Australian 4WD Hire Review

Rated 4.7 / 5 from 80 reviews

Editors Review

Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf


Update 18th April 2019: The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has started proceedings against Australian 4wd Hire

https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/australian-4wd-hire-in-court-for-alleged-breaches-of-consumer-law-0

Here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
G.Pires avatar
, France
1 Review

"Australia roundtrip"

  • Reviewed 4 days ago

Roundtrip all Australia 25000km without any problem.
The car was very cooperative, and each time i had to contact the company, i received immediate answer.
Bond back very quickly.
2 times 10000 km servicing with 4WD garages, efficient.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Gerard,
    Thank you for your valued business and support, we are pleased you have enjoyed your hire with us and we look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Summer Creek - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Super comfortable car, great company. Strongly recommend!"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

We have hired Toyota Land Cruiser from 4WD Australia Hire for 19 days trip ex Melbourne. The booking was made few months before trip started, deposit paid. List of location we planed to visit was provided few weeks before departure what give us plenty of time to design itinerary. There were no issue to get permission to visit each place. Contact with them and car collection was very professional and prompt. Appointment for collection was scheduled for specific time, so there was no waiting or delays. Car was checked precisely and instruction how to use the car and equipment was given in a clear and an understandable way. The car itself was perfect. A big plus was a driving comfort on stony, rocky, sandy and consolidated surface. Easy to drive (especially for womens), we drove with the pleasure, we just loved it. Rooftop tent amazing and suitable almost for each type of environment. Takes about 5 minutes to set i tup, plenty of room inside, comfortable, can fit easily 3 girls. Basic equipment provided (large fridge, chairs, table, stove, light). USB, extra car charger slot and power socket was very useful, especially if you have cameras and other electronics to be charge. We have drop the car in Sydney. On the return, again professional check out (make sure you give a car good wash), took us about 10 minutes with no doubts. There is nothing to complaint about. The only thing company could consider is providing cutlery and cooking gadgets but this is only suggestion. It is worth mentioning about competitive pricing. I will definitely book through them again. Strongly recommend.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon for another 4WD adventure!

LorynL - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Best Customer Service in Australia!"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently completed a solo 4 month tour of Australia, driving a rented 4WD and pulling a camper trailer. In the process I interacted with a variety of businesses, from mechanics to camper sales and repair people to insurance companies and camping stores galore. Of them all, Australian 4 WD HIre was the most ethical and fair and offered the best customer service. The contract businesses where I pick-uped and drop-offed the vehicle were efficient and happy to help with whatever I needed. I interacted primarily with the main office and the staff was consistently friendly and professional. They made the rental process easy from beginning to end. The Toyota Hilux I used was nearly new and in great condition. Any issues or concerns I had were addressed immediately and a regular tuneup was done when needed. I liked the Hilux so much that when I went to Tasmania for a month they held it for me, losing the rental income they could have gotten during that time. Unfortunately, I had a small accident during my last month of renting the Hilux, causing some minor cosmetic damage. The company would have been within their rights to completely replace or repaint the damaged door panel. Instead they found someone who could repair and repaint just the ding, saving me hundreds of dollars in repair costs. They had the repair completed within 2 weeks and returned the rest of my bond as soon as repairs were done. Based on my month of renting from them I highly recommend Australian 4 WD HIre!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much Loryn! It was an absolute pleasure hiring our vehicle to you over the course of your 4 month trip around Australia. Your cooperation and patience made things like mid-hire servicing a breeze. It is wonderful to hear that you were happy with the whole process from beginning to end and we can only hope that you choose to visit again in the not so distant future. Should this happen we look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure. All the best from the entire Aus 4WD Team!

J. S. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Great value going to Fraser Island"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We rented a 4wd vehicle from Brisbane to take onto Fraser Island. It was great value for money and the vehicle was in fine working order.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review J.S. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

B. Groom - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Good experience"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Australian 4wd Hire was efficient & friendly during both pick up and return. The vehicle was in excellent condition (bearing in mind they are not used in the same conditions as normal hire cars) and was very capable & comfortable. Together with the recovery equipment the whole package worked very well. It's worth checking camping gear before leaving on your trip because it's not possible for them to guarantee the odd tent pole isn't missing. Despite what some Tripadvisor reviews have claimed, our experience was, as long as you look after the vehicle, drive according to its capabilities & tolerances, and give it a grateful wash at the end of your trip, you can expect to have you security bond returned quickly and with no complications. Thank you Australian 4WD Hire for a great trip. Hope to see you next year!

