Leisure Rent Review

Rated 4.8 / 5 from 78 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 10/3/19

Leisure Rent is a new, technology-based campervan hire company in Tasmania offering 4 berth campervans. Its fleet consists of all brand new units, which are currently priced at a little lower than most major companies with new models. It has multiple airport locations across Tasmania but no offices on mainland Australia. And recently, they added a unit to their fleet―a 4 berth motorhome with shower and toilet!

About Leisure Rent

Leisure Rent may be a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market, but they are growing so fast. Established in late 2017, the owner of Leisure Rent has over 30 years of experience in the campervan and car rental market. So, when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch, he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular, he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off, even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. 

So, without a specific depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well, an inspection report is supplied to you based on the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup―if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course, it is commonplace to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that too. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

At the end of the day, we, the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact, they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

Fleet

Leisure Rent is being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have, but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move into larger motorhomes with toilets and showers. As of this writing, they only have one vehicle for rent―a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new. And being a brand new company in 2017, you will be getting all brand new campers. Accordingly, their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres. As a result, you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

Vehicles

4 Berth Easy Drive Motorhome

Welcome to the newest Leisure Rent unit―an easy-to-drive motorhome with shower & toilet, along with other upgraded features. Ideal for 2 adults + 2 children or 4 adults, this practical unit already comes with child restraint anchor points. There's a permanent double bed at the cabover area and another double bed from the convertible rear dinette. This 2019 Toyota Hilux also provides a nice kitchen with a sink, fridge, microwave, and other kitchenware. All motorhomes have a solar panel to aid in charging the house battery.

4 Berth Hi-Top Camper

It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case, the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point. Also inside is a fridge, microwave cooktop sink, and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Insurance

Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5,000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. Whilst many of the bigger players will take that bond money off your credit card and hold on to it, Leisure Rent simply has it in the terms and conditions that in the event of damage your card can be charged up to this amount. When you sign the contract you are agreeing to this term. Actually similar terms are in pretty much all the campervan rental contracts across Australia so this is not unusual, but it sure is nice to be able to keep the money on your credit card for spending on your travels rather than sitting in the campervan company's vault somewhere.

There is the Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) AU$30 per day to reduce the liability to AU$2500. The Maximum Protection Waiver (MPW) at AU$45 per day reduces it to NIL, plus windscreen and tyre damage cover. Last option is the Stress Free Package (SFP) at AU$55 per day, which is the same as the MPW but comes with free rentals of items such as linen/ bedding, camping table and chairs, GPS, extra driver fee, and child restraint and baby strollers―if required. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market. 

However, do take note that all insurance reduction options do not cover overhead damage, underbody damage, as well as damage caused by unsealed roads and water damage.

Reputation

This new Tasmanian rental company is brimming with positive reviews. Even if they are dubbed as a new campervan hire, the person behind the business is a local with more than 3 decades experience and is committed to providing service as a labor of love. Accordingly, this entity can be a go-to company for quite a few years to come. Their brand new campervans are 4 berth Hi-Top and 4 berth motorhome with shower & toilet, which are cheaper compared to other campervan hires with also newer models. Even if they don't have a physical depot, only airport locations, they are one of the few companies in Tasmania that is up-to-date with technology, through its E-Sign and E-Key features. This kind of pick-up and drop-off is very convenient for renters. All in all, Leisure Rent is a highly recommended campervan rental with a great reputation.

Summary

Leisure Rent is one of the most reputable campervan hires in Tasmania with no specific depots but continues to be a well-organized and well-recognized option among families of four. 

From the Agency

Thanks for your balanced reporting

Pros

  • Brand new campervans and motorhomes
  • Hi-Top model for families
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania
  • E-Sign and E-Key features
  • Great reputation

Cons

  • Caters to up to 4 people only
  • No branches on mainland Australia
  • No physical depots, only the airports

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
Woodcoca - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fantastic Service and Vehicle, could not praise the organisation more highly, we had so much fun exploring Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 6 days ago

The Campervan provided us with everything we needed, Ken gave us the personal service that is missing with some organisations. We will be back to hire again when the opportunity presents itself. We hope that wont be too long from Terminal. Many many thanks for all your help and advice.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your stellar review - we look forward to helping you create more memories next time you visit.

