Leisure Rent Review

Customer rated 4.9 / 5 from 25 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a brand new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market. Established in late 2017 the company only offers one kind of campervan upon launch and that is a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new.

The owner of Leisure Rent has over 25 years experience in the campervan and car rental market so when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. I wish all campervan rental companies would be this smart.

Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. At the end of the day, we the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

Leisure Rent are being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move in to larger motorhomes with toilets and showers.

Being a brand new company in 2017 you will be getting all brand new campers, but their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometers so you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

The Campervan

As mentioned, Leisure Rent is only supplying 1 type of campervan model for the foreseeable future and don't ever expect there to be a model with toilet/shower. It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point.

There's a fridge, microwave cooktop sink and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Pick Up and Drop Off

So without a depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well an inspection report is supplied to you based of the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup - if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course it is common place to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that to. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

Insurance

Which brings us to insurance for damage. Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. This WILL be taken off your credit card and held for the duration of the rental. However, there is no credit card fee attached to that. If you return it undamaged the full $5000 will be returned and you are not out of pocket a cent. There is the option to reduce the liability to AU$2500 for AU$30pd or reduce it to NIL by paying AU$45pd. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market.

Reputation

Being brand new, there is no feedback at the time of writing on just awesome these campers will be but they are coming from a reliable campervan conversion company and are being managed by a man with 25years experience who is committed to service and is doing this as a labour of love. We expect this to be a go to company for quite a few years to come. (but check below there might be a review there by a previous renter by now).


From the Agency

Thanks for your balanced reporting

Pros

  • Brand new campervans
  • Hi Top available
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania

Cons

  • Limited fleet numbers
  • Limited choice of berths
  • Not established with a history yet

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Compare prices now

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"excellent value and friendly"

  • Reviewed 6 days ago

excellent and seamless service from Ken in Launceston. Even had Ken contact me when we left something in the van and getting it posted to us.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed the experience and our seamless service, and thanks for rating us so highly.

N. - avatar not loaded
, Brazil
1 Review

"Really good company!"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent experience! Clean and really good campervan!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you had an excellent experience, and thanks for rating us so highly.

M. Spurgin - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie trip"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did a two week trip around Tasmania. The van performed well. Mechanically & comfort wise. Ken was great to deal with. Very prompt in all communications.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback; great to read everything performed well for you.

P. Zacharczyk - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Fun fun fun"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the vehicle, it was just right for my wife and I during our 9 day tour of Tassie. Ken was a pleasure to deal with, and made sure we had everything we needed, even offering to drive over two hours to our location to help with a problem that came up with a kitchen appliance.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're glad you had so much Fun in the Campervan and that we got your problem solved in a timely manner.

A. Birchall - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great camper!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was perfect!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased everything was Perfect for your holiday experience in Tasmania Alan.

Nick - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great experience in Tasmania!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We hired a van for 9 days. Great booking experience and extremely great value! Would definitely book again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your great review Nick, and we're happy the booking experience was was great. We hope to see you back in Tassie soon, 9 days just isn't long enough to see all that Tasmania offers!

F. ROTHFUSS - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Effecient rental process -- Very well equipped vehicle"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great little unit, suitable for two people. Very well laid out and well equipped. Handles easily on open road and on curvy hills.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your 5 star review Frank, and we're glad our Camper lived up to your expectations.

Joanne - Manly NSW - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Taste of Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Very well kitted out campervan. Everything we needed and more.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased everything and more was provided for your tour of Tasmania Joanne and thanks for the great feedback.

I. Koster - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"5 star experience"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Good contact, quick responses, the van was complete and clean. Happy travellers!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So glad you were 'Happy travellers' and thanks for returning the van so clean and tidy!

A. Hughes - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic service and campervan"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We spent 6 nights in our van covering a fair amount of ground in that time. Our van drove without any issues whatsoever and was a great way to see the island. We had our almost 2yo daughter in with us who loved living in the "bus" for the 6 nights. We didnt use the table inside the van and left the area in the bed position for the whole trip as it helped us with our storage. The setup seemed slightly different to the other vans on the road that we saw in that the table/bed area is in the middle section of the van, whereas others are at the rear. No idea what is better just a heads up for anyone who does have a preference to the setup. We used the top bunk area more for storage than a bed which was quite handy. The fridge was fantastic and has helped me make a decision that I wont buy anything cheaper than the top range Engel for our camping trips.

The service from Ken leading up to our trip was easy and very efficient with response, as was the pick up and drop off services.. Both very easy.

Not negatives, but a couple of additions we would suggest to complete the trip:
An awning - we had fantastic weather so we would have used it as shade, but in Tassie it could be used against all the elements.
A ridge/railing around the area on top of the fridge. This area is quite large and great when stopped for storage but when you're moving anything on there basically slides off so it is a bit wasted. Having a ~5cm rail around the top would allow for a decent amount of storage.
Hooks, hooks, hooks.. If there's a free wall or bit of space add a hook to hang towels, garbage, jackets, whatever.
Option to hire a little 2 burner butane cooker. The inside cooked worked fine, but didnt take much to set the smoke alarm off. Even when cooking toast on the toaster's #2 setting (which is barely toast) the smoke alarm would go off. So we would have loved a little burner we could fire up outside not only for the smoke alarm reason, it just give you more freedom outside the confinements of the van which can get tight. Renters could buy the gas from the supermarket.

Other than that though, we had a fantastic time and would easily recommend Leisure Rent to others. Hire the table and chairs for outside as well - hardly an extra cost and means you can enjoy the outdoors wherever you pull up!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your comprehensive feedback Ashley. We're pleased to read you had a fantastic time.
    You've made some very good suggestions, particularly placing a rail on the large area above the fridge, we'll be retro fitting this to our whole fleet so thanks for the tip!