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review.. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure.

R. MORRISON - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great vehicle, great service"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a 4WD from Australian 4wd Hire for 15 days late Aug - early September and drove down from Darwin to Melbourne via Lawn Hill NP and the Gulf of Carpentaria. The vehicle we had was in excellent condition and performed really well on the trip.

Communication with the company was first rate - always a response to our queries via email within an hour and the security bond was also returned promptly (within a couple of days) after return of the vehicle.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Australian 4wd hire to other travellers - their customer service was outstanding.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Richard, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your hire with us and that you would recommend our business. We sincerely appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

L. Dalbon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Fantastic service"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We hired the FJ Cruiser for 10 days, picked up from Darwin, drove up to Wiligi Outstation in West Arnhemland, through to Mataranka, Daly River, Dundee and back to Darwin - we could not fault the car, all equipment was provided and was of good quality. Our bond was refunded very promptly, and we would highly recommend Australian 4wd Hire. Their service and response time to all enquires was fantastic.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Lisa. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

M. Paterson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Travelling the Broome - Cape Leveque road in comfort and style"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

The online service team were very helpful and prompt in answering my questions. The payment of fees and bonds was streamlined, and the return of the bond was very quick (not all companies do this!). We received the exact vehicle we requested. There was one item missing and they refunded the amount at the ned of our booking without debate. We drove from Broome to Cape Leveque and back in complete comfort and safety.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

AlexU - avatar not loaded
, Afghanistan
1 Review

"Great Car and the Experience of a Lifetime"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Australia 4wd hire was great. They were easy and clear to communicate with and were very prompt on their responses. The website can be a bit confusing but once you submit a 'request' they'll get back to you within half a day.
We explored the Dampier Peninsula out of Broome and we had a comfortable and relaxed time driving the car, it was fast, efficient and a smooth ride.
The bond was refunded quickly and efficiently.
I would totally recommend this company for anyone wanting to explore roads that are off the beaten path! Thanks so much Australia 4wd!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Alex, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire an that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. It is also a great that our staff were prompt with their responses and were able to answer all of your questions. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

P. Booth - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fabulous adventure in the Kimberley"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Dear Maryna and all at Australian 4WD Hire

Many thanks for processing our Security Bond refund so promptly.

We are now safely installed back home in the UK.

We had a fabulous 3-week adventure in the Kimberley. The vehicle was so perfect for our itinerary that included the Gibb River Road and the so-called ‘road’ from the Great Northern Highway into Purnululu NP! It never let us down, and seeing many other identical vehicles on our travels instilled a very pleasing sense of security.

We were very pleased with your high level of service, both at pick-up and drop-off.
We have to say that here in the UK we had a real problem finding a car hire company that allowed us to drive our planned route. Our travel agent here, Travelbag, could not arrange a car for us, so we had to do all the research ourselves.
We were so relieved to come across your website, and found your representatives very communicative and efficient right from our first contact with yourselves.

We have various friends back here in the UK who are thinking of visiting Australia, and we have no hesitation in strongly recommending Australian 4WD Hire for their road trips. We would also use your services again if we were to plan another self-drive tour Down Under - this latest trip to the Kimberley was our fourth visit to Australia, and by far the most adventurous. We can’t stop coming back!

Once again, many thanks for making our Kimberley road trip so enjoyable, with the best vehicle we could possibly have had.

Kind regards

All the best

Peter and Penny Booth

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Peter and Penny. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

M. Donati - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Zero Problems. Unforgettable Holiday"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

I have nothing but praise for the operators of Australian 4wd Hire. The whole process from booking to the vehicle supplied and the bond refund where all first class. Broome to Darwin taking in beach driving, Gibb RIver Road, Bungle Bungles, Kakadu. We couldn't have attempted it without the service from Australian 4WD hire. They did everything in a professional manner and cant recommend them highly enough.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Mark. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Trevor Durack - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Gibb River Road with ease"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Our experience with Australian 4WD Hire was first class.

The process of booking, suitability of vehicle and equipment, accurate and prompt communications all reassured us that we could start our Tour with confidence.

This continued from collection in Broome till return in Darwin two weeks later with each Agent competent and diligent, in both parties interest.

