Australian 4WD Hire Review

Customer rated 4.3 / 5 from 13 reviews

Editors Review

Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf


But here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
C. de Graaf - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"great trip on the Gibb"

  • Reviewed 2 days ago

We, a family of five from Holland, travelled Western Australia for nearly a month in one of Australia 4wd’s vehicles: a Toyota Landcruiser Prado. An excellent way to experience all the beautiful places in the coastal area near Ningaloo Bay and even on the Gibb River Road on our way to Darwin. The car performed as if it were brand new, although it had allready driven more than 60.000 kilometers when we started. Our journey started in Broome where we got a nicely cleaned car from the local agent. And, very important, instructions for lowering the pressure of the tyres when driving on unsealed roads. This, and carefull driving, certainly contributed to a hassle free holiday. We had no damage, not even a flat tyre! And we drove 6500 kilometers. The local agent in Darwin did a quick but thorough check on our vehicle when we returned it last wednesday. Only a few days later we got an email from Australian 4WD’s office with a confirmation of the return of the bond we paid.

4Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
O. coste - avatar not loaded
, France
1 Review

"Cheapest and best services in Australia"

  • Reviewed 4 days ago

From France, we planned a one month trip with a 4WD across Australia. We asqued for many quotes. First they were the cheapest secondly they allow us to go anywere, and there is no limite distance. Many places are prohibited with most of the rentals: JimJim, Tanami, lost city etc... We could go every where we wanted. The team in Darwin was super cool, we arrieved one day sooner and no extra cost. Same for drop off in Cains they drive us dowtown after the drop. I realy recommand Australian 4WD Hire.

Coste Olivier
www.sisyphe-explorer.com

5Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 5Value
T. Tims - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Highly recommended"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

Guys from the head office were the most helpful. Absolutely all of my questions, before, during and after hire were answered and I could not be any happier with the service that I received. Regarding all the recent media coverage, dealing with the company was a pleasure. I never felt or experienced anything even close to what was described in the article or in some of the negative reviews. It seems as though the media is just trying to sell their stories by spreading fear and confusion without considering any of the happy customers.

Australian 4wd has the clearest t&c’s of any company we looked into and far less restrictions. We hired a Toyota Prado with a ground tent, car had a few km’s but was in immaculate condition and never skipped a beat. Brett at the Darwin depo did an amazing job checking us out, everything was shown and explained properly. To have such a good start to the holiday gives you a very nice feeling and puts your mind at ease.

Our experience was great from the start till the finish. Bond was refunded a couple of days after we returned the car, this was an absolutely worry-free holiday. For anyone who’s looking into hiring with these guys: if you don’t have any plans to mistreat the vehicle and want to get 100% out of your outback holiday, then this is definitely a company for you, you just need to take care of the car like you would if it was yours, which wasn’t hard for us. We will be back for sure. See you soon Australian 4wd.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. SAMPSON - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"great 4wd"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

loved the car - was clean and in great order, along with the rest of the camping equipment provided. wouldnt hesistate to use them again or recommend them to a friend.

one thing i would say though is be aware of the fine print - and stick to the rules around speeding/driving after dusk etc and all will be good.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
E. Yakimenko - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The booking process is very easy and they were very helpful when I called to ask questions.

This is the 2nd time we have hired from them, last year we hired a Toyota Hilux, which was perfect.

This time we hired a Prado with a roof tent and it was great as well, both vehicles have been pretty much brand new, about 1-2 years old.

The rest of the equipment is very good, all of the basics needed for camping.

We did have to supply some of the stuff, like gas bottle for cooking and sleeping bag, but we found these for very cheap close to where we pick up.

We had a very good trip out of Perth, we travelled all the way up the west coast to Exmouth, Shark Bay, Coral Bay and even into Karijini , they are all very beautiful places to visit, and we had a lot of fun camping.

The guy in Perth was a very big help, very knowledgeable and willing to help.

Our $2500 bond was refunded pretty quickly, after about 3 days.

We had a amazing time on this trip and would definitely use Australian 4WD again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Egor, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your trip again!
    We are very pleased you decided to use us again and look forward to being your go to choice for your next 4WD adventure.
    Thank you very much for your continued business.

Rainworth - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Warning - Beware of this Company"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hired a car from A4WDHire and would not recommend them under any circumstances. I travel with a GPS tracker of my own so I know where I went and what speeds I did and I was entirely familiar with the roads and the speed limits on those roads. Following my hire I received an e-mail from Christine Burgess that was abusive intimidating and threatening and was told that I had a "Shocking DBR" (Driver Behaviour Report) coupled with threats to report me to the police. I discovered that the Company has manipulated the speed limits on roads in Queensland and the Northern Territory to create the appearance I was speeding when I was not which my own GPS data confirms. As a result my bond was retained. This behaviour by the company is intentional and certainly misleading and deceptive. I have confirmed that there is not a single instance of a 120km/hr speed limit in the NT as the Company DBR claims. I also discovered after my hire that the standard form contract I signed has open ended liability for me as hirer. If I had known this I would never have hired the car. Why does a company seek to have such a contract when it claims to have comprehensive insurance which was confirmed on my booking? Please pay attention to the reports by the ABC which I can only but endorse as true and advise Tim Nicholls MP if you have been a victim of their scams. Where is the ACCC and the Office of Fair Trading?

1Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 1Value
Chris Hobson - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Australia 4WD hire - amazing vehicle and service"

  • Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hired a large 4WD with a rooftop tent, as I was traveling for 7 weeks in the Kimberley. This allowed me to stop anywhere overnight, and the car came with cooking facilities fridge chairs table and everything that I needed to camp comfortably. The car only had 7k on the speedo and it worked very well indeed and I was totally confident of it performing on the dirt roads, and it did perform.

Only had one issue, which was not the fault of Australian 4WD, namely the bash plate fell off. This had been put on upside down by a subcontractor, so I paid for it to be fixed by a local mechanic and the company immediately refunded the money and dealt with the issue in an amazing way.

This is a very professional company who know their stuff. Fantastic staff at Darwin where I picked up and dropped off the car. Both the check out and check in procedure was straightforward, and 3 days after dropping off the car my bond was refunded.

This company and its cars are fantastic, and I have complete confidence that their cars will get you to where you want to go.

This was the second time I have hired one of their cars, and when I return I use them again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Chris,

    Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip.

    Your cooperation with the bash plate mishap was greatly appreciated and we look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

Rolf - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"A reliable partner for a 4WD rental"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Prompt quoting and easy booking, VERY! good customer service. Swift handling of querries before, during and after the rental period. The staff of Australian 4WD hire does care about his customers. I always had the feeling that we were not just 'a number' in their book. Very good quality of the car. A higher clearance would have been appreciated (compared to the rental back in 2015, the Toyota Prado seems to be fitted with standard suspension and shock absorbers in 2018). The running boards are more an obstacle when driving offroad. However, the Prado was fit for purpose. That is what counts.
Security bond has been paid back 2 days after the Prado has been dropped-off. One cannot expect a faster handling.
Very generous handling regarding the compensation of the air compressor which we had to purchase due to a malfunction of the one provided by the rental company.
Camping equipment provided was in top condition (new tent, new chairs, new stretcher, new gas stove). The white color of the camping table (table top) is a challenge to clean when being out in the bush for several weeks.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Rolf, your continued business over the years hs been greatly appreciated. You have been a star customer and we hope to continue assisting you with all future 4WD trips in Australia.

    Thank you again for your business and support.

E. Hudgins - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Uneventful car hires are the best kind."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

The vehicle itself performed well; no complaints there. There were minor issues that plagued us. The rear canopy, where all the camping gear was stored and where we put purchased food and wine was not secure. The locks did not work and the agent delivering the vehicle to us recommended we not use those locks. Also a lock on a side window of the canopy was broken and unlockable, something we discovered after a few days when someone slid the window open and stole a few bottles of wine. The vehicle had no manual and I needed one to tell me how to change a tyre. The company did communicate well with me however and I felt they were fair with me, as I was with them. They contract with different mechanical shops around the country for pick up and drop off of hired vehicles and so there are differences in quality of service from one such shop to another. We picked up our vehicle in Broome and the shop there did only a cursory job preparing the vehicle, and we had to go back to it 3x in the following 3 days for various small things that should have all been corrected before we arrived. On the other hand, the agency in Cairns where we dropped off the vehicle was first rate. This company requires hirers to post a bond so that any damage beyond ""normal wear and tear" can be repaired with bond money. In our case they required two bonds of AU $5,000 each because we planned to travel in some rugged places. The instruction was to wire money to the company to satisfy the bond requirement, so the company has the bond money (different from a credit card charge which gives the card holder some power). This means that it's entirely the company's decision how much of the bond money to refund at the end and the customer has little or no recourse. I don't know if other hire companies operate the same way or not. I would have preferred the bond money be a charge on my credit card but that just wasn't an option. My suggestion for others using this company is to curb your enthusiasm about starting your trip and be thorough about making sure all the promised camping gear is present and functional (so you don't have to go back to the shop 3x in 3 days as we did) and document the state of the vehicle at the time of pick up with photos of everything. Have them note any damage, no matter how small, and request copies of that paperwork (we were not given a copy but also failed to ask). In the end and looking at the big picture, our troubling issues were relatively small and the big thing was that the vehicle itself was reliable and enabled us to get to some beautiful places and back again. I was 100% honest with the company and communication with them was good. I chose to replace the windscreen at the end (had a crack) rather than have the company do it with bond money because they would add an administrative charge to the replacement work. I think the company appreciated that because I took care of work they would otherwise have to do. I was refunded all of my bond money.

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 3Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Wren, Thank you very much for your honest and genuine feedback. Whilst we understand not everything was perfect, we are very pleased you were able to enjoy your holiday and appreciate your cooperation.

    As previously mentioned, we will certainly be following up with our agent regarding missing and incomplete camping gear so that this is not an issue on future hires.

    We hope your trip back home was trouble free and would love to assist you with another 4WD trip when you next visit Australia.

    Thank you again for your business and support.

