Mad Campers Review

Rated 4.9 / 5 from 54 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 9/22/19

Mad Campers takes pride in their unique camper design and in particular their extremely comfy beds that sleep two. They reckon they have the biggest and comfiest beds in all New Zealand. And now, they offer NZ's first-ever campervan for solo travellers. What do you think?

About Mad Campers

Mad Campers is a relatively new campervan hire company in New Zealand, with depots in Auckland and Christchurch. They are quite prepared to wow their soon-to-be renters with free airport pick-up, discounted petrol, freedom camping options (due to self-contained vehicles), tourism partnerships, and heaps of inclusions and extras. But what they particularly proud of is their campervan beds, which they claim to be the largest in the industry, and also, the comfiest. They are buoyed by feedback from past renters telling them this too.

The sheer energy and love that the owners of Mad Campers have for their business, campervan design, customers and beds are enough to make you want to book immediately. They have a passion for their industry, their country and their desire to be part of the solution, not the problem when it comes to self-contained free camping - which all their vehicles are certified for.

They had a stellar first season and have incorporated the feedback into their campervans already, making constant improvements and they also have a special little something coming along that they assure me is a "game-changer" for the campervan rental market in New Zealand. If their enthusiasm for their current fleet is anything to go by, then their newest model is also a sight to see.

The Mad Challenge

Mad Campers also have a unique challenge they have for every person who hires one of their campervans. Grab the free T-shirt they give you, take a photo of yourself doing the 7 most "kiwi" things to do in NZ, which are all free, and upload the images to your social feeds for 5% off total rental, returned to you at the end of the road trip. No one else is offering this kind of challenge. It's crazy things like take a photo of running on a black sand beach, climb a mountain, eat fish and chips on a beach, or drink a particular type of milkshake?! Anyway, seeing as they are all free activities we think it's a great idea and the feedback is that by doing it, you sometimes meet some interesting other people and suddenly find yourself on an unexpected journey (there's a pun in there if you can spot it).

Fleet

The Mad Campers fleet isn't that complicated. It started with one model―a 2 berth campervan with bench seats in the back that convert to "the biggest bed in New Zealand", a pull-out kitchenette via the rear door with a 1 burner gas stove, a little fridge and a sink and some nifty little charging points mounted near the sink. Now, they welcome a new camper to their fleet, which is a perfect option for solo travelers. But the main reason you will enjoy these campervans is that they come with a self-containment certification, which means freedom camping! With that, you can save dollars on camping fees. Be a well-informed traveller by knowing the freedom camping rules in each NZ district. 

Vehicles

Mad 1

Introducing New Zealand’s first-ever single berth self-contained campervan―Mad 1! The only single berth unit for lone backpackers, this campervan takes you to your destination at your own pace. The rental rate is designed for one person so that means you can spend more money on other important things like food and beverages. Mad 1 is like a step-up car with all facilities you'll need for overnight camping like a small kitchen, a single bed, a nice lounge area, and a cassette toilet. This easy-to-drive campervan features a lower carbon footprint for an economical driving experience.

You can easily cook using the LPG 2 burner gas cooker at the rear. Plus, the kitchenette is equipped with a sink, extendable hose tap, fridge, pan, pots, and more! Listen to your favorite tracks via USB powerpoints or charge your electronics using the secondary battery. At night, you can easily swipe the curtains and turn on the LED lighting for much cozy bedtime. And because of the functional layout, you have lots of space inside. Distinctively, these single campervans feature a key-less entry. Instead, these have alarms or immobiliser for super security. Impeccable features for a new campervan on the market! 

Mad 2

These 2-berth Nissan Vanette are the go-to campervans for couples or even solo backpackers in need of more space. All Nissan Vanettes are suitable for NZ's rugged backcountry. Aside from the chemical toilet, 25L of freshwater and grey water capacity, the campervan is fitted out with a fully functional kitchenette complete with sink, fridge, gas cooker, pots & pans, and kitchen and cooking utensils. And take note, the kitchen is a pull-out style kitchen to provide more space in the living room. The extendable hose tap allows you to wash your dishes outside and your feet when you come back from running on the black sand beach.

