Lucky Rentals Review

Customer rated 1.5 / 5 from 12 reviews

Lucky Rentals is a campervan hire company with operating branches in New Zealand and Australia. The company has a huge selection of vehicles to choose from and it’s aimed at budget travellers looking for cheap campervans and cars. Lucky Rentals New Zealand offers 2,3 and 4 berth campervans for hire. They have depots in Auckland and Christchurch Airport NZ. Lucky campers is the hand-me-down brother of Jucy Campers as this is where Jucy’s old campers go when they are too old for the Jucy brand. For a long time they even had similar names, but Lucky Rentals has now changed the names to differentiate things a little.

What Lucky Rentals Tell Us

Lucky Rentals have a fantastic range of cars. The company offer small saloon cars and affordable campervans for hire. Unlike other companies, Lucky Rentals done’t have strict age rules renting to clients that are 18 and older rather than just 21 and older. Their cars are a bit old but hirers can can choose between auto and manual transmission campers.

The Fleet

The Lucky Rookie

The Lucky Rookie 2 berth Automatic campervan is the cheapest option offered by the company. The van is quite small in size but can accommodate two guests in absolute luxury and comfort. Noticeable specifications of the van include: 10 litres water tank, 1 burner gas cooker, power steering, 2 bench seats that easily converts to a double bed measuring 1.9m by 1.3m, interior lights, CD player, Radio & iPod plug and, ample storage space under the bench seats. This van also features a 2.4L petrol engine that has a fuel consumption rate of 10 to 14 litres per 100kms (This rate is quite economical for long distance travellers and fun loving explorers).

Lucky Rodeo

This snug 2 berth campervan is an upgrade of the Lucky Rookie. A couple of features it has over the earlier version is the small 18L Fridge and a much more acceptable 25ltr water tank. All other amenities and electronics found on Lucky Rookie are also present in this vehicle.

Lucky Roadie

Lucky Roadie features a diesel engine and can accommodate 3 guests. Some of its specification includes: 20L tanks, Storage space under the bench seats, 42L Fridge (decent!), 2 batteries, 2 bench seats that easily converts to 2 double beds (first bed measures 1.96m by 1.42m and 2nd bed at 1.96m by 1.20m), automatic transmission, 3 seats in the drivers cab, CD player with a radio & iPod plug and, hand pumped cold water. It's the first in the hi-top range to offer a little more comfort inside. Being a van, the style of drive changes for 'car-like' to being a bit higher and a bit noisier as you are now sitting above the engine, not behind it.

Lucky Ranger

The Lucky Ranger is a 2 berth campervan that comes with a fitted toilet & shower amenities. It’s a great option for travellers that want to explore New Zealand with spacious mobile accommodation at a cheap rate. Some of its unique specifications include: 2 bench seats that easily converts to double bed (bed measures 1.96m by 1.42m), power steering, 2 batteries, 3 seats at the driver cab, gas cooker, heated towel rail of 240v, interior lights, hot water system, flat screen & DVD player, 2 tanks 80L for water & 80L for waste, water pump of 12V, shower and, toilet. It is fully self contained so is OK to free camp with - the first in the ladder of Lucky Rentals range to be self contained.

Lucky Rover

The Lucky Rover is a luxurious 4 berth automatic campervan that comes with almost everything you would need for an enjoyable ride. The van is quite big in size, and one can stand upright while inside the van. Its unique specifications include: 2 water tanks (55L for Freshwater & 60L for waste), 2 burner gas cooker, 80L Fridge, Cassette Toilet (Portable Toilet), Living Equipment & Beddings, power steering, small sink, 2 double beds (main bed measuring 1.88m by 1.35 & roof bed at 1.35m) and, a CD radio with Aux input. It's considered "fully self contained" because it has the portable toilet but I don't know anyone who is really comfortable using those things and particulalry emptying them really sucks, but I guess if it is classed as fully self contained it give the green light to free camping in NZ. Boo-yah!

