Australian 4WD Hire Review

Rated 4.7 / 5 from 72 reviews

Editors Review

Australian 4wd Hire is a 4wd vehicle rental company with branches throughout Australia, some vehicles have roof tents which is why we included them on this site.

Like any company we recommend you read their Terms and Condition THOROUGHLY  before you rent from them,

but we are particularly interested in Clause 8 of this company’s T&Cs about tracking the vehicle. 

We are also interested in Clause 5 Part j. Which discusses the ability of a renter to post on a public forum website after their rental is over.

https://australian4wdhire.com.au/forms_file/Australian_4WD_Hire_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf


Update 18th April 2019: The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has started proceedings against Australian 4wd Hire

https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/australian-4wd-hire-in-court-for-alleged-breaches-of-consumer-law-0


Here is a run down of the kind of vehicles they offer...

Delivering a complete range of 4WDs for tourism and travel, as well as civil, commercial and mining purposes, Australian 4WD Hire has a decent amount of vehicles available in Australia.

What Australian 4WD Hire Tells Us

Whether you want to to travel Australia for a couple of days or for weeks, the extensive options from Australian 4WD Hire makes you want to explore the rugged roads even more. In reality, 4WD hires with off-road capacity can be pretty expensive with any company, and Australian 4WD Hire is not an exception. The rates are something that you need to invest in, considering there are minimal rental companies that allow their 4WDs to be driven on dirt and unsealed roads. And for travellers who want to experience a fun and exciting self-drive holiday, the company's bush campers selection helps you achieve the outback Oz adventure. Plus, no limits on kilometers!

Fleet

All vehicles from Australian 4WD Hire fleet are simply painted in white with some marketing hints. These units vary from its key purposes— mining, civil construction, commercial and recreational travel. The Australian 4WD Hire bush campers, in particular, are designed for off-road destinations, as long as these are included in the HEMA maps, and are safe and open for travel. Some of the places that are allowed to be explored by the company's bush campers, which are normally not permitted by most 4WD hires, are Kimberley, Cape York, Bungle Bungles, Michelle Plateau, Kakadu Parks, Moreton Islands and the list continues. These bush campers range from light to medium to heavy duty, with a maximum number of 5 passengers, except the XL GT that extends up to 7 people. The bush camper rental already comes with complimentary camping equipment that includes camping table and chairs, bed, ground/ rooftop tents, ladder, cargo bag and more. 

Vehicles

4WD Bush Camper Canopy GT

Let's begin the fleet of bush campers with the Canopy GT. This model used to be based on the Nissan Navarra and Mitsubushi Triton until a fleet wide upgrade to the Toyota Hilux took place in 2018. This released the restriction on this model being light off-road only as the Hilux is a much tougher vehicle - it can now go wherever the other campers in the fleet can go. Not to mention in the event of a breakage, there are more Toyota parts around in the outback than any other brand. This specific 4WD has a sleeping capacity of 5 persons with the help of its camping ground tents. Only bush campers with GT provide ground tents (GT), and the other type, the RTT, supplies roof top tents (RTT) and Annexe tents instead. 

4WD Bush Camper Canopy RTT

Another 4WD canopy is the RTT, which means it comes with rooftop tent and Annexe tent, and not those camping ground tents. This unit is okay for off-road compared to the other 4WD canopy, but both can cater up to 5 people. There aren't much difference with the two, except for the fitted out tent handle for this one. So, if you opt not to sleep on colder grounds at night, then the RTT is for you. 


4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT

The other medium-sized RTT is a nice option for those looking some added space. This one also has a sleeping capacity of 5, which leaves more than space for all passengers. However, compared to the medium GT, there aren't much storage for your stuff because the roof rack basket holds up the rooftop and Annexe tent. 

4WD Bush Camper Large GT

For extended space, the Large GT will suffice your needs. This unit has a more slanted bull bar compared to other vehicles on set that smoothly hugs the frontal shape. Since this is a GT type, the top of the vehicle comes with a sturdy roof rack basket that can be used to store outdoor equipment and other stuff.

4WD Bush Camper Large RTT

The Large RTT is almost the same with the Canopy RTT, except for the bull bar fit-out. This one easily follows the shape of the frontal area than the canopy unit. Nevertheless, they have the same features, with rooftop tent and Annexe tent as sleeping quarters good for 5 persons.

4WD Bush Camper XL GT

For those travelling with bigger number of travellers, the XL bush camper is the answer. Equipped with bigger sleeping dimension, the XL GT, in particular, is the only bush camper that can sleep 5 to 7 people. Bigger groups can surely utilize the extended sleeping capacitiy, but just a heads up, you will all be sleeping on the ground with the provided camping ground tents. 


