Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 137 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 11/10/19

Leisure Rent is a new, technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 4 berth campervans. Its fleet consists of all brand new units, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet. Plus, they won the Tasplan Business Excellence Award 2019 for the Startup Category!

About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they are growing so fast. Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

And because of their excellent efforts, Leisure Rent has been recognized by Tasplan Business Excellence Awards, a renowned organization in Northern Tasmania who awards outstanding businesses. This 2019, the company won the Startup Category, which gives them a more impressive reputation in the area. 

Fleet

Leisure Rent is being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have, but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move into larger motorhomes with toilets and showers. As of this writing, they only have one vehicle for rent―a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new. And being a brand new company in 2017, you will be getting all brand new campers. Accordingly, their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

4 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point. Also inside is a fridge, microwave cooktop sink, and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount. When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all insurance reduction options do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Reputation

This new Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. Even if they are dubbed as a new campervan hire, the person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. Their brand new campervans are 4 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. Even if they don't have a physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania with no specific depots but continues to be a well-organized and well-recognized option among families of four. 

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Brand new campervans and motorhomes
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots, only the airports

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
Sandra - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Would use Leisure-Rent again"

  • Reviewed 4 days ago

The pick-up point at the airport was not properly described because the signage had changed. A map would have helped. Otherwise, the staff service was friendly and efficient.
I hired a small manual car but was allocated a new, small, automatic instead. No problem with that. The levers were on the opposite sides to what I was used to, which caused some initial hair-raising moments.
It was a good urban runabout but lacked power driving outside of Hobart. I just allowed other drivers to overtake me.
The cost of the hire was very reasonable.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you found our pricing point very reasonable - will look into the map option for better instructions on pickup.

N. Vasa - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent in every way!"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Leisure Rent = Newest car + lowest price + excellent service + super easy pick up and drop off + seamless online booking + top-notch service on the phone. Thank you for bringing the car rental experience into the 21st century! You guys are awesome!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your support and high praise.

Deepak - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent car"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

The car was new, clean, and comfortable. The process of collection and drop-off was smooth. Would highly recommend hiring a car with Leisure Rent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your high ranking of us.

J. Kahn - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value. Great adventure."

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pick up and drop off we’re super easy and the camper itself was just perfect for a couple.
We took the blankets and towels package which is highly recommended.
Ken and the team at LeisureRent were super helpful and highly responsive.
The kitchen space is a little more cramped than other campers we’ve previously rented but aside from the it was a five star experience.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to submit your review, and for the great feedback. See you again sometime.

Dee - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent Choice"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time using LeisureRent & we could not have been happier. Ken is very accommodating, a pleasure to deal with & more than happy to answer any questions. The vehicle was very well presented & comfortable with all the mod cons. The pick up & drop off process was a breeze. Unlike some of the bigger companies, LeisureRent are very personable & the contracts are easy to understand with no hidden expenses.
Would not hesitate to recommend them.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your kind words Dee, reviews like yours make operating LeisureRent all the more pleasurable.

PK - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Worth the Hire ."

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time on a motorhome and we loved every bit of it. Perfect for a couple and the vehicle being small it was easy for us to park and go around places. All accessories were provided as mentioned in the package. Will definetely recommend Leisue Rent for people willing to explore Tasmania.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your 5 star review, and glad you liked this style of Holiday

Pat - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Campercar"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We took the campercar on its maiden trip around Tasmania.
This car is a fantastic alternative option. It is so cheap to run and had most of what we needed. It was easier to park and manoeuvre than the bigger vans.
Learning the car was part of our adventure and we loved our experience.
Ken made everything so easy, from booking, answering questions and returning the car
Highly recommend them to other travellers.
Great value for money, excellent service , what more could you ask for?

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Seems like our Campercar is a winner - certainly in your eyes Pat, glad you found it suitable for your adventure.

V. Zhong - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Hassle free luxury travelling"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I am really fortunate to have found this little company. The value they offered was amazing in comparison to others and their vehicles were modern and well-maintained. Ken was extremely easy to deal with and concerns, questions and changes were dealt with promptly. They really do mean 'explore tasmania your way' because they don't provide any travel advice and its completely up to your own research to find places to stay and visit, which gave me a complete sense of freedom and adventure that I have never experienced before. The motorhome we had was exceptional and really felt like a home away from home. I am sure this trip will be one of my most memorable trips and I will always keep them in mind if I visit Tassie again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased to read your 'home away from home' was all that you hoped for and more, really appreciate your wonderful feedback as well.

Sally H - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent little motorhome"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Relatively modern hilux that drove well, albeit a constant squeak from the passenger side door area (not a biggie!)
Although not a huge amount of room inside it worked well for the two of us, and the bed above the cab was comfortable enough and had four pillows. The linen pack had 2 x tea towels, 2 x bath towels as well as 2 extra, slightly smaller, towels and soap. There was a dustpan and brush, a few pegs, dishcloths and dish detergent. The only thing I thought it was missing was a microwave proof bowl, otherwise everything else was there.
It was great that the back was accessible from the cab, but with no aircon, I would not like to stay in this during the warmer months.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We were able to fix that squeak (was the external mirror)!
    Appreciate the tip regarding Microwave bowl, glad you found the Motorhome suitable.

