Spaceships Rentals Australia Review

Customer rated 3.3 / 5 from 27 reviews

Editors Review

Spaceships Rentals Australia makes a good case for why it’s one of the country’s go-campervan rental companies! With no hidden costs, plenty of amenities and a quite reliable reputation, they're a class act for the budget market.

About Spaceships Rentals Australia

Spaceships Campervans were winners of the 2011 and 2013 Golden Backpacker Award in the category: Best Car / Campervan Rental Australia: Is there a good reason? 

To start, Spaceships was founded in 2004 by a group of businesspeople who spent a quarter century catering directly to the needs of backpackers and other travellers. The minds behind Spaceships Campervans realized that most travellers wanted an option in between the bare-bones offerings of most budget campervan rental companies and the oversized, overstuffed, and overpriced alternatives rented out by the high-end companies.

Spaceships Campervans Australia also encourages its own community of clients and enthusiasts that huddle around the company’s proprietary “Space Mates,” outposts along the road for Spaceship renters to meet up, collect information, swap DVDs to help pass the time on long trips, and generally touch base with other like-minded individuals as you pursue your adventure! At the time of writing, Spaceships Campervans Australia offers 36 of these different “Space Mates” throughout the country. These stations are located conveniently, dotting the Eastern coast with a few planted in the south around Melbourne and in the Northern Territory around Darwin and Alice Springs. Keep in mind that not all of these Space Mates are fully-stocked depots. Despite offering a large number of Space Mates rest stops, Spaceships Campervans Australia only offers depots for picking up and dropping off your vehicle in Brisbane, Cairns, Melbourne, and Sydney. While limited compared with some of its competition, Spaceships Campervans Australia’s small range of depots is located centrally enough that most people won’t have any problems hiring their services.

Fleet

Spaceships Campervans Australia offers late model cars. While Spaceships Campervans was founded in 2004 it didn’t reach Australia until 2007 (starting in New Zealand), and none of the campervans in their fleet is older than that, with new cars (complete with new features) developed regularly. Spaceships Campervans Australia started with about 200 campervans in its fleet with plans to expand up to 400 units in coming years. Currently, Spaceships Campervans Australia offers its clients 3 kinds of campervans, all budget-friendly options. 

Alpha

Spaceships campervans - original 2 berth

The original “Spaceship” is a custom Toyota Estima called the Alpha 2 berth. It doesn’t come in 4WD or an external awning and it runs off a tank that can only take you 500 km without a refill. The cars themselves are stylish, iconic and filled with plenty of perks. Each Spaceship comes packed with a large double bed that can extend outwards for external sleeping, a dual-burner cooker, seating for 3-4, a DVD/CD player that can connect to your iPod, a large and secure storage space, a small fridge and even a solar-powered shower!

Beta

Spaceships campervans - Beta 2 berth

The Beta 2 Berth based on the Toyota Previa is very similar to the original Alpha 2 berth but has an extra side sliding door and an awning the comes out the back to help protect against the elements when cooking. Both models seat 4 people and I have come across a Dutch mob that was sleeping all 4 inside the campervan at night. I don’t recommend it for maximum comfort, but maybe if you get a small tent…

Beta 2S


The latest additional model is the Beta 2S― a premium campervan that seats 2 people with a lot more space. However, the campervan has more or less the same features as Beta, except for a roomier interior and lesser tank supply at 15 liters only compared to the previous ones at 20 liters.

Insurance

The standard insurance excess, which also corresponds to the security bond to be paid at the time of vehicle pickup thru credit card is $3,000. There are two reduction options: Partial Reduction Option at $20/ day for an excess/ bond of $1,500 or All-Inclusive / Full Cover at $30 for $0 excess/ bond. The All-Inclusive option already includes wind cover, window/ glass tyre, roof and underbody damages, as well as single vehicle accidents.

Reputation

To this day Spaceships Campervans Australia has remained a small business focused on meeting the needs of independent travellers and backpackers looking to explore the world on a budget without sacrificing comfort and style! However, this vision was shared by another company – Jucy Campervans. Jucy is the only other campervan hire company in the market that has these type of vehicles.

But because of the Spaceship community, this has helped build the company’s great reputation. In fact, fans of Spaceships Campervans Australia are really ardent in their love! Proof of this love can be found quickly and easily by taking a look over at their Facebook page. With thousands of “Likes” and a very active community of individuals engaging directly and regularly with the company, it’s clear Spaceships Campervans Australia is deeply appreciated by their clients! For a small and young company, Spaceships Campervans Australia has done very well for itself. It’s found a unique place for itself in the market, it’s attracted a close-knit group of loyal clients, and it’s managed to grow at a fast rate without sacrificing what makes it so great!