For the sleeping quarters, the huge double bed is spacious enough for two. There are USB powerpoints inside to make your road trip a bit more entertaining and productive. Plug in your fave playlist or charge your laptop - there's a house battery to make sure you're not draining the car battery. After all, you need the campervan to start in the morning, right? 

Insurance

The standard insurance is already included in the daily rate, but still, it's advisable if you one of the reduction options. For those under 25, the three excess waiver options: Risk Taker at $0/day for a $5000 excess, Gambler at $17.50/day for $2,500 excess and You're Good at $30/day for $0 excess. For drivers over 25, the insurance options are as follows: $0/day for $5000 excess, $15/day for $2,500 excess and $25/day for $0 excess. As to the bond, it's $2, 500, $1, 500, and $200.

Reputation

It is still a fairly new campervan hire company, but the feedback from renters has been stellar. People returning the campervan and giving them hugs and nicknames, as well as contented renters happy to hit the review pages and say great things about the campervan and the gang that run them. So all around, these guys are running 5 stars by the users. We think they're pretty good too!

Summary

Mad Campers is a fresh campervan hire company with a zesty "can do, will do" attitude. Their solo campervans are certainly worth the try. So, if you want to have a breath of fresh air from bigger rental corporations, then experience an exciting road trip from a modern and unstained rental company. Mad Campers itself is pretty thrilled with their new venture and you can get a hold of their service firsthand and together discover what's down the road. We represent them on the booking engine, so head over to the booking form to a get a price from these guys. 

From the Agency

We're excited you're planning an ADVENTURE. Great choice picking New Zealand, we're an island nation so travel and adventure is in our blood. Have an epic Kiwi experience in one of our certified self contained Mad Campers. We've got the most innovative campers on the market, and New Zealands FIRST Self-Contained Campervan for Solo Travelers! Allowing you to go wherever you want in comfort... and at whatever pace you desire. You'll be able to catch some of our culture and adventure tourism as you make your way from the pristine white sand beaches in the north down to the rugged peaks of the south. You can make your own mind up but we think you'll find New Zealand has it all. So come aboard with us, we're excited about what's down the road!

Pros

  • All self-contained campervans
  • Now offers solo campervans for solo travellers
  • Thoughtful inclusions and extras
  • Enthusiastic people

Cons

  • Only two campervan types; not for families

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
L. H - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Amazing service, great low-cost rental for a roadie around New Zealand"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We hired the MAD2, it’s a cosy van but it has everything you need and makes it easy to get around without lugging around too much weight. Love the fact that you can still use the lights, stereo and fridge whilst the van is off and you’re parked up for the night as the motor charges these parts up while driving. Overall it was perfect for a Nz Roadie, and the service was so great. Very happy customers ☺️

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Many thanks for your review, we are stoked that you had such an incredible time in your camper. Thank you for choosing to travel with us and welcome to the Mad Campers family!
    Cheers
    Fernando Orduna
    Traveller Experience Team Leader

Matthew Thomas - avatar not loaded
, South Africa
1 Review

"Epic NZ Adventure!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

After a 3 week trip at the end of 2020 is our little van around the northern part of the North Island that included Cape Reinga, the Coromandel Peninsula and Rotorua/Taupo, it was only natural to approach the team at Mad Campers for a further trip to explore the rest of gorgeous New Zealand.

We spent a magical 3 months traveling in our little van and it was perfect knowing that Andy, Fer, Matt and the rest of the team were only ever a call away if we had any issues....

There commitment to us customers was clearly demonstrated when we had a problem with our fridge and they drop shipped a brand new fridge to us.

Our little van ran absolutely perfectly and we explored some amazing areas across New Zealand spending many a night in breathtaking campsites.

Thanks guys, it was amazing and we loved our little van and we'll definitely be back for another adventure!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. H - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Great little camper"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

We had an amazing 2 nights away. The camper was well equipped and comfortable, we had no problems. The staff were very friendly and helpful and at any point. Such great value for price, and nice to be supporting nz owned business! Highly recommend

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J. Kabrovski - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Awesome experience with Mad Campers, would highly recommend!!"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

My great experience with Mad Campers! - Thanks again Fernando and the team for all your help!!

