Jucy Australia Review

Rated 3.1 / 5 from 27 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated 07/11/19:

One of Jucy's international branches has been on the limelight because of the newest addition to their fleet―the electric campervan. Though this was pioneered in Jucy NZ, maybe soon, they will offer this rather amazing campervan hire option in Australia! 


Jucy Australia is a dynamic campervan rental company focusing on the youth market looking for quality campers. That being the case they are one of the rare companies that rent to 18yo+, not just 21yo+. They operate mainly on the east coast with depots in Cairns,  Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide. Jucy offers the traveller 2 and 4 berth campers that are priced reasonably.

About Jucy Australia

Jucy Campervans was established in New Zealand in 2001 and has since expanded into Australia and the USA. They now have approx. 3800 vehicles but many of them are cars, not just campervans. In Australia, Jucy has exploded in popularity, largely due to the quirky sensibility driving the company making it the largest independent company outside of the Britz and Apollo families of campervan hire. Jucy brands itself as bright, vibrant, and fun – a youth-oriented approach rather than focusing on serving retired couples and families. But has Jucy Campervans Australia succeeded because it delivers a great service to its clients? Or is Jucy popular simply because they’ve marketed themselves so masterfully?

Jucy Campervans is a family-owned business, independently owned and operated. The father of the boys that own it actually started Maui brand motorhomes that are now part of the largest motorhome family in the world – THL. This allows the company to focus on customer service and on creating a very focused company culture that’s tailor-made to appeal to young backpackers. This emphasis is made even stronger through the various articles and blog posts populating Jucy Campervans Australia’s website. The content Jucy provides vacillates between offering helpful travel tips to travel guides for popular Australian destinations to safety tips for the open road. While Jucy Campervans Australia isn’t the only campervan rental company looking to capture the youth market, they work a lot harder than most of their competition to provide some real value to rope those customers in.

Fleet

Jucy Rentals Australia Chaser campervanIt doesn’t take much time before you realize that Jucy Australia offers some great vehicles to choose from. Unlike much of their competition, Jucy has chosen to focus on providing just a few different types of vehicles to choose from. When you rent a Jucy camper you can choose between the Jucy Crib and the Jucy Champ, the Condo and in 2016 they added the “Casa Plus” motorhome. They are the same models that are available in New Zealand, they just have different names in Australia.

Vehicles

El Cheapo Sleeper

To begin the Jucy fleet, let's have the ever petite yet highly functional sleeper for two people on a tight budget. The El Cheapo Sleeper is the smallest and the cheapest campervan option, suitable for couples who wouldn't mind the limited interior space. It allows you to experience an unassuming road trip packed with basic amenities including a small kitchen with gas cooker, fridge and kitchen sink, a nice double bed and CD player for nonstop entertainment while cruising the panoramic roads. Also, with this type of camper, there is no awning supplied for the back door, so you are fully exposed to the elements when cooking.

Jucy Crib

 Originally these campers were very similar to their direct competitors, Spaceship Rentals, however, it could be argued they have since left them in the dirt. Distinctively, the Crib is replaced with a forward-facing row of seats with a rearward-facing bench seat. This will make for a much comfier bed when folded out and better for eating with the interior table. Whilst the kitchenette is at the rear and you must cook with the back door up, the quality of the equipment in there is quite impressive. Even though this is the basic model it still has a fridge, however, the size is a stingy 18L and Waeco brand is far from the best on the market. But a fridge is a fridge and the fact that it's in there is a great plus for Jucy campers. 

Jucy Champ

Previously the Grande, the Champ seats 5 peeps but can only sleep 4, and we are looking at the lap of luxury with this campervan. Bench seats in the back mean you can face each other over the table at dinner, and whilst the cooking facilities are still at the back door, they have increased the fridge to a much more respectable and usable size. The rear kitchenette is very well laid out and modern – a credit to the designers. 

The only problem might come when it comes to sleeping. 2 people are going to be on the roof in the “penthouse”. This is very much like camping in a roof tent with a few little extra luxuries like auto pop-up and some built-in lights. You might have to flip a coin to see who is going to this bed as it is not going to be as cozy as the double bed inside the campervan.