D. McIntosh - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great company"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Ken at Leisurerent was very helpful & answered all of our messages throughout our trip, the motor-home was very clean & comfortable. We had never travelled in a motor-home before & found the toilet & shower a bit small but that's to be expected in the limited space. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip in our motor-home & I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased you adapted to the motorhome being a first time user and enjoyed your time in Tassie.

Brent - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Relaxing experience"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I hired a Camper Van for 15 days and had a fantastic time. The Van was great. Ken made everything easy and was very helpful. Thank you Ken and all involved. Happy camper.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback Brent - pleased you had a fantastic time.

J. O'Brien - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Brilliant camping trip!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our Leisure Rent camper was reliable, comfortable and easy to handle. Everything we needed was provided which made our holiday one to remember. We will definitely rent with these guys again and recommend them to all our friends.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad your holiday was memorable and you enjoyed all that the campervan offered.

C. Jensen - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Rental"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Owner Ken very responsive to any request from pre booking to on road questions. Nil mechanical issues with vehicle. An issue with fridge which was sorted immediately. Comfortable bed. Great price. Awesome trip.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you had an awesome trip and found the bed comfortable; appreciate your high rating despite the issue with the fridge and hope to see you back in Tasmania sometime soon.

E. Boulton - avatar not loaded
, Afghanistan
1 Review

"Trip round the east coast"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

I travelled alone and found the van to be a perfect size. Very clean and had everything I needed . The stove lights from a clicker found in the cutlery draw

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased the van fitted with your requirements and everything you needed was provided.

Tilly - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Tassie touring"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Our camper was a great bed on wheels, we didn’t make full use of the stove n sink but it served its purpose for us. Ken was great to deal with. Our camper did need a wheel alignment though.

5Service 3Mechanical 4Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and heads up on the wheel alignment!

Ali - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Everything we needed"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Great size camper for a couple equipped with everything we needed. Comfortable and perfect for getting around Tassie.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad it suited your needs perfectly.

Nicole - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect home away from home"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

My son and I recently hired the high top 4 birth for 2.5 weeks and it was perfect for our needs. I was hesitant with the space for that long, but was very pleased that it was very comfortable. The van is also well stocked and plenty of blankets for those chilly Tasmanian nights. Communication with Ken was so easy, thank you. Onto planning our next trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We certainly look forward to having you return Nicole.

SE - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great van for budget conscious travellers"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Poor handling in gusty crosswinds, but that comes with the vehicle type. A little more attention to some small maintenance items would be good but now I'm being fussy. Had a great experience with Leisure Rent and would happily use them again.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Pleased your experience was good and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

Jesse H - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Had an amazing road trip thanks to LeisureRent"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

With all the state border closures I left booking my Tasmanian road trip later than normal and found myself in a position where there were basically no campervans left in Tasmania for my travel dates. I came across LeisureRent on a blog and gave Ken a call and thankfully there was one van available for the first week of my holiday.

Ken was incredibly helpful and super responsive which made things so easy! The collection process was very quick (you pay before you arrive and there was no additional paper work to fill out once we arrived). We were handed the keys and away we went!

The vehicle was clean and ran well. Was large enough for 2 people (perfect for a couple), there is an option to have a second bed set up above the main bed but I don't think you'd want to be traveling with anymore than 2 in it unless it was a family with a small child. There was a small kitchen, and although we didn't really cook there was plenty of facilities. Toaster, microwave, kettle all included too which makes things easy if you want to warm up pre-made meals! There was also a little wardrobe section built in which was really convenient for storing clothes including some clothes hangers so you can hang jackets/shirts.

The radio has a USB port which made charging your phone while driving possible, which is always handy when you're using your phone as a GPS (which you'll probably be doing on a road trip). Was unlimited KMs too which was good. Really good value.

It was my first time driving a larger vehicle (albeit the Toyota HiAce isn't that big). Was easy to drive, definitely feels a bit different on open highways with wind compared to smaller cars (feels like you're being blown around a bit more) but you get used to it quickly.

Overall had an amazing time in Tasmania traveling in the campervan and would definitely recommend LeisureRent to anyone looking to hire a van for their trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Really appreciate the time you have taken to provide your wonderful review, and the high rating you've given us. Glad we were able to organise the Camper for you!

O. C. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Mouldy blankets, ripped off chairs, dodgy mechanics... And tried to rip you off with some "damages" at the end"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

No vehicle checks is made at pick up and drop off. I've asked and they told me "no need", that was a bit weird.
The pick up and drop off is made by another company.
The camper was alright, however the blanket was mouldy, I've paid extra for towels and sheets but towels were missing. Out of the 4 camp chairs, only one could be used, the 3 others were ripped.
Mechanically, was OK except the direction was always steering far left, annoying.
Well, dropped it off, no check, again "no need".
I was not going to leave any feedback about the company, I just felt like I've been a bit unlucky.
But today, 3 weeks after drop off, I receive an email asking for $1100 of repairs.
When I asked for evidences it was coming from me, I just got a reply: "Our apologies, we picked up the wrong reservation."

Watch out, make sure you take heaps of pics at pick up and drop off.
Super dodgy rental

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    We'll be in touch with you directly in relation to this.