Summary

Overall, these guys are great value for money and will try hard to please you. If you only have a small amount of luggage, prefer driving a car rather than a van and want to be welcomed by other drivers when you see them, this little campervan hire company are for you.

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Campervans that drive like cars
  • Great community
  • Cheap and no one-way fees
  • Stand out in a crowd

Cons

  • East coast only
  • Can't cook inside and no standing up
  • Kinda like sleeping in a car rather than a camper
  • Few issues

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
R. S - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Choose another rental company!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Spaceship rentals will over charge for everything possible. A 5$ camping chair will cost you $50. Their administration fees are ridiculously expensive. Fortunately all of our gear was in fine condition when we returned the car or we would have needed to go to the bank for a loan. Even though we registered the car for the applicable tolls and had tolls charged to us, the company still sent emails that we did not and charged us admin fees for it. We called and confirmed the information with an employee from Linkt, the toll agency. Everything was set up accordingly, also emailed spaceship to make sure o and 0 were the correct ones. Everything was in order. This was before we went through any tolls. They still charged us for admin fees for not paying for tolls. Seems like a money grab. The whole trip you need to worry about their ridiculous fees they will charge you if anything happens to a chair, table, anything. This company makes it difficult to enjoy the road trip you are embarking on. The employees seem like they don’t want to work there and are very disinterested. The company makes you sit down when you return the car and write a review, while they sit beside youth. This pretty much ensures the review is good. It’s crazy a company would have you sit beside them and review the company. The van itself is very cramped, I understand you’re sleeping in a car, but the design of them isn’t great. You’re sleeping on an elevated box in the van, which then allows for a foot or two of space. You’re pretty much squeezed up against the roof. The cushions you use are cheap and hard. Do not use spaceship rentals. This company will try to get as much money out of you as possible.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
visa - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Barely functional"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

The car was old and worn. Inside, appliances, such as electronics and fridge, barely worked. Staff generally wasn't interested, when we reported problems. Finally, after the car's lock got jammed, we were requested to spend hours of our last vacation day in search for locksmiths to fix the problem by ourselves. The pricing was also incredibly high. I cannot recommend the company to anyone.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
G. Water - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"BED BUGS."

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Van was good for a budget van and had everything you needed (very worn though).
But there was bed bugs which we didn't realise until the last night. Bites in pair, really itchy, big welts. Gave us full refund, but massive hassle and bother. Would not go with them again.

2Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
A. Pawley - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"boo yah"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

had a great little time, but a little small for my long legs.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
S. Ozolins - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"loved it"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

had a great time. Australia is ace! Luuuuurve byron bay.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
H. Hatcher - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Terrible customer service, old rundown van"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

The van we got was outdated and the interior was worn very very basic. Electric windows in the car were faulty and we had to drive half the journey with a window stuck down. In addition to this the customer service post trip was absolutely horrendous. We were stung with hundreds of dollars in toll and admin fees that were not made clear to us. Avoid this company.

1Service 3Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
JX - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Never again"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We hired beta(suppose to be a middle range) from Cairns for 7 days end of May.
Staff are nice and explaining the car very well, and mentioned that car has to be "clean" when returning it. We thought we just need to clean the front and back windows. WRONG! You have to really clean it inside out, so next customer can use it as it is. Otherwise, $100 cleaning fee. We went to car wash around the petrol station to save the $100.
The car seems old, but didn't break down! We were a bit worried by the look of it. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. But we only stayed in the car for 2 nights, when it's raining, it's not fun, and you can't sit straight.
Overall, I would hire a bigger camper next time.

3Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
R. Delwel - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
2 Review