Jucy Condo

The upgrade in 4 berth from the Champ is the Jucy Condo. This is their equivalent to the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace Hi-Top that most the other campervan hire companies use. They have done a great job in converting the campervan using a Nissan model that allows you to stand fully upright inside. The Condo, like The Champ, can seat 5 but only sleeps 4 people: 2 peeps up, 2 peeps down and all are inside the campervan. Cooking facilities are entirely inside the vehicle and the whole campervan is kitted out in style. There are a 15″ LCD TV and a DVD player, a sink with greywater capture, dual battery, blinds on all windows and plenty more. This is an impressive conversion. Also handy are the pouches that are lining the upper walls, these are great places to store things you need daily like toiletries, flashlights, and other small things.

Jucy Compass

The Jucy Compass is a relatively new addition to the Jucy fleet, showing that Jucy is always on the lookout for ways to improve. The Compass is a stock standard motorhome built on a Toyota Hiace - 2017 or newer that is designed for 4 people. It has not really been modified by Jucy except for the branding paint job. That being said, it is a pretty plush ride. Cushy new seats, permanent table, 50 ltr compressor fridge, TV, DVD player and the only model Jucy that has with a toilet. Hence, it is claimed to be self-contained campervan that includes a kitchen with a sink, two hob cooktop, cutlery, crockery and utensils and two double beds complete with bedding and even towels. 

Insurance

Jucy offers three insurance options: the Risk Taker with no additional amount but excess is at $3,000, the Chance it at $20/ day for an excess of $1,500 or the Stress Fee at $30/ day for a $0 excess. 

Reputation

Over the years, all the work that Jucy has made has paid off in a community of clients and customers that are fiercely loyal to Jucy Campervans Australia and appreciate all of the decisions the company has made. One of the biggest reasons Jucy Campervans Australia has engendered such loyalty is due to the care the company provides their vehicles. Before you pick up your rented campervan Jucy performs a thorough computer-monitored inspection overseen by two employees a vehicle. Unfortunately, over the years, the reputation of Jucy Australia has been unsteady, with issues about vehicle maintenance, disappointing staff, and such. 

Still, all in all, the Jucy campervans are nice – we like them! They will drive like a car and all have an automatic transmission, power steering, and air-con so during the day you can feel like you are in the lap of luxury in a normal car, and at night you can happily curl up and sleep. With affordable rental rates and reasonable fees for short-term one-way rentals, Jucy Campervans Australia offers a level of flexibility that’s rare in today’s Australian campervan market! If you're with a family, just make sure you are okay with sleeping in a tent on a roof and emptying grey water collection from the sink. 

Summary

Jucy Campervan hire has done a great job standing out from the crowd. This is going to be great if you like standing out, if you don’t, the bright colors and original layouts might not be up your alley. You can also look for Jucy in New Zealand where they are the 3rd largest player, and they have also taken their bright purple and green to the US where they are expanding rapidly using a business model that is not common there.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Campervans that drive like cars
  • Stand out paint job
  • Unique and well-crafted conversions inside and out
  • One-way travels
  • Discounts off campgrounds

Cons

  • Sleeping in a tent on a roof might not grab you
  • Getting into the pricy range for some models
  • Have to empty grey water collection from the sink
  • Can only stand up in the top models
  • Mixed reputation

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
G. Emms - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Awful, awful vans!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We hired a Jucy Condo and technically the van didn’t break down but this is everything that went wrong... we tried to tell Jucy on returning the van in Brisbane and they could not have been less interested so I emailed them when we got back in the UK. Again no one cares. You’ve paid your money and that’s that.

Mechanical fault.
Day before we sent the vehicle back it sounded like a wheel bearing went and we thought the wheel was going to fall off

One of the cupboard doors fell off the first time we opened it

Full of dents not marked on the sheet

Rip in mattress on top

Clearly not been cleaned inside - I ran several wet wipes around the inside of the van and it was filthy

ANTS!!! Ants everywhere! Clearly from the lack of cleaning on Jucy’s side

Few days in the satnav holder broke mid journey so had to gaffa tape it in place so we could see where we were meant to be going (explained this to the girl at reception in return who said, oh yeah, they do do that!!)

Passenger side wing mirror doesn’t move as someone has clearly wood screwed it in place and is pointed upwards so totally useless

Driver side front bumper moves when door is opened

Most of the blinds don’t shut properly as poppers are missing

Drivers seatbelt is totally unsafe and unfit for purpose! It does not recoil once it has been stretched out unless physically made to. This is a massive safety issue...

Also it says it has air con but it only runs went the camper is running and it says they have mozzy nets but they only have one which covers the tiny window in the top of the van. Also the layout of the van is terrible compared to other vans.

Seriously, just go with another company.

