Mad Campers Review

Rated 5.0 / 5 from 31 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 9/22/19

Mad Campers takes pride in their unique camper design and in particular their extremely comfy beds that sleep two. They reckon they have the biggest and comfiest beds in all New Zealand. And now, they offer NZ's first-ever campervan for solo travellers. What do you think?

About Mad Campers

Mad Campers is a relatively new campervan hire company in New Zealand, with depots in Auckland and Christchurch. They are quite prepared to wow their soon-to-be renters with free airport pick-up, discounted petrol, freedom camping options (due to self-contained vehicles), tourism partnerships, and heaps of inclusions and extras. But what they particularly proud of is their campervan beds, which they claim to be the largest in the industry, and also, the comfiest. They are buoyed by feedback from past renters telling them this too.

The sheer energy and love that the owners of Mad Campers have for their business, campervan design, customers and beds are enough to make you want to book immediately. They have a passion for their industry, their country and their desire to be part of the solution, not the problem when it comes to self-contained free camping - which all their vehicles are certified for.

They had a stellar first season and have incorporated the feedback into their campervans already, making constant improvements and they also have a special little something coming along that they assure me is a "game-changer" for the campervan rental market in New Zealand. If their enthusiasm for their current fleet is anything to go by, then their newest model is also a sight to see.

The Mad Challenge

Mad Campers also have a unique challenge they have for every person who hires one of their campervans. Grab the free T-shirt they give you, take a photo of yourself doing the 7 most "kiwi" things to do in NZ, which are all free, and upload the images to your social feeds for 5% off total rental, returned to you at the end of the road trip. No one else is offering this kind of challenge. It's crazy things like take a photo of running on a black sand beach, climb a mountain, eat fish and chips on a beach, or drink a particular type of milkshake?! Anyway, seeing as they are all free activities we think it's a great idea and the feedback is that by doing it, you sometimes meet some interesting other people and suddenly find yourself on an unexpected journey (there's a pun in there if you can spot it).

Fleet

The Mad Campers fleet isn't that complicated. It started with one model―a 2 berth campervan with bench seats in the back that convert to "the biggest bed in New Zealand", a pull-out kitchenette via the rear door with a 1 burner gas stove, a little fridge and a sink and some nifty little charging points mounted near the sink. Now, they welcome a new camper to their fleet, which is a perfect option for solo travelers. But the main reason you will enjoy these campervans is that they come with a self-containment certification, which means freedom camping! With that, you can save dollars on camping fees. Be a well-informed traveller by knowing the freedom camping rules in each NZ district. 

Vehicles

Mad 1

Introducing New Zealand’s first-ever single berth self-contained campervan―Mad 1! The only single berth unit for lone backpackers, this campervan takes you to your destination at your own pace. The rental rate is designed for one person so that means you can spend more money on other important things like food and beverages. Mad 1 is like a step-up car with all facilities you'll need for overnight camping like a small kitchen, a single bed, a nice lounge area, and a cassette toilet. This easy-to-drive campervan features a lower carbon footprint for an economical driving experience.

You can easily cook using the LPG 2 burner gas cooker at the rear. Plus, the kitchenette is equipped with a sink, extendable hose tap, fridge, pan, pots, and more! Listen to your favorite tracks via USB powerpoints or charge your electronics using the secondary battery. At night, you can easily swipe the curtains and turn on the LED lighting for much cozy bedtime. And because of the functional layout, you have lots of space inside. Distinctively, these single campervans feature a key-less entry. Instead, these have alarms or immobiliser for super security. Impeccable features for a new campervan on the market! 

Mad 2

These 2-berth Nissan Vanette are the go-to campervans for couples or even solo backpackers in need of more space. All Nissan Vanettes are suitable for NZ's rugged backcountry. Aside from the chemical toilet, 25L of freshwater and grey water capacity, the campervan is fitted out with a fully functional kitchenette complete with sink, fridge, gas cooker, pots & pans, and kitchen and cooking utensils. And take note, the kitchen is a pull-out style kitchen to provide more space in the living room. The extendable hose tap allows you to wash your dishes outside and your feet when you come back from running on the black sand beach.

