Leisure Rent Review

Customer rated 4.8 / 5 from 52 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a new, technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 4 berth campervans. Its fleet consists of all brand new units, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia.

About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they are growing so fast. Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

Fleet

Leisure Rent is being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have, but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move into larger motorhomes with toilets and showers. As of this writing, they only have one vehicle for rent―a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new. And being a brand new company in 2017, you will be getting all brand new campers. Accordingly, their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

As mentioned, Leisure Rent is only supplying 1 type of campervan model for the foreseeable future and don't ever expect there to be a model with toilet/shower. It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point.

Inside, there's a fridge, microwave cooktop sink, and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5, 000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. This will be taken off your credit card and held for the duration of the rental. However, there is no credit card fee attached to that. If you return it undamaged, the full $5,000 will be returned and you are not out of pocket a cent. 

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market.

Reputation

This new Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. Even if they are dubbed as a new campervan hire, the person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. Their brand new campervans are 4 berth Hi-Top, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. 

Even if they don't have a physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. 

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania with no specific depots but continues to be a well-organized and well-recognized option among families of four. 

From the Agency

Thanks for your balanced reporting

Pros

  • Brand new campervans
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features

Cons

  • One campervan type
  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots, only the airports

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
J. Kaelbe - avatar not loaded
, Malaysia
1 Review

"2 weeks trip in Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

The van handled very well, was reliable and the design was well laid out and practical. The kitchen was well equipped and bedding and towels provided comfy. Only recommendation would be to install the lower bed in the back of the van with storage space underneath and have kitchen and cupboard close to the side entrance. This would minimize the daily reconfiguration process and allow for better access.
Ken was very responsive on any question or inquiry and we always felt in very good hands.
Would definitely recommend and rent again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the feedback and your suggested re design; however for us the layout you would prefer wouldn't allow for additional seat belts for the rear, and would mean purely a 2 berth vehicle. We require the flexibility of having up to 4 people travelling.

    Glad you enjoyed the experience all the same.

J. Paul - avatar not loaded
, Reunion
1 Review

"Very good with young children"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Children enjoy a lot and it is a good way to discover Tasmania. For parents back, it is more hard ... we recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Nice to hear the children enjoyed the campervan, and thanks for the recommendation.

Martin Z - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Good times on wheels"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Well presented and very true to its description. Highly reccomend this company, and its amazing service. We had an absolutely amazing time exploring Tasmania, and the campervan was spacious enough with 2 kids.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your positive feedback Martin and pleased to hear you had an amazing time.

D. Johnson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"One week in Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had an excellent experience with our camper van rental from Leisure Rent, I can't really fault it. The vehicle was perfect, brand new and exactly what we had been hoping for. In fact it exceeded expectations.
The picking up and dropping off of the vehicle was easy.
I would highly recommend a rental from Leisure Rent and feel certain we will use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Exceeding expectations - that's brilliant! so glad your experience with us was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

MC. Jarratt - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic experience, amazing holiday"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Spent 9 days in the LeisureRent camper and had a fantastic time. The solar panel and LPG allowed for freedom so that we could camp, cook and run the fridge everywhere on the road. Camper was nice and clean, including the towels and bedding. We particularly appreciated the sharp knives provided for cooking and two kettles - one to plug in at powered sites and the other to put on the stove. Little things were taken care of - bin bags, pegs, washing liquid - things we would have forgotten! We also loved the size of the van, we were able to park it easily in car-sized spots on the street in bigger towns. We also appreciated Ken's fast responses to our issues, he always picked up the phone and was happy and helpful in providing advice. Would recommend LeisureRent in a heartbeat.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for such wonderful feedback - reading comments like yours makes it even more enjoyable to be in this Business.

E. Krooneman - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Excellent experience with LeisureRent"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We are just back from a fantastic trip of 4 weeks exploring Tasmania. Tasmania is a little paradise. The contact with Leisure Rent is excellent. Ken is replying almost instantly to emails. Questions are clearly answered. We enjoyed the Toyota Hi-Ace camper van, who did its job without any problem. Big advantage is, that it is also allowed to drive on unsealed gravel roads, else we would have missed the Western Explorer and the Styx's.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the great review Evert - so pleased it all worked so well for you both and you enjoyed Tasmania so much.

 - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Very good campervan"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

The Leisure Rent campervan was excellent. Very easy to drive. Inside set-up was very convenient.. Small kitchen had everything we needed. We didn't have to go into crowded caravan park as we had the solar panel on top allowing us to be fully independent. I really recommend it.
Ken was really really nice and the exchange of mails easy and very quick.
Thank you so much Ken for the wonderfull holidays you allowed us to have.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased to hear you had a wonderful holiday and you enjoyed the campervan so much.

Mike - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

So easy, so much fun.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you had a fantastic time Mike.

