The Pod Campervan Rentals Review

Rated 4.9 / 5 from 55 reviews

Editors Review

Last Update: 7/31/19

The Pod Campervan Rentals stayed true to their words as they welcome some add-on to their fleet. Featuring the same exterior style and design, there are now three campers to choose from―Adventurer, Traveler, and Economy. The three differ, not with the outside look but rather on the interior layout. For a detailed review of each unit, along with other important info about the company, continue reading. 


The Pod Campervan Rentals is a modest, family-owned campervan hire company on the South Island of New Zealand, with a fleet of around 60 vehicles―either self-contained or non-self-contained campers. Providing free airport transfers and no one-way fees, they cater to budget solo travelers or couples.

About The Pod Campervan Rentals

If you're looking for decent and affordable campervan hire for two, this family-owned business with depots in Auckland, Christchurch, and Queenstown is a great option. The Pod Campervan Rentas prides themselves as one of the best value campervan hires in NZ, and a lot of positive feedback could back them up. Being a company run by a family, they specialise in providing quality and friendlier service to their customers, like allowing you to drive between the North and South Islands with free pick up and drop off at any of their locations. 

And whatever city you are planning to visit, there's a need for you to know and understand specific rules for freedom camping. Here's a useful NZ free camping tool you can take advantage of before you prepare for your greatest Kiwi adventure. 

Fleet

The company has a quite unique branding with the campervan mainly being painted black and a huge company logo styled on the exteriors. Most of the vans are automatic, though you can request if you prefer those with manual transmissions. All Pod campervans use petrol and are either self-contained or not. Since this is a small campervan and the aim of the company is to provide a quality rental on a budget, do not expect any frills installed within the campervan. No shower, fridge, and such―only a cassette toilet, double bed, and kitchen can fit inside the main cabin. The fan heater is very convenient, however, it requires to be plugged-in a powered campsite. 

Whilst these units are technically for couples or two people, you can sneak in an extra passenger because there are three front seats in the vans. They offer some optional extras including night time insect screen, solar shower, privacy tent for the shower, and hammock. 

Vehicles

Adventurer

Since the Pod fleet is now divided into three, let's start with their Adventurer. This unit is dubbed as the most spacious among all rental units on offer. Similar to a mid-range campervan, you have the toilet on the right side, a convertible double bed inside, and a kitchen at the rear. Aside from being the largest campervan, it also holds the reputation of being the best when it comes to the inclusion of campervan facilities. No doubt it's called the Adventurer!

Traveler

Unto the next is the Traveler, which is way comfortable, especially at night because of the extended double bed. Even if it's much smaller compared to the previous one, this unit still has everything you need for a comfy getaway. It comes with a sleeping area, cooking area, and toilet area. 

Economy

Lastly, they have their Economy camper, which is the same model as the Traveller―but varies with the mileage. The Economy campers are quite older, with over 200,000kms, hence the cheaper price. But lower rates does not mean low-quality camper. These are reliable vehicles that are regularly maintained and service for utmost convenience. Not only that, if you find the same model from other companies at a cheaper price, you can enjoy a price-match guarantee. 

Insurance

As a renter, you have to choose one of their three insurance options: All care no responsibility at $25 per day for an excess of NZ$0, Fence Sitter at $15 per day for an excess NZ$2, 000 and You break it you fix it at no extra daily charge for an excess of NZ$3, 000. Only the first option covers damage to tire, windscreen, window, underbody, overhead as well as single-vehicle accidents. 

Reputation

Without a question, Pod campervans are great little vans that can handle well on windy roads and even on unsealed tracks. Though the front seats are a bit uncomfortable on long journeys, these are in good condition with all standard accessories. And even if these aren't brand new models and these aren't as big and fast as some, the facilities on-board are very useful and convenient, and the vans are sure and steady that save you a couple of dollars in gas and camping fees. So for travellers wouldn't mind travelling in a small yet compact van like Pods, enjoy a campervan hire from this family-based business that can assure you of a friendlier and more personalized service.

Summary

For a couple travelling or independent backpacker on a budget, Pod Campervan Rentals is a great option. These petite but reliable vans drive really well, but you've got to keep in mind that these are few of the cheaper campervans that have space and height restrictions. 

