Leisure Rent Review

Customer rated 4.8 / 5 from 46 reviews

Editors Review

Leisure Rent is a new player in the Tasmania campervan hire market. Established in late 2017 the company only offers one kind of modern campervan and that is a 4 berth hi-top campervan that is brand spanking new.

The owner of Leisure Rent has over 25 years experience in the campervan and car rental market so when he had a chance to start a new company from scratch he knew all the best ways to keep costs low and quality high. In particular he has used the latest cloud software systems to keep the booking process simple and online rather than having to do everything in the depots on pickup. I wish all campervan rental companies would be this smart.

Leisure Rent has had the foresight to make more than one location available for pick up and drop off even if there are some unique and different ways of doing it. At the end of the day, we the renters are really only interested in the convenience of the location anyway right. In fact they have taken a leaf out of the JucyUSA book and just have safe deposit boxes with a PIN code in some locations to drop off and pick up the keys and 3rd party companies helping them out in other locations. This is available because they harness new technology like E-Sign so you can read and sign the rental contract days before you turn up for collection.

Leisure Rent are being cagey about just how many campervans they have and plan to have but they love the Toyota Hiace model and have no plans to move in to larger motorhomes with toilets and showers.

Being a brand new company in 2017 you will be getting all brand new campers, but their business model makes it so that no camper will get to over 4 years old and some will be retired early if they have clocked up too many kilometres so you can be sure you are going to be getting a fresh vehicle.

The Campervan

As mentioned, Leisure Rent is only supplying 1 type of campervan model for the foreseeable future and don't ever expect there to be a model with toilet/shower. It's based on the ubiquitous Toyota Hiace model with a hi-top conversion and a not-so-common interior design. Many of the interior designs put the kitchenette directly behind the driver, but in this case the rear seating goes there. This configuration allows for the 2 single seats in the rear to take passengers and there is an option for one child seat via a single anchor point.

There's a fridge, microwave cooktop sink and even a little wardrobe style cupboard for those things you simply MUST hang up. 2 people sleep "downstairs" on the converted dining table area, and 2 will sleep "upstairs" once the extra panels are pulled across making a 4 berth. I spent a year living in a camper with this kind of sleeping arrangement and it is perfectly comfy whether you sleep up or down.

Pick Up and Drop Off

So without a depot and staff to inspect the campervans how are you going to do the damage inspection report before heading off? Well an inspection report is supplied to you based of the end damage report of the previous renter. You compare the report to what you see on pickup - if there is damage on the vehicle that is not on the report you mark it down. And you better make sure you do because otherwise the next renter will, in which case you are going to get the blame for it and the bill. Get it? So make sure you do a detailed damage report before you go out as it it not likely a staff member will be standing with you. Of course it is common place to also take lots of photos and even video these days, so I suggest you do that to. The reality is no one likes it when a camper is damaged but the goal is just to make sure the person who actually did it has to pay for it, not the next renter.

Insurance

Which brings us to insurance for damage. Leisure Rent has a base liability of AU$5000 if you take out no extra insurance cover through the company. This WILL be taken off your credit card and held for the duration of the rental. However, there is no credit card fee attached to that. If you return it undamaged the full $5000 will be returned and you are not out of pocket a cent. There is the option to reduce the liability to AU$2500 for AU$30pd or reduce it to NIL by paying AU$45pd. This is a standard custom across campervan hire companies in Australia and New Zealand and the rates to do so are on par with the Australian market.

Reputation

Being brand new, there is no feedback at the time of writing on just awesome these campers will be but they are coming from a reliable campervan conversion company and are being managed by a man with 25years experience who is committed to service and is doing this as a labour of love. We expect this to be a go to company for quite a few years to come. (but check below there might be a review there by a previous renter by now).


