota Tarago, Lucky Rookie is a 2-berth campervan that acts like a race car with a hostel room in it, which means you have lots of freedom to wander along the scenic roads and park your vehicle at times. This ex-Jucy campervan is the cheapest selection on fleet so it may be quite worn out yet still pretty reliable on the road with camping facilities like gas cooker, double bed, CD player, and radio. So far, the Lucky Rookie is ideal for couples or backpackers on a very tight budget. 

Jucy Crib

Another 2-berth campervan on the set is the Jucy Crib―a more compact and fully stocked Toyota Tarago with camping essentials and even upgrades like a powered chill box and a kitchen sink. However, compared to the Lucky Rookie, this one is pretty much bold with lots of marketing slogans and company name scattered all over the vehicle. Well, that's how Jucy is known for! Even with its eye-catching colors, this compact unit is still a nice option if you want something way convenient and comfortable. 

Lucky Roamer

The Lucky Roamer, a Nissan Elgrander, sleeps 4 persons and provides all the modern and significant features of a home. For larger groups, this economical campervan is a suitable pick as it comes with a kitchen at the rear packed with 2-burner gas cooker, butane cookers, sink, fridge, and even a lockbox for your valuables. There is a double bed in the back and another double bed on the rooftop pod. 

Jucy Condo

A Toyota Hiace or similar, this Jucy Condo comes with two double beds that sleep up to 4 adults. The custom-built interior provides a more spacious living room with large TV with DVD player. The kitchen is also fitted out with 2-burner gas cooker, compressor fridge and more. 

Insurance

As recommended by most companies, either to earn sales or help renters, you can pay the priciest yet the safest insurance option. For Lucky Rentals, they suggest the 'Sure Thing' coverage that requires you to pay $30/ day and you will enjoy NIL/ $0 excess and piece of mind. If you think the first option is quite pricey, then there's the 'On the Fence' at $20/day with a liability of only $2,000. And if you really don't want to bother having insurance coverage, then take the 'The Gambler' that does not require a single cent but provides a risk of $3000 on your bank account.

Reputation

Lucky Rentals may be offering outrageously cheap campervans that continue to entice the budget market, but its reputation is something to ponder on. There have been several bad reviews that significantly put the company out of the top picks. The competitive prices are serious lures, but of course, campervan dependability along with nice customer service is much more important. And that's something that Lucky Rentals haven't perfected for years. 

Summary

We consider Lucky Campers Australia an OK company, especially if you are looking for cheap camper hire. But hire from this company with your eyes open; the campers are old, they have been used a lot, there is a large fleet that has to be maintained, and the older vehicle, the more maintenance it needs. All of these mean that you should, at least, expect something wrong with your campervan. The question will be just how wrong that thing will bemaybe a broken cigarette lighter, maybe stained curtains, maybe a glowing engine light and maybe a full breakdown. There is going to be wear and tear and lots of KM's on the clock. Aim low and you won't be disappointed, go in the believing you got a 'bargain' by getting a flash campervan at a bargain price and you may be in for a surprise.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Cheaper rates
  • Rents to 18yo+, not just 21yo+
  • Multiple depots

Cons

  • Older campervans
  • Only 3, spread out depots
  • Questionable reputation
  • Lots of negative reviews

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
P. L - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"zero maintenance and effort to correct issues"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We picked up the Lucky Roamer in Brisbane, with no real introduction. We found within the first few days that the vehicle needed some major work as it was so old without any restorative work completed.

work to be done|:
Just to give you an idea of the kinds of things which should have been done prior to rental

Wing mirrors fixed
Rear shocks replaced as they bang every bump when four people in van
Check tire pressures .. when we took it the pressures where 15,25,30,50
To find out later that the passenger rear tyre has a slow leak
Clean and remove small from roof top camper (it was impossible to stay in the rooftop for more than five minutes without throwing up)
Fix seats in camper so they form benches on both sides of table
Fix table
Repair and clean seat upholstery
Repair dashboard cracks around radio
Repair overhead console.so it works
Repair DC outlet so it will charge cell phones
Sort out transmission when traveling about 100kmh
Repair fridge door
Repair or install freezer door
Supply cooking utensils

None of these items should have to be done while the van is on rental. They should have been done prior to rental. We should not have to give up a day or more chasing around looking for a .mechanic and then waiting the day for him to fix all this while we are renting and on holiday

Clearly this vehicle is in need of major time (it has over 420,000km)

This vehicle really has earned a good rental time and needs work if it is to continue.