Insurance

In general, these campers have off-road insurance but you may still want to avail of one of their security bond or excess reduction options. The insurance excess options are as follows: $5, 000 at no additional charge, $2, 500 for $15/ day, $1, 500 for $25/day— all for driver over 25 years old and $5,000 for $50/day for driver over 21- 25 years old. Windscreen, underbody, tyre damages, and damage incurred while reversing is not included in the insurance. And since you are handling 4WDs, it is best to read the fine print carefully to know the specific roads that are permitted and not, as well as the coverage included in the insurance. 

Reputation

Just like any company, this rental business still have certain limitations when it comes to travelling the off-road. Australian 4WD Hire received a lot of poor reviews back then but still they have continuously provided unique rentals for adventurous individuals. Some reviews noted that their rentals were a disappointment because of heaps of limitations; hence, costing more money on rental. Also, the rates aren't that cheap. 

Summary

Australian 4WD Hire is definitely one of the few 4WD rentals in Australia, making it attractive to adventure-seekers. But considering the nature of rental, it is advisable to carefully read the contract— the dos and dont's so that the rental will not cost you a fortune .

From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Complete range of 4WDs
  • Simple booking and reservation process
  • Most bush campers allow off-road adventures

Cons

  • Negative feedback

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
AlexU - avatar not loaded
, Afghanistan
1 Review

"Great Car and the Experience of a Lifetime"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Australia 4wd hire was great. They were easy and clear to communicate with and were very prompt on their responses. The website can be a bit confusing but once you submit a 'request' they'll get back to you within half a day.
We explored the Dampier Peninsula out of Broome and we had a comfortable and relaxed time driving the car, it was fast, efficient and a smooth ride.
The bond was refunded quickly and efficiently.
I would totally recommend this company for anyone wanting to explore roads that are off the beaten path! Thanks so much Australia 4wd!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Alex, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire an that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. It is also a great that our staff were prompt with their responses and were able to answer all of your questions. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

P. Booth - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Fabulous adventure in the Kimberley"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear Maryna and all at Australian 4WD Hire

Many thanks for processing our Security Bond refund so promptly.

We are now safely installed back home in the UK.

We had a fabulous 3-week adventure in the Kimberley. The vehicle was so perfect for our itinerary that included the Gibb River Road and the so-called ‘road’ from the Great Northern Highway into Purnululu NP! It never let us down, and seeing many other identical vehicles on our travels instilled a very pleasing sense of security.

We were very pleased with your high level of service, both at pick-up and drop-off.
We have to say that here in the UK we had a real problem finding a car hire company that allowed us to drive our planned route. Our travel agent here, Travelbag, could not arrange a car for us, so we had to do all the research ourselves.
We were so relieved to come across your website, and found your representatives very communicative and efficient right from our first contact with yourselves.

We have various friends back here in the UK who are thinking of visiting Australia, and we have no hesitation in strongly recommending Australian 4WD Hire for their road trips. We would also use your services again if we were to plan another self-drive tour Down Under - this latest trip to the Kimberley was our fourth visit to Australia, and by far the most adventurous. We can’t stop coming back!

Once again, many thanks for making our Kimberley road trip so enjoyable, with the best vehicle we could possibly have had.

Kind regards

All the best

Peter and Penny Booth

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Peter and Penny. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

M. Donati - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Zero Problems. Unforgettable Holiday"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

I have nothing but praise for the operators of Australian 4wd Hire. The whole process from booking to the vehicle supplied and the bond refund where all first class. Broome to Darwin taking in beach driving, Gibb RIver Road, Bungle Bungles, Kakadu. We couldn't have attempted it without the service from Australian 4WD hire. They did everything in a professional manner and cant recommend them highly enough.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Mark. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Trevor Durack - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Gibb River Road with ease"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Our experience with Australian 4WD Hire was first class.

The process of booking, suitability of vehicle and equipment, accurate and prompt communications all reassured us that we could start our Tour with confidence.

This continued from collection in Broome till return in Darwin two weeks later with each Agent competent and diligent, in both parties interest.

Take care to read your agreement as it sets the tone in which you must operate. It is fair and suitable for the safety of all passengers, the vehicle and equipment.

Car Detailing prior to return will ensure you return the vehicle clean with wear and tear issues easy identifiable and a clear sign-off before you depart.

So glad we chose Australian 4WD Hire this time and will do again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Trevor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

J. Crawford - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"We used these guys for a 3 week, 7500km trip, Perth to Darwin. we were very happy with the experience."