T. Esdale - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good. Was easy to use and clear instructions when needed.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate the wonderful feedback.

D. Prasad - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"We had a great time!"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time using a camper van and it was a great time! We really enjoyed the convince and how well the camper van was set up, it was just perfect for the two of us. They only thing i would recommend if for some "dummies guides" for setting up the bed and some tips and tricks kind of manual as it took us some time to figure some aspects of the van out. But other wise it was a great little unit and great holiday.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased your first time experience was perfect, thanks for your balanced feedback.

M. Lafuente - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"Quite good"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

It was our first experience and it has been really good.
I wish the weather hay been better but, in the end, it was holiday time and we enjoyed it butt.
I’d like to comment that the place where we had to drop off the campervan is not very well indicated.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Appreciate your feedback in relation to finding our return location at Hobart Airport - we'll endeavour to make this more prominent in our literature. Glad the experience of renting from us has been good.

Alex V - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Service & Value for Money"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Loved my trip to Tassie last week. It's rare these days to get such great and friendly service, and it was such a nice surprise to receive this from LeisureRent. Ken was so helpful right throughout the booking process, and the staff went out of their way to give me advice for the trip. They were organised and generous. The camper was in great condition, very clean and comfortable and economical. Highly recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We really do appreciate your wonderful feedback Alex, so pleased to know everything went well for you and you loved your Tassie adventure.

M. Tur Torres - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"Good"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The campervan is well equiped but at night is very cold if you are not connected to a powered spot. The man who assisted us (ken) was very kind and helpful. We really enjoyed our trip!

5Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased you really enjoyed your trip; even though we've had some chilly nights.

S. Cornell - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"#vanlife"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great can for 2 people.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for providing your review.

D. DeGrazia - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Exceptional"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall this was the best rental experience I have ever encountered. Not only was the van perfectly suited for my traveling party but the service upon pick up was friendly and an absolute breeze. I wish I could have stayed longer!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Making a statement like that really does encourage us; I'm pleased you were also impressed with our service.

Wendi - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Experience"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The van was ideal for us. It had everything. We did the Stress Free package and that’s exactly what it was. Thanks so much. Will definitely use you again. Wendi

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Wendi for your kind review - Hope to see you again soon.

G. Lendon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"I would recommend leisurerent."

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

The vehicle had everything i needed. Vehicle was reliable and clean at pick up. Bed was a little bit small. I am only 5 foot 9. I had to sleep on an angle. But i made do.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your kind review.

Helene - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Great campervan experience in stunning Tassie"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Renting a Leisure Rent campervan for an 8-week-stay in Tasmania was the best decision. Correspondence with Ken was friendly, immediate and reliable from start to finish. And in comparison with other companies I thought prices were reasonable with fair insurance options for such a long rental period (however fortunately I did not need to use it). The van was easy and convenient to navigate and felt safe while driving. Everything was absolutely clean and tidy when I picked the vehicle up, the interior is well constructed and the equipment that comes with the campervan is thought through really well, so that one might be able to tick off some items from the initial get-ready-to-go-shopping list straight away. The staff you meet at pickup and return were friendly and helpful as well.
Thank you for this great and relaxing home away from home experience. Would definitely rent a Leisure Rent campervan again when returning to Tasmania.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Helene, it was our pleasure to have you rent with us for such a long time, and we really appreciate your wonderful review of our vehicle and what we provide.

    It's feedback such as yours that make operating this business so worthwhile.

Mel - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Experience With Leisure Rent"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

This was our first camper van experience in Tasmania and we made the right choice.
The camper van was more than adequate for our needs.
We hired the van for one week, however we could have hired for longer.
We also phoned them with a question on the last day and they were extremely helpful.
Overall we had a great experience and would highly recommend this company to anyone.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm pleased you had a great experience renting from us Mel - one week really isn't long enough to explore the beauty of Tasmania as I'm sure you discovered.