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Mad Campers for making my trip over the past weekend so fun. From start to finish the customer service was brilliant, Fernando is such a nice, friendly and knowledgeable guy and made the process so easy. Picking up and dropping off the van was quick and easy, we were briefed on all the features and how to use everything, the fact that we had a sound system that could be linked to our phones via Bluetooth was also very helpful. The van itself had everything we needed and was spacious inside. The bedding was also very comfortable and we had 2 good nights sleep. I would definitely recommend using these guys if you are looking for an awesome camper van experience within New Zealand.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hey James!
    Many thanks for your feedback. We are stoked that you had such an incredible time in your camper. It has been an absolute pleasure to look after you and we look forward to your next adventure with us.
    WELCOME TO THE MAD CAMPERS FAMILY!
    Fernando Orduna
    Traveller Experience Team Leader

Ashel Wickz. - avatar not loaded
, Sri Lanka
1 Review

"Camping with Mad Campers."

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

It was an amazing camping experience with mad campers. The staff is very friendly and supportive. The vehicle's interior is really cool and super comfortable. We had a memorable journey in Southland. Thank you, Mad Campers. 

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hey Ashel!
    We are stoked that you had such an amazing time in your camper. Thank you for choosing to travel with us and welcome to the Mad Campers family!
    Have an incredible 2021 and we look forward to your next camper adventure with us.
    Fernando Orduna
    Traveller Experience Manager

Aletta Thomas avatar
, New Zealand
1 Review

"AWESOME!!!!"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Our experience with Mad Campers has been outstanding! From start to finish the service was impeccable! They truly go out of their way to make your holiday great!

We loved road tripping in our little campervan. It had everything we needed, reliable and comfortable to drive.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hey Aletta!
    Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you had an amazing adventure and look forward to your next trip with us.
    WELCOME TO THE MAD CAMPERS FAMILY!
    Fernando Orduna
    Customer Experience Manager

M. keddell - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Mad Camper Delight"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

loved it, went to Whananaki and camped on beach. Enjoyed way more than on the tent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hey Mark!
    Many thanks for your review. We are stoked that you had an amazing time in your camper. Happy holidays and welcome to the Mad Campers family!
    Fernando Orduna
    Traveller Experience Manager

L. Vazquez - avatar not loaded
, Argentina
1 Review

"BAD BAD BAD EXPERIENCE"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

Bad experience. We received an old and dirty campervan. It made HUGE efforts to go up in small slopes, looked like it was going to break down at any minute. A NIGHTMARE. Then even though we had hired the best insurance (and the most expensive one) the company made us pay 400 AMERICAN DOLLARS for a god damn canopy that someone took at a camping. No reimbursement of any type for the crappy van. would never hire them again. New Zealand is beautiful by the way. Don't let them ruin your experience.

2Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
T. Pecorari - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Simply the best"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We had a great second experience with Mad Campers. The Mad2 was perfect for our week-long road trip in the North Island. It’s very comfortable to drive and provides all the necessary equipment. Thanks to Fer and the team for providing such a great service. Can’t wait for the next trip!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hey Toni!

    Many thanks for your review. We are stoked that you had such an amazing time in our campervan.

    It has been an absolute pleasure to look after you and remember that adventure never stops. We look forward to your next roadtrip around NZ.

    Cheers!

    Fernando Orduna
    Traveller Experience Team Leader

Anna - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Super comfy versatile van"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We rented a MAD2 to tour the Southern Island with. Mad Campers was perfect! All the staff are really friendly and helpful. The vans are well built, and it quickly feels like home. While there isn't a lot of storage in the 2-person van, they provide a roof rack for free for all your gear. It's a bit annoying having to unlock it and go to the roof for your clothes but totally worth it so that you can enjoy hanging out inside. Like any van, it's a bit slow to accelerate and drive uphill. The gas tank is also a bit small so you have to fill up more frequently than other cars. It's more pricey than some other van rental companies, but with the customer service the livability of the van, it's totally worth it. Plus the bed is SO comfortable, and it's completely self-contained.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Anna

    Many thanks for your review and I appreciate your feedback.

    We will definitely review our Mad 2 and continue looking for ways to improve the experience in the campervans for our travellers.

    WELCOME TO THE MAD FAMILY!