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

We used these guys for a 3 week, 7500km trip, Perth to Darwin. The service and value was outstanding and we were very happy with the experience. We highly recommend Australian 4WD to others and hope to use them again! Their local contact in Perth – from whom we collected the vehicle- was very good indeed and offered a lot of useful advice. We were also impressed with the Prado as a comfortable long-range vehicle and can’t praise it enough.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review John. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

K. Gaschk - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"A great trip exploring the Outback"

  • Reviewed 1 month ago

Australian 4WD Hire's service and communication were very friendly, prompt and professional.The vehicle we were given was an upgrade to what we had booked and was in very good order and their agents in Darwin were excellent to deal with.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review K. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Ian W - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great Holiday"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a great experience driving the Kimberley’s in the Prado RTT Rooftop Camper. The vehicle and equipment were good as was the services and communication from Australian 4WD Hire. The return of my bond was prompt as well.

5Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Ian. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Brendon - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Awesome trip and vehicle"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We recently hired a 4wd from Australian 4WD Hire. We had a great trip travelling the coastline of Western Australia and our vehicle performed perfectly. Their customer service was also spot on and any questions that we had were answered promptly and professionally. The vehicle itself was maintained to a very high standard. All of the necessary camping equipment came with the vehicle which served our purpose perfectly and made for a comfortable trip.
Overall I would highly recommend Australian 4WD Hire and I would not hesitate to use them again in the future.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review Brendon. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We certainly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Kate - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Australia 4WD hire"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

The service was great. Responses on billing, questions on equipment etc before pick up were prompt and helpful, vehicle was as specified and did the job for us. The only incident we had was with fridge aux battery and again help on phone for a short term fix and the long term solution was effective and friendly. Our bond was returned within 3 WD. We looked after the vehicle and Aus 4WD looked after us. I would recommend them on the basis of our experience.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your hire with us and that the vehicle, and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    It is also great to hear that the issues you experienced were handled promptly and did not cause too much of hassle on your holiday, we sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

. Anthony - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Victorian High Plains TRIP March 2019"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

It was the first time we have used 4WD Hire and I was nervous - in the past we had used inferior vehicles from mainstream Hire companies without appropriate insurance for going up into the Victorian High Plains. So it was a pleasant change to be using vehicles suited for this type of holiday and all the equipment we could ever need was included.
Feedback and support was prompt from booking inquiry right through to completion of trip - FULL bond back promptly too. We had some epic base camps and have never been as comfortable as that camping before. It's like a Hotel on wheels!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you so much Anthony, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful and memorable trip. We pride ourselves on providing top of the line service and the highest quality vehicles and equipment, we hope to see you back again in the not so distant future, and perhaps we can make the next trip even better!

SarahW - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great vehicle and service"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

We had a great trip up in the top end of NT and WA thanks to Australian 4WD. We hired a Hilux, which was brand new with very low kms, and the camping gear made for an easy and enjoyable trip. Easy process of hiring and returning thanks to Brett in Darwin, bond payment returned within 24 hours of returning the vehicle, and good value for money when you consider the cost of hiring a vehicle with the added bonus of the gear you get through Australian 4WD.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Sarah, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hire an that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. It is also a great that Brett made your experience easier and more enjoyable. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure.

MAI - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"it is so much better with a 4wd than a SUV"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

Booking the vehicle was easy, all done on line. The bond was paid 24 hours prior to picking the car up and within 24 hours we were informed the bond was being paid back in full. We picked our car up from Darwin, the guys were very friendly and helpful. The vehicle was exactly what we expected, it ran well with no issues, which is important when you go off road. We traveled from Darwin to Broome, going off road to Emma Gorge, El Questro, Willie Creek and other places of the main road. We dropped the car off in Broome, we cleaned it at a car wash in Mavis Road that the drop off guys recommended we use.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Mary Anne, We are very pleased to hear that we were able to make your holiday possible and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs.
    We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

Aleksandr - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"We’ve got a great trip!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

We’ve recently rented a 4wd for our short trip to Fraser Island. Booking was quick and easy staff really friendly. We have received enough supporting information from them about our visit the island and driving conditions there. It was vital info for us because it was our first visit the island and our first ever off-road trip. We have got our Toyota Land Cruiser in perfect condition and through whole our trip had never experienced any problem with it. Bond was returned next working day from our return the car. Few words about Fraser: aboriginal legend names Fraser Island K'Gari, meaning Paradise - I can totally agree. But should mention that without proper 4WD it’s impossible to discover amazing freshwater lakes and white sand beaches. Thank you Australian 4wd hire our trip was quite easygoing and we managed to visit really spectacular places.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Aleksandr. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

