"Choose another rental company!"
Spaceship rentals will over charge for everything possible. A 5$ camping c...
Spaceship rentals will over charge for everything possible. A 5$ camping chair will cost you $50. Their administration fees are ridiculously expensive. Fortunately all of our gear was in fine condition when we returned the car or we would have needed to go to the bank for a loan. Even though we registered the car for the applicable tolls and had tolls charged to us, the company still sent emails that we did not and charged us admin fees for it. We called and confirmed the information with an employee from Linkt, the toll agency. Everything was set up accordingly, also emailed spaceship to make sure o and 0 were the correct ones. Everything was in order. This was before we went through any tolls. They still charged us for admin fees for not paying for tolls. Seems like a money grab. The whole trip you need to worry about their ridiculous fees they will charge you if anything happens to a chair, table, anything. This company makes it difficult to enjoy the road trip you are embarking on. The employees seem like they don’t want to work there and are very disinterested. The company makes you sit down when you return the car and write a review, while they sit beside youth. This pretty much ensures the review is good. It’s crazy a company would have you sit beside them and review the company. The van itself is very cramped, I understand you’re sleeping in a car, but the design of them isn’t great. You’re sleeping on an elevated box in the van, which then allows for a foot or two of space. You’re pretty much squeezed up against the roof. The cushions you use are cheap and hard. Do not use spaceship rentals. This company will try to get as much money out of you as possible.
The car was old and worn. Inside, appliances, such as electronics and fridge, barely worked. Staff generally wasn't interested, when we reported problems. Finally, after the car's lock got jammed, we were requested to spend hours of our last vacation day in search for locksmiths to fix the problem by ourselves. The pricing was also incredibly high. I cannot recommend the company to anyone.
Van was good for a budget van and had everything you needed (very worn though).
But there was bed bugs which we didn't realise until the last night. Bites in pair, really itchy, big welts. Gave us full refund, but massive hassle and bother. Would not go with them again.
had a great little time, but a little small for my long legs.
had a great time. Australia is ace! Luuuuurve byron bay.
The van we got was outdated and the interior was worn very very basic. Electric windows in the car were faulty and we had to drive half the journey with a window stuck down. In addition to this the customer service post trip was absolutely horrendous. We were stung with hundreds of dollars in toll and admin fees that were not made clear to us. Avoid this company.
We hired beta(suppose to be a middle range) from Cairns for 7 days end of May.
Staff are nice and explaining the car very well, and mentioned that car has to be "clean" when returning it. We thought we just need to clean the front and back windows. WRONG! You have to really clean it inside out, so next customer can use it as it is. Otherwise, $100 cleaning fee. We went to car wash around the petrol station to save the $100.
The car seems old, but didn't break down! We were a bit worried by the look of it. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. But we only stayed in the car for 2 nights, when it's raining, it's not fun, and you can't sit straight.
Overall, I would hire a bigger camper next time.
- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.
All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.
It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.
The concept is good but the state of the campers we rented were inacceptable.
Mid March 2017 , we rented two Spaceship campers, one in Sydney and the week after, another one in Brisbane.
In Sydney, it tooks 3 Hours to have the camper operational. The sliding doors were not working, the body panels had to be fixed as well as the battery.For these issues, the manager gave us a one day refund. We finally had during our trip a battery break down and after few days we could hardly open the sliding doors and it was impossible to open them from inside the car creating a safety issue in case of accident.
The week after, we took another Spaceship in Brisbane. Few hours after we left , we had no more electricity in the car: no more fridge, no more light inside. The staff of Spaceship tried to help us, they send a technician to replace the battery but the problem was not solved. We return the car 3 days in advance and we were refund for these 3 days.
The staff was helpful but there campers are so old that making them working properly in mission impossible.
Spaceship has a very attractive web site which is misleading regarding the quality of their campers. Just avoid to contract with that company.
My friend and I rented a van to travel along the east coast of Aus, the issue though was the person that we rented the van from seemed to have little understanding of the vehicle that we were getting. He was also extremely unclear on how the toll system in Aus works, being from Canada most tolls are payed at the start or the end of the toll road and not recorded then mailed later. My friend and I attempted to use the internet site with little success and had less success with the phone number that we were provided as they directed us to the website. I have since received a toll notice in the mail informing me that it could have been payed at gas stations which we were completely unaware about. The total toll amount has equaled over 180$ so far, some of which I have had the charges appear on my credit card and one noticed has been mailed to me.
When returning the van the worker seemed sympathetic stating that they heir temp staff for busy seasons and seemed to know the staff member that gave us the van and understood that we might not have received the the clearest of information in regards to tolls. The tolls are sent to a 3rd party company that collects the from the renter which means they have no ability to assist renters with toll charges, they also charge an administration fee that is 30$ per toll.
That being said the van worked well, my friend and I had no issues with the equipment provided, our only complaint is the poor information provided about the tolls system and the money that we are paying a month after our vacation has ended.
I picked up a camper in Sydney but the transmission failed about 15 min later inside the M5 tunnel. After a few hours I got back to the depot and picked up another van but found that the rear side door was locked and would not unlock. During our second day I repaired the lock but both side doors would not lock with the remote. The second vehicle was better than the first but I was still disapionted.
