McRent New Zealand Review

Rated 4.7 / 5 from 29 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 8/2/19

The expansion of McRent to New Zealand is continuous as they offer new motorhomes for hire―Urban Plus and Comfort Plus. These two modern add-ons are meant for smaller families from 3 to 4.

Urban Plus

A new 2 berth camper welcomes McRent's NZ fleet. These are compact and practical units designed for two adventurers looking for a simple yet comfortable place to sleep. Both driver and passenger seats are swivel chairs so you can easily jump from focusing on the road to lazing around with a cup of coffee. Another lazy spot inside the camper is the rear, where you can find the doubled bed with underneath storage. 

Comfort Plus

Intended for up to 4 persons, the Comfort Plus still leaves enough space for moving around―hence the name! You've got two bed options here―from the rear double bed or from the front pull-down bed. Both kitchen and bathroom are located in the middle for a roomier interior.

Continue reading to know more about McRent NZ. 


McRent, Europe's largest motorhome rental company, has now expanded to New Zealand, offering 2 to 6 berth motorhomes at NZ's two popular locations—Auckland and Christchurch.

About McRent New Zealand

The European motorhome rental market is dominated by the biggest competitor on hand—McRent. Now, McRent has expanded its offerings to New Zealand. Its notable reputation could be a positive factor in this crowded campervan and motorhome rental market. Mcrent chose the two most visited cities of New Zealand to set up in, Auckland and Christchurch, and if you're undecided between the North and South islands, don't worry because the company offers one-way rentals for your convenience. And before you hit the road, take time to utilize this NZ freedom camping tool that gives you specific freedom camping tools per NZ district. 

Renting a motorhome from Mcrent does not mean spending all your riches in just one holiday. They provide different choices for different travelers, which means it caters to everyone in the market, from budget backpackers down to high-end travellers. 

Fleet

All McRent motorhomes are not older than 2 years, so wear and tear is not a problem at all. These vehicles are usually from Erwin Hymer Group, which are well-maintained and in top condition. Most motorhomes come with convertible seats to provide more spacious beds. For instance, the alcove motorhome provides 2 built-in beds above the driver's cab, 2 in the rear and another 2 from the convertible seats—but just take note that only 4 can still travel in the vehicle because of the number of seat-belts attached. The motorhomes have almost everything on board, from a fully-equipped kitchen to some generous extras like awning and bicycle rack. 

Vehicles

Compact Plus

The Compact Plus is suitable for small families as it can sleep up to 2 adults and one child. This may be the cheapest option in the fleet (though quite pricey compared to other competitors), the motorhome already includes awning, bicycle rack, water hose, WC chemicals and more. Though design for three only, the interior is still very spacious with two fitted beds.  

Family Standard

If you're travelling with a larger group, there's the Family Standard, featuring 4 seats and 4 beds—two single beds at the rears and two at the headroom of the driver's seat. There is no notable difference with the prior motorhome, except the size and load capacity.

Family Plus

This 6-berth motorhome provides the needed space and style for bigger families. The alcove model caters up to six, making it convenient for the whole family. There's one double bed at the rear, two beds at the headroom and two from the convertible seats in the living quarters. The converted sleeping area for two gives a lot of added space for walking around. 

Family Luxury

Another choice in the 6-berth category is Family Luxury. Well, from the name itself, this motorhome exudes more elegance and space. Aside from the higher price compared to the Family Plus, this vehicle is fitted out for a slightly fancy road trip for the family. 

Comfort Standard

Ideal for couples in need of a luxury holiday on the road, the Comfort Standard comes with one queen-sized bed. However, the vehicle provides up to 4 seat-belts, which means that you can bring some extra passengers. But, of course, your sleeping space might get limited. One thing that makes this motorhome different from others in the fleet is its internal access, giving comfort from driving to resting in the living area. 

Insurance

The renter is liable for the first $7,500 insurance excess but can be reduced if you take one of liability reduction options: $39/day to limit the excess to $1,000 or $69/day to limit it to $500.