Take care to read your agreement as it sets the tone in which you must operate. It is fair and suitable for the safety of all passengers, the vehicle and equipment.

Car Detailing prior to return will ensure you return the vehicle clean with wear and tear issues easy identifiable and a clear sign-off before you depart.

So glad we chose Australian 4WD Hire this time and will do again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Trevor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

J. Crawford - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"We used these guys for a 3 week, 7500km trip, Perth to Darwin. we were very happy with the experience."

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We used these guys for a 3 week, 7500km trip, Perth to Darwin. The service and value was outstanding and we were very happy with the experience. We highly recommend Australian 4WD to others and hope to use them again! Their local contact in Perth – from whom we collected the vehicle- was very good indeed and offered a lot of useful advice. We were also impressed with the Prado as a comfortable long-range vehicle and can’t praise it enough.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review John. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

K. Gaschk - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A great trip exploring the Outback"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Australian 4WD Hire's service and communication were very friendly, prompt and professional.The vehicle we were given was an upgrade to what we had booked and was in very good order and their agents in Darwin were excellent to deal with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review K. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Ian W - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Holiday"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

We had a great experience driving the Kimberley’s in the Prado RTT Rooftop Camper. The vehicle and equipment were good as was the services and communication from Australian 4WD Hire. The return of my bond was prompt as well.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Ian. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Brendon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Awesome trip and vehicle"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We recently hired a 4wd from Australian 4WD Hire. We had a great trip travelling the coastline of Western Australia and our vehicle performed perfectly. Their customer service was also spot on and any questions that we had were answered promptly and professionally. The vehicle itself was maintained to a very high standard. All of the necessary camping equipment came with the vehicle which served our purpose perfectly and made for a comfortable trip.
Overall I would highly recommend Australian 4WD Hire and I would not hesitate to use them again in the future.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Brendon. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Kate - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Australia 4WD hire"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

The service was great. Responses on billing, questions on equipment etc before pick up were prompt and helpful, vehicle was as specified and did the job for us. The only incident we had was with fridge aux battery and again help on phone for a short term fix and the long term solution was effective and friendly. Our bond was returned within 3 WD. We looked after the vehicle and Aus 4WD looked after us. I would recommend them on the basis of our experience.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your hire with us and that the vehicle, and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    It is also great to hear that the issues you experienced were handled promptly and did not cause too much of hassle on your holiday, we sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

. Anthony - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Victorian High Plains TRIP March 2019"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

It was the first time we have used 4WD Hire and I was nervous - in the past we had used inferior vehicles from mainstream Hire companies without appropriate insurance for going up into the Victorian High Plains. So it was a pleasant change to be using vehicles suited for this type of holiday and all the equipment we could ever need was included.
Feedback and support was prompt from booking inquiry right through to completion of trip - FULL bond back promptly too. We had some epic base camps and have never been as comfortable as that camping before. It's like a Hotel on wheels!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much Anthony, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful and memorable trip. We pride ourselves on providing top of the line service and the highest quality vehicles and equipment, we hope to see you back again in the not so distant future, and perhaps we can make the next trip even better!

SarahW - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great vehicle and service"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

We had a great trip up in the top end of NT and WA thanks to Australian 4WD. We hired a Hilux, which was brand new with very low kms, and the camping gear made for an easy and enjoyable trip. Easy process of hiring and returning thanks to Brett in Darwin, bond payment returned within 24 hours of returning the vehicle, and good value for money when you consider the cost of hiring a vehicle with the added bonus of the gear you get through Australian 4WD.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Sarah, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire an that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. It is also a great that Brett made your experience easier and more enjoyable. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

MAI - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"it is so much better with a 4wd than a SUV"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Booking the vehicle was easy, all done on line. The bond was paid 24 hours prior to picking the car up and within 24 hours we were informed the bond was being paid back in full. We picked our car up from Darwin, the guys were very friendly and helpful. The vehicle was exactly what we expected, it ran well with no issues, which is important when you go off road. We traveled from Darwin to Broome, going off road to Emma Gorge, El Questro, Willie Creek and other places of the main road. We dropped the car off in Broome, we cleaned it at a car wash in Mavis Road that the drop off guys recommended we use.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Mary Anne, We are very pleased to hear that we were able to make your holiday possible and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!