Jucy Condo

OK, this is where things get weird. A JUCY condo at LUCKY rentals. Huh? It is a sub lease straight out of Jucy and terms, conditions and pricing are all set by Jucy not Lucky. Lucky Campers is the hand-me-down brother of Jucy campers as this seems to be where their old campers go when they're too old for the Jucy brand. This time it seems they figured they'd just throw in a modern and active Jucy campervan to boot, however, I digress. This vehicle is the most luxurious and highly priced campervan from Lucky Rentals. It’s a 4 berth van that features everything you would expect to get from a camper.  The van has an interior height of 1.92 meters and can carry 5 people. Some of its unique features include; power steering, automatic transmission (manual option can be provided upon request), 2 burner gas cooker, hot & cold water, portable Toilet, Living equipment and beddings, Flat screen & DVD player, CD radio with Aux input and, 80L fridge.

Insurance 

If you want to hire a campervan from Lucky Rentals, be prepared to pay an insurance cover. The company provides three insurance reduction options for each vehicle. If you don’t want any reduction, you can pay a one-time insurance fee or security bond of $2500. The second reduction option is called “On the Fence”, and one can pay a one-time security bond of $1500 and then $15 per day. The last option is called “Sure Thing” and the hirer must pay $25 per day for the entire hire or rental period to reduce the excess to $0.

Reputation

Lucky Rentals have an amazing reputation. Most of their clients have embraced so much about their quality of service and well-maintained vehicles. However, besides that there are some concerns on deposit refund delays and most hirers are frustrated by the company “sluggish” approach when it comes to refunding back deposit money debited from clients cards. Except for this small issue, Lucky Rentals seems to be a great campervan hire company that can be recommended to anyone looking for budget vehicles in NZ.

Summary

If you are looking for affordable campervans for hire, Lucky Rentals have a good deal for you. They promise to deliver the best vehicles at a low price.

Branch Locations

12 reviews from our community

Write review
, Spain
1 Review

"worst ever"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

This was the worst ever experience!!! The only Lucky thing is that we are still alive!

We rented a roadie for a month driving from North to South. 6 month ago when we booked the trip, we had so much to plan, so we didn’t even bother reading reviews about the company. We were more paying attention to the type of camper, the route, etc. As a matter of fact I was bragging how great a deal I got us for less than 90NZD/day for a camper when others were 140+NZD...as I thought that NZ as a developed country has standards and regulations in place that protect consumers and ensure that all vehicles are safe to drive around.

A week before we left, I started reading the reviews by pure chance....That’s when I started to have a bad feeling about this. It was ahrd enough for us to get such a long vacation and the entire trip was expensive. Unfortunately, all other agencies were sold out and only a super huge 350NZD/day camper was available, so our hands were tied. 

At pick up in the Auckland office we had a super great guy. He told us to get the full insurance package (25NZD/day), because at drop off they will find something to charge us the excess; even though the van was already totally beat up after 15years and 450.000 km. Ok, we expected it to be old, but it was:

Super dirty! we spend 2hours cleaning it in a parking lot and managed to get it to a state where we didn’t have to though up. Spiders nets all over the place, dust, rust and stain that I can’t really describe

Broken:
Steering wheel was pointing right when driving straight
Suspension completely beaten up; huge safety risk on the often wet and curvy NZ roads
No airbags
Chips all over the windshields (they probably charged them to many non-full-insurance rents multiple times before us)
Seat belts…lets just say I was happy we didn’t have to rely on them
Torn seats
Super loud engine, also because the insulations was completely worn out…BTW this made it super cold in the van at night; a tent would have kept us wormer!
Fractures all over the van, so on top of the engine sound also creaking sounds
right loud speaker
in car lights
rear window heater disconnected (visible)
leak in drivers cabin, so when driving through rain, it got a bit wet inside
doors were creaky, so we bought WD40 to fix it, because when one need to go to the toilet at night the other or rather entire camp site was woken up. 
2 keys, because the on lock was changed; so always confusion there

Funny thing the camper didn’t even start at the beginning; so I insisted on getting a new battery. This was probably the reason why the engine started every morning. 