For the sleeping quarters, the huge double bed is spacious enough for two. There are USB powerpoints inside to make your road trip a bit more entertaining and productive. Plug in your fave playlist or charge your laptop - there's a house battery to make sure you're not draining the car battery. After all, you need the campervan to start in the morning, right? 

Insurance

The standard insurance is already included in the daily rate, but still, it's advisable if you one of the reduction options. For those under 25, the three excess waiver options: Risk Taker at $0/day for a $5000 excess, Gambler at $17.50/day for $2,500 excess and You're Good at $30/day for $0 excess. For drivers over 25, the insurance options are as follows: $0/day for $5000 excess, $15/day for $2,500 excess and $25/day for $0 excess. As to the bond, it's $2, 500, $1, 500, and $200.

Reputation

It is still a fairly new campervan hire company, but the feedback from renters has been stellar. People returning the campervan and giving them hugs and nicknames, as well as contented renters happy to hit the review pages and say great things about the campervan and the gang that run them. So all around, these guys are running 5 stars by the users. We think they're pretty good too!

Summary

Mad Campers is a fresh campervan hire company with a zesty "can do, will do" attitude. Their solo campervans are certainly worth the try. So, if you want to have a breath of fresh air from bigger rental corporations, then experience an exciting road trip from a modern and unstained rental company. Mad Campers itself is pretty thrilled with their new venture and you can get a hold of their service firsthand and together discover what's down the road. We represent them on the booking engine, so head over to the booking form to a get a price from these guys. 

From the Agency

We're excited you're planning an ADVENTURE. Great choice picking New Zealand, we're an island nation so travel and adventure is in our blood. Have an epic Kiwi experience in one of our certified self contained Mad Campers. We've got the most innovative campers on the market, and New Zealands FIRST Self-Contained Campervan for Solo Travelers! Allowing you to go wherever you want in comfort... and at whatever pace you desire. You'll be able to catch some of our culture and adventure tourism as you make your way from the pristine white sand beaches in the north down to the rugged peaks of the south. You can make your own mind up but we think you'll find New Zealand has it all. So come aboard with us, we're excited about what's down the road!

Pros

  • All self-contained campervans
  • Now offers solo campervans for solo travellers
  • Thoughtful inclusions and extras
  • Enthusiastic people

Cons

  • Only two campervan types; not for families

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
S. Troccoli - avatar not loaded
, Argentina
1 Review

"Experiencia excelente"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

La experiencia fue inolvidable, disfrutamos cada kilómetro recorrido con el vehículo, excelentemente equipado. Hicimos 1100 km en 5 días y Mt Hicks (nombre de la campervan) nos acompañó en todo tipo de rutas.
Agradecemos la predisposición de quienes nos recibieron y despidieron en Auckland. Fueron muy atentos y amables: la atención fue muy buena, Hanna fue servicial y nos asesoró en todo lo necesario para nuestro viaje.
Nos olvidamos algunas pertenencias en el vehículo y nos las enviaron de inmediato.
¡Recomendamos 100% Mad Campers para tu aventura en Nueva Zelanda!

The experience was unforgettable, we enjoyed every kilometer traveled with the vehicle, excellently equipped. We did 1100 km in 5 days and Mt Hicks (name of the campervan) accompanied us on all kinds of routes.
We appreciate the predisposition of all the staff that attended us in Auckland. They were very professional and friendly: the attention was very good, Hanna was helpful and advised us on everything necessary for our trip.
We forgot some belongings in the vehicle and they sent them to us immediately.
We recommend 100% Mad Campers for your adventure in New Zealand!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much Sofia! It was so lovely to meet you both and send you off on your adventure. Welcome to the MAD family and hopefully we can send you off on another road trip soon :)

D.H avatar
, France
1 Review

"Birthday trip"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

What a amazing agency ! We were very warm welcome by hannah and the team. Totally involved to make this travel unforgettable !

Thanks again for all !

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your review, Damien! We loved being a part of your adventure... you didn't tell us it was your birthday!! Hopefully we'll see you again soon for another :)

J. Peed - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great experience with our first camper rental!"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mad Campers made my wife and my trip to New Zealand awesome! They gave us a very warm greeting when we arrived and made the check-in process and camper tutorial very easy. The van was a champ and did us well. Maybe it looks smaller than other campers you might see cruising around but it with its strategic placement of everything, it did not make us feel cramped. We slept well and were very warm with the blankets provided. My only note would be that the pillows be a little thicker (thats just my preference). The roof storage stored our two carry on sized luggage great and could even hold more if we wanted it to. When we wanted to take a tour somewhere we contacted Mad Campers and they quickly responded and were able to book us and for a cheaper rate. Before you book a tour somewhere make sure you check in with them to see if they get any discounts. We had the van for 16 days and cooked everyday at least one meal. We refilled the propane tank once over half way through and that was only $13 NZD. We didn't have a problem finding good free campsites most of the time. We wish we could have stayed longer! If we come back to New Zealand then we will definitely use Mad Campers again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
D. Lademan avatar
, United States
1 Review

"Ideal Experience for a Single Traveler in NZ"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

MAD provided the ideal experience for a single traveler in New Zealand. I traveled the North and South Islands over a two week period in the MAD1, and it was an absolutely unforgettable experience. The MAD team are incredibly helpful during all stages of the trip, from fantastic customer service during booking and planning as well as giving updates on deals and events that they could book during the trip. The vehicles are top notch, and someone is always available to answer questions/provide help if you ever face any issues with them. They even provide transportation to and from the airport to make your trip all the more seamless. When I come back to New Zealand, I won't go to anyone else for campervan rental!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J. Crough - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Great service, perfect camper."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Can't say enough good things about my experience with Mad Campers. Had flight arrival issues but they were very accommodating, and easy to communicate the whole way through. The camper itself was the perfect size for a solo traveler, good on gas, and had enough room to live in for almost a month. Would definitely recommend, and would be my first choice on any future trip to New Zealand.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your review, Josh! We're so stoked you had a great trip and loved the MAD1! Welcome to the Mad Family and hopefully we'll see you some day soon for another adventure :)

BN - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Awesome experience, awesome van"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Customer service was friendly and helpful. The staff are cool and welcoming. The vans are set up really really well and are the perfect size for a two person escape.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your Mad Campers experience! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed the camper and hope you loved your New Zealand adventure!!

S. limpanichpackdee - avatar not loaded
, Thailand
1 Review

"i definitely love Madcampers!!!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

the service was perfect as car performance!!! do not hesitate to enjoy with madCampers. There is everything u need for van life:) nice designation both for usage and photos!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review! We are SO stoked you enjoyed the camper and vanlife in NZ!! Welcome to the Mad Family :)

M. Le Seve - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"First campervan experience and it was fantastic!!!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

After two weeks my sister and I were so sad to say goodbye to our Mad Camper home! It was perfect for our whirlwind trip around NZ's South Island. We were a little bit worried about renting a van because it was our first time but we had nothing to be concerned about. Can't fault the cleanliness, the functionality, the design or the customer service. Would fully recommend, thank you Mad Campers!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your lovely review and feedback! We loved sending you both off on your adventure and stoked you had a great trip. Welcome to the Mad Fam! Hopefully we'll see you again soon for a whirlwind North Island trip :)

C. Acciari - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Awesome experience"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

I rented a MAD1 for a week in Christchurch. Iris has been a doll with me and showed me how the van worked etc - she really took the time to explain everything.
About the van, it is a pleasure to drive it. It is more than enough for 1 person, got everything you need to cook yourself some nice meals (it even has a fridge!!) and has an amazing bed (I might be biased as I experienced another campervan with a less comfy bed ^^').
I had a flat tyre on the second day and couldn't call them as I didn't have a NZ number, so I messaged them on FB and got an answer immediately. Hannah was the one who helped me with the situation and got everything sorted out (mechanic, etc.). Overall, I am pleased with the van and the service and definitely recommend them!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
KK - avatar not loaded
, India
1 Review

"A great experience!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

The customer service is excellent. They are quick and efficient. The campervan was comfortable and we had no mechanical or technical issues at all. It was a smooth ride overall.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your lovely review and feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your experience in the camper and hope you had an amazing time in New Zealand.

Alex - avatar not loaded
, Mexico
1 Review

"First time campervan road trip"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

these guys are A-MA-ZING...the customer service is so cool and very quick when you have any question/request. It was my first time driving a campervan, and the MAD1 was perfect for me. Planning to visit NZ again (north island next time) and Mad Campers will be my option, no doubt.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much Alex!! We are so stoked you had an epic adventure in your MAD1! It was a pleasure to send you off on your South Island, and hopefully we can send you off on a North Island one soon. Welcome to the MAD fam :)

A. Whitlock - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Excellent experience!"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

My Wife and I rented a 2 berth Campervan from Mad Campers, and were extremely pleased with our experience! From the time of check-in & orientation, to the minute that we returned the van to Christchurch......there was always a Staff member to assist and answer any questions. The excellent customer service ratings was the main deciding factor for us, and this crew did not disappoint! We are from the United States, and we are "Van Campers" here, so this type of rental was right up our alley. Two of us traveling with one large backpack each and smaller carry on backpacks, and we had plenty of room for everything. Our journey began at Christchurch, and from there we toured the South Island for 10 days. The Van (we nicknamed him "Frodo") was a great size, and got really good gas mileage. It also had an extremely tight turning radius, something that was very useful in tight campgrounds and parking lots. We had a minor issue with a circuit breaker that was linked to the auxiliary battery, but the Mad Campers team responded immediately to our calls, and helped us to get this issue resolved quickly. Recently, they added the rooftop box and rack to each 2 berth van at no charge, and this was a HUGE help! We were able to store our table, chairs, and toilet atop the vehicle.....which left more room in the main cabin. We had extremely great weather during our visit, and spent very little time in the van except for sleeping and driving. This allowed us to keep the bed assembled the entire time, and we used the sofa/table configuration minimally. If you are a couple that wants to travel with minimal gear, and travel light and fast.....these guys are for you! Thanks to the Mad Campers Team!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful review, Alan! We really appreciate you taking the time and are so glad you enjoyed your experience with Mad Campers! It was great to meet you guys, and we loved being a part of your NZ adventure. Stoked you loved the camper and new roofbox as well :)

    Welcome to the Mad Family - hopefully we can send you off on another roady soon!

W. Nash - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"AMAZING"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We had an amazing couple of weeks cruising around the North and South Island in our Mad2 (Mt Lincoln). We did a bunch of research and was tempted to go with one of the bigger brands (we had previously had a Spaceship and Wicked Camper in Oz). But after reading all the reviews, comparing photos and pricing there was only one winner. The camper van was literally spotless when we picked it up, we were given a personalized tour of the van and didn’t feel rushed at all- we even were given two T-shirt’s to complete our Mad Camper challenge and chocolate!! The van had relatively low mileage and you could tell it had a recent facelift.
We booked campsites all around NZ, so we only used the gas burner a couple of times, but when we did it was super easy and fast. The bed only took 2mins to set up and was very comfortable. There was plenty of storage for two of us. We did stay at one freedom campsite as we had the self contained sticker (didn’t use the toilet onboard once, but it’s there for emergencies).
A massive bonus is that the van has two batteries. One that starts the car and operates headlights etc. the second operates the fridge, LED lights in the back and power outlets inc. USB’s. So you don’t have to worry about the van not starting in the morning or paying extra for a powered spot at a campsite.
After seeing the Juicy/Spaceship/Wickeds, we were so happy with our decision! Many of the other campervans looked run down and identical to what we rented a few years ago!
We completed the Mad Camper challenge (doing things like eating fish and chips on a beach with your MadCamper T-shirt on and posting it on Instagram) it was fun to do and we got 5% off our rental! I don’t write many reviews, but felt compelled to for Mad Campers as it’s such a cool company and made our trip so easy!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you SO much for your kind review, William!! We are so stoked you had an incredible time with Mt Lincoln and were happy with your decision to travel with us :)

    Congratulations again on completing the Mad Challenge - you guys did an epic job! Thanks again for sharing your New Zealand adventure with us and welcome to the MAD Family!!

J. Zittel - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Great campervans, great company"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Mad Campers campervans are perfect for a true kiwi campervan adventure. The MAD2 (vehicle for 2 PAX) is well equipped for exploring even the remotest parts of New Zealand. All vans are fully self-contained, which means that you can "freedom" camp. Moreover, the MC team is always there to help and give advice.

