Australian 4WD Hire Review

Rated 4.5 / 5 from 90 reviews

Editors Review

Update 9th Feb 2020: It seems this company has shut down. The owners of this company had changed since the the ACCC started taken action against the previous owners. Renters that placed security deposits with the old company when they picked up their campers did not get their bond's back from the new company in the period of around Dec and Jan 2020. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-09/australian-4wd-hire-company-liquidation-customers-owed-thousands/11934270

Now the website is offline. We are waiting to see what happens but are currently assuming the company has not survived the problems they were having. 

Please leave a review below if you have had recent dealings with this company.


Update 18th April 2019: The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has started proceedings against Australian 4wd Hire

https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/australian-4wd-hire-in-court-for-alleged-breaches-of-consumer-law-0


Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf

Here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
A. Bellon - avatar not loaded
, Uruguay
1 Review

"Australian 4WD hire new owners' lifting the company's brand and image"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We rented a Prado to relocate from Sydney to Gold Coast. The vehicle worked very well and we had a lot of fun during the trip, while moving all our belongings with us.
Only when we returned the Prado and claimed the bond back, we found out that the company had changed hands only days ago, and that the previous owner had scammed many people keeping their $5.000 bonds (we paid that money too).
We got very worried, and started calling everyday, chasing our money back. An operation manager named Tony told us that we didn't need to worry, that our bond would be returned...and after a few days it was!!!
An excellent experience overall, although I feel very sorry for the people that lost their money in hands of the previous owners of the company.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
Carly Boundy - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Don’t touch this company!!!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

They have run away with our bond money. Out of pocket $1,700... unlikely to see ever again. Now in liquidation but I would steer clear of “new” company setup too.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
Lost it all - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Scam company stay away........"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Scam company, never returned the bond claiming the company was sold during rental period! New owners not taking any responsibility either. Avoid at all cost, there was a deliberate intention to extort money with no intention to refund. I'm now out of pocket $10,000. Stay away from these scammers new and old will not communicate or even acknowledge there clients claims.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
J. Groger - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Dont come near this company!!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I would just like to support the last posts. We had the exact same problems. On top of receiving a faulty car and NO support from the company, we havent received our 5k bond back as mentioned in the previous posts...

If you have 5k spare to gift to someone and want to have a horrible time please rent off this company...

otherwise STAY AWAY

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
N. Sharma - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Consider your options"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had an issue where the vehicle we booked could not be provided due to circumstances outside their control. The request to cancel based on this information was not well received and we were made to feel like we were committing some gross injustice with the request for a refund. Although their actions are defendable within consumer law, their conduct was not becoming. We felt harassed and told our decision to seek further counsel on the matter was taken as a threat. Furthermore, some quick research demonstrated a string of previous unscrupulous behaviors logged with the Office of Fair Trade Queensland, ACCC, as well as the media.

Now we are out of pocket an one thousand dollars. Although there have been plenty of happy customers, our experience dealing with this issue would suggest that if things go wrong you will receive little sympathy from this company. It is also worth paying attention to the terms and conditions on their website, as some clauses raise the eyebrows. We know there are plenty of other vendors in the area with competitive pricing that can provide an excellent experience with a smile. We know this because one of them made an excellent holiday possible at very short notice.

Anticipating an rambunctious, resentful response i will add that this review is not designed to slander or defame this company. There will be no conversation about who was right or wrong. It is simply to provide what i hope is a measured retelling of my experience.

1Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 1Value
M. Monsanto - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Complete spam - bond never refunded"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Terrible company, never returned the bond claiming the company was sold during rental period! New owners not taking any responsibility either. Avoid at all cost, there was a deliberate intention to extort money with no intention to refund. I wish I had seen all reviews before renting.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
Rick - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"SCAM"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We are another couple that hired a vehicle through this company and we too cannot get our $5,000 bond back. Desperately trying to get it but looks like we will not. We just wanted to write this in the hope that people read as we dont want this to happen to anyone else. This company is untrustworthy and theives.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
C. O'Connor - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"$5k security has gone missing, this company is a scam."

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I rented a 4wd with rooftop tent for 10 days over the christmas period. The vehicle was in good condition dispite the fact it had 3 A/T tyres and one road tyre, the tent was a bit worse for wear and the engel fridge didnt work. I fixed the engel out of my own pocket on the trip, assured that I would get reimbursed for the expense by Australian 4wd.

I returned the vehicle 10 days ago without any issues on return. I have followed up regarding my expense reimbursement and security bond, I have not received my $5k security deposit or expense reimbursement. I have been informed that Australian 4WD is under new management and the new owners do no have access to the deposits. The previous owners have liquidated the company. Dispite the fact that my rental contract occured post company sale and is with the current owners.

This company is a scam and an untrustworthy. Neither the old company or new owners are willing to deal with this issue. Avoid at all costs.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
G. Fo - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"AVOID AT ANY COST !!!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Here is what I received when asking my bond refund:

This is a courtesy email for all recent Smart Corporation Pty Ltd (trading as Australian 4WD Hire) customers that are waiting on their security bond to be refunded.

