Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 155 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a very popular technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 2 and 4 berth campervans. 

Its fleet consists of all current models, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. 

It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. 

And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet. 

Plus, they won the Tasplan Business Excellence Award 2019 for the Startup Category!


About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a newish player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they have rapidly risen to the top.

Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. 

So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. 

In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup.

Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? 

Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. 

You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. 

And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? 

So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. 

Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. 

The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. 

In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. 

And because of their excellent efforts, Leisure Rent has been recognized by Tasplan Business Excellence Awards, a renowned organization in Northern Tasmania who awards outstanding businesses, the company won the 2019 Startup Category, which gives them a more impressive reputation in the area. 

Fleet

Leisure Rent only have 2 vehicle types in the fleet at this stage, keeping it nice and simple

2 berth hi-top campervan  

4 berth turtle style

Their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 5 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. 

As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. 

Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. 

There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. 

This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. 

All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

Hilux is a beast of a vehicle and so powering to any place in particular won't be a problem.


2 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. 

Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. 

This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers if you like, however only sleeping 2 inside.

Also inside is a fridge, microwave, cooktop, sink and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 

Having the high top is a great advantage in comfort. 

Being able to stand up fully inside the campervan is taken for granted by most people, but when you get a van without the extra height and you can't stand up straight, you won't believe how much more uncomfortable living in that space is. 

Always get a high top.


See more images in the GALLERY section below.


Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. 

Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount and excellent policy for the renter!! We LOVE this.

When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. 

Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. 

The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. 

Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. 

This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all these insurance reduction options still do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Insurance is always the trickiest part of campervan hire after after deciding what style you want. 

To get a the low-down on how campervan hire insurance works go to our extensive article here

And if want to look at the best alternative to taking out directly with the rental company go here

Reputation

This upstart Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. 

In fact this is consistently the highest ranked company in all our listings.

The person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. 

Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. 

Their campervans are 2 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. 

Even though they don't have their own physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. 

This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. 

All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania and even in all of Australia. 

If only they had operations on the mainland! 

We cannot recommend them highly enough. 

Get in quick, they book out all the time.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Modern and clean vehicles
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots - self check in at airports only

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
J. C - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Mg 1.5l SUV"

  • Reviewed 4 days ago

Nice little vehicle overall, quiet nippy and economical around town, easy to drive and manoeuvre, though it doesn't like the hills.
Would definitely rent again through Leisure rent.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your feedback.

K. O'Keefe - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Car great value"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hired a car for our 15 day tassie holiday. Was so easy to pick up and drop off. The car was super comfortable and clean. Mechanical fantastic no issues.
Communication was great and directions for collection easy to flow. Would highly recommend Leisure Rent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us, and your high praise.

R. Doyle - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value, excellent service"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We hired a small car for 9 days, no issues, great reliable vehicle at an excellent price. Will definitely use leisurerent again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for choosing us, glad you had a great experience.

Kelly - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Small MG"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Great value for money.
New vehicle with only 3,000km.
Easy pick up and drop off.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed your experience renting from us.

G. Yuhico - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Best car rental in Tasmania, Australia"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Leisure Rent has the best car rental prices with an almost brand new fleet in Tasmania

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your high praise, and thanks for renting with us.

R. Capuno - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Easy to deal with. No fine prints."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Customer service is great

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed your time renting with us.

J. F. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value and very well presented"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The process of booking through to catching the airport shuttle and collecting the car could not have been smoother. The staff were all very friendly and professional. The car itself was almost brand new with just over 6,000kms on it. Drove very well and had absolutely no problems at all. Terms and conditions also read very reasonably.

I will definitely use Leisure Rent again when I visit Tasmania next! Thank you to Ken and the team!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your stellar review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

FF - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Highly recommended"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Everything went smoothly, staff were all friendly and helpful, SUV clean and comfortable, and it was the best value I found. I’d definitely book again. Thank you for helping to make my trip so enjoyable.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us, pleased you found us!

Justin - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great service Friendly staff"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great customer service from the start of booking. Kept us updated with details , free shuttle to and from was easy and driver’s friendly. Great clean car. Will use this service again and recommend to anyone.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased you enjoyed our service Justin.

Rick - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Very good experience"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Package is very attractive and the staff are very responsive and helpful. Will definitely use their service again. Sure to recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you found us helpful Rick, look forward to welcoming you back again sometime

Gabrielle - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value - easy to deal with"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Hired a campervan for 4 nights - very reasonably priced and firm very easy to deal with. Would definitely recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and rating us so highly.