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
J. Fank - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"4 day Sydney to Melbourne"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

My wife and I rented a small campervan to travel from Sydney to Melbourne. The staff at both locations were friendly and easy to work with. The overall camping experience was excellent. The vehicle was easy to drive and get comfortable behind the wheel even though it did have quite a few miles on it and is not designed for the over 6 foot tall individual. We would highly recommend the trip and a Jucy to anyone.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
M. Dengel - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Review of my Jucy-Australia hire"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Jucy‘s Customer service was 10+ from 10 points.
Was very glad to book with jucy.
Cu again !

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
S. Greene - avatar not loaded
, Ireland
1 Review

"Review of my Jucy-Australia hire"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

The campervan was very old 1998, but it worked fine and no issues, there was a lot of mileage on it. I was supposed to get one with a fridge but got one with a cooler only. I was made return the vehicle full with gas even though it was slightly less than full when I got it. Jucy are ok but will get you for every cent

3Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 2Value
T. Moore - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Jucy Condo"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

2 parents, 1 x 4yr old over 18 days in the Condo and all was good. Easy to park, practical, good space for 3 plus surfboards and luggage. Not bad for unleaded fuel as long as you drive at a steady 90kmh instead of ragging it. Pretty good all round really.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
C. DE MEO - avatar not loaded
, Italy
1 Review

"Review of my Jucy-Australia hire"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

the camper was not ready at the time of pick up

3Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
J.D. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Review of my Jucy-Australia hire"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Great experience. Good and clean car. Sadly an extension of hire wasn't possible.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
Michael - avatar not loaded
, Australia
2 Review

"Disappointed"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Arrived at cairns airport Friday afternoon. Not open. Called the 24/7 number. Left messages. No response. Had to hire another vehicle from budget. It was a 7 day rental. Made numerous calls to Jucy and booking.com.
In a nut shell they both passed the buck to each other and no refund.
I travel a lot and this was the first time I had used Jucy.
My advice. Don’t use.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
T. CROSS - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Worst customer service and poor quality car"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

worst customer service I have ever experienced. basically force to take insurance at pick up which cost an additional $600. car was very old, door hard to close, seat belt didn't work properly. choose another company

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
L. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Do not rent with Jucy!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We rented a campervan from Jucy in March 2019 with pick-up in Melbourne and we would never do it again. The car was very dirty in the interior and we spend a couple of hours cleaning it before we felt comfortable touching anything in the car. But even then we decided to buy our own blankets and cover the seats so we do not actually have to touch the car. The first day of our trip a metal strip from the cars water tank broke down so we had to spend the day in the Workshop fixing it. When it started raining we realized the car was leaking. Moreover the Camping equipment we rented (chairs and a table) were so dirty we did not even try cleaning it and just did not use it. After two weeks we realized there was mould in the car. So overall I would not recommend anyone to rent with Jucy but so spend a little more money and take Britz, Apollo, Spaceship, Autobarn, etc. You just don't feel comfortable in your "home" which negatively influences your trip :(

3Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
James - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"DO NOT HIRE FROM JUCY UNTIL YOU READ THIS"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

What should have been one of the most fun parts of our 2 month trip to Australia turned into one of the most frustrating, tainted by a joke of a camper van and appalling customer service. Jucy aren’t Juicy, they’re dried up and tired old camper vans backed up by simply appalling customer service. They look new and fun on the outside but they're tired on the inside.

When we were first presented with the vehicle we tried to swap it in Melbourne but there was no backup vehicle. All of the staff in Melbourne were clock watching and whooped as we left.

Apparently they're known as the “cheap and nasty” - as told to us by a local mechanic.

There were 272,000 KMs on the clock. What would have been a great camper van in its day is now way past it’s best-before date.

The below is a pretty comprehensive list of issue we had with the van during the trip:

Knives not sharp but otherwise the supply of utensils, crockery and cutlery was sufficient.

The aircon was temperamental and would suddenly stop blowing cold air meaning we had to turn it off, leave it for a few mins and turn it back on again. When it was 35 degrees+ this was hard to deal with.

No DVD player as in the promo video

The integrated stove didn’t work - we were told that ALL campers had the same problem but this was a lie - we met people with Apollo campers on the first night and their integrated stoves worked

Vehicle is MUCH older than we anticipated - it was advertised as 2016 or newer but ours was registered in 2014.

The keyfob lock/unlock buttons didn’t work so we had to use the key each time. Sounds trivial but when you're using it for 15 days it becomes a pain

It rained in the van when we pressed the rear screen wash

The fridge door was dodgy and didn't always latch.

