Australian 4WD Hire Review

Customer rated 4.6 / 5 from 46 reviews

Editors Review

Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf


But here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
J. Karkossa - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Amazing Roadtrip - Amazing 4WD!"

  • Reviewed 5 days ago

We had an amazing trip with our 4WD. Everything went without problems and we highly recommend Australian 4WD Hire. We had all the equipment we needed. The vehicle was great, performed well and the roof top tent was so easy to set up! We were 4 people in total and it was just perfect. They even gave us a tent to set up. Everything included, very glad we chose Australian 4WD Hire!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks J.
    We are very glad you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

J. Wong - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A great 4WD hire company!"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently hired a Jeep Wrangler from these guys on a trip over to Perth as a 4WD is a must if you really want to visit the most beautiful places in Australia. Besides it handling amazingly off road and on beaches, it was an extremely nice car to drive inner city and to the more accessible tourist locations. It was clean and tidy from the beginning and their customer service and communication was great and quick to respond. Super happy with my hire! Payment was made easy via card and the bond processed on location. Nothing to fault here!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you J. Its great to hear you enjoyed your trip and that we were able to assist you in visiting such wonderful places. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

S. Wulff - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Outback WA, Zero asphalt drive"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi Maryna
We had a great trip around the central WA back roads.
The vehicle was great. Performed well, as did the supplied equipment. Even the roof top tent worked well. We were two guys and I was sceptical that the sleeping area would be a tad cosy..... it wasn’t and in fact plenty of elbow room.
The pub building is the only remaining structure in the abandoned WA mining town of Big Bell. A 20 year mining boom from 1935. Broken Dreams! East of Cue. The only inhabitants now were snakes and Roos.
The London Bridge is in the Nature Reserve on the outskirts of Sandstone WA.
The art .... caste iron figurines- at least 20, planted out in the vast lake Ballard - just NW of Menzies. “Why?”, one might ask.
A great drive.
Thanks guys.
Regards
Sam

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review S, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that all of the equipment and the vehicle were well suited to your needs.
    Thank you for your business and support!

Sonja - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Perfect setup for a family adventure"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a beautiful time camping with the Hilux in the national parks around southern Victoria. The gear was very practical and well maintained and the car was very well serviced. Our boys loved sleeping in the rooftop tent!
The company staff was very friendly and helpful. We got our bond back fast without any problems. The contract details could be clearer but for the rest we were very satisfied.

5Service 5Mechanical 4Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Sonja, thank you very much, we are very glad your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

B. L. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Excellent Company!"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a lot of comparing all available 4wd Rentals in Australia, I decided to go for Australian4WDHire.

If you are looking for well maintained 4WDs, with quality equipment, an excellent support and a reliable team of service professionals: Australian4WDHire is your choice.

After several offroad trips in Namibia and Botswana, it was time to explore what Australia had to offer.
We did a 9 day trip: up to Coral Bay and from there offroad along the coast towards Yardie Creek thru Cape Range National Park and return the same way. It was not much time, but we wanted to get a first impression of Western Australia off road.
Terrain included beach driving, boggy sand and some rocky sections.

Our Toyo Hilux was in mint condition: latest model, low mileage, clean, with a well maintained engine bay, interior and underbody in great condition and lots of quality equipment ranging from TJM, General Grabber Tires to Engel and Coleman.
And even during our trip no issues whatsoever occured; the team really kept their promises.

Speaking of the team: they did a fine job. From first contact to the end of our journey Jake and his Team, with Amber and Maryna, were very supportive and patient. I always felt well informed, with quick respond times and a very ingenious service.
We had quite some changes in travel plans; and yet the whole team always kept patient and friendly and was really willing to deliver the right ideas. That was service at it‘s best!
During the whole process we never had any issues with our payments: all rates were deducted correctly and our deposit was returned within 48hrs after our vehicle return.

Again: if you are looking for a proper 4WD Rental Company, that knows their business, if you are willing to read terms and conditions thoroughly -and obviously are willing to stick to them-, if you know what off road driving means and you know how to apply the rules of common sense and if you are in search for a great time Down Under: go for Australian4WDHire.

Thanks for an awesome time, guys! I will come back to Australia and for sure will let you know then!

Regards from Germany

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you B.L! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment suited your needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback and suggestions you have made for further improvement. Customer feedback is crucial for us to provide the best service possible and give our customers the best possible experience. We thank you again for your business and support and look froward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

Adam - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Brilliant 10 days in SA thanks to A4WD!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

On a last minute holiday, we were lucky enough to book a Toyota Prado with Australian 4WD Hire for 10 days of fun in South Australia. Paul, the local agent in Adelaide was super friendly and laid back which put as at ease right away, especially considering we had never been offroading in a 4WD.

