Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 216 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a very popular technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 2 and 4 berth campervans. 

Its fleet consists of all current models, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. 

It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. 

And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet. 

Plus, they won the Tasplan Business Excellence Award 2019 for the Startup Category!


About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a newish player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they have rapidly risen to the top.

Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. 

So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. 

In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup.

Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? 

Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. 

You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. 

And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? 

So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. 

Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. 

The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. 

In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. 

And because of their excellent efforts, Leisure Rent has been recognized by Tasplan Business Excellence Awards, a renowned organization in Northern Tasmania who awards outstanding businesses, the company won the 2019 Startup Category, which gives them a more impressive reputation in the area. 

Fleet

Leisure Rent only have 2 vehicle types in the fleet at this stage, keeping it nice and simple

2 berth hi-top campervan  

4 berth turtle style

Their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 5 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. 

As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. 

Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. 

There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. 

This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. 

All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

Hilux is a beast of a vehicle and so powering to any place in particular won't be a problem.


2 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. 

Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. 

This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers if you like, however only sleeping 2 inside.

Also inside is a fridge, microwave, cooktop, sink and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 

Having the high top is a great advantage in comfort. 

Being able to stand up fully inside the campervan is taken for granted by most people, but when you get a van without the extra height and you can't stand up straight, you won't believe how much more uncomfortable living in that space is. 

Always get a high top.


See more images in the GALLERY section below.


Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. 

Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount and excellent policy for the renter!! We LOVE this.

When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. 

Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. 

The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. 

Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. 

This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all these insurance reduction options still do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Insurance is always the trickiest part of campervan hire after after deciding what style you want. 

To get a the low-down on how campervan hire insurance works go to our extensive article here

And if want to look at the best alternative to taking out directly with the rental company go here

Reputation

This upstart Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. 

In fact this is consistently the highest ranked company in all our listings.

The person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. 

Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. 

Their campervans are 2 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. 

Even though they don't have their own physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. 

This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. 

All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania and even in all of Australia. 

If only they had operations on the mainland! 

We cannot recommend them highly enough. 

Get in quick, they book out all the time.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Modern and clean vehicles
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots - self check in at airports only

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
P. Koda - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure rent adventure !"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great camper new and clean . We had no problems scaling the endless hills and mountains !

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Am pleased you enjoyed our Campervan

S. Conway - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Weekender"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

First experience in a camper and we loved it! Staff are really lovely, customer service was 10/10.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Am glad you loved our campervan, and thanks for your praise of our staff

M. Hobbs - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Not happy"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We hired the Kia Carnaval. When we picked the vehicle up it was very dirty both inside and outside. There was chocolate stains on the rear seat and the 2 child sears were both dirty and full of crumbs.

We cleaned the inside of the vehicle prior to returning and told by staff that the usual cleaners were not available and they had to do a quick clean prior to the Next user taking it.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Apologies we let you (and ourselves down) by not providing the vehicle to our usual high standard, we'll investigate what happened on this occasion.

C. Murray - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Cruising around"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our MG was perfect. We zipped around many scenic places and it was very economical. Great, friendly service at the depot at Devonport.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your feedback

K. HULM - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic little car"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I hired a car for a week! It was clean, tidy and didn't miss a beat. Fantastic, thank you!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our car

S. Millington - avatar not loaded
, Australia
2 Review

"Vehicle hire leisure rent tasmania"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

It was a vehicle not a campervan. It was mechanically sound. Everything worked perfectly.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback

Abbie D - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Travelling with kids"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall this is a great van at a low cost if you want to rent a budget motorhome.
We were travelling with our 4 and 5 year old children. I would not recommend this. The children sit at the back of the van at the dining table. They are only supplied with a lap belt. Meaning in an accident they would slam their heads forward in to the heavy solid table directly in front of them. We thought the van would have been fitted with proper lap-sash (across the chest) seat belts to secure them in safely.
Something else to consider with the table/small size of the van, every night you have to change from dining area to bed, and back again in the morning. This got tiresome with the heavy table and all the cushions you are constantly moving around. The table top is also your main bench space so you then need to pack all of those things away too. We had bad weather so we were stuck inside a lot. We got so frustrated being on top of each other in the tiny space and ended up renting a house for the remainder of the trip. In hindsight for us, we should have spent extra and got a larger more comfortable van. I think it would be fine for 2 people but not with kids.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Doesn't sound like the perfect holiday, impacted by bad weather, perhaps our Superior Motorhome would have been a better choice given the ages of your children. Meanwhile I hope you enjoyed the scenery of Tassie.

Liam W. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Thanks Team"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Very impressed with Leisure Rent. Accomodating, professional and easy to deal with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your high praise of us.

