"Mit dem Spaceship ? von Melbourne nach Sydney"
Wir hatten unseren Spaceship für knapp 4 Wochen und waren sehr zufrieden. D...
Wir hatten unseren Spaceship für knapp 4 Wochen und waren sehr zufrieden. Das schwierigste war der Linksverkehr, aber mit Automatik dann doch einfacher als befürchtet. Wir hatten keine Panne, das Konzept von einem kleinen Van mit Kocheinrichtung und Stauraum ist super. Die Erweiterung der Schlafliege mit einen Überwurf-Zelt mit integrierten Moskitonetzen über der Heckklappe ist gut durchdacht. Man schläft luftig wie im Zelt, allerdings im Auto. Wer im Auto stehen will sollte eine andere und teuere Variante wählen. Durch die relativ kleine Größe verbraucht das Auto nicht zu viel und in den engen Straßen hat man wenig Probleme. Wir hatten ein neueres Modell was ich empfehlen würde, ist nur wenig teurer als die einfach Version lohnt sich aber. In Summe zu empfehlen, würden wir wieder machen. Unterwegs würden wir oft auf das Auto angesprochen, schien für viele Australier interessant zu sein. Oft sind wir mit dem Auto noch in kleine Lücken auf Parkplätzen hineingekommen.
Campers where super cheap and a little battered but thats what we payed for
We hired 3 campers/ 6 people for 9 days
3 days in one camper hit a calf on a back road. Just jumped out.
Camper front end was in bad shape .
Rang the company and took pictures. Car was not roadworthy no lights no indicators front passanger door did not open.
We had full stress free insurance. So accident was covered, but to get a replacement car was going to cost $1700
Which we did not have and no refund for the remaining 6 days that we did not have the camper.
The employees where lovely. Company policy.
Please be aware Stress Free insurance does not included a replacement car. Just be aware and go with a company that does included a replacement. It put a stain on our holiday trip. Especially since I had paid everything a month in advance and they still would not give me a refund for the 6 days we had no car.
No explanation Just NO
I was a bit concenred about renting a campervan from spaceship, as I've read several reviews that testified about the bad mechanical state of the company's fleet.
But i decided to book the Premium beta 2s, because it's a newer car and I figured it would last better than the others.
But boy I was wrong. 5 days into our Journey and we found ourself with a dead engine in the middle of the highway.
Spaceship decided not the exchange our vehicle and instead they have refunded the remainder of our renting period.
We had to change our entire vacation style, as we could'nt find another campervan on such a short notice. The rest of the trip was much more expensive as you can presume, and even though we tried to reason with the sales departments, we didn't recieve any sort of compensation except the bare minimum which is the refund we recieved.
I highly reccomend you to avoid renting a campervan from Spaceship, as I assure you I am not the first one the his vehicle broke down and recieved such a poor treatment from the company. Just look for other reviews.
On the surface, this does what it claims, i.e. a low budget offering. But what they don't tell you is that their agents are making commission from selling insurance and they'll do whatever they can to force you to pay for insurance you don't need. So when I booked online I paid for the van and insurance which I thought, given the rough look of the vehicles, might be wise). When I came to pick up the van I was told I'd need to buy insurance, or they'd take $5000 from my account for the duration of my trip. Errrrr... I chose this company for budget reasons, how am I going to live without that $5000, even if I had it? Well, that's easy the assistant told me. Just buy some insurance from me. "But I already bought insurance when I booked", "Ah no, that one is no good. I can only let you keep your $5000 if you buy another insurance policy from me". I suppose this is legal. I'm sure they've had a team of corporate lawyers look over this and other money making schemes. But is it morally right? Hell no. Just take my advice. Avoid these money grabbing business men at all costs.
I hired the vehicle at just 3 days notice and there was nothing else available without spending a fortune elsewhere. Spaceship rentals staff are very friendly and helpful. They have mostly modern campers in good condition but ours was old and tatty! However, it was mechanically sound, not heavy on fuel and cost me $1000 less than I was expecting to pay for 6 days hire! My son loved the vehicle, I didn’t, but we did have a great holiday!
It had a startup problem when I went to get it, so took 5 hours in total to get roadassisence to fix it, with waiting. Not so fun when I then couldn't get anywhere.... Feels like it's wasted money that whole day.
The rest of the time though it just was a little slow to start the engine, but luckily startet everyday.
Does what it's meant to do Small, convenient. Just enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids. Staff were helpful, friendly and accommadating.
We have rented Alpha type, pick up Melbourne, drop off Brisbane, December/January 2018/19, car was old, occasionally made noises for a short time, super clean, mattress more comfortable than expected, stuff very helpful, we needed to use a help line the second day - missing cutlery, broken shower, lady on the phone very nice and helpful. As a budget campervan rental company would recommend.
Probably the worst and most dangerous experience I have ever had. I have hired a car before so I know the drill. We picked up our van and were driving to the west coast when within two hours the wheel fell off the van. We almost rolled off the side of the road down a cliff. The care was NOT roadworthy. We had witnesses who agreed that the nuts and bolts had not been tightened. We could have died if there was incoming traffic. Everything had sheared off and it has not been checked by a mechanic. We lost two days of out trip. We were 2 hours out of Christchurch and it took 20 hours to get a new vehicle. Everything at spaceships seemed incompetent.