From the Agency

Our focus at The Pod is providing outstanding customer service from your first enquiry through to when we drop you at the airport for your flight home. All enquiries before, during and at the end of the hire are answered by us, the owners of the company Liz and Mike Williams, and we guarantee a first rate and prompt service where we work with you to ensure that your holiday is a positive experience. Our campers have been carefully designed and tested to provide you with everything you need to travel in comfort :)

Pros

  • Family run with friendlier service
  • Multiple depots
  • Positive reputation
  • Free airport transfers
  • No one-way fees
  • More 2 berth options

Cons

  • Not be attractive for big families
  • Cassette toilet only
  • Loud exteriors with huge company logo

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
S. Watson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great service, worry-free trip"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Pod rentals were amazing! I was worried about finding a trustworthy campervan rental company given all the nightmare reviews out there. But when I came across all the positive reviews and read about Mike and Liz, I knew I could trust pod rentals. We were provided with a transfer from the airport to the rental pick-up in Queenstown, and we were on the road within 15 minutes. We had an economy van, and campervan itself was great - clean, everything provided and easy to drive. We dropped our van off at the end of our trip in Queenstown with no issues. Mike and Liz even gave us a lift to our accommodation. Couldn't have asked for a more positive and worry-free experience.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks so much for the kind words in your review :)

C. Green - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"‘Little Zoe’, aka home for 29 days!"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a Pod for 29 days, (Little Zoe), touring both the North and South islands. Really good fun!
The team in all of the sites were super good, friendly and approachable - it gave a family ran vibe.
Van itself was cosy, had all of the essentials included and proved the perfect home for our tour.
Would recommend! ☺️

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks! Great to know you enjoyed your time and everything went well for you guys :)

L. Allen - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Highly recommended"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the last month we've had Little Zoe as our home as we toured both Island of NZ.
A really fun experience and highlight of our trip here. Thank you so much for your friendly service and the expert extras included inside.
Would highly recommend!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks! And good to know Little Zoe got a decent time exploring with you :)

G. Bagge - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"S.Island Road Trip!"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best two weeks exploring the beautiful S.Island in our little pod! You can tell these vans have been designed by people who love to travel... it might be small but it’s efficient, everything is easily accessible and most importantly, it’s cosy! The team at Pod were so helpful, from providing us with our van at short notice, to being easily contactable when on the road. Nothing was too much trouble and they went above and beyond to make sure everything ran smoothly. Thank you for being the highlight of our NZ road trip, we will be spreading the word and recommending you to our friends!

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Awww - we're tickled we were the highlight! Thanks for spreading the word for us too!

J. Calvey - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Loved our little pod"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had a brilliant 4 weeks travelling around South Island in our economy pod Little Millie.
First of all the booking process was very easy and stress free, the communication was quick and professional between ourselves and Mike and Liz. We felt like we were valued and in good hands.
The pick up process was very easy, Bianca on Christchurch was very friendly and pleasant and took us around the van well, we enjoyed that we didn't have to wait at all and we were out in 30 minutes. The service felt very personalised to us :)
Our van drove very well around the windy roads of south island, its compact nature meant we had no problem parking it in busy mall car parks or squeezing into spaces at busy campgrounds, it also meant the fuel consumption was reasonable for a campervan but at the same time was SC so meant we could freedom camp with no issues.
The van itself was comfortable with nice pillows, thick duvet and black out curtains which allowed us to get good night's sleep. The only slight issue we had was accessing the fresh water pipe is in a  bit of an awkward position under the bed, and once we had the van loaded up with our big bags it just made it a little too impractical for us to access this during our rental. We purchased a separate 10L water holder and that suited us fine however.
The mini kitchen at the back of the van was well equipped and had the basics that we needed to cook and the cool box worked much better than we anticipated at keeping our goods cool. Again the only slightly minor inconvenience was that the sink was pretty small so made it difficult to wash the saucepan and fry pan in them so we had to be tactical with where we camped and cooked messy meals.
The price was much more reasonable than other rental companies we looked at for the same duration of time, so we were very pleased about this!
Overall, the excellent customer service and a great van with no technical issues makes two very happy customers. Would highly recommend this company to anyone :)
Thank you Pod, and Thank you little Millie!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks very much Jessica!

J. Lau - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Peas In A Pod"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The Adventurer model had plenty of Oomph to get you where you need. The van remained fairly nimble despite the larger size. It was easy to drive, had great features such as the larger bed, fridge, portable butane stove, solar panels which powered the LED, sink pump and USB charging if need be. This van had ample space for baggage/storage. The staff were also very friendly and approachable.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for that review - the Adventurer model does have a lot of really handy extras that the smaller Economy and Traveler models don't have so it's great you got good use out of them!