The vehicle was as described and included everything we needed for bush camping. Make sure to check the condition of everything before leaving the depot and speak up if you think something is not in great condition and make a note of it. We didn't need to, but things can wear out and break while out and about so better to be sure.

We took the 4WD on unsealed roads - nothing too extreme, mainly gravel/sand/small rocks etc. and it performed great. Again as a first time offroader - we felt comfortable the entire time and did not doubt the car once.

We will be hiring with A4WD again and we'd highly recommend them if you're are looking for exciting outback adventure!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Adam, We are very pleased to hear that we were able to make your holiday possible and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    We are also glad to hear that you plan on returning and look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime!

J.B. - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great 4WD - Clean Equipment - Superior Customer Service"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The Prado I rented for the last ten days was in perfect condition and it was a pleasure to drive. As promised, all the equipment- truck, tent, refrigerator and camp gear were spotless. My daughter and I had a great trip which was due in large part to your Australian 4WD team. I will definitely be renting from you again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello J.B,

    Thank you for you kind review, we are very pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your trip and certainly look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

R. Taylor avatar
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Perth to Albany in style."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Having arrived in WA with no idea what was in store, as soon as we entered the A4WD office we were made to feel at ease. An abundance of information and detailed walk through of the vehicles made us feel at ease right away.
It set the tone for our adventure in these new and well maintained off road vehicles and it proved to be an amazing experience for our family whilst on the road.

On return we did make a couple of superficial dents to the vehicles and we happily used our bond to ensure the damage was fixed for the next clients. These things can happen when on the road and so we budgeted for it accordingly.

these trucks are so well equipped but it definitely pays to check over all the equipment to make sure you have everything you need for this trip.

All in all we had an amazing experience travelling from Perth to Albany in these luxurious off road vehicles :D

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    R. Taylor, thank you very much for your business and support! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We also sincerely appreciate your forwardness and cooperation with respect to the minor damages. Of course it is never fun when these things happen and whilst they are a rare, they do happen from time to time and we always do our best to communicate things clearly to ensure customers receive the best service no matter what the case. It always helps when customers are understanding and cooperative, so for this we thank you. We wish you all the best and look froward to helping you on your next 4WD adventure!

R. oli - avatar not loaded
, Italy
1 Review

"Sonn back to Australia, i know mi choice of car hire company! Australian 4WD Hire"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I was hired a 100 series Toyota, with nice V8 4.7lt engine, all the necessary toys to go camping and the car had double gasoline tank which can save you lots of money in Fraser island and other places.
car worked perfectly. USB cable provided with nice sound system to plug-in my iPod.
Can't complain.... price was good.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you had such a good time and that the vehicle was well suited to your needs! Fraser Island is a wonderful place to explore and we are very happy that our vehicle allowed you to see the best parts of it. We look forward to assisting you on your next Australian 4WD adventure!

J. Ful - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Easy to deal with staff, fast responses to emails and calls, great car, will use again this year for another trip"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Thanks for a great car, a once in the lifetime road trip from Adelaide to Perth topped off with excellent customer service throughout the booking and handing in process. Special thanks to Jake and the fleet management team.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you J. We are very glad we could assist you with your wonderful trip and look forward to helping you on your next one! Thank you for your business and support.

I. Pauw - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Great trip, thanks to a great car!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

My experience with this company was good. I hired a Toyota Hillux for two months to travel from north Australia to south west Australia. The car was great (good condition, clean and what I expected and needed for the trip) and pick-up and drop-off went smoothly. The camping gear that came with the car was also of good quality. I really appreciated the tire pressure pump included in the recovery kit as I understand from people I met along the way that those are not always included by other companies. Finally, when I encountered two minor issues with the car the company's response was quick and helpful.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Iris, Thank you very much for your review. It is great to heart that the vehicle was well suited to your needs and that any issues that you experienced were handled straight away. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to helping on your next 4WD adventure!!

Andrew - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Great way to get off the beaten track"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We are return customers of Australian 4wd Hire as we have found their vehicles allow us to get off the tourist trail into more remote areas of Australia. We recently hired a Toyota Prado with roof top tent for 4 weeks to travel around Vic. and southern NSW. It is great that most of the camping gear is supplied as we come from NZ. For some of the time there was 4 adults traveling together so an extra tent and beds were supplied free of charge. We have found the company easy to deal with and willing to accommadate our needs.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your continued business Andrew! We are pleased that you have enjoyed your trip and that everything was handled fast and efficiently and that the vehicle was well suited to your needs. We look forward to once again helping you on your next trip!