Reputation

With several branches all over Europe, McRent New Zealand could be something to consider if you want to hire a motorhome from a company with a reputation already. This newest addition of the McRent company is a nice aspect to their growing business. But, since their branch in New Zealand is just a recent venture, it's also a factor that should be taken into account. Further, their reviews are not all flawless feedback, with some issues about failed customer service and mechanical quality. Still, they are very apologetic and responded to each negative review, unlike other companies. 

Summary

Still, McRent New Zealand, as a whole, is a good company with reliable services and newer vehicles on the fleet. The rates may not be that very affordable for budget travellers, but the years in the industry is a slight charm.

From the Agency

We are so thrilled to have opened our doors in New Zealand. Since we started operating in 2017, most of our fleet is only used for one season. We aim to exchange the majority of our fleet with new vehicles each year to keep them in great shape. But vehicles alone are nothing without being accompanied by great service. We are working every day at getting better at what we do, and I promise you this will never stop. We have a highly committed and customer-service focused team available in Christchurch with Oliver & Isabel and Shacky & Claudia in Auckland. We have our hearts in the right place and care for your happiness and satisfaction. We have put lots of work into process improvements this season to improve on the first year. If you are looking to book a unique and comfortable New Zealand Campervan Holiday off the beaten track, then get in touch. We would love to hear from you.

Pros

  • A lot of branches all over Europe
  • New motorhomes on fleet
  • Caters to small to big groups

Cons

  • Only two depots in NZ
  • Quite pricey

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
B. Pilbrow - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"McRent outstanding"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a simply amazing time spending 7 weeks travelling the country. MCRent were so professional from the get go, great value and amazing service. Claudia is incredible as well as Shaky. The vehicle was new, exceptionally comfortable, economical, spacious and clean. You pay a little more but trust me you totally get the best RV on the road. 100%

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Michelle - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Amazing service, great motorhome and fantastic holiday"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have just had 7 nights renting a McRent Motorhome and travelling around the South Island. I can't speak highly enough of the fantastic service we received - right from the very first contact with our enquiry through to the end of our trip and return of our motorhome. Claudia was so lovely to deal with, as were the team in the Christchurch office.

We hired a Family Standard motorhome which was a 4-berth even though it was just the two of us. Everything was supplied, we asked for extra towels and nothing was a problem. We were very comfortable and warm and as everything was checked over to ensure it was working before we left we never had an issue with anything. The Christchurch team explained how to operate everything before we left and they made sure we watched a video explaining it all as well.

10 out of 10 on all levels - we would definitely hire a motorhome from McRent again and recommend them to anyone thinking about booking with them.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J. Nicols - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"An excellent adventure"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for an incredible motorhome experience look no further. McRent are fantastic to deal with. The communication from Claudia from booking through to check in was prompt and she made the whole process very easy. The pickup was easy and McRent provided comprehensive instructions about everything we needed to know. The vehicle inspection was thorough and they took numerous photographs of the condition of the vehicle when it is handed over, and we then got a copy of the photos emailed to us.
We hired a 4 berth with twin beds/super large bed in the back and a double which drops down from the roof. It was perfect for our family of four. The vehicle was practically brand new and it had everything we needed including bedding and towels. We took extra blankets in case the kids got cold but they weren't needed - especially with the central heating.
The drop off was also easy. There were no issues with our vehicle, we had taken excellent care of her, and our bond was released to us immediately (which showed overnight from memory) We had a fantastic holiday. Thank you McRent - we will definitely be using you again. 