H. Ward - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great service"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Ken at Leisurerent was very helpful and the service was excellent. We would use Leisurerent again for our holidays in Tasmania.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I appreciate the high praise you've given for our service

K. Kleinfelter - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Really Enjoyed Our Rental!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We rented the 2-berth campervan for 6 nights and it was great! We were a little nervous going into it as we have never rented or driven a campervan before but the team sent us a video beforehand, then walked us through the van on site before taking off. Everything was in really great condition, they included all the necessary equipment and the linens/towels were a nice inclusion in the insurance package. We really enjoyed our trip to Tassie, and the campervan was a huge part in that experience. The team even drove us to the airport after we returned the vehicle which was an added bonus! We would definitely recommend Leisure Rent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased you settled into the campervan experience so well and enjoyed your time with us.

Emmy-Lou & Ro-ro - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Amazing smaller camper"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Whilst researching motorhomes to travel Tasmania Leisure Rent came out on top. I found that first hand all the reviews were true!

The motorhome is well equipped and was exceptionally clean! All linen provided looked like it was new and fresh and the well equipped kitchen had everything we needed. There was much more space inside than we had anticipated and everything was easy to use.

The ute itself was easy to drive and did not feel like you were hauling a cabin on top. It was also quite fuel efficient. It was also great that the size was not huge like others so we could still park in the standard car space!

As we had never used a motorhome before, we had emailed questions through and Ken replied to us promptly. All in all it was a great experience and would highly recommend!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your glowing review of our Motorhome, and the service provided, it's reviews like this which make us so proud to be able to supply a product which gives our customers such joy as they travel Tasmania.

M. Beaty - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Loves travelling around Tasmania in our Leisure Rent vehicle"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We booked through leisure rent never having experienced a trip done in a campervan. We were lucky enough to have a brand new vehicle which was a bit special. The fit out was great with a double bed and seating, small indoor table, an outdoor fold out table, stove, fridge and sink. The privacy was brilliant - all windows had block out blinds and curtains. Everything you could ever think of needing on this trip was supplied including bin bags, washing line, pegs, dust pan and brush, dish soap, and a great range of cutlery, cookware and dishes. We added the linen package which was very generous and definitely worth it for the small extra cost. Thank you for making our first Tasmania trip a great one. We will be return renters for sure.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your glowing praise of our Campervan, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

VT - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great car rental company"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Easy to deal with, friendly people, car is in good condition, overall very satisfy.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased you enjoyed our service.

Mark U - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Top Level Service"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We rented a car for a couple of weeks then upgraded when we had another passenger. The pick-up/return and final return in different cities went without a hitch. I’ve often rented cars from the big companies and I wouldn’t go back if I could always get the efficiency and chill approach of Leisure Rent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Mark for your support of us, and your kind words. Greatly appreciated.

Lorraine - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Lorraine and Lyle"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Had a great time, easy to drive, easy set up and comfortable.
Forgot to mention, unable to lock the water tank
Great experience would recommend
Glad we got to meet Ken at the Legana carwash

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased you found the campervan easy to use, nice to have met you both.

B. Kedzierski - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent at Launceston"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

I rented compact suv at Leisure Rent at Launceston. I am very impressed with the quality of service, polite, helpful and professional personel. They deserve 5 stars for the service.
I was also happy with the car and the rates.
I would not hesitate to hire a car from them in the future.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your high praise of all staff, we look forward to welcoming you again

D. Smartt - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Why would you ever pick anybody else?"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

LeisureRent was excellent for our trip around the north of Tassie.

Picked up and dropped off at Launceston, with a complementary bus to / from the airport at both ends. The car was in great nick and drove very nicely.

The team and their customer service were also excellent.

When I'm back in Tasmania next I will be using LeisureRent's services again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your glowing review, we look forward to helping you next visit.

S. Smith - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Best week in tasmania"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

We spent a week touring tasmanian west. The camper performed great and was great on fuel despite many hills and windy roads that Tassie have to offer.
It had all the conveniences you need for a trip away.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased the camper performed well for your trip in Tassie.

Tracey Tulk - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Best trip ever"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

We had a small SUV and had a totaly stress free trip around Tasmania,
We have decided to come back and focus more on individual areas, and will be contacting Leisure Rent for our hire car again, it was so easy to work with the team at Leisure Rent, we have rented cars with other companies with in Australia and the US and this was the easiest and by far the cheapest company with have had the pleasure of dealing with, Ken and the team answered any questions we had and responded to emails ASAP thank you Ken and team at Leisure Rent

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your high praise Tracey - we certainly look forward to assisting you next time you visit Tassie.

Maverick - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Very Reliable and Affordable Car Rental Company"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Rented a compact KIA from Leisure Rent. They are very responsive in answering queries and their rates are the most competitive. They handed over the car in full tank, and the car is clean and it is in a very good condition. Thank you Leisure Rent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased your experience renting with us was pleasant.