At drop off, there were huge lines, took us 45mins to return it; There were three couples swopping to other vehicles; no idea why, but must have been some bigger issues. 

Never ever again!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Dangerous Scam"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

A completely disaster, I recommend a better name for this company UNLUCKY RENTER. The campervan was very dirty and old, there weren't lights inside so we have to use our flashlights to see something during the night, the mattress were very dirty like someone had pee on it, believe me it was disgusting sleeping there, the smell also was sickening. The table was absolutely broken, it was like playing air hockey with the dishes. It was impossible to take a shower because he hose was too short and you couldn't reach your head. When raining, water leaks through the upper window getting wet all inside the campervan. The side door couldn't be open with the key, you had to open from the inside. The certificate of self contained was expired two months ago, and I can assure it wasn't self contained because when the grey water tank was nearly full it starts leaking water.
The most dangerous thing was that one day the engine, that have more than 400000 km, started throwing out the coolant liquid with a lot of steam in the front cabin when driving, it was like a gas chamber, we couldn't neither see nor breathing, we had to stop in the middle of the road during a foggy day and the situation was critical. After calling the road service assistance we lost one whole day and night waiting for the garage to fix the problem, there were no compensation. Later we knew that the expansion tank near the left seat had no cover so it can burn somebody's skin.
My advice for the further hirers is don't continuing giving business to these people that rent the worst, dirties, oldest and un-safeties campervans in New Zealand.

P. Stevenson, Australia

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Shocking"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We were apauled with the outcome of our "lucky" Roma vehicle so many issues occurred which was unacceptable. Firstly after having been told we would receive full gas cans one was empty and another half full, secondly we were given the van with every item of kitchen wear dirty...nothing had been checked to be clean. Thirdly our radio and speakers had issues. In addition to this our altinator (which functions the battery) was broken clearly telling us the car had not been serviced correctly before handing to a customer which resulted in leaving us broken down starting on the highway in a highly dangerous position. This breakdown lasted 22 hours and left us 18 year old girls over night in a car park behind the back of some buildings in an unsecure state leaving all windows open without being able to close them as well as all 4 of us having to sleep downstairs with easy access for the public. Thank god we got full insurance...this was a $700 job. We worked hard to achieve a refund of $200 for the 2 days we missed out on travelling.
K. Foxston, New Zealand

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Germany
1 Review

"IF you are LUCKY :)"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Obviously, Lucky Rental is a very budget option. However, the expectations are that it stills delivers on the very core service of the rental company i.e. you get the car that drives safely and lasts you a trip. Well... Where do I start? 

1. We had to wait 4.5 hours for our pick up. NOBODY apologises. ever. The first day of the trip was ruined for the whole group. After pressing the issue, we got one day reimbursed BUT the rest of the group still lost the money and the day trip as they were waiting for us. 
2. As soon as we started driving, the left wing mirror tilted and never gone back up. The driver could not see what was happening on the left side of the van. OOPS! 
3. Our van charging cord was broken and taped back together. :O Not too bad, until the rainy night when we had a voltage spike that burnt all of our outlets, our charger and my killed my phone battery. BOOM! pls, see below the response I got from the company : ) complete ignore of my complaint. 
"This vehicle is fitted with a surge breaker which is a device that is designed to protect electrical devices from voltage spikes. This vehicle has a current EWOF so has been check to ensure this is in working order. " 
4. Gears were funky, but thankfully lasted us a whole trip. Though, we could not gain more then 30-40km/hr up the hill (even the small hill) , the travel time doubled some days because of that. 
5. At the end of the trip, I received an angry call from the service desk asking where we were and that we were late to return the car. She just happened to confuse the dates and phoned us up a day earlier. Have I mentioned that nobody ever apologises? 