NancyA - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"perfect car, excellent service!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

The company has a big choice of 4WDs. We hired already a 4WD for the second time there and it certainly won't be the last time. Each time, the cars were in perfect condition, very well maintained and absolutely reliable. And the car comes with all the camping equipment you need, also in top condition. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The refund of the security bond was both times absoltely uncomplicated and extremly fast. We can highly recommand Australian 4WD Hire and certainly will rent a car again there. Thank you very much!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hello Nancy, Thank you very much for your continued business and support. We are very pleased you have been happy with our services and look forward to helping you on many 4WD adventures to come.

Andrew.M - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Professional and personal."

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Australian 4WD Hire is professional, with a personal touch. All details of the hire were clearly communicated, and any questions I had were answered quickly and in detail. The vehicle and the equipment were as described, and the staff member arranging the pick-up was personable and went through all relevant details regarding the equipment. I would highly recommend this company to someone looking to explore Australia. The cars and the insurance provided by Australian 4WD Hire gives that extra bit of freedom needed to go off the beaten track.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Andrew. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure

j. Klien - avatar not loaded
, Austria
1 Review

"OUTBACK WAY Mt Buller Hans Grimus Memorial Trip 2019"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

Dear mates form 4WD Hire Company.
Iain Romanes (Scotland) and I Johannes Klien (Austria),
want to thank you so much for providing us by a very solid and reliable TOYOTA Land cruiser PRADO 4WD car,
supplied with excellent tyres, especially when it comes to drive on outback roads like OUTBACK WAY.
The longest Shortcut with some well worth detours.

All the way across awesome AUSTRALIA, from the East Coast of Cairns to the West Coast of Perth,
the car had no single issue over the 5.500km we had travelled and was very comfortable to drive even on gravel roads.
The fuel range extended diesel-tank and the fridge in the back of the car were extremely useful.
Same as the camping equipment. Handling the payments and bond was easy. We would be more than happy to book again with 4WD Hire for a potential next tour.
But next time we would appreciate very much to have an extra second spare Tyre. just in case.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Johannes and Iain! It was a pleasure hiring to you and we are very pleased to hear your trip across the centre was a successful one. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure and we wish you all the best! Take Care.

M. de Vaal - avatar not loaded
, Netherlands
1 Review

"Great 4WD experience!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

What a great way to see Australia! Me and my brother rented a car to drive up from Adelaide to Darwin. The car was clean and fully equipped for the trip! Both in Adelaide and Darwin the service was professional and helpful and we could not have had a better journey! I highly recommend this company if you want to go out and explore Australia in a 4WD!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much for your review M. It is great to hear that you were happy with the service you received from both of our agents and that you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Juergen K. - avatar not loaded
, Germany
1 Review

"Perfect service! Perfect car!"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

The service and all communication were excellent, all questions were answered very fast and satisfying! All persons working for this company were very friendly and very obliging.
All payments and also security bond handling were very easy, there weren't any problems. Security bond was payed back very fast.
The vehicle we booked - a Toyota Land Cruiser Prado - was in a perfect condition and it was very reliable all the times, no faults, problems or issues. The roof top tent, annexe, chairs, table and all other additional camping gear and recovery kit (including an air compressor for the tyres) were of high quality and very functional.
We used the vehicle amongst others on some 4WD-only tracks, e.g. in Ngarkat National Park (very sandy track, low tyre pressure recommended) and a bumpy and very rocky track to Memory cove in Port Lincoln National Park. We could handle all passages without any problems, the car is perfect fitted for 4WD! On the other side the car is very smooth and very silent on sealed roads. A perfect choice for all road conditions!

In summary we can only recommend this company with their friendly people, their excellent service and their reliable cars!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much Juergen. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Á. Linares García - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Amazing 4WD rental experience"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Good customer service in pick-up and return. Great value. Rented vehicle in perfect working condition and well maintained. Includes contained but more that enough recovery kit for prudent and careful use of the car. Rented a Jeep Wrangler Sport and enjoyed it on Fraser Island. Will rent with them if I go back to QLD.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you Angel, we are very glad you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle was well suited to your needs.
    We take pride on our service and are very glad to hear that it was up to scratch.
    We appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD Hire!

EBll - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Great car for a great price!"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Toyota Prado has been the perfect cruiser to relocate this car from south to north Australia for a very reasonable price. Comes with everything needed. Rooftop tent works very well, also for people who prefer glamping!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thank you very much, we are very glad you enjoyed your hire and look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!