From the Agency

Thanks for your balanced reporting

Pros

  • Brand new campervans
  • Hi Top available
  • Multiple branches in Tasmania

Cons

  • Limited fleet numbers
  • Limited choice of berths

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
 - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Very good campervan"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Leisure Rent campervan was excellent. Very easy to drive. Inside set-up was very convenient.. Small kitchen had everything we needed. We didn't have to go into crowded caravan park as we had the solar panel on top allowing us to be fully independent. I really recommend it.
Ken was really really nice and the exchange of mails easy and very quick.
Thank you so much Ken for the wonderfull holidays you allowed us to have.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased to hear you had a wonderful holiday and you enjoyed the campervan so much.

Mike - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

So easy, so much fun.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you had a fantastic time Mike.

A. Collins - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great van and service for a tour of Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Our LeisureRent Hiace van was perfect for our 8 days in the south of Tasmania. The airport pick up/drop off service was excellent. Ken was friendly, easy to communicate with and prompt with email and phone replies. The Hiace was near-new, easy to drive and well equipped. My wife and I were travelling with our 4 month old and it was great to be able to hire a pram and rear-facing car seat for reasonable rates from LeisureRent. We'd have no hesitation in hiring again from LeisureRent in the future

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your feedback, we hope to see you again so you can discover more of Tasmania.

B. Edwards - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Touring Tasmania"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Quickly picked up at airport and on the road promptly. The motorhome was modern, clean with low kilometres and performed well with no problems for the eight days. On return transferred back to airport quickly (approximately 2 km) and overall very happy with the vehicle as advertised and good value for money. Will recommend this company and would use them again without question.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the great feedback - glad everything performed as expected.

. Roger and Ria - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Tasmanian Experience"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

As we had visited Tasmania in 2014 and only had 14 days to drive around we soon learned that it was not enough time to do this beautiful State justice...so we returned this year and went to all the places we missed, and returned to a couple of our favourites as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our return and were also fortunate to have perfect Spring weather almost the entire visit. Can highly recommend visiting "Tassie" if not already done so.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    We're pleased you enjoyed visiting Tasmania again and you had a great experience.

. Allan Richardson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"allan/val tasmania"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The van was very serviceable and performed in all actions very well,

5Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for renting with us and providing your feedback

M. Heverle - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Family trip around Tassie"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great experience overall, quick response, nearly new Van, would recommended to anyone looking into exploring this beautiful part of Australia

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your top review.

A. Hunt - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Perfect Tasmanian Holiday"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Our camper was nearly brand new and in great condition. The unlimited kilometres option meant we could go everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pickup and drop off at the airport made the trip so smooth. All in all a perfect holiday experience with Leisure Rent. Thanks so much.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Sounds like you had a 'Perfect' time in our camper - thanks for your great feedback.

M. Griinke - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent Review September 2018"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Really enjoyed our experience of renting off Leisure Rent Tassie. Ken provided a wonderful service and was prompt in responding to any questions. we had. Good information was provided on arrival and drop off procedures. We were picked up within five minutes of arriving at the Hobart airport and dropped off at our vehicle pick up point shortly after. The vehicle was clean and tidy. Loved the fuel efficient vehicle, we felt very comfortable during the whole trip. While and electric fan heater was provided we did not use it as once the van was closed up at night we were warm enough. Loved the reversing camera as it cut down on blind spots.
Things to improve: We ordered package of chairs and table for eating outside. We used the table both inside and out as it was more stable than the table provided with the van. The camp chairs were a bit light and more robust chairs should be provided to cater for wider range of weights.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your comments and suggestions Mike; we're glad you enjoyed your experience with renting form us.

G. Wong - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"No services"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

No services ,dirty

1Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    I'm so sorry we let you down (and ourselves) during your recent rental. If ever you need to rent again in Tasmania I hope you'll allow us the opportunity to make amends.