    Likewise some hooks, we'll find somewhere to place these for sure. We're still not 100% sure about the awnings, but must investigate the best/durable kind.

    Thanks again for your positive contribution and high rating of us.

P. Blessing - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Campervan hire"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I am not sure about the "login" above Ken but will try. Also surprised to hear I have to agree to terms and conditions below. It might encourage more if you offer a few free days in a camper to those who respond...or chance in a competition entry for same.
Camper was top quality drove well with with good steering and 10L/100 consumption with just enough power for the hills, as long as not in a rush.
SS stove cover hinge had failed and fridge would not cycle and let us down which making shorter life of fresh meat and dairy.
Great communication and we had a good holiday all round.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm not quite sure I understand your first paragraph Peter, however you certainly did achieve great fuel economy during your trip - there's more to spend your money on in Tasmania rather than fuel I'm sure you'd agree! Apologies for the couple of problems you made mention; we'll get the fridge looked at ASAP, thanks for letting us know and for renting with us. I'm pleased you had a good holiday all round.

A. Welch - avatar not loaded
, Ireland
1 Review

"Fantastic"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

A really fantastic company. So helpful all the way through. Quick responses to my queries. Very friendly staff. Campervan was immaculate; comfortable and had everything needed. Best we have had on our travels so far. Thank you.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Wow! - " best we have had on our travels so far" now that's a bold statement to make, and so humbling for us to read.
    Comments like yours make all the effort we put in worthwhile, so thanks indeed for your wonderful feedback. Thanks for returning the campervan in such great clean condition too. 5*

Niels - avatar not loaded
, Denmark
1 Review

"New vehicle, good experience"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Picked up the Toyota Hiace in Hobart and returned in Launceston (great that different pick up and drop off points are offered, saved us hours on the road).
Very new vehicle, with everything working although the rattling of the fridge did force us to turn it off at night. We were missing a couple of basics (one chair and a broom), but quickly agreed with Ken to buy it and charge later.
Overall good experience, would recommend to use Leisure Rent again

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    We'll get to the bottom of that noisy fridge - pleased you all had a good experience and thanks for looking after the camper so well 5*

M. Steel - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Everything we asked for"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

I'm a stickler for cleanliness & value for money.
The vehicle was exceptionally clean & fully kitted out
Very competitive pricing for a new vehicle
Absolutely no complaints
Ken was great to deal with
We will certainly use LeisureRent again & highly recommend others do the same

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your great feedback Mike and also for returning the camper back in top class condition 5*

C. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Very good first time campervan trip!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Ken was very quick to respond, and the campervan was in great condition. The vehicle performed without a hitch, and it really helped me and my friend enjoy our trip around Tasmania together. Highly recommended.
However, be aware of the deposit process, which I really didn't like.
AFTER we had booked our flights to Launceston (dependent on having booked this campervan from there), Ken said he had to charge a AUD$5,000 (!!) deposit for a one-week rental. That was more than 3x the deposit for my apartment, and seemed really excessive given that he had my credit card information. I can understand that he made a large investment in the new campervans, but there are better ways than putting such a big charge on a card. Had I not had a high limit credit card our trip, as two students, would have been set back to square one.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad that you had a wonderful time in the camper and thanks for rating us so highly - If we could avoid taking the security bond from the clients who don't reduce their liability we would, however at this stage we can not. Fortunately you had a high enough credit limit to allow you to experience our service.

Nick E - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fantastic"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Fantastic - we loved every minuite of it a very well equipped and kept van, also a very comfortable sleep for 3 people .i miss it already !!!


Only thing I would recommend the company takes a frozen payment from credit cards rather than take deposit 14 days before and then giving back 10 days after as this can mean charges. Most company’s take a frozen payment these days especially if they can’t take the deposit on day of pick up .

Thank you !!

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your balanced feedback - if we could avoid taking the liability bond from those clients who choose not to reduce their liability we would - however at this stage we can't

Tony Lam - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"A Nice one and hope you'd be getting bigger and better"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Although there were some double booking issue which was having conflict to my booking schedule,
I can feel the sincerity to resolve it and I believe it would become better in future.
And I think I'd rent the van from you again if I come Tasmania next time.
Below are some personal opinions from my view :

For the pickup in Launceston :
Since there was no exact road sign of "Shuttle Bus Pick-up Bay" outside the airport (or maybe I overlooked it) and the shuttle was not there at that moment, I was a bit wondered about which should be the correct location but its fine to me that it's resolved by calling the hotline provided. I think it could be a bit difficult to some people who are not very good in spoken English.
So, if some picture could be provided in the website, it may be smoother to both your staff and also the customers in future.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We'll take your suggestions on board and try to make the pickup more noticeable for all concerned; appreciated your assistance with the return of the camper, and glad you had a wonderful time

S. Roughley - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"LeisureRent camper hire"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Great experience from start to finish. Van was great, almost new only 6000 km on the clock, built in satnav which was really handy, economical, easy to drive. Would definitely recommend this company to hire from if wanting a driving holiday around Tasmania

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so pleased you had a great experience in our new camper and hope to see you back again sometime soon

H. Fairley - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Vanlife round Tassie"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Ken’s customer service was exceptional, quick to respond and answer any questions we had, being flexible with us on the drop off time. The collection and drop off of the van was very easy. The van itself was in great condition and provided us the perfect way to see Tassie. Thanks LeisureRent for a great trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks you! for your wonderful feedback and renting with us - we hope to welcome you back again sometime.

R. Eckert - avatar not loaded
, Germany
2 Review

"Perfekt"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Very friendly. I'm happy with the service.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're so glad to read you were happy with everything and thanks for your faith in renting with us.