J. Hayward - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"The Pod made our trip that much better"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We did a relocation deal from Christchurch to Queenstown in a Pod Adventurer which was the best way to do New Zealand’s South Island.

On our first day of driving we were unlucky enough to get a stone in our windscreen but we thankfully had the full cover insurance from The Pod. They dealt with it super quickly and we had absolutely no issues with getting the windscreen replaced so were back on the road the same day.

The Adventurer was amazing and had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy and the kitchen and fridge were ideal for everything. When we dropped it off in Queenstown the guy that met us was so helpful.

We cannot recommend The Pod enough, especially compared to some of the bigger guys (i.e Jucy). They made everything super easy and our trip that much better and will 100% go with them again if we come back to NZ.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the review! The full cover insurance has offered great piece of mind to our clients over the years and we're glad to see in your case it did too. And I guess we're also lucky in New Zealand that most towns have amazing businesses that know how important it is for you guys to get back on the road and keep exploring! We look forward to seeing you again :)

Kelly - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"One week adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The set up in the pod was fantastic, especially the kitchen area in the back (other travellers with vans were jealous). It had everything we needed, a comfortable bed and lots of space for two of us. Bianca was amazing - great customer service.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Kelly - and really glad to hear you enjoyed the great customer service form the Christchurch team :)

The Happy Swedes - avatar not loaded
, Sweden
1 Review

"Great little camper van and outstanding customer service!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We rented Little Nate for 7 weeks, picking him up in Auckland and dropping him off in Christchurch (it was great that the pod did not have any fees for dropping of in another location than pick-up!). We had the best time ever roaming around the country and since the camper van is certified self contained (CSC) it allowed us to explore all of the wonderful nature and hidden gems of New Zealand. The bed, pillows and duvet were all very comfy and was perfect for the two of us. The kitchen part of the van included everything you need to prepare a nice camping meal :) what we really appreciated was the quick, easy and very friendly customer service when contacting the pod team with questions and request for extension of the rental period!

Thanks for lending us Little Nate and enabling us to go on this grand adventure ;)

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks Happy Swedes - you were wonderful clients and we look forward to seeing you back again one day :)

R. E.van Kampen - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"A carefree vacation with the POD Self contained campervan"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

In the period january the 6th till january the 21 th 2020 I have hired a Pod self contained camper-van. Together with my daughter and boyfriend we travelled for two weeks in two camper-vans. I was very satisfied about my self contained POD campervan. And also I was satisfied about the service. For example: I had a accident with the left mirror of the camper-van. POD Rentals has arranged the same day where I could let repair the mirror without extra costs. . That is service .
So I can recommend you heartily The POD Campervan Rental Company . Comparing with other companies you get a relative cheap , but a very comfortable and reliable campervan for a carefree vacation.

Sincerely,
Robbert van Kampen
The Netherlands

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much Robbert. You made it easy to help you out as you were so accomodating with your time. Thanks for choosing our company!

J. Fountain - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"100% recommend"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We rented “Little Polly” from The Pod Campervan Rentals for a 3 weeks while travelling both Islands. Everyone was super friendly and helpful the entire booking process.The bed was super comfy and had plenty of storage room for us for both our bags and our food for a few days at a time. The van was super easy to drive and more importantly park !! It had a gas cooker, cooking supplies, dishes, etc were all in great condition for us. It was also nice to know our van was easily recognizable amongst the tons of Mighty and Britz vans we saw everywhere & not trying to figure out which one was ours. By the end the van became part of our family. I highly recommend renting from this company! A* all round !

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review! We're so glad to hear you cared for your Pod as much as we do - and that you took such good care of Little Polly. Safe travels home :)

Zack - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"Awesome!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I booked the The Pod Adventurer campervan, and I think that it was worth every single dollar that I spent on it. The van was in pristine conditions when I rented it and was very well equipped. It is easy to assemble and disassemble, and you can see by all of the small details that a lot of effort and love has been spent to adapt it. I had not a single issue with the internals of the campervan, and its performance was excellent. Surely, it is way more aerodynamic than those campervans with extra two beds on the roof. Also, because of the lack of this extra bulk, the inter-island ferry is cheaper because you can register it as a "van" instead of a "campervan" :D. The battery (and solar panel) were, in my opinion, the cherry of the cake. I was expecting to pay for a powered campsite every three or four days. However, their system kept all my devices (laptop, phone and two 25000mha external
batteries) fully charged for the entire month. Even on cloudy days, without moving the van, I could see the battery being charged to its maximum capacity (slower, draining the campervan battery, but still charged).