As of December 19th 2019 Australian 4WD Hire has been sold by Smart Corporation Pty Ltd and we are now operating under completely new Owners and Management.

We have just been made aware that the new Owners and management do not hold or have access to any bonds that were paid prior to this date as they have been paid into Smart Corporations account, and some lingering payments paid after 19th of December 2019.

We have also just learned that Smart Corporation is going into liquidation, and any monies that have been paid to them for security bonds or rentals is in the hands of the liquidator

Any funds paid into the account 424091751 or 486687420 are no longer under the control of Australian 4WD Hire. Which is a trading name and not the company.

We legally have no access to these accounts and only the Liquidator has the authority to release these funds to customers.

We have been directed to provide the Liquidators details to all creditors so they can get in contact about recovering the funds they have paid.

As the bonds are meant to be paid back by the Owner, you are classified as a creditor and should be refunded as such.

The Liquidators details are:

SV Partners

Contact - XXXXXXXXXX

We do understand that this is a major inconvenience to each of you and we hope that this matter is resolved for you soon.

During this time we do expect call volumes to be quite high, so if you have any questions we recommend sending an email and we will respond within 24 hours.

Unfortunately we have no other information than what has been provided, as we have only been informed ourselves as of 7th of January 2020, the Liquidator will be able to provide you with more information and assistance.

Kind Regards,

NEW MANAGEMENT of Australian 4WD Hire

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
Senthil kumar avatar
, Singapore
1 Review

"First time 4WD experience exploring insights of Northern Territory"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

I would like to express our sincere appreciation to the following gentle men of Australian 4wd hire who make our trip in NT Australia was very memorable and wonderful.

1.Jake
2.brett Riley (JJ car)@darwin

Brett is so kind to explain the details of 4WD Land crustier Prado car and its camp accessories with polite and courteous manner. We have complete satisfaction with their excellent service support. It was wonderful experience with all staffs of Australian 4wd hire to whom i deal with them by email from Singapore. Every thing went on smooth except security deposit payment band transfer which is small glitch . However, I managed to resolve this when I was in Darwin.

Thanks for australian 4wd hire for their excellent service support which is beyond mile stone. I have already recommended their company to all my Singaporean friends net work. Hope soon you will get more business from them as they will quote my name as reference.

It was great experience with Australian 4wd hirer. Their response is excellent and much appreciated. As a well satisfied customer during my trip from Darwin NT to kakadu and Katherine in the second week of December 2019, I recommend them strongly for any one who look for leisure or adventure trip in Australia. They are truly trust worthy.

Well done bravo Australian 4wd hire. Keep it up the excellent work.

Senthil Kumar Rama Moorthy

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
G.Pires avatar
, France
1 Review

"Australia roundtrip"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Roundtrip all Australia 25000km without any problem.
The car was very cooperative, and each time i had to contact the company, i received immediate answer.
Bond back very quickly.
2 times 10000 km servicing with 4WD garages, efficient.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Gerard,
    Thank you for your valued business and support, we are pleased you have enjoyed your hire with us and we look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Summer Creek - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Super comfortable car, great company. Strongly recommend!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We have hired Toyota Land Cruiser from 4WD Australia Hire for 19 days trip ex Melbourne. The booking was made few months before trip started, deposit paid. List of location we planed to visit was provided few weeks before departure what give us plenty of time to design itinerary. There were no issue to get permission to visit each place. Contact with them and car collection was very professional and prompt. Appointment for collection was scheduled for specific time, so there was no waiting or delays. Car was checked precisely and instruction how to use the car and equipment was given in a clear and an understandable way. The car itself was perfect. A big plus was a driving comfort on stony, rocky, sandy and consolidated surface. Easy to drive (especially for womens), we drove with the pleasure, we just loved it. Rooftop tent amazing and suitable almost for each type of environment. Takes about 5 minutes to set i tup, plenty of room inside, comfortable, can fit easily 3 girls. Basic equipment provided (large fridge, chairs, table, stove, light). USB, extra car charger slot and power socket was very useful, especially if you have cameras and other electronics to be charge. We have drop the car in Sydney. On the return, again professional check out (make sure you give a car good wash), took us about 10 minutes with no doubts. There is nothing to complaint about. The only thing company could consider is providing cutlery and cooking gadgets but this is only suggestion. It is worth mentioning about competitive pricing. I will definitely book through them again. Strongly recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon for another 4WD adventure!

