Indie Campers UK Review

Rated 1.3 / 5 from 4 reviews

Editors Review

With over 30 locations, Indie Campers is one of the biggest campervan rental services in Europe. Their UK branch has 4 locations but with only 2 motorhome types for rent. Both of which are suitable for a family of 4.

About Indie Campers UK

Dubbed as Europe's largest campervan rental hire, Indie Campers has 4 branches in England―London, Manchester, Dublin, and Edinburg. On top of that, they have locations across Scotland and Northern Ireland. This fully owned and operated company gives you the freedom and flexibility to explore the scenic roads and experience the ultimate road trip adventure. They're more than just a rental service. They personally find the best routes for your trip and give you specific travel tips for your itinerary. Not only that, they offer 24/7 pick-up and drop off services to travellers. 

Fleet

The Indie Campers' fleet for UK countries are all Fiat Ducato models, which are not more than two years old. These are 2017-2019 motorhomes equipped with all road trip essentials, including bedding, kitchen stuff, and cleaning kit.

Vehicles

Active Plus

Based on a 2017-2018 Fiat Ducato unit, the Active Plus is a medium-sized motorhome ideal for couples and families up to 4. This compact vehicle is smaller than most motorhomes, hence easier for navigation. It has a small dining space in the front and a tiny kitchen area near the door to prepare your meals. The fixed double beds are located at the rear. There's no indoor bathroom but an external shower and portable toilet are provided. 

Atlas

Atlas is a 4 berth motorhome built on a 2019 Fiat Ducato diesel type. This is a great travel companion for families looking for a premium unit. Inside, you will be greeted with a nice kitchen, dinette area, integrated bathroom with shower, double beds, and overhead cabinets. So, if you want a built-in bathroom, this one is a good choice. 

Insurance

Indie Campers has an insurance excess amounting to £1999 (Basic). But you have the option to reduce it by paying an additional fee per day. Standard is at £19/ day with an excess of £749, plus 1 additional driver and window & tire coverage. Full is at £39/ day with an excess of £0, plus 3 additional drivers and window & tire coverage. 

Reputation

Indie Campers is a well-known campervan hire across Europe. They have multiple locations in each country. For instance, they have 4 locations in the UK. All in all, they have more than 30 locations across Europe. Their fleet is composed of modern campervan models that are not more than 2 years old. However, their UK vehicles are limited to two options only, both of which are suitable for a group of up to 4 persons. 

Summary

If you are on the hunt for a 4 berth campervan, you can consider renting Indie Campers' fleet of modern motorhomes. With their multiple depots, it's easy to pick-up and drop-off the unit! 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Modern campervan models
  • Suitable for couples and families up to 4
  • Over 30 locations across Europe

Cons

  • Limited motorhome types for UK
  • Not meant for big groups

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
N. IJff - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Very bad experience!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

1. Picked up the van in amsterdam. We had an accidant on our way to slovenia in east germany. Both of the top windows got broken and were not waterproof anymore. We called the roadside assistance for a replacement car, since we took the premium insurance. They told us we would have to return the car to amsterdam to replace it (10h drive), even though it says on the website that they have depots all over Europe.
2. During our trip the leisure battery started overheating and smelling very badly, which is a serious fire hazard. Took a few hours to get a hold of the 24/7 roadside assistance. Because it took so long the workshops were not open anymore. They also did not reply to my questions about insurance of alternative transport or to stay overnight in a hotel of the car had to stay at the shop overnight
3. Everything is broken in the campervan. It is literally held together by tape. Very bad quality. Everything that we touch falls apart. We made a box to hold all the parts that fell off. These things were already broken before we left.

We are very worried about the coming costs, reading all the previous reviews where it says that they charge massive amounts for minor repairs. Even though they were present at pickup.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
X. Solsona - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"BEWARE OF INDIE CAMPERS"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

With 2 weeks to go they have cancelled the booking I made in the mid of April, just like that. The aggravation they have caused me is enormous, because if I want to recover my holiday with the same van, I will have to pay up to 4 TIMES MORE MONEY!. No explanations. Solutions, none. Just this email:

Your trip has been cancelled

Hello XX XXXX,

"We are sorry to hear that you have decided not to proceed with your Indie Campers road trip as per your initial booking. In line with our cancellation policy, we will proceed with your refund for this road trip. If you are entitled to a refund, we will process it within 7 working days. Depending on your bank, it may take a few extra days for the amount to reach your bank account, thank you very much!

1Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
G. Balseven - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Got scammed"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Ich wurde wegen eines Mitarbeiters dieses Unternehmen gescammed. 1137€ sind weg keiner fühlt sich verantwortlich, obwohl es einen zuvor noch hieß, bei uns sind alle Fahrzeughalter geprüft, wir sind ein seriöses Unternehmen. Urlaubskasse ist weg alles im Eimer. Mein fünf jähriger Sohn Tod traurig, wir natürlich auch. Finger weg von diesem Unternehmen!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
C. Wargnier - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Do NOT use this company! They are scammers! Cheap quality van! No gas all week even though it was paid for! Van breaks down in the middle of nowhere! No help or advice!!! Had our toilet box brown into and stolen whilst we were away and have now taken almost £700 out of our account to replace! New ones are no more than £100
Bad customer service! Appalling manners! These people should not be running a business! Stay well clear of them!
They ruined our holiday and continue to cause grief 3 weeks after!
Shocking! This issue will be taken further!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value