When they sent out the second car, we asked the mechanic to check the wheels and again he stated that it was not roadworthy with every single wheel bolts needing to be tightened. HOW CAN THIS BE? Spaceships are willingly sending out cars to offer us a death sentence. The cars have over 300,000km and they hardly function. We were cringing on corners and were not confident in the cars ability. I would not recommend.
I would never rent for this company again and will probably escalate this inquiry further than I already have. Also, the windscreens are pathetic and they give you hopeless ones so that they crack and you have to pay for a new one.
Spaceship rentals will over charge for everything possible. A 5$ camping chair will cost you $50. Their administration fees are ridiculously expensive. Fortunately all of our gear was in fine condition when we returned the car or we would have needed to go to the bank for a loan. Even though we registered the car for the applicable tolls and had tolls charged to us, the company still sent emails that we did not and charged us admin fees for it. We called and confirmed the information with an employee from Linkt, the toll agency. Everything was set up accordingly, also emailed spaceship to make sure o and 0 were the correct ones. Everything was in order. This was before we went through any tolls. They still charged us for admin fees for not paying for tolls. Seems like a money grab. The whole trip you need to worry about their ridiculous fees they will charge you if anything happens to a chair, table, anything. This company makes it difficult to enjoy the road trip you are embarking on. The employees seem like they don’t want to work there and are very disinterested. The company makes you sit down when you return the car and write a review, while they sit beside youth. This pretty much ensures the review is good. It’s crazy a company would have you sit beside them and review the company. The van itself is very cramped, I understand you’re sleeping in a car, but the design of them isn’t great. You’re sleeping on an elevated box in the van, which then allows for a foot or two of space. You’re pretty much squeezed up against the roof. The cushions you use are cheap and hard. Do not use spaceship rentals. This company will try to get as much money out of you as possible.
The car was old and worn. Inside, appliances, such as electronics and fridge, barely worked. Staff generally wasn't interested, when we reported problems. Finally, after the car's lock got jammed, we were requested to spend hours of our last vacation day in search for locksmiths to fix the problem by ourselves. The pricing was also incredibly high. I cannot recommend the company to anyone.
Van was good for a budget van and had everything you needed (very worn though).
But there was bed bugs which we didn't realise until the last night. Bites in pair, really itchy, big welts. Gave us full refund, but massive hassle and bother. Would not go with them again.
had a great little time, but a little small for my long legs.
had a great time. Australia is ace! Luuuuurve byron bay.
The van we got was outdated and the interior was worn very very basic. Electric windows in the car were faulty and we had to drive half the journey with a window stuck down. In addition to this the customer service post trip was absolutely horrendous. We were stung with hundreds of dollars in toll and admin fees that were not made clear to us. Avoid this company.
We hired beta(suppose to be a middle range) from Cairns for 7 days end of May.
Staff are nice and explaining the car very well, and mentioned that car has to be "clean" when returning it. We thought we just need to clean the front and back windows. WRONG! You have to really clean it inside out, so next customer can use it as it is. Otherwise, $100 cleaning fee. We went to car wash around the petrol station to save the $100.
The car seems old, but didn't break down! We were a bit worried by the look of it. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. But we only stayed in the car for 2 nights, when it's raining, it's not fun, and you can't sit straight.
Overall, I would hire a bigger camper next time.
- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.
All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.
It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.
The concept is good but the state of the campers we rented were inacceptable.
Mid March 2017 , we rented two Spaceship campers, one in Sydney and the week after, another one in Brisbane.
In Sydney, it tooks 3 Hours to have the camper operational. The sliding doors were not working, the body panels had to be fixed as well as the battery.For these issues, the manager gave us a one day refund. We finally had during our trip a battery break down and after few days we could hardly open the sliding doors and it was impossible to open them from inside the car creating a safety issue in case of accident.
The week after, we took another Spaceship in Brisbane. Few hours after we left , we had no more electricity in the car: no more fridge, no more light inside. The staff of Spaceship tried to help us, they send a technician to replace the battery but the problem was not solved. We return the car 3 days in advance and we were refund for these 3 days.
The staff was helpful but there campers are so old that making them working properly in mission impossible.
Spaceship has a very attractive web site which is misleading regarding the quality of their campers. Just avoid to contract with that company.
My friend and I rented a van to travel along the east coast of Aus, the issue though was the person that we rented the van from seemed to have little understanding of the vehicle that we were getting. He was also extremely unclear on how the toll system in Aus works, being from Canada most tolls are payed at the start or the end of the toll road and not recorded then mailed later. My friend and I attempted to use the internet site with little success and had less success with the phone number that we were provided as they directed us to the website. I have since received a toll notice in the mail informing me that it could have been payed at gas stations which we were completely unaware about. The total toll amount has equaled over 180$ so far, some of which I have had the charges appear on my credit card and one noticed has been mailed to me.
When returning the van the worker seemed sympathetic stating that they heir temp staff for busy seasons and seemed to know the staff member that gave us the van and understood that we might not have received the the clearest of information in regards to tolls. The tolls are sent to a 3rd party company that collects the from the renter which means they have no ability to assist renters with toll charges, they also charge an administration fee that is 30$ per toll.
That being said the van worked well, my friend and I had no issues with the equipment provided, our only complaint is the poor information provided about the tolls system and the money that we are paying a month after our vacation has ended.
I picked up a camper in Sydney but the transmission failed about 15 min later inside the M5 tunnel. After a few hours I got back to the depot and picked up another van but found that the rear side door was locked and would not unlock. During our second day I repaired the lock but both side doors would not lock with the remote. The second vehicle was better than the first but I was still disapionted.