    I hope you'll come back again to see more of our wonderful Island.

Linda - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect Home On Wheels"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We have just enjoyed two weeks crusing Tassie in a Leisure Rent vehicle. The vehicle was fully equipped with all we could possibly need on the road. Easy to drive and maneauvour, the tranistion from couch to be was simple each evening. Fridge and Microwave worked very well.
Hire this van with confidence and enjoy Tassie

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Linda for rating us so highly and am pleased this was your 'perfect holiday on wheels'

I. Busygina - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Campervan hired for Tassie Trip!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

My partner and I hired a Leisure Rent campervan for our Tassie Trip. Highly recommend this company as communication was always prompt and very clear. The campervan was in amazing state when we received it, everything was clean and tidy. It came with everything you could possibly need for a campervan experience across Tassie. Would definitely hire again to explore :)

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We really appreciate your positive review and pleased you were impressed with everything which was supplied - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

W. Guy - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Our test trip !"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

This vehicle is too small for my husband and I and we aren’t big people. Beware the weight limit for sleeping above the cabin 80kgs, it would be too claustrophobic anyway - we were just trying to gain space. Nowhere to put our luggage ? The bed was hard and uncomfortable and short. The fridge compressor cycled every 4 -5 minutes which was noisy when sleeping. The knob on the kitchen sliding cupboard thread was gone so you had to rely on fingernails to get it open. We ended up in a cabin for the last 3 nights. We are half glass full people and always look on the positive side, which in this case served for our test trip to work out what size vehicle is right for our future longer trips. It drove well and very economical. Thank you ?

5Service 5Mechanical 1Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your balanced feedback; perhaps for your future longer trips a motorhome may be a better option for you rather than a campervan.

D. Sujono - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Good new experience"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, good vehicle. Considering the condition of the vehicle, it is relatively good value of money.
All the process starting from booking, picking and returning the vehicle was smooth.
The only issue is, this company relies on the service of third parties -- airport parking companies. So the services of these parking companies affect overall experience. We were dropped by DrivePark&Fly far before the drop-down point in the Launceston airport, so we have to.walk longer to the terminal.
Other point to note: the water hose provided was too short for many parks.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Nice to read your overall experience of using us was good, and you felt it good value for money - using the 3rd party services does allow us to keep our prices low and highly competitive, and I guess that is a trade off. Thanks for the feedback, which is duly noted.

L. Greene - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Gypsy Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Great little camper. Very well equiped. Had everything we needed, even a shopping bag. Staff good. Not problems at all. Would recommend!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    It's the little things that count - we think! so glad you felt it was a great little camper and thanks for the compliments too.

D Brassil - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great and practical campervan"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

This was a great van - it was clean and everything just worked. The van was easy to drive, good on petrol, you could hook your phone up & listen to music, and it was all up pretty comfy. I'm no mechanic but it felt like a really safe and well-maintained vehicle.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad to read everything worked and you thought it was a great van - they certainly are hard not to like!

Anne-Marie - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Roadtrip round Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Ken was very helpful. We had no towels but Ken dropped them off to us early next morning along with an extra blanket as we requested. Van great for 2 people but a bit cosy for 4 - we had two teenagers so it's a bit squashed up the top area. But if you kids are younger it's ideal. A couple of suggestions that could easily be fixed was knobs on cupboards under sink kept coming off and they are very hard to slide. Also warmer doona would be good in the cooler weather, the zip was broken on the doona cover so it kept coming out. Good to have the heater! Otherwise a great van, all the equipment is there or you can hire additional things like chairs/table. And the pickup / drop off at Launceston airport for seamless. Would definitely rent again from Leisurerent.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your suggestions - we're changing the knobs to handles on the slide cupboards to correct this problem; we look forward to the next time you come and visit us!

A. Van Es - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Brand new"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

The campervan fits to us

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed it