Australian 4WD Hire Review

Customer rated 4.5 / 5 from 31 reviews

Editors Review

Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf


But here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
S. Waegemans - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Great car, friendly people, good service"

  • Reviewed 5 days ago

All communication with 4wd administration went over email, they were always correct and very quick to answer. At pick-up and drop-off everyone was very friendly. We had a big Toyota 4x4 which was great to drive and had everything you would expect.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Stijn, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD holiday.

Dusty - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"East Pilbara missions 2018"

  • Reviewed 5 days ago

Hello HTR,

Three of us travelled for 12 days around Karijini, Hamersley, Millstream/Chichester, Marble Bar, Nullagine and Karratha in the Bush Camper Large RTT. Very easy to drive vehicle with good diesel economy and spacious interior.

Some points from our trip to ponder for yours...

AUST 4WD HIRE
Very responsive and quick with replies to questions.
A couple of camping pieces could be upgraded but no real impact on the holiday.
Very quick return of the bond - appreciated.

THE VEHICLE & KIT
Always check the camping equipment thoroughly and have tape ready for any tent tears, critters get in if given the slightest chance.
Ensure you can reach all the required zips and pulleys etc on a roof top tent. I'm short so it meant a lot of scrambling.
For cooking we took a small primus/stove to do a brew while on the road. The provided cooker is excellent and quick once set up but sometimes you can't be bothered setting up the full unit for a cup of tea.
The Fuel gauge takes a while to get moving when full, don't get alarmed if it suddenly starts moving, unless you're on the second tank in which case, think about filling up.

Cheers Aust 4WD - We had a great trip.

4Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Dusty
    Thank you very much for your kind review and valuable feedback. We know you had a couple issues with camping gear on your trip and appreciate your cooperation and understanding with this(even if you did get up close and personal with a termite mound :)

    Your suggestions and advice for future customers is very useful and we will take these comments on board as well.

    Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next 4WD adventure, take care!

L. Shepherd - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Good communication, great service but the inside could be thought through better"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The camper itself was great, easy to drive and fairly new (29000km on the clock when we picked it up). The guys at pickup in Darwin were really helpful and clear when going round the vehicle and all the camping gear. Communication with the office was easy and they quickly responded to any questions.

The only negative comment I would have is that the back of the camper could be fitted out better, to provide more storage space - everything could only be thrown in the back of the camper. An option to hire ratchet straps would also be good.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Australian 4WD Hire Official

    Thank you Luke, we are very glad you enjoyed your hire and we are pleased to hear we were able to answer any questions you had.

    We appreciate your feedback concerning the packing of the equipment and will certainly be looking into options on how we can improve this.

    We sincerely appreciate your business and support and look forward to helping with your next 4WD adventure.

Rob S. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Amazing Vehicle"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The car did everything we asked of it and more. We really tested it out over our almost 2 week trip, bring it on sand dunes, off roading and camping. The tent was really easy to set up, so much so that someone could do it on their own so having more than 1 person made it a breeze. The cooler in the back kept everything ice cold, which is vital to stay hydrated in the Australian sun. Overall, the car is amazing!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Rob, we are very glad that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs, and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your trip.

M. Pham - avatar not loaded
, United States
2 Review

"Great car for camping and 4 wheeling"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The toyota prada was amazing to drive and performed flawlessly.

The roof tent, camping equipment provided worked as it was intended for.

No complaints on equipment!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Michael, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that all of the equipment and the vehicle were well suited to your needs.
    Thank you for your business and support!

A. Szczecinska - avatar not loaded
, Poland
1 Review

"Australian 4WD - Bush Camper Large GT"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We drove over 4000km and used hired equipment during the trip from Darwin to Adelaide. Me and my travel mates are extremely satisfied with the vehicle we have got and service we have been provided in. Since the very beginning communication with Australian 4wd team was very easy and precise. We got all details and useful information in advance. The car was well maintained, equipped with high quality camping stuff, much better than expected. Bond/security is being refunded to us with no issues. The vehicle we had was with ground tent and exactly what we needed while our trip thru Australian Outback. Customer service and quality definitely above expectation !!! Highly recommended

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much A. We are very glad you had such a wonderful trip. We look forward to helping you on your next 4WD adventure!

J. Wismans avatar
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Enabling a great outback adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We want to share our recent experience with Australian 4WD. After reading multiple platforms and reading the negative comments/reviews we were in doubt if we should proceed with Australian 4WD. After receiving a quote from them and reading the terms and conditions we decided to give it a try. As with any contract you sign, make sure you understand the lengthy terms and conditions, as if you violate these, heavy penalties apply. The way we see it, is that the terms and conditions are there to prevent heavy damage to the car and for us (inexperienced using a 4WD and driving dirt tracks) made sense while using the car. As you will see below, we had a good experience with Australian 4WD and it resulted in having a great time in the outback:)

We hired a Bush Camper Canopy RTT (Toyota Hilux) from the Adelaide depot for our 17 day outback adventure. After a quick and efficient explanation we took of towards Flinders Range.

Having a roof top tent made it very easy to quickly setup up camp and start enjoying the views and star filled sky at Wilpena Pound and Brachina East Camp ground. While preparing our meal using the provided stove (it has two pits that were sufficient for us) we encounterd the first wild life (emoes, kangaroos, lizards, lots of birds) who passed by.
We continued our trip to Marla, driving the rough, remote, 1000 km long, corrugated Oodnadatta track for 3 days. When leaving the Flinders the landscape changes from steep cliffs towards flat dessert planes. An amazing experience in such a harsh enviroment. As the car has a strong engine and robust suspension, this made the 3 days more comfortable, especially on the corrugated sections. Defenitly worth driving up here. One of stops, Coward Springs, is worth metioning here, as it has a hot spa!
From Marla we drove up North towards the West McDonell National Park. On our way north we stopped to setup camp at Rainbow Valley Conservation Reserve. From the camp we had beautiful views on the rock formations, especially during sunset. As it is so remote, at night the stars and the Milky Way were perfectly visible. Trully astonishing.
With a short stop at Alice Springs to get some groceries, we took of to visit the West McDonell. We decided to setup camp offroad on a dried river bed, close to Boggy Hole Bore, which was gazzeted in the provided HEMA maps. This was the first time we had to use the 4WD to its full extend. The car did a excellent job in dealing with this rough terain.
The day after, we headed down south to Palm Valley, which is a special area were unique palm trees are growing. On our way we stopped at some gorges in the West McDonell to go for a swim. Once we left the main road to drive to Palm Valley, we noticed that this is a road for 4WD only. Especially the last kilometers are very rough, with steep climbs and deep dips. Again the car had no problems dealing with this terain and took us to this amazing place.
One of our last stops in the Northern Teritory, next to Kings Canyon, was Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park to visit Uluru (Ayers rock) and Kata-Tjuta (the Olgas) wich are easily accessible. Trully amazing places in such a remote area.
In the last days we drove back the car to Adelaide, stopping over at Desert Oaks Resort, Oasis Park Coober Pedy and Melrose Carvan Park. Especially the later was very good as it the edge of a national park with good walks. This was the place were we could recap the great adventure we had so far.

Looking back we had an amazing time in such a diverse, remote and harsh enviroment. Thanks to the excellent and robust car, tent (we experienced strong winds during the night and the tent was super strong and didn`t break) and gear (robust 40L frigde, 20L fuel canister, 20L water canister, 2 outdoor chairs and table, gass stove, recovery kit) we had a worry free trip of our life and look back to an amazig adventure. Worth to mention is that we prepared our own meals 90% of the time and the stove worked perfectly. We also downloaded a digital version of Hema Maps which we are good to have next to the paper version that is provided by the company.

Looking back, we highly recommend Australian 4WD hire as they provided us with the tools (car and gear) that enabled us to make this trip.

Joris and Hanna

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank You J, we sincerely appreciate your detailed review and wonderful feedback. It is always great to hear that our customers have enjoyed their holiday and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.

    We appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure.

J. Anom. - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Not a positive experience"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

google the company , especially the ABC report recently

Don’t rent without full research , we had some of our bond withheld , and when we asked for more information we were threatened, and then ignored. We were in contact with ABC . Unfortunately I have withheld full ID due to the way they operate

1Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello J. Anom,
    We find your review to be quite contradictory in a couple of different ways.
    Firstly, you have stated that a portion of your bond was withheld, however you have rated the vehicles mechanical quality 4/5 stars.
    The only reason a portion of your bond would have been withheld is for damages to the vehicle, therefore such a high rating would be unlikely, especially if you believed you were not responsible for said damages.
    Secondly, you have made some serious accusations about us, yet you have remained anonymous and rather than take your complaint to the OFT, ACCC or the Courts.
    Which leads to believe that you have no legitimate reason and the only way for you to retaliate is to put mud on our name by staying anonymous and post misleading reviews on public forums or any media outlets.
    Australian 4WD Hire has never, and will never withhold any customers bond, or part thereof, without fully substantiated evidence.

P. Rechner - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Had a blast"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The FJ Cruiser we hired had it all. Just needed our clothes, sleeping bags and fill the Engel fridge with food. The vehicle was totally reliable and the equipment all in good nik. The duel battery ran the fridge for 3 days without us having started the car to recharge. Awesome. The Engel fridge is a great thing and considering getting one after having used it for 2 weeks around the outback. Thanks guys for the positive service experience

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Peter, we are very glad the vehicle and equipment suited you well and that you had a wonderful trip. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to helping you on your next 4WD holiday!

I.B. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great value, awesome set-up, off-roading"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Customer service was really attentive and helpful. We'd read a few negative reviews, but no jokes, these guys were straight down the line. There are some rules that you need to follow, like obeying the speed limit, not driving in the dark outside of built-up areas, and not driving in heavy rain. We stuck to those and there were no problems. I believe it's the only 4WD camper hire that actually allows you to go off-road (which we did!), so if you play by their reasonable rules, you can have some real fun. The price was also significantly better than other providers.

It would have been great to be able to hire bedding off them or a local laundry, as we did have to go out and buy these, and did choose to bring some from home too, which filled our bags. But they do offer crockery and cookware hire. The tent was in reasonable nick, only a few things, like one zipper not doing up properly, but all in all, it was an easy set up and comfortable rig.

Everything was as we had ordered. There was one sound coming from the engine on the first day — they asked that we take it to the local mechanic, who couldn't replicate the fault, and it was totally fine after that anyway. But the team was really helpful throughout that process and nothing was a worry.

Our bond was returned in full in I think about three days. Would definitely use Australian 4WD Hire again, and recommend them. :-)

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much I.B, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD holiday.

Wal - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Thanks for a great trip"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Australian 4WD HIre made our whirlwind trip around Alice and the Rock a dream. Booking was easy and a slight change to our plans was easily accommodated by the attentive booking staff. We touched down in Alice and were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of the vehicle and the camping gear we were presented with. Staff at the depot were friendly and helpful. The vehicle and the gear performed without a hitch, the return process was as trouble-free as the collection, and then the return of the security deposit was actioned within a day.We would certainly recommend them and will certainly use you again. Thanks!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Wal, thank you for your review and feedback. It is great to know that your booking and hire were trouble free form beginning to end. We strive to ensure this is the case on all hires and it is good that our staff are hitting their mark. We are glad the equipment suited your trip and that you got good use of the vehicle. We welcome you back anytime and look forward to helping you plan your next 4WD getaway!

T. Bretschneider - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Very good car for adventure trips!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We have done a trip from Darwin to Brisbane including the outback and the Rainforest in cape york (most northern point was Cooktown).
The Toyota did very well – no technical problems on the 7500km trip!
The camping gear especially the chairs were very comfortable.
The rooftop tent was ideal for the trip, much better than a ground tent, because it is much faster and easier to setup and dismantle.
The E-Mail communication with 4wd hire is very good.
Thank you 4wd hire!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello T.

    Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    If you are ever looking for another 4WD hire, we would love to assist with your adventure.

Cheryl Cullen - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Cape York 2018"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a terrific time up in the Cape. Our vehicle performed without a hitch. It was reliable and fuel efficient. The roof top tent was comfy. I think we are hooked and are going home to look at 4WD’s now. Thanks Australian 4WD hire for enabling us to have a one in a lifetime experience.

Kind Regards
Cheryl and Kevin Cullen

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Cheryl, Thank you so much for your kind review. It is our goal to ensure our customers enjoy their holiday and that the vehicles are best suited to their needs.
    We hope to assist you on your next 4WD getaway!

J. Meredith - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Worry free road trip"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Friends from Wales joined us in Broome for their Australian Road Trip adventure of a life time and I must say that the experience of hiring a 4WD vehicke from Australian 4WD to drive from Broome to Darwin was an important element in the pleasure of our Outback journey. iAlong the way we stayed at Fitzroy Crossing, El Questro, Lake Argyle, Katherine and then home to Darwin (fir us). The vehicle ran smoothly all the way and even the little hiccup with the fridge, was attended to by Australian 4WD promptly. Would we recommend Australian 4WD to others - yes, Wiukd we use them again - yes. And to cap the whole positive experience off, we received our security bond back into our bank in double quick time. Joan and Terry Meredith, Darwin.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
W. Gonzalez - avatar not loaded
, Colombia
1 Review