5Service 3Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
H. Woodruff - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Good deal for a shoestring campervan holiday"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Had to come back after 2 minutes driving as the vehicle was making terrible noises. After a two hour wait they had fixed the problem, lucky that I hadn't driven any further. Got a one day rebate for my troubles. Although the van used a lot of petrol, it went ok. The bed was a bit hard, but otherwise it was perfect for a week on the road.

5Service 3Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
C. Britton - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Cheapest is not always the Best, Stay clear."

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Customer service was very Bad, camper broke down twice with servicing issues in the Northern Territory. Was promised Motel refund via email and over the phone as well as oil ,petrol and taxi fairs due to fuel filter not been changed on vehicle, altogether $350 in total was promised back by Perth Manager Matt..
Promised back on Card when dropped vehicle of at Sydney..
5 weeks later still no payment back after emails and phone calls.
Very two faced management and unbelievable non caring customer service...Please stay away from this lot..

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
C. Harris - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Insurance policy sketchy"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

From the start we knew that the vehicle was exactly what we paid for. Our rookie made weird noises and the mechanical quality of the vehicle should not allow it on the road. On the last day of our trip, only 4 hours from Perth, we hit an emu on the road and couldn't reach anyone at Lucky for help. We paid for the "sure thing" insurance package, thinking this was a form of comprehensive insurance and that everything would be covered. Wrong. Lucky Rentals does NOT cover towing. Our towing price came down to $2500 and over email they said "that sucks" and it's not covered. Consider this when choosing a rental, and always take the safer vehicle with a better company!!

2Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 2Value
A. Wood-smith avatar
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Not bad for the price"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Having read the bad reviews before I rented the campervan I was worried and promised I would do a real review of lucky when I finished as it felt like most of the bad reviews were from a select few as the people who have good experiences hardly ever do reviews!!
I had the lucky rookie for 33 days, the car had 650,000k on the clock and I did 7000k on my trip. The car didn't give me one bit of trouble but I did take it really easy drove 10km under the speed limit everywhere and never went over 2500 rpm. The car really looked it's age and was falling apart inside and wasn't much better outside but for $1100 you can't expect much. The car drank a lot of fuel even for me driving like a granddad!! But it wasn't too extreme. The headlights were dim what made driving at night hard and resulted in me hitting a pothole and shredding my back tyre when I Tried to change the wheel the spare tyre was the wrong type so I had to get towed to the tyre shop. They did apologise for this and waved the tow fee and we were on our way the next morning so this wasn't too much of a issue. All in all my experience was a good one. I think as long as you treat the vans well you shouldn't have too many problems, you wouldn't expect a 80 year old man to run a marathon so don't push your car too hard. On my pick up day I saw 5 other vans being picked up at the same time if they supply that many vans and only have a few bad reviews they can't be that bad.

4Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 4Value
J. Adam - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Spend extra money for safe vehicule"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

This company is a disgrace and should not leagally be in business. The vans are garbage inside and out. We were missing a high beam and our car did not start leaving the lot. The driver side mirror was a compact mirror from possibly the dollar store. Couldn’t see a thing out of it. When it rained the passengers feet got wet. The key bent and had to be replaced at our cost. It was always a gamble or whether it would start and often would have to be jumped. When driving on a standard road the shock fell off. We called roadside assistance and they told us the vechile was too unsafe to drive the 10km to the shop. The mechanics were disgusted about how unsafe the viechle was and were surprised we had managed to survive our trip thus far. We had to end the trip early as our vehicle was too unsafe and had hours of labour to repair it. The company refused to get us a rental car and instead pay for a bus to their closest office (10 hours away) to then pick up another lucky and backtrack. Would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. Not worth it. It is a bit cheaper but not by much.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
Jack Calvert - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"NEVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We hired a ‘4 man’ camper van expecting it to be small but comfortable. We drove 3 hours to a camp site and noticed the fuel economy was awful. We first set the roof bed up which was awful and did not look appealing to sleep in! We had to move all our suitcases up there to set the bottom bed up. By the time we done this we realised there was no room to put any of our luggage. So we had to use the top bed to store luggage and it leaked in and soaked everything. 4 adults had to share one bed and it was the worst night ever! We drove straight back in the morning and demanded a refund. They wouldn’t give us a penny back and we ended up leaving the van with 11 days rental left on it. It was not possible for us to live in the van at all. Customer service was shocking!!!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
J. Saindon - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"not professional"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We had a lot of problems with the campervan during our journey of 50 days in Australia.
First, we were blocked in Yulara in the desert because of the alternator. We had to wait 4 days but 6 days if we didn't have call ourselves the mechanical ! We wasted a lot of time. We called them because they didn't want to call us back because it was a french number : and after we had a bill of 170 dollars that they didn't want to refund. They told us by phone, that they are going to refund accommodation, food and drinks, if we kept the bills. But finally they only want to refund half of everything !!!
Second, during two days we cant open the back of the campervan, but they didn't answer us about it !! Finally they told that its not their problem, and we have to ask to the travel insurance for food and drinks !!!
Not professional, they don't do what they have to do, and for them, customers its not important at all !!

1Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
A. Baran - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Not professional"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

we had a lot of problems with the campervan during our journey of 50 days in Australia.
First, we were blocked in Yulara in the desert because of the alternator. We had to wait 4 days but 6 if we didn't have call ourselves the mechanical!We wasted a lot of time. We called them because they didn't want call us back because it was a french number : and after we had a bill of 170 dollars that they didn't want to refund. They told us by phone, that they are going to refundaccomodation, foof and drinks, if we kept the bills. But finally they only want to refund half everything!!
Second, during two days we cant open the back of the campervan, but they didn't answer us about it !!Finally they told that its not their problem, and we have to ask to the travel insurance for food and drinks!!!
Not professional, they don't do what they have to do, and for them, customers its not important at all !!
And be careful when you drop on you campervan : it's not the price which was written on your reservation!!

1Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
E. Ford - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Completely and utterly unsafe, should be shut down"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We booked three vans for a weekend trip and two of the three had issues - one had the key snap in the lock resulting in us having to call out a locksmith and pay $220 to get a new key cut, lucky for us there was somebody available on a Sunday or else we would've been stuck there. Another of the vans had completely worn out break pads and as it turned out several other things wrong with it, resulting in four of our group having to stay away from Sydney for another night, pay for a campsite etc and miss a day of work, because the vehicle simply was not safe to drive home. Terrible customer service and entirely unacceptable to be renting out vans which are clearly not serviced properly. They not only put their customers in danger but everybody on the road. Highly recommend steering clear of this company.

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
Kfad95 - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Cairns to Sydney in lucky rookie"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

I spent 77 days in a lucky rookie ( toyota estima ) going from cairns to sydney and was a little sceptical about hiring going off other reviews but im glad i went to check them out for myself, As most people only review if they have a bad experience. The estima had 500,000 ks on the clock but run well had new tyres and everything worked except the rear curtain was broken, As a used car salesman by trade i can accept the car isn't going to be perfect, Pete at cairns gave me a good deal $1000 cheaper than the jucy rental equivalent. I traveled 9000 ks and had no issues at all. I would suggest anyone thinking about hiring one especially if you're coming to Australia in the winter as there will be more vans available go check lucky and other rental companies out before you buy. Will be coming back again cheap deal and nth qld is amazing in the winter

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
A.Streeter - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Shocking"

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

We were apauled with the outcome of our "lucky" Roma vehicle so many issues occurred which was unacceptable. Firstly after having been told we would receive full gas cans one was empty and another half full, secondly we were given the van with every item of kitchen wear dirty...nothing had been checked to be clean. Thirdly our radio and speakers had issues. In addition to this our altinator (which functions the battery) was broken clearly telling us the car had not been serviced correctly before handing to a customer which resulted in leaving us broken down starting on the highway in a highly dangerous position. This breakdown lasted 22 hours and left us 18 year old girls over night in a car park behind the back of some buildings in an unsecure state leaving all windows open without being able to close them as well as all 4 of us having to sleep downstairs with easy access for the public. Thank god we got full insurance...this was a $700 job. We worked hard to achieve a refund of $200 for the 2 days we missed out on travelling.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
Matei - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"Worst rental company ever!!"

  • Reviewed

Worst rental company ever!! Absolutely DO NOT TAKE IT! It is going to destroy your holiday. It destroyed ours. After one week the engine was not starting anymore and we had to call the road assistance. Of course we had to pay for all of that. The fridge was not working. And in the middle of the trip the doors were starting not to lock anymore. Additionally. the van consumes tons of fuel. We had to fuel every 350 km. Worst experience ever.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value