. Mary & Steve - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great holiday"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We were very impressed with our Leisure Rent Toyota Hi Ace vehicle. The interior was clean and roomy enough for cooking and sleeping.
Amazingly for a camper van the bed was extremely comfortable.
Ok fuel economy, but we were driving in really gusty and windy weather at times.
The convenience of being able to pick the vehicle in Hobart and leave in Launceston was fabulous.
Recommend Leisure Rent and would use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your excellent feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

K. Poon - avatar not loaded
, Hong Kong
1 Review

"A very nice campervan"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

This is my second campervan renting experience and this is definitely the best I’ve ever had. The car itself is clean and tidy. And it is easy to drive, even if I’m in those national parks in Tasmania. The campany representative is really supportive and can always response rabidly. I would recommend this to couples and families with one to two kids.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we're glad you found our vehicle and service the best you've ever had.

A. Díaz de Sandi - avatar not loaded
, Mexico
1 Review

"Best road trip ever"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Our trip was amazing thanks to the incredible van we had from Leisure Rentals.
As soon as we got to the airport, a kind lady picked us up and drove us to the packing spot where we would get the van. She was very amicable and even gave us a few tips about where to go and what to make sure not to miss during our road trip.
When we got to the van, everything was spot on, almost brand new if not new, extremely comfortable and everything inside the van was pretty easy to use. The instructions were clear and perfectly explained.
Definitely the best choice we could've made.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your wonderful feedback - we'll make sure to pass your kind words onto Tanya, and glad to know this was your best road trip ever.

Max - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Leisure Rent delivered!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Had a great experience with Leisure Rent. Prompt pickup/drop off service, friendly staff and a reliable vehicle made for a great trip and I highly recommend their services to anyone interested in seeing Tassie by camper. Ken was friendly, informative and always on hand to offer advice or solve problems. Great customer service!

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Max for trusting us with your holiday experience; glad it went well for you.

N. Espinoza - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great experience!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

The car kept us warm, ran like a dream and Ken was very helpful, great to work with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad everything went well for you Natalie - thanks for your top feedback too!

ET - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Good and cosy camper for 2"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

The van was driving nice and fine. Bed was good even for 1.9m person. Heater was much needed and did the job. Very nice to have extra blankets and towels we missed that on our prior camper on the mainland.

The camper however was pricy compared to mainland campers. We had a 7.2m camper with shower for a lower price than this smaller basic camper (same amount of days, also 1way and full coverage). Only because we couldn't return the other camper in Hobart we chose to rent this separate camper. The fact that you have the option to pick the camper from the ferry arrival place is a huge plus for us.
Another poor thing is the fact that there is only an open drain to the ground from the sink. The fact that you have to use a bucket is absurd. You can sacrifice part of the closets below to fit a small tank that can at least take 1 load from the sink so you can do the dishes in the van.

Last issue was the fridge. It makes such a noise that we had to shut it off during the night to be able to sleep.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your balanced feedback and comparisons with your other hire, much appreciated.

E. Bradley - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value and service - had a fantastic time."

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Ken was incredibly communicative throughout the whole process and made the choice really easy to go with Leisure Rent.
The van was well equipped with everything we needed and the pick-up/ drop-off process was quick and easy.

Thanks Ken.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Communication is so important when planning a holiday, and we're pleased you found the pick-up and drop-off just the way we've planned it - quick and easy!

    Thanks for your great review Ellen.

J. Rawsthorne. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Dream Holliday"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Hired a Toyota hiace camper from Leisurerent and couldn’t have been happier with the service or the quality of the camper. It was brand new and well fitted out with everything you need for life on the road around Tasmania. The company is excellent to deal with and are located just outside the airport terminal. We will be using this company again on our return trip

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your wonderful feedback, so pleased you had a 'dream holiday' and everything you needed was included. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tassie soon.

. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"excellent value and friendly"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

excellent and seamless service from Ken in Launceston. Even had Ken contact me when we left something in the van and getting it posted to us.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Glad you enjoyed the experience and our seamless service, and thanks for rating us so highly.

N. - avatar not loaded
, Brazil
1 Review

"Really good company!"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Excellent experience! Clean and really good campervan!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So pleased you had an excellent experience, and thanks for rating us so highly.