Kamal - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"4WD RTT Camper was great"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had a great time in the outback, driving the 4WD RTT Camper along the Oodnadatta track. Pick up in Adelaide and drop off in Alice Springs were smooth and quick. The rooftop tent and the awnings were very functional and easy to open and close. Security bond was released without a fuss within a few hours of handing over the vehicle.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Kamal. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Voit - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Amazing Family Holiday"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We had a very pleasant experience, head office crew was the most attentive and ready to answer all of our questions before, during and after hire.

Supplying lots of pictures and links that made our preparation for the whole trip much easier. Agent in Perth was helpful and had a great knowledge about the area.

The whole camping style travel was new to us but we have really enjoyed it mostly because we were provided almost with everything that we needed for the trip.

Coming from overseas you cannot ask for a better package. Thank you!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Voit,

    Thank you very much for your business, feedback and support, we are very glad you enjoyed your trip and look forward to assisting you with your next 4WD trip

I. FABRE - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Perfect for visiting Australia"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I had a great time with this vehicle. It was just the perfect solution to visit Australia. The car was very easy to drive, recent, and in very good condition.
The roof tent was just perfect for sleeping.. and watch wild kangaroo :)

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    I. Fabre, thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure.

S. Waegemans - avatar not loaded
, Belgium
1 Review

"Great car, friendly people, good service"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

All communication with 4wd administration went over email, they were always correct and very quick to answer. At pick-up and drop-off everyone was very friendly. We had a big Toyota 4x4 which was great to drive and had everything you would expect.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Stijn, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD holiday.

Dusty - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"East Pilbara missions 2018"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Hello HTR,

Three of us travelled for 12 days around Karijini, Hamersley, Millstream/Chichester, Marble Bar, Nullagine and Karratha in the Bush Camper Large RTT. Very easy to drive vehicle with good diesel economy and spacious interior.

Some points from our trip to ponder for yours...

AUST 4WD HIRE
Very responsive and quick with replies to questions.
A couple of camping pieces could be upgraded but no real impact on the holiday.
Very quick return of the bond - appreciated.

THE VEHICLE & KIT
Always check the camping equipment thoroughly and have tape ready for any tent tears, critters get in if given the slightest chance.
Ensure you can reach all the required zips and pulleys etc on a roof top tent. I'm short so it meant a lot of scrambling.
For cooking we took a small primus/stove to do a brew while on the road. The provided cooker is excellent and quick once set up but sometimes you can't be bothered setting up the full unit for a cup of tea.
The Fuel gauge takes a while to get moving when full, don't get alarmed if it suddenly starts moving, unless you're on the second tank in which case, think about filling up.

Cheers Aust 4WD - We had a great trip.

4Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Dusty
    Thank you very much for your kind review and valuable feedback. We know you had a couple issues with camping gear on your trip and appreciate your cooperation and understanding with this(even if you did get up close and personal with a termite mound :)

    Your suggestions and advice for future customers is very useful and we will take these comments on board as well.

    Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next 4WD adventure, take care!

L. Shepherd - avatar not loaded
, Singapore
1 Review

"Good communication, great service but the inside could be thought through better"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The camper itself was great, easy to drive and fairly new (29000km on the clock when we picked it up). The guys at pickup in Darwin were really helpful and clear when going round the vehicle and all the camping gear. Communication with the office was easy and they quickly responded to any questions.

The only negative comment I would have is that the back of the camper could be fitted out better, to provide more storage space - everything could only be thrown in the back of the camper. An option to hire ratchet straps would also be good.

5Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Australian 4WD Hire Official

    Thank you Luke, we are very glad you enjoyed your hire and we are pleased to hear we were able to answer any questions you had.

    We appreciate your feedback concerning the packing of the equipment and will certainly be looking into options on how we can improve this.

    We sincerely appreciate your business and support and look forward to helping with your next 4WD adventure.

Rob S. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Amazing Vehicle"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The car did everything we asked of it and more. We really tested it out over our almost 2 week trip, bring it on sand dunes, off roading and camping. The tent was really easy to set up, so much so that someone could do it on their own so having more than 1 person made it a breeze. The cooler in the back kept everything ice cold, which is vital to stay hydrated in the Australian sun. Overall, the car is amazing!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Rob, we are very glad that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs, and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your trip.

M. Pham - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great car for camping and 4 wheeling"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The toyota prada was amazing to drive and performed flawlessly.

The roof tent, camping equipment provided worked as it was intended for.

No complaints on equipment!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Michael, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that all of the equipment and the vehicle were well suited to your needs.
    Thank you for your business and support!