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Jaco - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"McRent customer experience"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The camper lived up to all expectations. The experience with staff, from booking, to pick-up, contact during the trip, and drop-off has been professional, with a pleasant friendly familiarity.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
S. Gibson - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"McRent are just awesome"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We were pleasantly surprised when we collected our brand new 4 berth Trend Model. There was only the two of us 55+year olds who are a bit long in the tooth to be cramming into a typical 2 berth van! Very friendly & helpful staff to help us get on our way. We hired in the middle of winter & have to say that we were as snug as bugs in a rug! Our model was super high tech which made the experience all the more pleasurable. Thanks to the Team at McRent.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Catherine Overwater - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"School Holiday adventure in our McRent Campervan"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had such an awesome time in our McRent camper van. We have been converted from caravaning to camper vaning. Our camper van was amazing, all the modcons and so comfortable to travel in. The whole process from starting the booking with Claudia to dealing with Shacky when picking the van up and dropping it off was faultless.Would highly recommend renting a camper van off McRent. We are going to book again for next school holidays.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. Stanley - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Mc Rent"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Really good service and good pricing. Claudia and the team were really helpful and the van was really good to drive and easy to use. Can't praise these people enough

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
T. Atama - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Regular customers of McRent as we love them"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We love the layout of these campervans. Love the mobile Wi-fi and satellite TV. The campervans are powerful enough to handle all the NZ mountainous roads. Easy to drive. Near new vehicles. Can be totally self-sufficient so love being able to camp anyone in NZ in freedom camping areas, without having to go to camping grounds to plug into power source. Staff are helpful and explain things well. Are available on-call if required...

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
G. Harrison - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"A great week away"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The customer service at Mcrent was very good , the staff were helpful and made the rental process easy. The motor home was near new and in good condition, with 2 single beds and a drop down double . the bedding , cutlery , pots and pans were all supplied and in good condition. Some dishwashing liquid and maybe some cleaner would have been helpful. The motor home was easy to drive and after the first day we had mastered the heating fridge etc. Overall we enjoyed the experience and would rent from them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
L. Hopwood - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"The most comfortable road trip!!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Fantastic experience from start to finish!

The McRent staff were so friendly, helpful and informative from start to finish. The pickup/drop off operation is smooth and easy & no question is unanswered - they even have an 'out of hours' help number for whilst you are on your travels meaning you can fully relax. The camper van was brand new and had everything (plus more) we could've needed. The kids had a blast and we managed to see a bit of our own backyard at the same time!

We will be regular customers from now on for sure!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
D. Evans - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Birthday travel"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Absolutely wrapped with Friendly and prompt service . The vehicle Was near new and well appointed . We felt like part of the family..?

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
M. Franke - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Journey of our lifetime??"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

McRent is definitely the very best place to rent a campervan?! The vehicles are brand new, well thought and equipped with everything you need and even more! We did 6,000 km in 52 days both islands with CV640, drove up and down a lot of steep roads in the winter and had zero issues! Right from the start we were in touch with Claudia, who is not only a lovely person but helped us with everything from ferry tickets, airport transfers, extensions and recommendations for our journey through this beautiful and breathtaking country! The teams in both offices Auckland and Christchurch are extremely friendly, made us feel welcome and proofed to be well beyond any other campervan company out there! Thanks guys, it's been the journey of our lifetime! ?✌️

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
U. und Sabine - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Uwe and Sabine from Germany in the Urban Plus campervan"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

18/04/2020
Die Zusammenarbeit mit MC Rent war vom ersten Kontakt mit Claudia Schoushoff in Auckland super. Die Übernahme in Christchurch war perfekt organisiert und die Dame in der Station überaus freundlich. Unser Camper war ein fast neuwertiger 6,40 m Kastenwagen Fiat Ducato der Fa. Sunlight mit Doppelbett. Wir hatten den Camper 8 Wochen von Mitte Dezember bis Mitte Februar. Sind 6500 km gefahren und waren auf der Süd- und dann auf der Nordinsel. Neuseeland ist ein Traum und die 8 Wochen waren eine der schönsten Reisen, die wir je gemacht haben!!! Der Camper funktionierte einwandfrei und war sehr gut ausgestattet. Kühlschrank, 2 Flammenkocher, TV mit Satschüssel, Toilette, Dusche, Internet, Solar, Campingmöbel, Navi und auch Bettzeug und Handtücher waren ausreichend an Bord. Besser geht es nicht. Nach 8 Wochen haben wir den Camper dann in der Nähe des Airport Auckland an Claudia zurückgegeben. Auch diese Aktion verlief sehr entspannt und freundlich. Wir möchten uns an dieser Stelle beim Team von MC Rent sehr herzlich bedanken und können diese Vermietstation von ganzen Herzen weiterempfehlen. 5 Sterne !!! Uwe & Sabine Fredersdorf - Deutschland