S.Pring - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Easy process"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The pick up process was slightly confusing due to a lack of airport signage, however a quick phone call fixed this. The process to drop off was also easy!

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased it all worked out for you with your recent hire.

A. S - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent service at a good price"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our car broke down while on holidays in Tassy. These guys saved our holiday by offering a quality vehicle at an affordable price. Thank you so much, car was like new and perfect for the roads in Tassy. Very happy

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Happy to have saved your day and pleased you liked our vehicle.

K. Theaker - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect for what we needed"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We were recommended Leisure Rent and were not disappointed. The customer service was great and the paperwork was minimal and easy to understand. We paid for the stress free package, which was worth it for us - particularly because it included hire of a car seat and stroller for our toddler. The motorhome itself was nearly new and in very good condition when we received it. We had it for eight days and found it perfect for my husband, my son and myself. Our toddler was happy sleeping on the bed we made up each night and we were comfortable in the over-cab bed. The kitchen and bathroom worked well for what we needed and we only stayed at powered sites a couple of times - but could have managed without it. Ken was very helpful when we had any questions and went out of his way to arrange a stroller for our son when they were running low. The vehicle itself was a petrol two-wheel drive, but it handled everywhere we drove with no problems - even the steeper, windy roads that Tassie has to offer. All-in-all a great experience for our first time in a motorhome and would definitely use Leisure Rent again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad the Motorhome worked out well for your Tassie adventure, and appreciate your feedback.

Q. Goh - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Car rental with leisurerent"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Rented a compact auto car for 10 days for our road trip in Tasmania. Picking up the car can at first be daunting (we picked up at Hobart airport and weren’t sure where’s the shuttle pick up point), but the shuttle providers and office attendant were very helpful. Additionally, Ken was a godsend as he was always a text away if we had any problems with the car. Overall a great experience and we would definitely recommend leisurerent to anyone looking for a great value and good time!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased to read your experience with us was a good one, and appreciate your high review.

Ross Baker - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A great way to see Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We found the vehicle excellent and simple to drive. With a vehicle of that size and limited rear vision, a reversing camera would have come in handy though.
Everything worked and was in good / great condition.
Had to replace the gas bottle with three days to go but a simple phone call and email, reimbursement has been sorted out.
We thought that some wheel chocks would have come in very handy due to camping sites with uneven ground. There was usually some smooth rocks or other items. available in most places however, to prop the vehicle up to the required even level.
Some extra mats for the inside and out would have been handy due to camping in areas with sand and dirt.
Overall we had an excellent holiday and loved the motor home and the simplicity of it.
Having a fully self contained motor home also gave us the option to stay in many camp spots and places that general campers could not or were not allowed to.
Thanks LeisureRent. Awesome Holiday!!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your great feedback Ross - we'll certainly take on board your suggestions, so pleased you enjoyed your time in our Motorhome.

C. Gelicrisio - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Travelling sales guy"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Awesome service and a very professional team.
Car was great and the transportation was so easy I couldn’t believe I haven’t used this company before . I have hired a lot of cars while travelling to Tasmania at different times but this company will be the company I use always after this experience. Highly recommend to give them a go and you will go back every time like I will now

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed the experience Chris and we look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Tasmania.

Jessie - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great experience"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We booked really last minute and Ken was really helpful and friendly. The campercar was great, really new and clean. Super compact, so easy to drive and park and a good setup, especially with the camping chairs, awning and kitchen at the back. It was well stocked with everything we needed, just had to buy metho for the stove. I'd definitely recommend leisure rent 100%

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Jessie for your wonderful feedback, glad you enjoyed our Campercar.

Sandra - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Would use Leisure-Rent again"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

The pick-up point at the airport was not properly described because the signage had changed. A map would have helped. Otherwise, the staff service was friendly and efficient.
I hired a small manual car but was allocated a new, small, automatic instead. No problem with that. The levers were on the opposite sides to what I was used to, which caused some initial hair-raising moments.
It was a good urban runabout but lacked power driving outside of Hobart. I just allowed other drivers to overtake me.
The cost of the hire was very reasonable.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you found our pricing point very reasonable - will look into the map option for better instructions on pickup.

N. Vasa - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent in every way!"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Leisure Rent = Newest car + lowest price + excellent service + super easy pick up and drop off + seamless online booking + top-notch service on the phone. Thank you for bringing the car rental experience into the 21st century! You guys are awesome!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your support and high praise.