"Terrible - Insurance policy a scam"
We took out premium protection insurance to limit our "maximum" liability t...
With over 30 locations, Indie Campers is one of the biggest campervan rental services in Europe. Their UK branch has 4 locations but with only 2 motorhome types for rent. Both of which are suitable for a family of 4.
Dubbed as Europe's largest campervan rental hire, Indie Campers has 4 branches in England―London, Manchester, Dublin, and Edinburg. On top of that, they have locations across Scotland and Northern Ireland. This fully owned and operated company gives you the freedom and flexibility to explore the scenic roads and experience the ultimate road trip adventure. They're more than just a rental service. They personally find the best routes for your trip and give you specific travel tips for your itinerary. Not only that, they offer 24/7 pick-up and drop off services to travellers.
The Indie Campers' fleet for UK countries are all Fiat Ducato models, which are not more than two years old. These are 2017-2019 motorhomes equipped with all road trip essentials, including bedding, kitchen stuff, and cleaning kit.
Based on a 2017-2018 Fiat Ducato unit, the Active Plus is a medium-sized motorhome ideal for couples and families up to 4. This compact vehicle is smaller than most motorhomes, hence easier for navigation. It has a small dining space in the front and a tiny kitchen area near the door to prepare your meals. The fixed double beds are located at the rear. There's no indoor bathroom but an external shower and portable toilet are provided.
Atlas is a 4 berth motorhome built on a 2019 Fiat Ducato diesel type. This is a great travel companion for families looking for a premium unit. Inside, you will be greeted with a nice kitchen, dinette area, integrated bathroom with shower, double beds, and overhead cabinets. So, if you want a built-in bathroom, this one is a good choice.
Indie Campers has an insurance excess amounting to £1999 (Basic). But you have the option to reduce it by paying an additional fee per day. Standard is at £19/ day with an excess of £749, plus 1 additional driver and window & tire coverage. Full is at £39/ day with an excess of £0, plus 3 additional drivers and window & tire coverage.
Indie Campers is a well-known campervan hire across Europe. They have multiple locations in each country. For instance, they have 4 locations in the UK. All in all, they have more than 30 locations across Europe. Their fleet is composed of modern campervan models that are not more than 2 years old. However, their UK vehicles are limited to two options only, both of which are suitable for a group of up to 4 persons.
If you are on the hunt for a 4 berth campervan, you can consider renting Indie Campers' fleet of modern motorhomes. With their multiple depots, it's easy to pick-up and drop-off the unit!
Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.
Write Your Own ReviewTell the world about your experience renting from this company
We took out premium protection insurance to limit our "maximum" liability to $200. They charged us $5,400 for a dent and apparently there are lots of exclusions to the "maximum" liability (to name a few, break-ins, animals, adverse weather, accidents without a third party, below the wheel trim, above the windscreen, the inside, mechanical). Essentially they're scamming people out of obscene amounts of money and charging them 3 weeks after they return the vehicle. Horrible company!
Our bad experience has started a week before the pickup date, when they informed us the Atlas camper (that one for 5 persons we booked) hasn’t been ready in time. We asked for any different solution that could host 5 people. They suggested us to book a camper for 4 people without take care that we were 5!
After discussions they finally guaranteed to prepare the Atlas camper (that one we booked) in time.
Everything seemed ok until the pick up day...
In order to save the time we decided to complete the check in online and we found the surprise.
They automatically changed our booking and put again the camper for 4 person.
We immediately called the assistance. They justified themselves by saying that they had forgotten to warn us and that they would have given us two 4-person campers for a supplement. Completely disappointed we accepted because the same day we haven’t find any alternative.
At the pick-up location we had the last surprise. They cancelled our premium insurance that we paid ( because we are under 25 and the booking system hasn’t recognized) and they asked us to pay 4000€ of deposit for 3 day of rent!
In particular we interfaced with Mrs. Mafalda from the assistance service, an arrogant, unprofessional and rude person.
Good words only for the campers that were ok and for Nelson the guy who gave us the keys.
Indie Campers Iceland. Where to start....the original location was moved without prior notice. Thanks to a taxi driver we managed to find it: no one present. After calling we were told the van was not ready antill after 19:00, 9 hrs after booking time. Hanging a day at a industrial area was no option so we drove by taxi to Reykjavik: €120 one way so €240. Gariela by mail: Please send us the receipt for the taxi expenses, we will refund them. It never happened......Finally at the pick up the check in was in a rush to get out so the van introduction took exactly 3 minutes… in the dark.
Upon driving of one of the headlights was not working. The check in lady did not answer the phone anymore.
We lost half a day of our vacation plus we had to spend 2x 18.000 crowns Reykjavik v.v. and a lunch in town. Costs we have yet to get reimbursed.
