Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 95 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 11/10/19

Leisure Rent is a new, technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 4 berth campervans. Its fleet consists of all brand new units, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet. Plus, they won the Tasplan Business Excellence Award 2019 for the Startup Category!

About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they are growing so fast. Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

And because of their excellent efforts, Leisure Rent has been recognized by Tasplan Business Excellence Awards, a renowned organization in Northern Tasmania who awards outstanding businesses. This 2019, the company won the Startup Category, which gives them a more impressive reputation in the area. 

Fleet

Leisure Rent is being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have, but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move into larger motorhomes with toilets and showers. As of this writing, they only have one vehicle for rent―a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new. And being a brand new company in 2017, you will be getting all brand new campers. Accordingly, their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

4 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point. Also inside is a fridge, microwave cooktop sink, and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount. When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all insurance reduction options do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Reputation

This new Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. Even if they are dubbed as a new campervan hire, the person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. Their brand new campervans are 4 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. Even if they don't have a physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania with no specific depots but continues to be a well-organized and well-recognized option among families of four. 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Brand new campervans and motorhomes
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots, only the airports

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
P. Challen - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A great journey"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rented for a month the great Tassie circumnavigation , van as a pleasure to dive and live in , performed well , economical on fuel , was exactly what I hoped for I would highly recommend leisure rental vans I will rent again for sure

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased your experience was what you had hoped for and thank you for a fantastic review; we look forward to having you rent with us again.

M. Clements - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Awesome adventure!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The customer service was above and beyond what we expected! The quality of the vehicle and living space was great! We had a wonderful adventure!!!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your great review of us; we're so pleased you had a wonderful adventure.

M. King - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Our Tassie Adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The campervan was comfortable and easy to drive. The facilities inside made it easy to stay anywhere even without power. The toilet and shower were reliable and functional. We have two girls aged 2 and 5 and this was a winner for us. The girls loved it. We all loved it. We would definitely hire again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for renting with us and for providing your wonderful feedback; so pleased you all loved it!

J. Turner - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Perfect extra accommodation"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

I was travelling with a group of friends who had booked accommodation already when I joined their group, so hiring a LeisureRent van was perfect as extra accommodation. It allowed me to travel with them and have lots of fun together! Easy to drive and a very enjoyable week in Tasmania.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
J. Martin - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Campervan review"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

The customer service and communication from start to finish with Ken was outstanding. No question was too hard, never rushed in a conversation and emails always answered in a very timely way. I have two suggestions for consideration for improvement- a fitted bottom sheet in the linen package would make life so much easier when making the bed!! A bit more detailed attention when checking the inside of the van prior to hiring the van out would have highlighted a couple of issues we had whilst on our trip. We had to cut our trip short due the the Corona virus which impacted the overall value for money in the total cost, which was a shame though nobody's fault. Overall very positive experience.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your glowing review Jenny, and appreciate your suggestions.

H. Schenk - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent 21 days in Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Very easy pick up with bus taking us to van and back to airport after rent, vehicle nice and clean and all filled up , good instructions inside , easy to set up for night , cooking etc. mattresses comfy , plenty of storage for 2 people travelling in toyota commuter Campervan , fixtures , cutlery cookery , chairs , table etc all up to date , , automatic drove very easy , great to have revers camera , navi all inside , fridge lasted for > 3 days even on unpowered sites which we used quiet a bit and batteries recharged during driving very rapidly , would use it again and recommend , the right way to see Tasmania any way because of his many bush camps , national parks wonderful caravan parks , and made the whole holiday spontaneous and fitted around things we discovered ,

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your in depth and comprehensive review, and we hope to welcome you back for another journey sometime.

M. Mould - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Highlight of our trip"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Having this van made our trip, couldn’t recommend it any higher. Beautiful van and affordable!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased to read the Campervan made your trip, thanks for the great feedback.

Mavis - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"service"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

the van is in good condition, nice design, clean
customer service also good and friendly

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you liked the design of our van and you enjoyed your time with us.

. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great vehicle"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Campervan was wonderful and easy to use. A suggestion is a demonstration when picking up the vehicle on how everything works or even a YouTube clip to refer to. We were lucky that we had friends we were with that showed us how things worked.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    A great suggestion regarding the video clip, which we've just recently had produced and is now sent to customers as part of their booking confirmation - so they're able to see exactly how everything operates. I'm pleased you found everything easy to use.