If I knew, what I know right now - I would not rent from them. However, if you are willing to risk your long vacation and trip of the lifetime, below are few tips learnt the hard way. 
- If something goes wrong, get it fixed right in front of them. If you let it go email/phone, forget it. They will promise things to get you out , but no follow up will ever happen. If the van broke and you were stuck , and the service person tells you to get taxi and hotel, and they will reimburse you later... Do not believe it. It actually happened. The next morning they told that it is not part of the policy and they do not reimburse. 
- Read the contract. The stuff is trained to quote the contract word for word in all situations. So you better actually look through T&Cs. 
- Again, if something goes wrong and you interact with the stuff, I would recommend recording them. Asking for comms copies apparently was not enough. 
- Service people are not there to help you; 
- Save a bit more and get someone with the better rating :) 

NZ is fantastic place to visit, do not let it get ruined with Lucky Rentals . When it is suspiciously cheap, it is probably for the reason . I should have remembered that one myself.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Do not use Lucky"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We have had significant issues with the campervan we rented from Lucky. Twice we have been unable to start the vehicle and were charged out of pocket for a roadside assistance callout. Something in the van continues to drain the battery when the engine is turned off. The back door to the van was broken and the sink leaked due to a faulty seal (flooding our mattress), both issues we had to arrange to fix ourselves. Other than the above the van has seen better days...nearly 500,000 kms, guzzles fuel, the most uncomfortable seats to drive in, dirty with mould on the ceiling, the radio doesn't work (which was needed during the earthquake), the AC runs even when turned off, and a family of spiders lives in the window seals. I would recommend paying a little extra to rent from a reputable company with a better fleet of vehicles. You'll end up spending the same money for a much better experience.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Bad vans"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

HORRIBLE VANS, HORRIBLE SERVICE. They cheat people out of money and give them dilapidated vans that break down constantly. WASTE of money. Don’t give them any.

2Service 3Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Germany
1 Review

"Never again"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Never ever ever use this company!!! They are the biggest rort ever! I went to pick up the van & they were more than happy to take my money only to tell me afterwards I would have to wait over 2hrs to pick it up. 3 hrs into my trip smoke starts bellowing from the car & it stops on the side of the rd. It has since been towed to the closest town & now some 20hrs later we still await a replacement! What a joke this company is! Never ever again! We have wasted 2 valuable days because of a shonky company! Buy a bike...it's cheaper & probably quicker!!!

1Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
, Australia
2 Review

"You get what you pay for"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Cheap, you get what you pay for. No one at office for pick up or drop off. No instructions in van. No maps in van. Office was a mess.We considered leaving then and losing our hire cost, the feelings were that bad. Had to exchange a van because of water leak. New van had no gas bottles. Couldnt close sliding door so no security. We broke a windscreen and paid for it, as is the rule. They furnished a false receipt which I cannot use for insurance claim. They will not respond to numerous email requests or phone request to furnish a receipt. Good luck if you hire through them. I will never use them again, I've been on four campervan trips to NZ.
1Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value

1Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Unprofessional"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago

Lucky Rentals were just plain careless and very unprofessional. The campervan we had was dirty, the sheet smelled damp and we were given a broken chair and a barbeque without a gas hose. Then the DVD player didn't work, and the roof leaked in heavy rain. When we complained we were told that there was no compensation due because we didn't report it on the very day the leaks started happening... We couldn't quite believe the nerve!! After calling them for the 6th time on our trip, the fact that we waiting 24 hours to enjoy our holiday before calling meant that somehow the defects weren't serious!! We had an incredible experience in new zealand and frankly, Lucky Rentals and their rude, rip-off attitude let the whole country down. They're right when they say that that if you pay for peanuts….

