Leisure Rent Review

Customer rated 4.8 / 5 from 37 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market. Established in late 2017 the company only offers one kind of modern campervan and that is a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new.

The owner of Leisure Rent has over 25 years experience in the campervan and car rental market so when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. I wish all campervan rental companies would be this smart.

Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. At the end of the day, we the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

Leisure Rent are being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move in to larger motorhomes with toilets and showers.

Being a brand new company in 2017 you will be getting all brand new campers, but their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres so you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

The Campervan

As mentioned, Leisure Rent is only supplying 1 type of campervan model for the foreseeable future and don't ever expect there to be a model with toilet/shower. It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point.

There's a fridge, microwave cooktop sink and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Pick Up and Drop Off

So without a depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well an inspection report is supplied to you based of the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup - if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course it is common place to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that to. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

Insurance

Which brings us to insurance for damage. Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. This WILL be taken off your credit card and held for the duration of the rental. However, there is no credit card fee attached to that. If you return it undamaged the full $5000 will be returned and you are not out of pocket a cent. There is the option to reduce the liability to AU$2500 for AU$30pd or reduce it to NIL by paying AU$45pd. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market.

Reputation

Being brand new, there is no feedback at the time of writing on just awesome these campers will be but they are coming from a reliable campervan conversion company and are being managed by a man with 25years experience who is committed to service and is doing this as a labour of love. We expect this to be a go to company for quite a few years to come. (but check below there might be a review there by a previous renter by now).


From the Agency

Thanks for your balanced reporting

Pros

  • Brand new campervans
  • Hi Top available
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania

Cons

  • Limited fleet numbers
  • Limited choice of berths

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
G. Wong - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"No services"

  • Reviewed 1 day ago

No services ,dirty

1Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm so sorry we let you down (and ourselves) during your recent rental. If ever you need to rent again in Tasmania I hope you'll allow us the opportunity to make amends.

. Mary & Steve - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great holiday"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very impressed with our Leisure Rent Toyota Hi Ace vehicle. The interior was clean and roomy enough for cooking and sleeping.
Amazingly for a camper van the bed was extremely comfortable.
Ok fuel economy, but we were driving in really gusty and windy weather at times.
The convenience of being able to pick the vehicle in Hobart and leave in Launceston was fabulous.
Recommend Leisure Rent and would use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your excellent feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

K. Poon - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"A very nice campervan"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

This is my second campervan renting experience and this is definitely the best I’ve ever had. The car itself is clean and tidy. And it is easy to drive, even if I’m in those national parks in Tasmania. The campany representative is really supportive and can always response rabidly. I would recommend this to couples and families with one to two kids.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we're glad you found our vehicle and service the best you've ever had.

A. Díaz de Sandi - avatar not loaded
, Mexico
1 Review

"Best road trip ever"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our trip was amazing thanks to the incredible van we had from Leisure Rentals.
As soon as we got to the airport, a kind lady picked us up and drove us to the packing spot where we would get the van. She was very amicable and even gave us a few tips about where to go and what to make sure not to miss during our road trip.
When we got to the van, everything was spot on, almost brand new if not new, extremely comfortable and everything inside the van was pretty easy to use. The instructions were clear and perfectly explained.
Definitely the best choice we could've made.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your wonderful feedback - we'll make sure to pass your kind words onto Tanya, and glad to know this was your best road trip ever.

Max - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent delivered!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Had a great experience with Leisure Rent. Prompt pickup/drop off service, friendly staff and a reliable vehicle made for a great trip and I highly recommend their services to anyone interested in seeing Tassie by camper. Ken was friendly, informative and always on hand to offer advice or solve problems. Great customer service!

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Max for trusting us with your holiday experience; glad it went well for you.

N. Espinoza - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great experience!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The car kept us warm, ran like a dream and Ken was very helpful, great to work with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad everything went well for you Natalie - thanks for your top feedback too!

ET - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Good and cosy camper for 2"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

The van was driving nice and fine. Bed was good even for 1.9m person. Heater was much needed and did the job. Very nice to have extra blankets and towels we missed that on our prior camper on the mainland.

The camper however was pricy compared to mainland campers. We had a 7.2m camper with shower for a lower price than this smaller basic camper (same amount of days, also 1way and full coverage). Only because we couldn't return the other camper in Hobart we chose to rent this separate camper. The fact that you have the option to pick the camper from the ferry arrival place is a huge plus for us.
Another poor thing is the fact that there is only an open drain to the ground from the sink. The fact that you have to use a bucket is absurd. You can sacrifice part of the closets below to fit a small tank that can at least take 1 load from the sink so you can do the dishes in the van.

Last issue was the fridge. It makes such a noise that we had to shut it off during the night to be able to sleep.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your balanced feedback and comparisons with your other hire, much appreciated.

E. Bradley - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value and service - had a fantastic time."

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Ken was incredibly communicative throughout the whole process and made the choice really easy to go with Leisure Rent.
The van was well equipped with everything we needed and the pick-up/ drop-off process was quick and easy.

Thanks Ken.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Communication is so important when planning a holiday, and we're pleased you found the pick-up and drop-off just the way we've planned it - quick and easy!

    Thanks for your great review Ellen.

