Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 124 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 11/10/19

Leisure Rent is a new, technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 4 berth campervans. Its fleet consists of all brand new units, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet. Plus, they won the Tasplan Business Excellence Award 2019 for the Startup Category!

About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they are growing so fast. Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

And because of their excellent efforts, Leisure Rent has been recognized by Tasplan Business Excellence Awards, a renowned organization in Northern Tasmania who awards outstanding businesses. This 2019, the company won the Startup Category, which gives them a more impressive reputation in the area. 

Fleet

Leisure Rent is being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have, but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move into larger motorhomes with toilets and showers. As of this writing, they only have one vehicle for rent―a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new. And being a brand new company in 2017, you will be getting all brand new campers. Accordingly, their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

4 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point. Also inside is a fridge, microwave cooktop sink, and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount. When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all insurance reduction options do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Reputation

This new Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. Even if they are dubbed as a new campervan hire, the person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. Their brand new campervans are 4 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. Even if they don't have a physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania with no specific depots but continues to be a well-organized and well-recognized option among families of four. 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Brand new campervans and motorhomes
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots, only the airports

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
E. Boulton - avatar not loaded
, Afghanistan
1 Review

"Trip round the east coast"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I travelled alone and found the van to be a perfect size. Very clean and had everything I needed . The stove lights from a clicker found in the cutlery draw

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased the van fitted with your requirements and everything you needed was provided.

Tilly - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie touring"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our camper was a great bed on wheels, we didn’t make full use of the stove n sink but it served its purpose for us. Ken was great to deal with. Our camper did need a wheel alignment though.

5Service 3Mechanical 4Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and heads up on the wheel alignment!

Ali - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Everything we needed"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great size camper for a couple equipped with everything we needed. Comfortable and perfect for getting around Tassie.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad it suited your needs perfectly.

Nicole - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect home away from home"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

My son and I recently hired the high top 4 birth for 2.5 weeks and it was perfect for our needs. I was hesitant with the space for that long, but was very pleased that it was very comfortable. The van is also well stocked and plenty of blankets for those chilly Tasmanian nights. Communication with Ken was so easy, thank you. Onto planning our next trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We certainly look forward to having you return Nicole.

SE - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great van for budget conscious travellers"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Poor handling in gusty crosswinds, but that comes with the vehicle type. A little more attention to some small maintenance items would be good but now I'm being fussy. Had a great experience with Leisure Rent and would happily use them again.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased your experience was good and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

Jesse H - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Had an amazing road trip thanks to LeisureRent"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

With all the state border closures I left booking my Tasmanian road trip later than normal and found myself in a position where there were basically no campervans left in Tasmania for my travel dates. I came across LeisureRent on a blog and gave Ken a call and thankfully there was one van available for the first week of my holiday.

Ken was incredibly helpful and super responsive which made things so easy! The collection process was very quick (you pay before you arrive and there was no additional paper work to fill out once we arrived). We were handed the keys and away we went!

The vehicle was clean and ran well. Was large enough for 2 people (perfect for a couple), there is an option to have a second bed set up above the main bed but I don't think you'd want to be traveling with anymore than 2 in it unless it was a family with a small child. There was a small kitchen, and although we didn't really cook there was plenty of facilities. Toaster, microwave, kettle all included too which makes things easy if you want to warm up pre-made meals! There was also a little wardrobe section built in which was really convenient for storing clothes including some clothes hangers so you can hang jackets/shirts.

The radio has a USB port which made charging your phone while driving possible, which is always handy when you're using your phone as a GPS (which you'll probably be doing on a road trip). Was unlimited KMs too which was good. Really good value.

It was my first time driving a larger vehicle (albeit the Toyota HiAce isn't that big). Was easy to drive, definitely feels a bit different on open highways with wind compared to smaller cars (feels like you're being blown around a bit more) but you get used to it quickly.

Overall had an amazing time in Tasmania traveling in the campervan and would definitely recommend LeisureRent to anyone looking to hire a van for their trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Really appreciate the time you have taken to provide your wonderful review, and the high rating you've given us. Glad we were able to organise the Camper for you!

O. C. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Mouldy blankets, ripped off chairs, dodgy mechanics... And tried to rip you off with some "damages" at the end"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

No vehicle checks is made at pick up and drop off. I've asked and they told me "no need", that was a bit weird.
The pick up and drop off is made by another company.
The camper was alright, however the blanket was mouldy, I've paid extra for towels and sheets but towels were missing. Out of the 4 camp chairs, only one could be used, the 3 others were ripped.
Mechanically, was OK except the direction was always steering far left, annoying.
Well, dropped it off, no check, again "no need".
I was not going to leave any feedback about the company, I just felt like I've been a bit unlucky.
But today, 3 weeks after drop off, I receive an email asking for $1100 of repairs.
When I asked for evidences it was coming from me, I just got a reply: "Our apologies, we picked up the wrong reservation."

Watch out, make sure you take heaps of pics at pick up and drop off.
Super dodgy rental

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    We'll be in touch with you directly in relation to this.

M. Ugarte - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great home on wheels"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Spent 4 beautiful days travelling the East Coast of Tassie. Our home away from home was ideal and had everything we needed - comfortable bed and all the facilities we needed.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your high rating of us and pleased it worked out well for you both.