    Cheers

    Fernando
    Traveller Experience Team Leader

F. Bissonnette - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Perfect holiday"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We loved our experience with Mad Campers! Rented a MAD2 from mi-january to mid-february 2020 and toured the whole country. They were helpful and resourceful at every step of the way. The camper was clean and exactly as described in the intro video. We called or emailed while on the road for various questions regarding the camper, activities, ferries etc, and the team was always on their top customer service game. Would rent again with them in a heartbeat.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Fanny

    Many thanks for your feedback - it means the world to us.

    We are so glad you had an unforgettable adventure with us in New Zealand!

    WELCOME TO THE MAD FAMILY and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

    Best regards!

    Fernando Orduna
    Customer Experience Manager

K. Suddaby - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"The Ultimate Fair-weather adventure van"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

The Ultimate Fair-weather adventure van

My partner and I spent 5 weeks in our amazing MAD 2 camper. We travelled one way ChCh to Auck. and loved every second. The van was incredibly reliable, and the engineering support was second-to-none (we broke our key and had to call them on Sunday evening; he picked up immediately and helped sort the problem!)
The MAD colleagues were awesome. They were genuinely passionate about camping, super helpful and really encouraged us to get involved with the MAD challenge (which was awesome)
Inside, the van has a clever set up, maximising space whilst keeping you in the outdoor lifestyle. It was self contained which allowed us to park pretty mush anywhere and cook, camp and enjoy NZ. The bed was comfy; we had adequate storage (especially with the top box), there was a fridge big enough for a few days provisions. The cooking space is great and the utensils perfect (my partners a bit of a snob when it comes to this but he loved the cooking stuff). The sink is small but adequate and the hose is a good addition.
Ultimate adventure van.
The price for our duration couldn't be beaten (believe me, I tried).

Things I wish I had known:
- Take a mosquito net/ hire the net from MAD. Sand flies are NZ version of the Scottish midgy/ hungry mosquitos
- Bunnings shop sell chairs super cheap. Buy these and also stretch to a table - we wished we'd done the latter
- We were incredibly lucky with good weather; the cooking and cleaning set up worked well for us but not sure how it would fair in poorer weather

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Katherine

    We are stoked about this review and so glad that you had an incredible time around New Zealand!

    Many thanks for your feedback and we will discuss about these ideas on our next team meeting.

    Once again, thank you and we hope to see you travelling with us again soon!

    Fernando
    Customer Experience Manager

J. Weiss - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"South Island Adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Friendly staff, especially Savanna, got us off to a great start and welcomed us back afterwards. Mad2 was perfect for our two week trip up and down the east coast of the South Island.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Jeff

    Many thanks for your review - we are so happy that you had a spectacular time in our Mad2!

    Welcome to the Mad family and we look forward to having you with us in your next adventure around New Zealand.

    Cheers!

    Fernando Orduna
    Customer Experience Manager

K. Machado - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Great service, great campervan, grear experience"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

From the moment we picked up the campervan, the team was so thoughtful in making sure we had everything we needed. The explanation on how to use the vehicle was extremely thorough, and we felt they genuinely wanted us to have the experience of a lifetime.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora K. Machado

    Many thanks for your feedback. I will share this beautiful message with our team.

    We feel honored that have an unforgettable time with Mad Campers!

    Have a great rest of your week and we look forward to seeing you again with us.
    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

Uwe and Anita - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Camping vacation with Mad Campers"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We had an overall great experience with Mad Campers. The booking-process was not complicated, and we were able to reserve our camper van about half year before the arrival date to New Zealand. The camper van itself turned out to be comfortable and well-equipped with all necessary items like bedding, cutlery, gas bottle and water sink. Everything mentioned was provided free of charge. The bed inside was easy to arrange, spacious enough for 2 adults and very comfortable as well. Of course, we want to mention that the staff of Mad Campers was very friendly and took their time to explain us all the details of the rental agreement and about the van equipment and operation.

The only two remarks we would like to adress are: — the casket on the camper van rooftop which was equipped automatically without booking. Of course there are customers who are using it, but we realy didn‘t need it. It caused some difficulty by driving during strong wind conditions and also increased the fuel consumption, so maybe the solution would be to provide it only to the campers who really need it... — the additional fee for returning the van outside the business hours. We had to return our van before the office was open because of our early flight. First we thought that one of the staff members have to come earlier to work because of it, thus we understood why it costs 150 Nz dollars. However we just needed to drop our keys in a box… . Since in Europe the rental cars can be returned to the same way but free of charge, we were quite surprised, also 150 NZ fee for just dropping the keys is, in our opinion , a little bit to high.