LorynL - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Best Customer Service in Australia!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

I recently completed a solo 4 month tour of Australia, driving a rented 4WD and pulling a camper trailer. In the process I interacted with a variety of businesses, from mechanics to camper sales and repair people to insurance companies and camping stores galore. Of them all, Australian 4 WD HIre was the most ethical and fair and offered the best customer service. The contract businesses where I pick-uped and drop-offed the vehicle were efficient and happy to help with whatever I needed. I interacted primarily with the main office and the staff was consistently friendly and professional. They made the rental process easy from beginning to end. The Toyota Hilux I used was nearly new and in great condition. Any issues or concerns I had were addressed immediately and a regular tuneup was done when needed. I liked the Hilux so much that when I went to Tasmania for a month they held it for me, losing the rental income they could have gotten during that time. Unfortunately, I had a small accident during my last month of renting the Hilux, causing some minor cosmetic damage. The company would have been within their rights to completely replace or repaint the damaged door panel. Instead they found someone who could repair and repaint just the ding, saving me hundreds of dollars in repair costs. They had the repair completed within 2 weeks and returned the rest of my bond as soon as repairs were done. Based on my month of renting from them I highly recommend Australian 4 WD HIre!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much Loryn! It was an absolute pleasure hiring our vehicle to you over the course of your 4 month trip around Australia. Your cooperation and patience made things like mid-hire servicing a breeze. It is wonderful to hear that you were happy with the whole process from beginning to end and we can only hope that you choose to visit again in the not so distant future. Should this happen we look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure. All the best from the entire Aus 4WD Team!

J. S. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great value going to Fraser Island"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We rented a 4wd vehicle from Brisbane to take onto Fraser Island. It was great value for money and the vehicle was in fine working order.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review J.S. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

B. Groom - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Good experience"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Australian 4wd Hire was efficient & friendly during both pick up and return. The vehicle was in excellent condition (bearing in mind they are not used in the same conditions as normal hire cars) and was very capable & comfortable. Together with the recovery equipment the whole package worked very well. It's worth checking camping gear before leaving on your trip because it's not possible for them to guarantee the odd tent pole isn't missing. Despite what some Tripadvisor reviews have claimed, our experience was, as long as you look after the vehicle, drive according to its capabilities & tolerances, and give it a grateful wash at the end of your trip, you can expect to have you security bond returned quickly and with no complications. Thank you Australian 4WD Hire for a great trip. Hope to see you next year!

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review.. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure.

R. MORRISON - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great vehicle, great service"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We had a 4WD from Australian 4wd Hire for 15 days late Aug - early September and drove down from Darwin to Melbourne via Lawn Hill NP and the Gulf of Carpentaria. The vehicle we had was in excellent condition and performed really well on the trip.

Communication with the company was first rate - always a response to our queries via email within an hour and the security bond was also returned promptly (within a couple of days) after return of the vehicle.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Australian 4wd hire to other travellers - their customer service was outstanding.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Richard, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your hire with us and that you would recommend our business. We sincerely appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

L. Dalbon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic service"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

We hired the FJ Cruiser for 10 days, picked up from Darwin, drove up to Wiligi Outstation in West Arnhemland, through to Mataranka, Daly River, Dundee and back to Darwin - we could not fault the car, all equipment was provided and was of good quality. Our bond was refunded very promptly, and we would highly recommend Australian 4wd Hire. Their service and response time to all enquires was fantastic.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Lisa. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

M. Paterson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Travelling the Broome - Cape Leveque road in comfort and style"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

The online service team were very helpful and prompt in answering my questions. The payment of fees and bonds was streamlined, and the return of the bond was very quick (not all companies do this!). We received the exact vehicle we requested. There was one item missing and they refunded the amount at the ned of our booking without debate. We drove from Broome to Cape Leveque and back in complete comfort and safety.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

AlexU - avatar not loaded
, Afghanistan
1 Review

"Great Car and the Experience of a Lifetime"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Australia 4wd hire was great. They were easy and clear to communicate with and were very prompt on their responses. The website can be a bit confusing but once you submit a 'request' they'll get back to you within half a day.
We explored the Dampier Peninsula out of Broome and we had a comfortable and relaxed time driving the car, it was fast, efficient and a smooth ride.
The bond was refunded quickly and efficiently.
I would totally recommend this company for anyone wanting to explore roads that are off the beaten path! Thanks so much Australia 4wd!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Alex, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire an that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. It is also a great that our staff were prompt with their responses and were able to answer all of your questions. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

P. Booth - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fabulous adventure in the Kimberley"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

Dear Maryna and all at Australian 4WD Hire

Many thanks for processing our Security Bond refund so promptly.

We are now safely installed back home in the UK.

We had a fabulous 3-week adventure in the Kimberley. The vehicle was so perfect for our itinerary that included the Gibb River Road and the so-called ‘road’ from the Great Northern Highway into Purnululu NP! It never let us down, and seeing many other identical vehicles on our travels instilled a very pleasing sense of security.

We were very pleased with your high level of service, both at pick-up and drop-off.
We have to say that here in the UK we had a real problem finding a car hire company that allowed us to drive our planned route. Our travel agent here, Travelbag, could not arrange a car for us, so we had to do all the research ourselves.
We were so relieved to come across your website, and found your representatives very communicative and efficient right from our first contact with yourselves.

We have various friends back here in the UK who are thinking of visiting Australia, and we have no hesitation in strongly recommending Australian 4WD Hire for their road trips. We would also use your services again if we were to plan another self-drive tour Down Under - this latest trip to the Kimberley was our fourth visit to Australia, and by far the most adventurous. We can’t stop coming back!

Once again, many thanks for making our Kimberley road trip so enjoyable, with the best vehicle we could possibly have had.

Kind regards

All the best

Peter and Penny Booth

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Peter and Penny. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!