"Awfull"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

- Pick-up car. It first started when we wanted to pick up the car. The staff person who handed out the car was not interested whatsoever and failed to instruct us where we could find the oil dipstick. We have tried looking for that one for the whole holiday, but we couldn’t find it. Remarkable considering you have a big label on the dashboard that the oil and water should be checked every 5 days. The car we received wasn’t clean, which was shown to your staff as we pulled a jar of mayonnaise from under the seat.
- The car which we received was a very old car and it had almost a half million of kilometres on it. The wear and tear was very noticeable. After a short drive I noticed that the steering wheel was wobbly and not staying in its place. We returned with the car, but the only advice of your staff was to pivot the steering wheel to the lowest position, so it wouldn’t wobble in every direction. We asked if we could get a different car, but although there were at least more than 20 cars standing at the location, we were told that this was absolutely not possible.
- The wear and tear showed itself in numerous ways:
o The fridge wasn’t working when the engine was disengaged
o The hood cloth for the berth was worn out
o The wind screen wipers were worn out and scratched a lot
o Sunroof did not open
o Engine was rattling and almost stalling when in a neutral position
o The fuel consumption was off the chart. On a good day it ran 8 miles on a litre
o The hand brake did not work properly, the car would still move after the hand brake was put on
- The car was leaking cooling fluid and we had to stop to get emergency help. Something we had expected from the start. I have included a picture of the car and the fluid leaking.
- On our final day I checked the opening times of the drop-off location. I noticed that the location was closed at our agreed time, so I made the effort to call the office and confirm the drop-off time. This was told to me by the lady on the phone: if it is in your contract, than that is the time of the drop-off. But one of your staff of the drop off location had a mind of his own on the matter and called me at 1.00 p.m. saying I was an hour late. I tried to explain him, but he would not listen and wanted the car back at the depot as soon as possible. I am still very upset by the way I was treated!
- Finally at the drop-off we were asked if the car met our expectations. After telling all of our complaints, we were told that it was an old car and that comes with the age.
Please note that we did not sign up to get an old car with that and we feel mistreated in that way.

All in all I can tell you that we are truly disappointed with the product and service. We have given several occasions to the staff to treat our complaints in a normal manner, but we were left unheard.

It is especially appalling considering the fact that we hired a campervan from the organisation in New Zealand two weeks before and they were able to give a good product and service.

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
P. d'Hoop - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Far from the "Swiss Army Knife" quality!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

The concept is good but the state of the campers we rented were inacceptable.
Mid March 2017 , we rented two Spaceship campers, one in Sydney and the week after, another one in Brisbane.
In Sydney, it tooks 3 Hours to have the camper operational. The sliding doors were not working, the body panels had to be fixed as well as the battery.For these issues, the manager gave us a one day refund. We finally had during our trip a battery break down and after few days we could hardly open the sliding doors and it was impossible to open them from inside the car creating a safety issue in case of accident.
The week after, we took another Spaceship in Brisbane. Few hours after we left , we had no more electricity in the car: no more fridge, no more light inside. The staff of Spaceship tried to help us, they send a technician to replace the battery but the problem was not solved. We return the car 3 days in advance and we were refund for these 3 days.
The staff was helpful but there campers are so old that making them working properly in mission impossible.
Spaceship has a very attractive web site which is misleading regarding the quality of their campers. Just avoid to contract with that company.

3Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
S. Nielsen - avatar not loaded
, Canada
2 Review

"If your new to Aus make sure you completely understand the toll system"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

My friend and I rented a van to travel along the east coast of Aus, the issue though was the person that we rented the van from seemed to have little understanding of the vehicle that we were getting. He was also extremely unclear on how the toll system in Aus works, being from Canada most tolls are payed at the start or the end of the toll road and not recorded then mailed later. My friend and I attempted to use the internet site with little success and had less success with the phone number that we were provided as they directed us to the website. I have since received a toll notice in the mail informing me that it could have been payed at gas stations which we were completely unaware about. The total toll amount has equaled over 180$ so far, some of which I have had the charges appear on my credit card and one noticed has been mailed to me.

When returning the van the worker seemed sympathetic stating that they heir temp staff for busy seasons and seemed to know the staff member that gave us the van and understood that we might not have received the the clearest of information in regards to tolls. The tolls are sent to a 3rd party company that collects the from the renter which means they have no ability to assist renters with toll charges, they also charge an administration fee that is 30$ per toll.

That being said the van worked well, my friend and I had no issues with the equipment provided, our only complaint is the poor information provided about the tolls system and the money that we are paying a month after our vacation has ended.

2Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Needs more attention to mechanical"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

I picked up a camper in Sydney but the transmission failed about 15 min later inside the M5 tunnel. After a few hours I got back to the depot and picked up another van but found that the rear side door was locked and would not unlock. During our second day I repaired the lock but both side doors would not lock with the remote. The second vehicle was better than the first but I was still disapionted.

2Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
Mart - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Small yet awesome"

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Loved driving around in a Spaceship. Easy, just like a car. And still big enough to fit me (1.86m) and partner. Perfect for a 2 person road trip. Would recommend.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
H. Christensen - avatar not loaded
, Denmark
1 Review

"It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food"

  • Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a nice car where you can sleep and make food

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Alex - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Best wedding ever!! I think our clothes still smell like wine/ shots. Definitely lots of spills and some memory loss. Ohh and the &qhtt;Suoos! Shots! Shots!" song still makes me slightly nauseous! Haha. Love you guys! Happy Anniversary (again)!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Emily - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

We rented a campervan from
Spaceship for our drive from
Brisbane to Cairns. We bought FULL INSURANCE to our rental car. FOLLOWING IS THE WORSTEST EXPERIENE OF CUSTOMER SERVICE AND LOYALTY.