It was my first time driving a campervan and driving on the left, but Liz and Mike (the "The Pod" owners) had a lot of patience to teach me until I felt confident enough. The area where we practised at the outside of Queenstown was very convenient and easily accessible from the airport with a bus. The roads nearby were not busy, and a big and almost empty parking lot was great to practice for the first time. Do you need to buy supplies for your incoming trip? No problem because near the "The Pod" garage in Queenstown you can buy all you need in a big pack'n'save !

Liz and Mike are lovely and efficient. During my journey, I accidentally broke the grey water pipe under the van and called them for instructions. They adapted to my situation and scheduled an appointment with a plumber that fixed it in a couple of hours. Unfortunately, I had a more significant accident with the van because of a distraction with my phone. Hopefully, nobody was hurt, and the insurance covered absolutely everything. I would recommend taking the "All care no responsibility" insurance. Yes, it's more expensive but I really appreciated the tranquillity it gave both before and after the accident.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hi Zack. Thanks so much for your detailed review. Yes, unfortunately accidents on NZ roads do happen, and for us we were just thankful you were okay and that nobody else was involved :) Our insurance cover is to ensure that when something unexpected does happen, that you are completely covered which is what happened in your case. While the van is no longer with us, you are and that's the most important thing. For anyone reading this review, please learn from Zack's kindly shared example to never look at your phone while driving. Safe travels everyone!

M. Darling - avatar not loaded
, Ireland
1 Review

"The perfect Pod"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Great organisation of booking and pick-up/drop off. We were even able to pick up in Queenstown. The vehicle was perfect for us (a couple for 2 weeks) and no issues with it. Excellent use of space, you can store 2 large suitcases no problem. Useful additional equipment.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the review :) It's also helpful to know the things we provide are useful as when we set up our vans we put ourselves in the clients position - if we need it, you probably do too!

I. F - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Best in New Zealand"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We had our camper for 3 weeks and I cannot fault the van or the customer service we received from beginning to end. The staff were incredibly helpful and quick to respond. The van itself was suitable for the two of us and even though its not the biggest on the road for the price you pay compared to some of the more well known companies, there is no comparison. There were no hidden gimmicks or unexpected bills, just straight forward van rental. Would definitely use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the review - like you, the only surprises we like are the ones at Christmas and birthdays! Thanks for the recommendation to others.

Keriann M. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Love the Pod!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Great experience with the Pod - the team there is wonderful, and we had a wonderful week cruising around the South Island. The bed was comfortable, the space was well designed, and the Pod came with everything we needed. Would highly recommend going with the Pod for your road tripping needs :)

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for the recommendation Keriann :)

V. Mc - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"#podlife"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We enjoyed our pod experience immensely. It was just enough comfort, space, and amenities. The little van drove well and was good for boondocking aka freedom camping

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We will add 'boondocking' to our vocab! Thanks for the review :)

E. Alvarez - avatar not loaded
, Spain
1 Review

"Absolutely love it!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

I feel so grateful for having the possibility of enjoying the Pod for a month and also having the full support to make the best of my time in New Zealand.

Even before the trip started they helped me a lot and went the extra mile to make sure I had all my answers and enquiries solved with very quick flawless communication.

I loved my van so much to the point that I couldn't return it. Very often people will be surprised on how good and convenient the kitchen looks like.

All in all, extremely reliable van and even better team behind that I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to New Zealand.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for that review! We are conscious of larger companies lacking personal communication which is why we want you guys as clients to know we're here for you. We've had the impersonal service as clients ourselves so know how frustrating it can be, hence our practice of responding directly.

RachelMM - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great experience!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We used a pod campervan for a 3 week journey through NZ and loved it! The pod was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
GilCZ - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Loved our pod"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

My wife and I spent 3 weeks in our pod and felt it was perfect for experiencing NZ. Thank you!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Karina Anderson - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Amazing Experience!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We rented "Little Tui" for our trip through the South Island and it was a wonderful holiday! We drove 2700km and had zero issues. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. I felt like it was definitely the most bang for your buck for campervan rentals and we couldn't be happier with our rental. The staff were great and we would definitely rent from them again!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value