"Amazing Trip using our Prado with Australian 4WD Hire"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We have an amazing experience in The Red Way Center Australia ,our rent with Australian4WDhire give us the freedom to do all we wanted in our trip. all the equipment is perfect for a outback adventure, even for new adventurers, so easy to do all the process from renting the car to the set up for the camping , all the people that answer our online inquiries were very helpful . for our next trip to The Great Australia for sure we will use this company Again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. Withheld - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"I should have walked"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Due to this company's willingness to threaten litigation for alleged defamation, I will only post a link to a recent ABC news article that I advise all potential customers of Australian 4WD Hire to read. My experience as a customer is identical to one of those listed in this article:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-07-07/4wd-hire-company-refutes-litany-of-scamming-complaints/9935858
You can also read a press release from an Australian Member of Parliament warning consumers about this company here:
https://www.timnicholls.com.au/aus_4wd_hire
Then you can read some of the company's responses to various negative reviews (probably including this one) on this and different sites, and judge for yourself whether a professional, reputable Australian company would respond to complaints in such a manner, or conduct its business in such a way that causes a politician to make a speech to the Australian parliament to warn against doing business with them.

1Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
A. Ficarra - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Amazing vehicle and great customer service!! :)"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

My boyfriend and I were planning a camping trip to the Daintree Rainforest and Cape Tribulation and needed a 4x4 hire. After doing some research we decided that Australian 4WD Hire was the best choice. We grabbed a 4WD Toyota Prado with a rooftop tent and all the camping, recovery and safety gear you could possibly need.

The vehicle was clean and did everything we needed it to do. The customer service from people we have dealt with at Australian 4WD Hire was very professional and helpful. The trip went perfectly to plan and the car ran beautifully. Also, our security bond was returned to us within the first full business day of returning the vehicle. Overall, an excellent experience. I would highly recommend Australian 4WD and look forward to using them for our next adventure!!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello A. Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your trip and look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

C. de Graaf - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"great trip on the Gibb"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We, a family of five from Holland, travelled Western Australia for nearly a month in one of Australia 4wd’s vehicles: a Toyota Landcruiser Prado. An excellent way to experience all the beautiful places in the coastal area near Ningaloo Bay and even on the Gibb River Road on our way to Darwin. The car performed as if it were brand new, although it had allready driven more than 60.000 kilometers when we started. Our journey started in Broome where we got a nicely cleaned car from the local agent. And, very important, instructions for lowering the pressure of the tyres when driving on unsealed roads. This, and carefull driving, certainly contributed to a hassle free holiday. We had no damage, not even a flat tyre! And we drove 6500 kilometers. The local agent in Darwin did a quick but thorough check on our vehicle when we returned it last wednesday. Only a few days later we got an email from Australian 4WD’s office with a confirmation of the return of the bond we paid.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello C, thank you very much for choosing Australian 4WD Hire, it is great to hear you enjoyed your trip and we are glad to hear the vehicle and equipment were suitable for your needs. We hope to see you again for another 4WD adventure!

O. coste - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Cheapest and best services in Australia"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

From France, we planned a one month trip with a 4WD across Australia. We asqued for many quotes. First they were the cheapest secondly they allow us to go anywere, and there is no limite distance. Many places are prohibited with most of the rentals: JimJim, Tanami, lost city etc... We could go every where we wanted. The team in Darwin was super cool, we arrieved one day sooner and no extra cost. Same for drop off in Cains they drive us dowtown after the drop. I realy recommand Australian 4WD Hire.

Coste Olivier
www.sisyphe-explorer.com

5Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very Olivier, we absolutely appreciate your business and wonderful cooperation during your trip.
    It is great that you enjoyed your trip and the minor issues that happened along the way were resolved quickly and did not impact your hire too much. We look forward to helping you on your next 4WD getaway!

T. Tims - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Highly recommended"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Guys from the head office were the most helpful. Absolutely all of my questions, before, during and after hire were answered and I could not be any happier with the service that I received. Regarding all the recent media coverage, dealing with the company was a pleasure. I never felt or experienced anything even close to what was described in the article or in some of the negative reviews. It seems as though the media is just trying to sell their stories by spreading fear and confusion without considering any of the happy customers.

Australian 4wd has the clearest t&c’s of any company we looked into and far less restrictions. We hired a Toyota Prado with a ground tent, car had a few km’s but was in immaculate condition and never skipped a beat. Brett at the Darwin depo did an amazing job checking us out, everything was shown and explained properly. To have such a good start to the holiday gives you a very nice feeling and puts your mind at ease.

Our experience was great from the start till the finish. Bond was refunded a couple of days after we returned the car, this was an absolutely worry-free holiday. For anyone who’s looking into hiring with these guys: if you don’t have any plans to mistreat the vehicle and want to get 100% out of your outback holiday, then this is definitely a company for you, you just need to take care of the car like you would if it was yours, which wasn’t hard for us. We will be back for sure. See you soon Australian 4wd.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value