P. Van der Voort - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Landcruiser Prado from Australian 4WD hire"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We were supplied a relatively new vehicle which was mechanically sound and had been serviced prior to the hire. The vehicle performed well and the hirer must operate as if it was their own vehicle. Restrictive speeds on unsealed road created long driving days and wait times for other vehicles in the group and we were always having to catch up. For a hire of this duration improvements in liveability could easily be made by the provision of a touring set up similar to that supplied by fourbyfitouts with drawers and a fridge slide. This would have allowed a much better organisation of provisions carried. But we managed and thank the supplier for allowing the travel across the Canning Stock Route.

4Service 5Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
David B. - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Review of australian4wdhire.com.au.....buyer beware!"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I hired a car from Australian4wdhire.com in April 2018. Within the written quote and confirmation, the only mention of prohibitions was use of the winch. When I arrived from the United States of America to pick up the car in Perth, WA, I was told that I could not drive the car at night. If I did not agree to this, then I would not get the keys. I signed the additional terms and conditions under duress. I drove the car at night twice and the company withheld $1,000 of my security bond for violating the contract.

Beware of the hidden terms and conditions. You cannot drive the car at night or when it rains. Additionally, they will also charge you for any speeding violations based on the GPS unit on the car.

When I asked the company about the violations, I was told that if I continued to ask about them, they would withhold my entire $5,000 bond and they would sue me. I quote "At this stage we endeavour to finalise your obligations with us in a professional manner, however should any further work be required, or if you wish to dispute this matter further, we would prefer to only do so via professional legal channels and herewith we reserve our rights, without further notice to you, to charge you under this contract for the remainder of your security bond and sue you on a full indemnity basis for all losses suffered from multiple breaches of contract, as
well as providing false and misleading information, commercial extortion, and will pursue you for all and any future legal costs deriving from this matter including but not limited to defamation in any country." This was from their Fleet Manager.

After posting this review, I received a cease and desist letter from the company through their lawyers on May 16th, 2018 threatening to sue me if I did not remove my review from this site and others. They also demanded I apologize.....hilarious.
This is probably the same reason why so many reviews have been removed by their authors on tripadvisor.
Be warned, this company's customer service post rental leaves a lot to be desired. I pity the poor customer that damages one of their vehicles. They have treated me horribly and I spent over $2,000 with them and returned the car in good condition.

1Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    In response to David B:

    Please do not be fooled by this customers misleading statements.

    All customers have access to the terms and conditions 24/7, which are available on our website.

    All booking confirmations clearly state that it is the customers responsibility to read and understand the terms of hire.

    Additionally, this customer, by his own admission, was made fully aware of the condition not to drive at night, as well as the penalties for doing so, at the time of collection.

    He then deliberately breached this term on 2 separate occasions, even after a warning was sent after the first occurrence.

    The customer was fully aware of the penalties of breaching this term and did so knowingly.

    We have enforced our policies accordingly, and since doing so he has been nothing but a nuisance across a number of forums, where numerous forum members have pointed out he is clearly at fault.

    Australian 4WD Hire has never, and will never, charge a customer or withhold any portion of their bond without clear and concise reasoning, and we will always have supporting evidence for such decisions.

    If anyone ever has any questions please do not hesitate to contact us. - Australian 4WD Hire Team

R. BISCHOF - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Excellent"

  • Reviewed

We recently hired a Toyota FJ 'Tonka' truck with a roof top tent. The vechile was excellent as was the service from the Alice Springs depot.

We travelled from Alice Springs to Uluru, Kings Canyon and the western MacDonald ranges. The tent was comfortable, and the other supplied camping gear (table and chairs) made meal time comfortable.

We had a great time.

Rob.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hi Rob, Glad to hear you had a great time, the Fj's are great fun to drive!

    Hopefully we see you back again for another 4WD adventure.

    Thanks again for your business and support.

N. Wilson - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great service and cars!"

  • Reviewed

I hired with Australian 4wd hire 2 separate times. First was about two years ago, for 7 days. We did a little family trip up to Fraser Island. Even though it wasn’t a new vehicle, it was in a great condition and served us well. We didn’t camp, so tent and beds were left at the agency, but chairs, fridge and table were very handy for day trips around the island. Everything went smoothly, and the guys at the head office were helpful and ready to answer all my questions.

Second trip was done in May 2018, this time we got a nearly brand-new vehicle which was reliable and had pretty much everything to camp. We hired in Cairns this time for 22 days. Big thank you to the agent in Cairns – Peter, we had great service, he is very friendly and has great knowledge about the area. We visited Kuranda, Daintree Rainforest, went to Port Douglas, Northern Beaches, it was an amazing holiday that me and my family will remember our whole lives.

We are planning on doing the Gibb River Road in 2019, we will absolutely go with Australian 4wd hire again, and based on my experience, I would recommend this company to anyone without hesitation. We’ve never had any problems, and everything went smoothly, from the first quote until we returned. We never had trouble getting the bond back and feel everything was communicated well from the very beginning.

It seems that if you wish to have a worry-free trip all you need to do is read the terms and conditions before hiring.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value