I would definitely choose Mad Campers again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much Jascha for this kind review! We loved sending you guys off on your New Zealand Adventure and are so stoked you had an epic time!! Welcome to the MAD family :)

G. Price - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"A mad time in New Zealand"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Absolutely astoundingly brilliant

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Cheers legend!! Stoked you had an epic time in New Zealand. Welcome to the Mad Fam :)

SebNSu - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Best decision for your kiwi trup"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Wow! If you are not renting a camper from Mad campers for your trip to New Zealand, you are wrong. We rented one of their campers for 6 weeks and were more than satisfied with our kiwi experience. The camper itself was well-organized, clean and spacious, but also small enough that you don't have to worry about having to drive a huge car around. Throughout those 6 weeks, we had no technical problems with it, which also showed how the camper is well maintained. Customer service was impeccable, which definitely made a difference. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and very helpful. They helped us book tickets where we wanted, gave us some local tips and responded quickly to all our inquiries. Renting with Mad Campers was one of our best decisions in New Zealand and we hope you will also make it yours. Do it!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    You guys are the best!! Thanks SO much for taking the time to post this review, we really appreciate it. It was so great to meet you both and send you off on your adventure! Hopefully we'll see you again one day for another. Welcome to the MAD fam!! :)

Christoph - avatar not loaded
, Austria
1 Review

"The perfect companion for the kiwi adventure"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

The van we rented was really awesome. The mechanical quality as well as the interior quality was really good. All the technical features of the van are thought through down to the smallest detail. I would definitely rent a camper at Mad Campers once again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much Christoph!! We are so glad you enjoyed your Mad Camper and hopefully we can send you off on another adventure soon :)

C. H - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"MadCamper Fans"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

We would highly recommend Mad Campers vans to anyone who wants to go the camper van route while visiting New Zealand. Both the employees and the van went above and beyond our expectations, and I have to say I am a hard one to please!

We were supplied all the information we needed before arriving in NZ; including some free downloadable apps to find free or paid campsites. They promptly picked us up at the airport and dropped us off in time to catch our flight out (only took about 20 minutes from the time we pull into the drop off location) They also worked quickly to fix a loose wire that was causing electrical issues. You find out the true character of a company when the unexpected happened, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the way things were handled to correct the problem.

In addition to fabulous employees, their van was hands-down the best on the road! It had everything we needed to stay at the free, self-contained campsites, which saved us a lot of money. The van was easy to use, had ample storage for all our gear for a two week trip, and we got some jealous looks from other campers and passersby when they saw our amazing cooking stove and bed set up. Other things we really loved about the van: the mini fridge, running water, extra battery to run the electrical when engine isn't running, and 4 wheel drive. We also had tons of fun doing the Mad Challenge scavenger hunt while we drove the nearly 3000km around the south island.

Mad Campers made our trip an awesome one! This is how a company should be run!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you SO much for such an awesome review!! You guys are the best and it was such a pleasure sending you off and being a part of your New Zealand Adventure! Massive welcome to the Mad Campers family and hopefully we can send you off on another adventure someday :)

Finn Bilous - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"MAD1 - North Island Surf Road Trip"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

I spent 7 days road tripping around the North Island of New Zealand in the new MAD1 camper van. My entire experience with Mad Campers was awesome! The team who work there are classic Kiwi's, really nice and genuinely want to see you go out and have an epic adventure in NZ.

I was mainly chasing waves throughout my trip and was unsure that I would have enough space inside the van for my surfboard and all the gear that I was travelling with. However, the MAD1 has a really clever design, making it super spacious with plenty of your room to store your gear when both driving and sleeping. I loved having the ability to sleep wherever and live in this camper van whilst still having the connivence of a small, easy to drive, fuel efficient little vehicle.

I highly recommend the MAD1 to anyone travelling solo who wants to check out New Zealand or just go on a little adventure. I think this is a perfect choice of camper van for surfers who want to have the freedom to follow the swell wherever it's best. Yeow!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks again for this epic review, Finn! Still stoked we could send you off in the MAD1! Hope you're good legend!

B. Becker - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Awesome"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

It was a great experience with Mad Campers.
The van was good, is funtional designed, clean and in a good constitution.
The team commuciated great and there was very professional and nice introduction of the van.
We recommend Mad Campers.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    So great to hear you guys had an amazing adventure! Thanks for joining the Mad Campers Family - we hope to see you again sometime!!