1Service 2Mechanical 3Interior 2Value
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Awful"

  • Reviewed 3 years ago


 Reviewed 3 years ago
Lucky Rentals provided the worst van hire experience of my life, they closed at 4pm before we got there to pick up our van despite us having booked a late check out (5.30pm!) and paying a $60 fee. All emergency contacts for them went to a message machine so we were forced to book a hotel for the evening, travel by taxi with our bags etc, huge pain in the butt and $250 (Accommodation in Christchurch is very difficult to get). We contacted Lucky Rentals via email that evening and they denied that we had booked a late pickup (despite it being in writing on our booking form and having the receipt for the $60 fee). They said the van would be waiting in the morning at their yard (another taxi across town). When we arrived the next morning at 9.30 am they had given our van away to another renter!!! We then had to sit in their office for 7 hours waiting for another van to be returned; no apology, no offer of help with alternate arrangments, nothing, they did not even offer us a cup of tea or anything despite us sitting there all day. I wasted 10% of my holiday sitting on the floor of their dirty office! When we finally got a van it was dirty, leaked exhaust fumes, had inadequate bedding and cooking equipment, the doors did not open from the inside, bald tyres and dodgy brakes, it was simply not safe. Suffice to say I would warn against hiring a vehicle from these people under any circumstance. We payed $140 a day for this low standard of dirty van and appalling service, wasted a entire day and a bunch of money, should be called UnLucky Rentals.

1Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Cheap but poor"

  • Reviewed 4 years ago

I'm afraid our experience with Lucky was not a positive one. We rented a Lucky Cruiza in January of 2013 for 5 weeks. The pickup of the campervan was a pain. Because nothing was prepared when we went to pick up our van, it took us half a day to get out of the office in Christchurch where we had to collect our own crockery, homewares, pots & pans etc from a dingy shed. The staff at the office was unprofessional, rude, inconsiderate and inhospitable. The campervans itself are all old Jucy vans. This means the set-up and layout of the campervan is OK, but they are not properly cleaned or maintained by Lucky. Aside from being dirty and having damages all over, some of the issues we had was a table that could not be set up in a stable way, front doors that did not close properly and bed panels that did not fit.We offered Lucky plenty of time and options to make amends; but basically we just had to deal with what we got. This is the product and service they provide because they are / claim to be the cheapest rental option in NZ. Cheap does not mean a broken, damaged and dirty product with rude service. There are a lot of rental companies in NZ; this one does not deserve your business. Spend your hard earned cash elsewhere.
Gary.B, Australia

1Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Kept breaking down"

  • Reviewed

Don´t take lucky rentals! We decided to rent one of their cars because they where the cheapest after the "Wicked" company, which has a even worser reputation. When i looked up some reviews i found some pretty good ones that sad that you get plenty of value for money. However, in our case i cannot say that at all. Our 2person campervan had 450.000km and was in the condition you would imagine a car to have after that. Sure it does not have to look good but at least it should be reliable, which it totally was not. The car had some problems with the battery, it sometimes just went off. So you could´t start the engine or anything. One person would have to open the front of the car and do some stuff on the battery until it would work again. This happend up to 20 times a day, quite always if you restart the car again after a stop. That is especially dangerous while driving, which happend once! This is the main reason for not chosing lucky rentals. We had other problems with all windows, you could open them but not close them again for quite a while, which is annoying when it starts to rain... We met other people with newer and better cars, for example from "happy campers". You can get discounts over there if you just ask, i would therefore recommend another company. What i also disliked was the serice and the attitude of the stuff at the location in Christchurch, NZ. You can get a ride to the airport from the company after you give them their car back, which costs you $10 but they won´t give you any change money. I just had $20 and they "could not" give me any change, as they said, even if other people just gave them $10 as well, about a minute ago. This has nothing to do with service, thats just a bad joke! So, if you want a reliable car, search for another company, thats worth more than saving a few bucks and getting shitty service. (Our trip was in 12.2014 for 2 weeks and i drove about 3000km, i believe that i got to know the van pretty good)

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value