Everything with the car went good until we got stuck in mission beach when the car just shut down. When we tried to start car again, engine warming light turn on and the car just didnt start anymore. Immidiately after that we call to the emergency number for car problems . We waited around one hour in phone, when they turn the phonecall for four different people before someone could help us. Luckily some local mechanic came to help us during many people stop on the road to ask is everything fine. Local friend said that the cars radiator was broken. After FOUR HOURS OF WAITING rental car mechanic came to check the car. He didnt do anything, just check the car and drive away, because at that day There was ONLY ONE MECHANIC for fix all car problems, and he said he had two more cars waiting him to come so he has to leave.

We were waiting for our transfer car which company promise to us for five hours, when company call again for us that There will not be Any transfer coming for us. And before that THEY ALREADY SAID TO US THAT TRANSFER CAR IS ON THE WAY. After many calls and many empty promises, Spaceship gave for us two options. We could wait over night in mission beach so the company could offer a car at next day morning or we could take a bus after four hours from Mission beach to Cairns. Cairns was our final destination. We choose the busdrive and Spaceship sent for us tickets for bus and Tow of van driver came to took keys of the car.

Next day we got email from Spaceship, that we had to pay ourselves 845,42 for bus- passes, Tow of van and replacement of radiator. COMPANY CLAIM US FOR CARELESS STYLE OF DRIVE. WE HAD A FULL INSURANCE AND WE HAVE OWN AUTOMATIC CARS WHICH WE DRIVE IN OUR COUNTRY DAILY, WE DEFINETLY WAS DRIVING WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS ALL THE WAY FROM BRISBANE AND NORMAL CAR SHOULD HANDLE THAT TRIP. WHATS THE POINT OF PAY 30$ DAILY FOR FULL INSURANCE.

THE MOST UGLIEST PART OF CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS WHEN COMPANY BLAME US ALSO FOR SMOKING WITH 100$ CHARGE. NO ONE OF US DEFINETLY IS NOT A SMOKER, AND THERE WAS ONLY THREE OF US ALL THE TIME IN THE CAR.

COMPANY DIDNT EVEN WANTED TO SPEAK WITH US AND DIDNT LISTEN FOR US, IN SAME DAY THEY CHARGED ALL THE AMOUNT FROM
ALL CREDIT CARS.

DONT TRUST TO SPACESHIP.

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
Johnny.K - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 6 years ago

We hired a camper for 9 days to get us from Sydney to Brisbane as we felt the pricing was good and from the brochure they looked new and well equipped. However when we left the representative at the depot and drove out through the gates we realised the suspension was sketchy with the car floating all over the place making it hard to keep it in the right lane. Another thing we noticed was the wheel alignment was off which resulted in further bad handling of the vehicle. We were scared to go over speed bumps so not to rip off the front bumper!! There was also a constant loud knocking sound that created a further uncomfortable drive, even round round-a-bouts we were concerned to go above 20km/h for fear of the vehicle tipping or swerving out of lane. The brakes were the worst point of all. They gradually became worse and worse and were pretty much useless downhill with travel even when compressed hard – this was discovered when in Byron Bay and a teenager ran into the road with us only just missing him, if the brakes had been of a sufficient nature then the vehicle would have stopped a lot quicker. The leaflet shows someone cooking with a 2 burner station fed from a gas bottle and the possibility of being able to turn the seats sideways, in reality we were unable to do so. The foot wells were infested with fleas and we both suffered bites, even seeing them on our legs as we drove. In conclusion I have never bothered to write a complaint about anything before and usually just take things as they come rather than making a fuss but if anybody does read this we would suggest to see your van before going ahead as we felt we were left with a dud (Jabba) that should not have been on the road. The good things are they are of a good size and have well equipped kitchen utensils but ultimately we felt extremely unsafe driving and let down.

4Service 2Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
Alan.W - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

The van is excellent, even the older/cheaper models. Drove from Cairns to Melbourne and nothing failed (low expectations). DVD/fridge etc all well put together,fairly economical with fuel. Worth shopping around for price though, there are some very good deals away from this supposedly “cheaper” option. The customer service varies and they can be quite rude. Overall, will try Jucy when go back to Oz.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Tobias.A - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
2 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

It is smaller than a campervan. You can drive everywhere. Lower fuel costs than a camper.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
Kavita.T - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

Loved it!! “Scarlet” was awesome! Only thing is we thought they need a bigger sized fridge!! But Overall we had a brilliant trip and i will be selling these to my clients for sure!! :)

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
Beute.J - avatar not loaded
, Denmark
1 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

We have got what we expected

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 4Value