Campabout Oz Review

Rated 3.5 / 5 from 8 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 8/6/19

A family-run business with a fleet of different types of vehicles―from campervans to 4WDs to trailers―Campabout Oz is intended for those who are seeking for affordable 2-4 berth units.

About Campabout Oz

Campabout Oz is a family-owned company with an interesting variety of vehicles to offer, including campervans, 4-wheel drives, caravans and camper trailers―but we’re just going to deal with the campervans and 4WDs here. They mostly cater to mid-range to budget markets. They provide some extra facilities such as toilets, kitchen, awning, shower, etc. and guarantee not to cancel the contract even if another customer is willing to pay more money. Established in 2009, the company now offers three depots (Perth, Darwin, and Broome), with its main branch located just 25 mins away from Perth airport in Western Australia.


Currently, their campervans and 4WD can accommodate 2-4 persons. These vehicles are properly maintained and are not more than ten years old. All the campervans have side awnings and 2-3 seater vans. They also provide sink with electric pump, freezer and gas stove so that you don’t have to worry about food spoiling which will save you in the long run. On the other hand, their 4WD units are ideal for those with a heart for adventure. 


Platinum Campervan

The 2-3 berth campervan is called “Platinum” and is built on a super long wheelbase Toyota Hiace making it longer than most its competitors that only use the Long Wheel Base. It is pretty cushy inside with a layout that is quite traditional for the design that has the kitchen at the driver end. Something special that this model has is the air-con unit in the main cabin. Western Australia gets pretty hot the further north you go and this little addition is enough to separate this campervan out from the crowd. Highly recommended to look at when you are getting prices.

Cruiser Campervan

If you're travelling with a group, this 4 berth Cruiser can be your go-to unit. It's an automatic model equipped with two double beds, a rear kitchen (no sink), roll-out awning, and nice entertainment set. But of course, because of its layout, don't expect too much space inside for standing up or stretching. 


The 5-seater Explorer is one of the newest additions to the fleet. This is the perfect unit for couples eyeing for the unsealed paths and bush tracks. As a 4WD camper, you get to enjoy the OZ roads in a bolder manner. This camper does not provide you with luxury comforts but rather with exciting features like a rooftop tent and awning. Despite its sturdy-built, the unit is lightweight, making it very easy to drive. Also, you get your own 40-litre fridge/freezer and other kitchen and cooking essentials. 

Hilux 4WD with TrayOn

Another 4WD option is the 5-seater Hilux with TrayOn. This is pretty much cozier compared to the previous 4WD model as it comes with fitted sleeping areas―one double bed and two single beds. This means that it can sleep a family of four. Aside from that, a fully-equipped kitchen is also provided. Though no toilet, this model comes with a shower and a powered sink.


The standard damage liability/ bond is up to $7000 of which a bond will be collected at the time of contract and payment of this bond is only accepted by credit card. Campabout Oz offers you a reduction option that limits the bond and liability to $2000 by paying an additional of $75 per day. This option already includes glass cover, accessories, recovery charges, and 2 tyres.    


The vehicles of this company are reported to be well maintained―not very old and have all the essential facilities that people are looking for. Out of the country tourists commented about quality service provided and admired the delivery of friendly service. Some customers talked about the guide which explained everything before the start of their holiday about the campervan instead of other companies who only provide a DVD. Unfortunately, there have been some concerns about late returns of security bond. So, you must read the fine print carefully to know everything, including when you should expect to receive the bond. Overall, Campabout Oz is a decent campervan rental company with a nice assortment of vehicles for hire. 


So, if you are planning a vacation―either a relaxing or exciting one―then this company can be a good option, as they provide some latest facilities in the same price range along with well-maintained vehicles.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.


  • Competitive prices
  • Multiple depots
  • Easy vehicle hire
  • Great assortment of vehicles for hire


  • Not ideal for big groups more than 4
  • Issues about late bond returns


Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
P. C - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Bond not refunded"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hired a Prado in July 2023. Bond still not refunded 6 months later.

3Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
Roger Magic - avatar not loaded
, Thailand
1 Review

"Unscrupulous Campabout OZ Wangara, the Dream Killer."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

In September 2023, we rented a 4x4 Prado with a roof tent to embark on a journey into the outback and fulfill our dream of witnessing Ayers Rock. We chose Campabout OZ based on its reputation as a reliable family company, recommended by the Tourism Council WA. Although we were aware of some deposit refund issues, we assumed they were resolved, given the company's continued operation.
The rental proceeded relatively smoothly, but our experience soured upon returning the vehicle. The staff made no comments during the return, and we were informed that the 1000AUD deposit would be refunded within 2 to 3 weeks (maximum 28 working days). Unfortunately, this marked the last communication we had with Campabout OZ.
For over three months, our attempts to reach out via emails and phone calls went unanswered, with all calls directed to voicemail. Seeking assistance from the Tourism Council WA and the Consumer Protection Division proved unfruitful, and they suggested legal action as the only recourse in the absence of a response from the company.
After several months of silence, Campabout OZ finally contacted us, citing internal changes and requesting information about the reservation. I promptly provided the requested details. However, when I inquired later about the status of my documents and the refund, I received no response. This lack of communication contradicted their purported commitment to remarkable customer service, revealing the message as another attempt to evade returning the deposit.
While our visit to the outback left us with wonderful memories, the conduct of Campabout OZ left us bitter. Despite presenting itself as a trustworthy and customer-focused family company, it behaved more like an unscrupulous entity one might encounter in underdeveloped countries where scams are prevalent.
For those considering Campabout OZ's services, I caution you to be aware. Do not make the same mistake I did in assuming they have changed. Our experience suggests otherwise.

1Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 1Value
Phil Heafey - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"No Refund of deposit"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

10 weeks on $1000 deposit not returned. No response to emails, no phone answered. Luckily at the last minute I took out high insurance option as I feared them holding $6K dep was a big risk!

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
L. Sandfern - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"No refund with an immaculate vehicle return"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

I would have given a glowing reco at the time of my booking as the car was great, the service was great the process was easy. However since returning the hire vehicle 2 months ago.
I have now been waiting 35 days for a refund of my $6k deposit and have had little to no communication as to when my funds will be returned. This company does not answer the phone I’ve been waiting four days for an email response
I’m incredibly disappointed with this lack of service

1Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 1Value
F. Hoet - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Non-existent customer service"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

Due to covid19 travel restrictions, we were forced to cancel our booking of a 4WD + caravan with Campabout OZ. Therefore, we requested a refund of the deposit (1400 AUD) we paid in February 2020.
For several months now, I have been sending emails, making phonecalls, sending message through FB and IG ..., but there has been no response whatsoever by Campabout OZ.
Their customer service is not just the worst I’ve ever experienced, it is completely non-existent! You cannot reach them in any way. They just keep your money, ignore you and hope you will give up in the end.
My brother also rented a 4WD + caravan almost a year ago, and they still have not refunded their bond of 7000 AUD!
Would never recommend this company to anyone!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
S. Howley - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Immaculate Vehicle/ Campers and Impecabble Service"

  • Reviewed 5 years ago

Impeccable service from start to finish. We hired the 4WD and caravan package for 4 weeks. Vanessa from the office is a great help in planning our family holiday. She's very professional, friendly and answered all questions we had before booking. During pick up, Ryan greeted us straight away and we were very impressed with his patience in showing us how to set up our caravan (first timers). It can be overwhelming to absorb all the information on pick up especially being our first time to use a caravan but he went through it all patiently and made sure that we have everything we needed for our trip. Both vehicle and camper are quite new and immaculately kept. The after hours number was very handy and response turnaround time was quick.
Thank you so much for your great service and looking after us. We enjoyed our first caravan trip and we will definitely be hiring from you again.
Highly recommended.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Kirby.M - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Loved it"

  • Reviewed 6 years ago

We rented the new model hilux camper from CampAbout Oz in Perth for out trip to Margaret River. The camper was well equipped and the toyota hilux had ice cold air conditioning even on the 38+ Celsius days. It was a great trip and we can’t wait for next year to get back to western australia and explore the coral coast and camp at Shark Bay.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
John Balbi - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A nice camper!"

  • Reviewed 7 years ago

From what I saw of the Campabout Oz vans, they are all immaculately kept and quite new. They are mainly in Western Australia and you see a lot of them on the coast north of Perth up to Exmouth. Apparently they have branches in Broome and Darwin. Technically this means that they are not W.A. only, but if you are doing the Perth – Darwin run or reverse, these guys would be worth a price check.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value