The left headlight does not work. It is simply dangerous to send your clients on the road like this. To get it fixed = spend too much valuable vacation time lost already.
One pillow is missing. We have one person IKEA summer duvet, too cold for Iceland in April. One pan is missing, only the lid is there. One full set of (paid!) travelkits was missing completely.
We had to drive back 1,5 hrs to Reykjavik to buy a pillow and the rest. Another half day lost and unnessesary costs made.....
The heater did not work . It blows hot air and next cold or in any sequence it wants but not as it should. All we get is 'a manual' which covers none of the issues. Completely useless. (10:36:15 PM) Joana Machado: Turn on the engine for 10 minutes without driving and after that turn on the heating - it's normal if it smells like diesel do not worry.
The spare heater in the back had a burn out some time earlier. It is molten and it smells like plastic when you turn it on. It is simply dangerous and can cause fire.
The fresh water tank is filthy. It's not hygienic. Look at the pics. Disgusting. The curtains are really too dirty to touch. To get in the upper bed we are supposed to work ourselves 1.5 mtr up without any step or ladder. A small ladder or so would have been nice especially for elder people like us. We had to buy a step at Ikea to solve.
The overall cleanliness of the camper is dirty, ....to say the best.
We got tired of solving problems and returned the camper. We had to rent a car to finish our ruined trip. We made a more than fair offer to settle things but Indie Campers would not hear of it. We were send home with 50% of the costs we made. The rent per night: a ridiculous 442€/night
Other expenses €110
Cash refund: 583.69€
What a sad, sad performance by Indie Campers. Mishaps can occur…but at least have the decency to offer a compensation less insulting for your clients.
Indie campers, the worst company I ever rent a motor home from. the worst problem our motor home brakes was completely worn out, the brake pads were in so bad condition that they were destroying the brake rotors, it is unbelievable that you could give a vehicle to a customer without properly inspect the most important mechanical and safety features such as brakes. The toilet didn't work so we weren't able to use It during our trip, the backbumper weren't secure and It fall down out no where while we drive. Also many other smaller problems as mulfuctioning Windows and drawers. We paid the premium insurance but with that the company are not talking their RESPONSABILITY for the problems they cause in our trip, even when we call to complain during our holidays with them . Indie campers its a Big lie, dont trust their insurances, and dont trust the maintenance of their veicules.
1. Picked up the van in amsterdam. We had an accidant on our way to slovenia in east germany. Both of the top windows got broken and were not waterproof anymore. We called the roadside assistance for a replacement car, since we took the premium insurance. They told us we would have to return the car to amsterdam to replace it (10h drive), even though it says on the website that they have depots all over Europe.
2. During our trip the leisure battery started overheating and smelling very badly, which is a serious fire hazard. Took a few hours to get a hold of the 24/7 roadside assistance. Because it took so long the workshops were not open anymore. They also did not reply to my questions about insurance of alternative transport or to stay overnight in a hotel of the car had to stay at the shop overnight
3. Everything is broken in the campervan. It is literally held together by tape. Very bad quality. Everything that we touch falls apart. We made a box to hold all the parts that fell off. These things were already broken before we left.
We are very worried about the coming costs, reading all the previous reviews where it says that they charge massive amounts for minor repairs. Even though they were present at pickup.
With 2 weeks to go they have cancelled the booking I made in the mid of April, just like that. The aggravation they have caused me is enormous, because if I want to recover my holiday with the same van, I will have to pay up to 4 TIMES MORE MONEY!. No explanations. Solutions, none. Just this email:
Your trip has been cancelled
Hello XX XXXX,
"We are sorry to hear that you have decided not to proceed with your Indie Campers road trip as per your initial booking. In line with our cancellation policy, we will proceed with your refund for this road trip. If you are entitled to a refund, we will process it within 7 working days. Depending on your bank, it may take a few extra days for the amount to reach your bank account, thank you very much!
Ich wurde wegen eines Mitarbeiters dieses Unternehmen gescammed. 1137€ sind weg keiner fühlt sich verantwortlich, obwohl es einen zuvor noch hieß, bei uns sind alle Fahrzeughalter geprüft, wir sind ein seriöses Unternehmen. Urlaubskasse ist weg alles im Eimer. Mein fünf jähriger Sohn Tod traurig, wir natürlich auch. Finger weg von diesem Unternehmen!
Do NOT use this company! They are scammers! Cheap quality van! No gas all week even though it was paid for! Van breaks down in the middle of nowhere! No help or advice!!! Had our toilet box brown into and stolen whilst we were away and have now taken almost £700 out of our account to replace! New ones are no more than £100
Bad customer service! Appalling manners! These people should not be running a business! Stay well clear of them!
They ruined our holiday and continue to cause grief 3 weeks after!
Shocking! This issue will be taken further!