A. Collins - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great van and service for a tour of Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Our LeisureRent Hiace van was perfect for our 8 days in the south of Tasmania. The airport pick up/drop off service was excellent. Ken was friendly, easy to communicate with and prompt with email and phone replies. The Hiace was near-new, easy to drive and well equipped. My wife and I were travelling with our 4 month old and it was great to be able to hire a pram and rear-facing car seat for reasonable rates from LeisureRent. We'd have no hesitation in hiring again from LeisureRent in the future

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you again so you can discover more of Tasmania.

B. Edwards - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Touring Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Quickly picked up at airport and on the road promptly. The motorhome was modern, clean with low kilometres and performed well with no problems for the eight days. On return transferred back to airport quickly (approximately 2 km) and overall very happy with the vehicle as advertised and good value for money. Will recommend this company and would use them again without question.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the great feedback - glad everything performed as expected.

. Roger and Ria - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Tasmanian Experience"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

As we had visited Tasmania in 2014 and only had 14 days to drive around we soon learned that it was not enough time to do this beautiful State justice...so we returned this year and went to all the places we missed, and returned to a couple of our favourites as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our return and were also fortunate to have perfect Spring weather almost the entire visit. Can highly recommend visiting "Tassie" if not already done so.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're pleased you enjoyed visiting Tasmania again and you had a great experience.

. Allan Richardson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"allan/val tasmania"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

The van was very serviceable and performed in all actions very well,

5Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us and providing your feedback

M. Heverle - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Family trip around Tassie"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Great experience overall, quick response, nearly new Van, would recommended to anyone looking into exploring this beautiful part of Australia

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your top review.

A. Hunt - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect Tasmanian Holiday"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Our camper was nearly brand new and in great condition. The unlimited kilometres option meant we could go everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pickup and drop off at the airport made the trip so smooth. All in all a perfect holiday experience with Leisure Rent. Thanks so much.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Sounds like you had a 'Perfect' time in our camper - thanks for your great feedback.

M. Griinke - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent Review September 2018"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Really enjoyed our experience of renting off Leisure Rent Tassie. Ken provided a wonderful service and was prompt in responding to any questions. we had. Good information was provided on arrival and drop off procedures. We were picked up within five minutes of arriving at the Hobart airport and dropped off at our vehicle pick up point shortly after. The vehicle was clean and tidy. Loved the fuel efficient vehicle, we felt very comfortable during the whole trip. While and electric fan heater was provided we did not use it as once the van was closed up at night we were warm enough. Loved the reversing camera as it cut down on blind spots.
Things to improve: We ordered package of chairs and table for eating outside. We used the table both inside and out as it was more stable than the table provided with the van. The camp chairs were a bit light and more robust chairs should be provided to cater for wider range of weights.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your comments and suggestions Mike; we're glad you enjoyed your experience with renting form us.

G. Wong - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"No services"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

No services ,dirty

1Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm so sorry we let you down (and ourselves) during your recent rental. If ever you need to rent again in Tasmania I hope you'll allow us the opportunity to make amends.

. Mary & Steve - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great holiday"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We were very impressed with our Leisure Rent Toyota Hi Ace vehicle. The interior was clean and roomy enough for cooking and sleeping.
Amazingly for a camper van the bed was extremely comfortable.
Ok fuel economy, but we were driving in really gusty and windy weather at times.
The convenience of being able to pick the vehicle in Hobart and leave in Launceston was fabulous.
Recommend Leisure Rent and would use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your excellent feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

K. Poon - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"A very nice campervan"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

This is my second campervan renting experience and this is definitely the best I’ve ever had. The car itself is clean and tidy. And it is easy to drive, even if I’m in those national parks in Tasmania. The campany representative is really supportive and can always response rabidly. I would recommend this to couples and families with one to two kids.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we're glad you found our vehicle and service the best you've ever had.

A. Díaz de Sandi - avatar not loaded
, Mexico
1 Review

"Best road trip ever"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Our trip was amazing thanks to the incredible van we had from Leisure Rentals.
As soon as we got to the airport, a kind lady picked us up and drove us to the packing spot where we would get the van. She was very amicable and even gave us a few tips about where to go and what to make sure not to miss during our road trip.
When we got to the van, everything was spot on, almost brand new if not new, extremely comfortable and everything inside the van was pretty easy to use. The instructions were clear and perfectly explained.
Definitely the best choice we could've made.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your wonderful feedback - we'll make sure to pass your kind words onto Tanya, and glad to know this was your best road trip ever.

Max - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent delivered!"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Had a great experience with Leisure Rent. Prompt pickup/drop off service, friendly staff and a reliable vehicle made for a great trip and I highly recommend their services to anyone interested in seeing Tassie by camper. Ken was friendly, informative and always on hand to offer advice or solve problems. Great customer service!

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Max for trusting us with your holiday experience; glad it went well for you.