Besides these two above mentioned points though, we were very satisfied with the service and camper van itself, and we will recommend Mad Campers to everybody who like to spend the camping vacation in New Zealand.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Uwe and Anita!

    Many thanks for your review and sharing your feedback regarding your experience with Mad Campers.

    I appreciate your comments and will review these two comments for our our future travellers around New Zealand.

    Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

D. Mai - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Perfect NZ camper adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We felt very welcome by mad campers and very comfortable with the camper. We enjoyed our stay a lot and can highly recommend these guys.
Thanks a lot it was a unforgettable experience.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Many thanks for your feedback, I will share this with our team.

    It has been a pleasure to look after you during your adventure around New Zealand!

    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

Steve Webb - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Exactly what we wanted & needed!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Mad Campers made our NZ tour unforgettable! Greeted by a very friendly welcome & a thorough walk through of our new home for the next 4 weeks.

Van life takes some getting used to, but their design is really well thought out which we appreciated a lot! Definitely recommend the table & chairs as they're easy to stow/take out. The canopy was a handy addition, but we didn't need it routinely; usually just for cooking at night to help keep critters at bay or else on a rainy day. Worth noting that all their vans come with a roof box too - very useful for the stuff you cart around but don't use much! Point worth noting - there's no mains outlet nor power hook up, so best to try and bring usb charged devices. Alternatively use the mains plugs in campsites.

The MAD2 is on the smaller side of the vans you'll see driving around NZ, but that suited us just fine and made life so much easier when going through towns/cities & want to stop off. Just find a normal parking spot & you're good!

Drop off in Christchurch was straightforward, even included them calling us an Uber to take us to the airport!

Would definitely use these guys again, and hope that I'm back in NZ in the not too distant future to be able to do so...

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Steve

    Many thanks for your feedback.

    It is awesome to read that you had an incredible trip and you enjoyed our campervan.

    We look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure around New Zealand!

    Cheers
    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

Rachel - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Perfectly designed, fun adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

If you're thinking of traveling through New Zealand (especially the South Island), do it in a campervan and especially with Mad Campers! The van was set up perfectly with plenty of space for two, both during the day and for sleeping. The website and team also made the rental process incredibly easy with straightforward insurance options and no hidden extras - they were also super friendly and full of great recommendations. Thank you for the best adventure!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Kia Ora Rachel

    Many thanks for your review. I will share this with our team.

    On behalf of Mad Campers, thank you for letting us be part of your New Zealand adventure!

    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

I. Jurkowski - avatar not loaded
, Poland
1 Review

"A great adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Amazing company! My wife and I had a great New Zealand adventure in their car, the team was very helpful and we ended up having wonderful time traveling through the south and north islands. The car was very well thought-through and the bed was extremely comfortable (which was a worry for us as we are both rather tall). Also the Mad Challenge was a fun way to try out some new things.

Definitely recommended!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.

    This is amazing and we want to thank you for letting us be part of your New Zealand adventure. We are sure you had a blast with the Mad Challenge!

    We look forward to seeing you again soon!
    Fernando Orduna - Customer Experience Manager

S. O. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"A grand adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Mad Campers made my first ever solo adventure feel super safe and easy. They were incredible communicators, always available to answer my questions. When I arrived, they talked me through every detail of the van, and even let me drive around with them to ensure I felt comfortable driving on the left side of the road. I felt protected knowing that if any issues arose, they were always a phone call away. They even told me they'd drive out to meet me wherever I was if I had an emergency. The van was perfect, too. It had everything I needed, was incredibly comfortable, easy to drive, and attracted a lot of interested. Thank you for a grand adventure, Mad Campers!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share you feedback, Sarah! We loved being a part of your adventure and are so stoked to hear you enjoyed your Mad Campers experience and first solo adventure! Welcome to the Mad Campers family - hopefully we'll see you again for another NZ adventure!