No indication of when waste water needs emptying

The suspension was awful and bounced around all over the place.

The passenger window electric up/down switch sometimes worked. The glass in the same door was also about to dislodge.

The tailgate had to be slammed shut so hard that you think the rear window will smash. If you don't it doesn't close properly and the indicator on the dash remains on

Smelly in the van, especially at night - it's like a musty smell, old.

Something beneath the stove keeps turning on intermittently whenever the van is connected to power. Possibly a fan? Does this all night long and wakes you up.

The sheets are poly-cotton so not breathable and quite sweaty. Sheets were also stained.

The loan table was filthy. We had to clean it thoroughly before using it

There is no bluetooth or other means of connectivity so utterly in the past technology-wise

No idea how 4 people could possibly share the space though. It’s a perfect space for 2 but no more.

The central piece that goes between the two back seats when the bed is down is dangerous - if you sit or stand on it it collapses and you injure yourself.

Inside the fridge and cupboards were dirty - we had to clean everything. I really wish I’d taken photos

The external table is knackered and not flat meaning it’s hard to use for anything except a dumping ground for bits you’ve used after cooking.

The drivers seat squeaks as you hit every hump or bump

The drivers’ mirror shakes constantly

We were provided with a pathetically short refilling hose for topping up the "fresh water" so we had to manoeuvre the van in crazy ways to get to the taps.

You also can’t drink the water as the tanks are probably filthy

The seat belts don’t tighten, they lay slack and get trapped in the door.

None of the top windows open so the only airflow is from the skylight or one of the lower side windows

The only decent service we received during the whole hire was when we dropped the van back to Gold Coast and met Steve who was a breath of fresh air and super understanding when we explained our plight. It also became obvious that we had indeed been provided with an old banger as all new models are Toyota. He also noticed that the dvd had been removed without me saying it.

I think the feedback and on-road teams could learn a lot from Steve. His customer service skills were natural and uncomplicated.

If I were to hire again I would spend more time reading real world reviews and go with either Britz or Apollo who seem to know what they're doing and are also competitively priced.

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
D. Shires - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Disappointing"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Had the unfortunate experience of renting a van through Jucy.

All seemed well until the first nights camping when we realised the hob starter light didn’t work, an ominous sign. The next night when rain started pouring we discovered the van wasn’t water tight, bed got soaked completely and the roof leaked on the floor of the van. Then we realised that the van wasn’t even secure, you could slide one of the windows open from the outside, hardly reassuring. Finally the water pump for the van stopped working, all of this costing towards $3000 for the privilege.

Customer service afterwards was dreadful, absolutely no reassurance that these problems would get resolved or that they really cared about the issues raised.

I used Apollo for a previous trip and had precisely 0 issues with the van, so what does that tell you?

1Service 3Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
P. McKenzie - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Austraila , affortable, ok but short on power and only really for two"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

The condo unit was outfitted with the basics. The unit isn't that new but hey for the money what does one expect. Power was minimum and used fuel more than expected probally because the small motor was maxed out. Three of us traveled for two weeks , all adults had fun seeing the north gold coast. The lower bed when made up had a cushion that dropped through to the floor leaving a gap in the bed was a pain but not the end all. It was nice to have low drop fee for another city other than the pickup. Also the key for the unit was a pain to use had to fiddle with it to get doors locke/unlocked, would be nice to have a spare incase it broke or something so we had a spare cut which they did reimburse us for. Overall nothing special here just the basics if thats what you want , keep your expectations down you wouldn't be disappointed.

4Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
P. Lim - avatar not loaded
, Malaysia
1 Review

"Jucy campervan at Melbourne Inkerman st."

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

When we returned the campervan, after checking was done, the receptionist ladies, told us that we didn't fully fill up the gas. The gas was filled up by us but they were not satisfied, saying that the gas indicator was slightly below the max point. One of them, a blonde lady, with such idiotic attitude and was damn bloody rude, began arguing with us, insisted to charge us aud30 just for the service to fill up the gas. In the end after much debate, she let us go without any charges. But the stupid attitude of hers, being so rude to customers, that is totally intolerable. The other lady was good but I guessed she couldn't care much about her colleague.
As for the campervan, they gave us the wrong power cord that doesn't work at all. We ended up not charging the vehicle for the camp site we paid for( powered site).

5Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 2Value
Kristel T - avatar not loaded
, Estonia
2 Review

"not the best"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

Hey all! I find reviews here very helpful so decided to take some time and write a small review on JUCY and Britz rentals.