Loved driving around in a Spaceship. Easy, just like a car. And still big enough to fit me (1.86m) and partner. Perfect for a 2 person road trip. Would recommend.
It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food
Best wedding ever!! I think our clothes still smell like wine/ shots. Definitely lots of spills and some memory loss. Ohh and the &qhtt;Suoos! Shots! Shots!" song still makes me slightly nauseous! Haha. Love you guys! Happy Anniversary (again)!
We rented a campervan from
Spaceship for our drive from
Brisbane to Cairns. We bought FULL INSURANCE to our rental car. FOLLOWING IS THE WORSTEST EXPERIENE OF CUSTOMER SERVICE AND LOYALTY.
Everything with the car went good until we got stuck in mission beach when the car just shut down. When we tried to start car again, engine warming light turn on and the car just didnt start anymore. Immidiately after that we call to the emergency number for car problems . We waited around one hour in phone, when they turn the phonecall for four different people before someone could help us. Luckily some local mechanic came to help us during many people stop on the road to ask is everything fine. Local friend said that the cars radiator was broken. After FOUR HOURS OF WAITING rental car mechanic came to check the car. He didnt do anything, just check the car and drive away, because at that day There was ONLY ONE MECHANIC for fix all car problems, and he said he had two more cars waiting him to come so he has to leave.
We were waiting for our transfer car which company promise to us for five hours, when company call again for us that There will not be Any transfer coming for us. And before that THEY ALREADY SAID TO US THAT TRANSFER CAR IS ON THE WAY. After many calls and many empty promises, Spaceship gave for us two options. We could wait over night in mission beach so the company could offer a car at next day morning or we could take a bus after four hours from Mission beach to Cairns. Cairns was our final destination. We choose the busdrive and Spaceship sent for us tickets for bus and Tow of van driver came to took keys of the car.
Next day we got email from Spaceship, that we had to pay ourselves 845,42 for bus- passes, Tow of van and replacement of radiator. COMPANY CLAIM US FOR CARELESS STYLE OF DRIVE. WE HAD A FULL INSURANCE AND WE HAVE OWN AUTOMATIC CARS WHICH WE DRIVE IN OUR COUNTRY DAILY, WE DEFINETLY WAS DRIVING WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS ALL THE WAY FROM BRISBANE AND NORMAL CAR SHOULD HANDLE THAT TRIP. WHATS THE POINT OF PAY 30$ DAILY FOR FULL INSURANCE.
THE MOST UGLIEST PART OF CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS WHEN COMPANY BLAME US ALSO FOR SMOKING WITH 100$ CHARGE. NO ONE OF US DEFINETLY IS NOT A SMOKER, AND THERE WAS ONLY THREE OF US ALL THE TIME IN THE CAR.
COMPANY DIDNT EVEN WANTED TO SPEAK WITH US AND DIDNT LISTEN FOR US, IN SAME DAY THEY CHARGED ALL THE AMOUNT FROM
ALL CREDIT CARS.
DONT TRUST TO SPACESHIP.
We hired a camper for 9 days to get us from Sydney to Brisbane as we felt the pricing was good and from the brochure they looked new and well equipped. However when we left the representative at the depot and drove out through the gates we realised the suspension was sketchy with the car floating all over the place making it hard to keep it in the right lane. Another thing we noticed was the wheel alignment was off which resulted in further bad handling of the vehicle. We were scared to go over speed bumps so not to rip off the front bumper!! There was also a constant loud knocking sound that created a further uncomfortable drive, even round round-a-bouts we were concerned to go above 20km/h for fear of the vehicle tipping or swerving out of lane. The brakes were the worst point of all. They gradually became worse and worse and were pretty much useless downhill with travel even when compressed hard – this was discovered when in Byron Bay and a teenager ran into the road with us only just missing him, if the brakes had been of a sufficient nature then the vehicle would have stopped a lot quicker. The leaflet shows someone cooking with a 2 burner station fed from a gas bottle and the possibility of being able to turn the seats sideways, in reality we were unable to do so. The foot wells were infested with fleas and we both suffered bites, even seeing them on our legs as we drove. In conclusion I have never bothered to write a complaint about anything before and usually just take things as they come rather than making a fuss but if anybody does read this we would suggest to see your van before going ahead as we felt we were left with a dud (Jabba) that should not have been on the road. The good things are they are of a good size and have well equipped kitchen utensils but ultimately we felt extremely unsafe driving and let down.
The van is excellent, even the older/cheaper models. Drove from Cairns to Melbourne and nothing failed (low expectations). DVD/fridge etc all well put together,fairly economical with fuel. Worth shopping around for price though, there are some very good deals away from this supposedly “cheaper” option. The customer service varies and they can be quite rude. Overall, will try Jucy when go back to Oz.
It is smaller than a campervan. You can drive everywhere. Lower fuel costs than a camper.
Loved it!! “Scarlet” was awesome! Only thing is we thought they need a bigger sized fridge!! But Overall we had a brilliant trip and i will be selling these to my clients for sure!! :)
We have got what we expected