J. Rawsthorne. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Dream Holliday"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Hired a Toyota hiace camper from Leisurerent and couldn’t have been happier with the service or the quality of the camper. It was brand new and well fitted out with everything you need for life on the road around Tasmania. The company is excellent to deal with and are located just outside the airport terminal. We will be using this company again on our return trip

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your wonderful feedback, so pleased you had a 'dream holiday' and everything you needed was included. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tassie soon.

. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"excellent value and friendly"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

excellent and seamless service from Ken in Launceston. Even had Ken contact me when we left something in the van and getting it posted to us.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed the experience and our seamless service, and thanks for rating us so highly.

N. - avatar not loaded
, Brazil
1 Review

"Really good company!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent experience! Clean and really good campervan!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you had an excellent experience, and thanks for rating us so highly.

M. Spurgin - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie trip"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We did a two week trip around Tasmania. The van performed well. Mechanically & comfort wise. Ken was great to deal with. Very prompt in all communications.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback; great to read everything performed well for you.

P. Zacharczyk - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Fun fun fun"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We liked the vehicle, it was just right for my wife and I during our 9 day tour of Tassie. Ken was a pleasure to deal with, and made sure we had everything we needed, even offering to drive over two hours to our location to help with a problem that came up with a kitchen appliance.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're glad you had so much Fun in the Campervan and that we got your problem solved in a timely manner.

A. Birchall - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great camper!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Everything was perfect!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased everything was Perfect for your holiday experience in Tasmania Alan.

Nick - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great experience in Tasmania!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We hired a van for 9 days. Great booking experience and extremely great value! Would definitely book again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your great review Nick, and we're happy the booking experience was was great. We hope to see you back in Tassie soon, 9 days just isn't long enough to see all that Tasmania offers!

F. ROTHFUSS - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Effecient rental process -- Very well equipped vehicle"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Great little unit, suitable for two people. Very well laid out and well equipped. Handles easily on open road and on curvy hills.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your 5 star review Frank, and we're glad our Camper lived up to your expectations.

Joanne - Manly NSW - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Taste of Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Very well kitted out campervan. Everything we needed and more.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased everything and more was provided for your tour of Tasmania Joanne and thanks for the great feedback.

I. Koster - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"5 star experience"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Good contact, quick responses, the van was complete and clean. Happy travellers!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So glad you were 'Happy travellers' and thanks for returning the van so clean and tidy!

A. Hughes - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic service and campervan"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We spent 6 nights in our van covering a fair amount of ground in that time. Our van drove without any issues whatsoever and was a great way to see the island. We had our almost 2yo daughter in with us who loved living in the "bus" for the 6 nights. We didnt use the table inside the van and left the area in the bed position for the whole trip as it helped us with our storage. The setup seemed slightly different to the other vans on the road that we saw in that the table/bed area is in the middle section of the van, whereas others are at the rear. No idea what is better just a heads up for anyone who does have a preference to the setup. We used the top bunk area more for storage than a bed which was quite handy. The fridge was fantastic and has helped me make a decision that I wont buy anything cheaper than the top range Engel for our camping trips.

The service from Ken leading up to our trip was easy and very efficient with response, as was the pick up and drop off services.. Both very easy.

Not negatives, but a couple of additions we would suggest to complete the trip:
An awning - we had fantastic weather so we would have used it as shade, but in Tassie it could be used against all the elements.
A ridge/railing around the area on top of the fridge. This area is quite large and great when stopped for storage but when you're moving anything on there basically slides off so it is a bit wasted. Having a ~5cm rail around the top would allow for a decent amount of storage.
Hooks, hooks, hooks.. If there's a free wall or bit of space add a hook to hang towels, garbage, jackets, whatever.
Option to hire a little 2 burner butane cooker. The inside cooked worked fine, but didnt take much to set the smoke alarm off. Even when cooking toast on the toaster's #2 setting (which is barely toast) the smoke alarm would go off. So we would have loved a little burner we could fire up outside not only for the smoke alarm reason, it just give you more freedom outside the confinements of the van which can get tight. Renters could buy the gas from the supermarket.

Other than that though, we had a fantastic time and would easily recommend Leisure Rent to others. Hire the table and chairs for outside as well - hardly an extra cost and means you can enjoy the outdoors wherever you pull up!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your comprehensive feedback Ashley. We're pleased to read you had a fantastic time.
    You've made some very good suggestions, particularly placing a rail on the large area above the fridge, we'll be retro fitting this to our whole fleet so thanks for the tip!

    Likewise some hooks, we'll find somewhere to place these for sure. We're still not 100% sure about the awnings, but must investigate the best/durable kind.

    Thanks again for your positive contribution and high rating of us.

P. Blessing - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Campervan hire"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

I am not sure about the "login" above Ken but will try. Also surprised to hear I have to agree to terms and conditions below. It might encourage more if you offer a few free days in a camper to those who respond...or chance in a competition entry for same.
Camper was top quality drove well with with good steering and 10L/100 consumption with just enough power for the hills, as long as not in a rush.
SS stove cover hinge had failed and fridge would not cycle and let us down which making shorter life of fresh meat and dairy.
Great communication and we had a good holiday all round.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm not quite sure I understand your first paragraph Peter, however you certainly did achieve great fuel economy during your trip - there's more to spend your money on in Tasmania rather than fuel I'm sure you'd agree! Apologies for the couple of problems you made mention; we'll get the fridge looked at ASAP, thanks for letting us know and for renting with us. I'm pleased you had a good holiday all round.