We drove a JUCY condo from Melbourne to Great Ocean Road, Grampians, Kangaroo Island and Adelaide. The car was a bit small for 4 people, the beds were not very comfortable but it was still better than sleeping in a tent :)). The top bed was so small, you hit yourself against the roof every time you turn :D only petite women and children really fit there. The fridge was a bit broken and didn't want to close fully. The TV in the van didn't work, the car battery died on us once randomly, the cooking gas wasnt filled up before we started driving, they gave us the wrong cord for charging the car so it didn't plug into the car at all :D, the speedometer didnt work properly and was stuck on "0" for the first 15 minutes of every drive, the car carries greywater so it takes more fuel and overall it just eats up the fuel sooo fast (sorry cant remember exact figures)! The engine is not very powerful so it's really annoying to go up hills. They gave us the wrong measurements for the car when I called them up so we had a bit of trouble on the ferry to Kangaroo Island :D Also, when we returned the car they told us that we hadn't filled up the watertank although we had done it :D The sound system was really bad and it was more expensive than Britz hitop (but the hitop only fits 2-3 people as well). There were some PROS as well! The staff at Melbourne was friendly although we waited for the car a longgggg time. Also, there was enough storage space for food and the sheets and towels seemed clean :) so that was good! But yeah for 4 people with luggage, it was a bit small I would say.

We hired JUCY again when driving around Cairns, Tablelands and Cape Tribulation (2 people this time). We hired the cheapest car, Fiat. It was not powerful at all so it was annoying when trying to accelerate. The car was clean and reliable tho, for 2 people it had enough space and it was very very efficient with fuel. It was semi-automatic which took a bit of time to get used to. The sound system was ok but you might want to have a cd with you because the car couldnt connect to any of our media devices. For us it was a huge bummer :D The staff was good in Cairns, friendly and helpful :) It was good value for money!

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
A. Osadchuk - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic!"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

The staff at the Jucy office were amazing and the camper was just perfect as well. I had no problems with the camper at all and was very happy with its interior and exterior. I thoroughly enjoyed my Jucy experience and would do it again in a hearbeat. Go Jucy!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Tina - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Terrible Service"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

TERRIBLE service and dodgy processes!!! I booked 7 nights with a Jucy Cabana van in NZ and later added on an extra day. I paid $1400 NZD in total, which is already a ridiculous price for a 'budget' camper option.
A little while later I had to cancel my entire booking due to unforeseen circumstances. I was entitled to a full refund and called the company to let them know. The refund for my first 7 days was quickly processed without any issues. However, the refund for my additional day (240NZD) did not go through. This was followed by over a months worth of calls and emails trying to get my money back! I was put through to a different employee every single time and given excuse after excuse. I provided bank statements, account details, proof of booking, EVERYTHING! and the money never came! I was given a form to fill out with my details, which I filled out and sent bank. Only to to receive a reply from another employee with the same form to fill out again! I am absolutely disgusted by the service i have received. How hard is it to process a simple refund?? it seems completely dodgy to me, no respect for customer service and the value of money. I am still battling to get this money back with no luck, over a month later!
Will never be booking with Jucy again and wouldn't suggest it to others.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
F. Gouhier - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Review of my Jucy hire"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

Good

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
D. Cannon - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"no fly screens- prepare to be bitten!"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

We relocated a jucy combo from cairns to Brisbane in 5 days so didn't pay for the camper. If I had I would have been really annoyed as the camper only had one side opening window in the back with no fly screen. It is impossible in the Queensland climate to sleep with just the roof window open and even though we bought a fan, we had to have the side window open and we were bitten alive by mosquitoes. We mentioned it at the depot and were told that many other customers have made this point but the company does not do anything to resolve this. I understand that the campers were originally designed for use in NZ and that's why there are no fly screens. Would definitely avoid hiring on in Oz for the foreseeable future. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen area serviceable and user-friendly. It was a terrible gas guzzler though! In terms of their excess insurance policy- it is expensive but you can get excess car insurance seperately and save a packet. We used carhireexcess.com.au but there are loads of other companies that do it.

4Service 3Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
A. HitTheRoad avatar
, Australia
5 Review

"Editors Vote"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

As if the review doesn't say it clear enough! This is choice brand company, no wonder they are 3rd largest in the market. Highly recommended. Remember some of the cheaper models are the oldest though and don't expect perfection if going cheap.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value