J. Micallef - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"East Coast Tasmania Trip"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Found Leisure Rent to be the cheapest when it came to hiring a camper van with options added but also backed up with great customer service. From the get go Ken from Leisure rent was true to his word and we received clean reliable camper vans in total we hired 4 vans. Traveled with ease and comfort along the East Coast of Tasmania with my wife and son. The airport pick up and drop service was reliable. Great way to get around would definitely recommend and hire through Leisure Rent the next time we travel around Tassie.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Was a pleasure to have you all rent with us Joe, thanks for showing your faith in us. Glad it worked out well for everyone.

P. Best - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent Camper Vans - Excellent Value"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent service and communication with Ken and the team. Excellent camper van - really great value for money. New, clean, well spec'ed. The company has a fair China Virus policy, no surprizes. A great experience - thank you!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us, and also for your wonderful feedback.

J. Tennett - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Compact but convenient"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

This is our first time in a campervan. I was worried 11 days would be a challenge in such a confined space but it worked really well. The van was well kitted out with everything we needed. We chose to cook in camp kitchens rather than in the van just to avoid the smell of cooked food permeating the van. The size worked well - big enough to stand in, small enough to manoeuvre in small parking spaces. We slept comfortably. I would certainly use Leisure Rent again - their customer service is excellent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you found the van suitable for your needs and it had everything you needed; thanks for the vote of confidence in us, and for leaving a well balance review.

J. Jephson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect van for the trip"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

The van was perfect, the bed was comfortable and all of the inclusions were exactly what you want. The price was great and Ken went above and beyond for us when I mixed up the booking, made sure we weren’t without a car for our last day. Could not recommend this company enough, would rent again with leisure rent!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Seems like you enjoyed the van, thanks for the positive feedback guys!

R. Horst - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"NW Tasmania by campervan"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

It's small, but that's how we like it. Living in such a small space can take some getting used to, be we have done it before. A small (Hiace) van is so much easier to drive on Tasmania's winding roads. However, the van alleges it will accommodate 4 people, which is completely impractical. Leisure Rent are easy and friendly to deal with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased you had a nice time in the Campervan, and enjoyed our service.

Georgia - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great way to spend time in Tassie"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

I came to Tassie to spend time riding the MTB trails in Derby and St Helens. The campervan was the perfect way to get around and was a convenient way to cook with its gas stove top.

Ken and his team were friendly to deal with and responsive, including when I changed my booking dates several times.

Will be using them again for my future Tassie trips.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    MTB riding and campervanning are the perfect partners, so pleased you discovered us, and this way of travelling Georgia. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Danni - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"10/10, could not fault!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Through the booking process responses were super fast and Ken made amendments to my booking a number of times without any fuss. While in possession of the vehicle I had to call well outside of business hours a couple of times and Ken happily helped me to resolve the issues I was having. The campervan itself was fantastic and in the best condition of any campervan I'd rented in the past, by far. Returning the vehicle was a breeze and Ken was even happy to take some leftover produce I had so I didn't have to throw it away. I couldn't recommend Leisure Rent highly enough and will absolutely be booking with them again on my next trip to Tasmania!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for such a positive review Danni, glad everything went well for you and thanks for returning the campervan so clean and tidy - we look forward to welcoming you back.

A. P - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie Trip"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

I had trouble with booking through Motorhome republic. Would never use them again.

Pick up was literally that. There is no staff from leisure rent that we saw but the team at the parking place we collected from were friendly.

The table in the camper was hopeless. Was unable to sit 4 people at the table and couldn’t get it to fit to turn it into a bed. The pillows provided looked like they had dog hair all over them and some dishes were dirty.

The camping chairs you pay extra for were horrible. So uncomfortable. We didn’t request a gps but found one in the glove box on the last day there.

Maybe a list of where to find things like that on arrival would be a nice touch. We had to go through everything to find power cable and water hose too and the camp ground that was suggested for closest dump station to the airport was closed.

It was comfortable to travel in overall. The fridge was good compared to other campers we have hired. Bed was comfortable with plenty of room.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Apologies you had difficulties with some of the operational functions of the Motorhome (things like converting the dinette table to a bed, and where the power cord and hose are located are covered in the operational video link which is emailed to all customers, perhaps you overlooked that). It's inexcusable for the dishes not to have been cleaned, and sounds like the pillows need to be replaced - we'll follow up with the staff concerned. Thanks for your fair and balanced feedback.

D. Batt - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie trip"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

All went smoothly from start to finish. Ken was very prompt and clear on any instructions which led to a trouble free trip.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you had a trouble free trip, and thanks for returning the van so clean and tidy.

A. Sherriff - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Lentil"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Ken was great in making sure we had everything we needed. The van itself was in great condition and didn’t miss a beat.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, and glad it all worked out well for you.

Thanks - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Cheers"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

The State of Tassie is awesomely beautiful. The van was an easy drive with simple steps for setup and disassemble. Thanks heaps would do again

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your feedback and we agree Tassie is beautiful!

C. Bailly - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Very good cost/quality ratio, and excellent customer service !"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Easy booking process and pick up, the vehicle was in good condition, we had no problem during our little trip. The drop off was quick and easy too. Despite a little issue, the customer service was very efficient and I felt fully satisfied of my experience with this company. I would recommend it !

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, and thanks for your wonderful feedback, glad everything was up to your expectations.