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
F. Palma - avatar not loaded
, Portugal
1 Review

"Fantastic experience!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

It was all great, fantastic experience with McRent!
We had a wonderful vacations, the motorvan and the staff were incredible!
Thank you!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
C. Gies - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Good rental company"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Super friendly and helpful in problem cases. Fair prices/fees if there are damages caused by the renter! We‘ll defenitely rent again by McRent!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Claudia avatar
, New Zealand
2 Review

"I have permission to post the following review from our lovely customer Heikki who travelled with us over New Year's"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

“We spent two wonderful weeks in NZ travelling with Mc Rent Dethleff motorhome. The car was brand new and of course very tidy. We have not travelled with motorhome earlier but found this motorhome very versatile, handy and easy to operate. There was surprisingly much space, even toilet, shower and toilet were completely usable. We were planning to spend some nights in hotels but ended up to spend every night in this motorhome.

When looking at some other people with cheaper campervans in the camping ground, I was very happy that we selected this more expensive solution.

The instructions when we received the motorhome were very good. We only had a small issue during these two weeks and we got very clear instruction how to solve it.

I can recommend McRent”

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
B. Q. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Outstanding campervan rental experience 2019"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

We very much appreciated the great camper van rental experience with McRent in New Zealand. Claudia, the German Sales Manager, in Auckland already helped us before our arrival to get the right campervan for our 2,5 months travel time with our 1 year old son. From her own experience we learnt how to create a safe sleeping environment for our baby. We also received great travel tipps from McRent regarding campground, travel route and magnificent roads.
Picking up the campervan and returning it worked out extremely easy, efficient, fair and with lots of personnel support and time for our questions. Since McRent just expanded their business in New Zealand we travelled in a brand-new campervan. Compared to many other rental campervans McRent offers a very high campervan standard and quality:
- great isolation so that we could spend the night in Sep-Nov without using a heater
- huge fridge and freezer
- huge and comfortable double bed
- lots of storage room

The McRent service we experienced was absolutely outstanding. We can highly recommend this company and would always rend there again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
C. How - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"A excellent Campervan company with quality product"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Fantastic! Excellent built quality and very clean too. McRent also provided all that's necessary for your holiday. Quality beddings, sufficient cooking and dining utensils. They don't overload unnecessary things like electric toasters and electric kettle to you. Communications with Claudia from the sales team was a breeze. Her years in this campervan rental comes thru the moment our first enquiry went out. Nothing was ever too much and all querries, doubts are laid to rest. Issues along the way during the rental was also promptly dealt with. No nightmares of equipment breakdown or doesn't work. Our 7+meters van was superbly easy to handle too. This is our 4th campervan trip in NZ, but our first with McRent. The experience with them is certainly not inferior to some of the bigger and premium names that we had previously used.
The sum it up. There are 2 main areas which we believe are very important to most campervan hirers. The campervan quality (both the van and the interior fixtures working as they are supposed to) and the communication with the company (especially when there are issues before or during the hire period). Both these areas are very well handled by McRent.

Keep up the good work Team McRent!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
H. Rohr - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"NZ Rohr"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Very Good experience with McRent Auckland

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Lisa T - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Quality Camper Van and experience"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

The McRent team from first contact to drop off were very friendly, helpful and thoughtful. They helped me achieve a long term sporting goal (running 160 km around Mt Taranakai, New Plymouth) I required a support vehicle and they were more than accommodating and provided a four berth van. It was nearly new, clean, well appointed and drove like a dream. I cannot recommend McRent and the crew highly enough. Thank you

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value