Dylan.L - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great campervan at a fair price!"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Our 3rd year hiring a campervan through Leisure Rent. Great value, helpful staff, comfortable camping.
Unfortunately, the fridge was on the fritz for our hire. But owner was very apologetic and reimbursed associated costs with purchasing esky and ice.
Everything else was a breeze. Would use again.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you keep coming back to us Dylan, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

H. Rutjes - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Leisure rent rental"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Perfect campervan for a two week holiday in Tasmania. Great and helpfull staf. Especially pickup and drop off very smooth.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Am glad our service and vehicle were perfect for you, and appreciate the top score you've given us.

A. Fontaine - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic!"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

We just ordered a camper through Leisure Rent and it was 10/10! The pick up from Launceston airport was quick and the handover of the vehicle was seamless. The vehicle itself looked pretty much brand new, it was in fantastic condition. We found that it was very fuel-efficient and was a lovely drive. The bed was easy to put together/put away and there was ample room for two people. The people were also lovely to deal with, very friendly! I would 100% recommend Leisure Rent and will be using them again! Thanks for making our trip seamless :)

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us, and am so pleased it all worked out well for you - we'll see you when next you visit beautiful Tasmania.

E. Williams - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent, both LeisureRent & Tasmania surpassed expectations"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

LeisureRent provided a quality, well maintained vehicle. It was fitted with everything we could need, including little touches like a heater and camp chairs. Collection from Launceston was easy via Drive Park Fly. Will recommend highly and will be back in the future

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your positive feedback; we agree Tasmania is hard to beat and so glad everything was easy for you.

M. Sauce - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Awesome way to travel Tazmania"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Rv in very good conditions and very practical to wonder freely around tazmania

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you were happy with everything

C&S. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"LeisureRent - Excellent Campervanning Experience"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

We're first timers for this campervanning and we couldn't be happier having found LeisureRent. Ken is available round the clock for queries, e.g. tyre pressure, tips, etc. We spent 1 week in Hobart, Tasman Peninsula and Freycinet. We wished we could have spent another week for canpervanning particularly with how pleasant and smooth our trip was starting from and to airport pickup. Everything was well co-ordinated and we couldn't stressed enough how lucky we got ourselves into. Thinking to book with LeisureRent again for our Launcestion trip in the next couple of months.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks guys for such a wonderful review, it's very humbling to read your comments. Hope to welcome you back to Tasmania very soon.

Woodcoca - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fantastic Service and Vehicle, could not praise the organisation more highly, we had so much fun exploring Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

The Campervan provided us with everything we needed, Ken gave us the personal service that is missing with some organisations. We will be back to hire again when the opportunity presents itself. We hope that wont be too long from Terminal. Many many thanks for all your help and advice.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your stellar review - we look forward to helping you create more memories next time you visit.

T. Esdale - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

Very good. Was easy to use and clear instructions when needed.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate the wonderful feedback.

D. Prasad - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"We had a great time!"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

This was our first time using a camper van and it was a great time! We really enjoyed the convince and how well the camper van was set up, it was just perfect for the two of us. They only thing i would recommend if for some "dummies guides" for setting up the bed and some tips and tricks kind of manual as it took us some time to figure some aspects of the van out. But other wise it was a great little unit and great holiday.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased your first time experience was perfect, thanks for your balanced feedback.

M. Lafuente - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"Quite good"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

It was our first experience and it has been really good.
I wish the weather hay been better but, in the end, it was holiday time and we enjoyed it butt.
I’d like to comment that the place where we had to drop off the campervan is not very well indicated.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your feedback in relation to finding our return location at Hobart Airport - we'll endeavour to make this more prominent in our literature. Glad the experience of renting from us has been good.

Alex V - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Service & Value for Money"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Loved my trip to Tassie last week. It's rare these days to get such great and friendly service, and it was such a nice surprise to receive this from LeisureRent. Ken was so helpful right throughout the booking process, and the staff went out of their way to give me advice for the trip. They were organised and generous. The camper was in great condition, very clean and comfortable and economical. Highly recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We really do appreciate your wonderful feedback Alex, so pleased to know everything went well for you and you loved your Tassie adventure.