Campervan Village Review

Rated 2.3 / 5 from 3 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 11/3/19

A conglomerate company for smaller rental businesses in Australia, Campervan Village offers lots of selections from different entities on their fleet. With the extensive rental range, they accommodate independent travellers, couples, and small families.

About Campervan Village 

This conglomerate campervan hire for smaller rental businesses in Australia offers diverse vehicles great for smaller groups on a tight budget. As a booking specialist for companies like Aventus Rentals, Bondi Vans, Mystery Machines, Rouge Rentals, Grip 4WD Rental, and Armadillo 4WD Rental, they relatively takes into account your budget and other details for you to choose the right unit. And since Campervan Village has 8 branches all over Australia, it provides one-way road trips for independent travellers and smaller families, but no free airport pick-ups and drop-offs. On the brighter side, renting a vehicle from Campervan Village may save you money because they beat competitors of the same vehicle and same travel duration by 10%. 

Fleet

Having 5 different rental companies in one cluster gives lots of options for renters, from compact 2-berth to reliable 4WD's. Though most vehicles on set are newer models, some are not fully-equipped so you need to pay an extra amount for optional extras to make your vacation a little more comfy and convenient. Still, bring your own pillows and blanket as these are not included in the extras. 

Vehicles

Mystery Machines 2 & 3-Seater Campervans

A definite standout from the conventional, white campervans on the road, these Mystery Machines painted in bright hues and colorful patterns make your holiday a bit more memorable. There are two variations—the 2-seater and the 3-seater—the prior having a Suzuki APV 4-Door Van as a base and the latter using a Toyota Regius Van. The 2-seater is a pretty new model with 5-speed manual transmission and comes with 46 litres unleaded petrol. The 3-seater, on the other hand, is a 4-speed automatic with bigger fuel capacity and an additional charging socket at the rear. Both economical campervans are equipped with cooking equipment, along with ice cooler, mattress, camping table, and stools. 

Bondi 3-Seater Compact Campervan

From the Bondi Vans, here's the first on the list—the 3-seater Bondi Compact Camper. This campervan is suitable if you're travelling with your child as it provides anchor points for a baby capsule. These compact models are affordable and fuel-efficient for a nice holiday on the road. Navigate around the open roads or urban areas with this compact in size campervan that is also supplied with essentials like gas cooker, ice cooler, mattress, and rooftop tent. Campervans may vary but all are modern hatchbacks models.

Bondi 5-Sleeper 4WD

Another from the Bondi company is the AWD camper that seats and sleeps up to 5 passengers. This vehicle is made for off the road adventures as you can access some of the most remote areas with the help of this campervan specialist. These are modern units, ranging from 2011 to 2014 models, and you can even choose either automatic or manual transmission. The campervan comes with Aux input, power steering, and air conditioning, as well as an easy rooftop tent, gas cooker, ice cooler, and more. 

Rouge Rentals 2-Seater Campervan 

Built on a 2016 Suzuki APV, this 2-seater campervan from Rouge Rentals is another head-turner on the fleet because of its bright red exterior. There's a nice kitchen with a tiny sink at the rear that is equipped with plates, cups, bowls, and other cooking and dining essentials. The living room features a small table good for playing cards or watching your favorite movies. And at night, the living area converts into a bedroom with a double bed. 

Aventus 2-Seater Campervan

Another cheap choice for newer models are the 2-seater Aventus campervans. There are two options on offer—the manual Suzuki APV 4-door van and the automatic Toyota Estima 4-Door Van. Both campervans are fitted out with a spacious interior with a lot of storage space. The kitchens at the rear are also filled with cooking facilities and a list of thoughtful extras for your cooking sessions. These campervans are pretty much the same with the 2 berth unit from Rouge Rentals but in a different color. 

Grip 5-Sleeper 4WD Hire


Also part of the rental range is the Grip 4WD campervan that caters up to 5 people. This is another option if you're off for an exciting Aussie adventure. With a 2016-2018 Nissan Navara unit, it is presumed to be easy to maneuver and can tack the outback roads with its high and low 4WD features. The vehicle also comes with a rooftop tent, including a foam mattress inside. 

FJ Cruiser 4WD Hire 2-Sleeper

To complete the Campervan Village fleet is the FJ Cruiser 4WD Hire 2-Sleeper, which is from Armadillo 4WD Rental. This new addition makes Campervan Village more interesting even if it's a third-party campervan rental company. Now, there are lots of 4WD's to choose from. In particular, this automatic campervan caters to drivers over 21 yrs. old. At the back of this unit is a kitchen area with a fridge, pull-out drawers, twin burner stove, and cookware. 

Insurance

Campervan Village considers the liability reduction option as a mandatory additional fee. By paying an additional of $32/day for 2WD and $50/day for 4WD/AWD, you reduce the liability to $3,500 for 2WD and $5,500 for 4WD/AWD and credit card imprint for all models. Aside from that, these already include coverage for 4 tyres and front windscreen and no additional fee for extra drivers. 

Reputation

Campervan Village gives you different options to choose from, not just with one company, but at least 5 different entities. Though not that popular because renters still prefer to book directly to the owners, this campervan hire is a notable choice for those looking for more affordable rates. They are suitable for budget backpackers and small families in need of an affordable road trip. Since the company isn't the real owners of the campervans, maintenance and servicing could be an issue. However, wear and tear is just a slight concern because most of the units are new models.

Summary

If you run out of a campervan booking from a renowned company, then Campervan Village may be a good option. They have a lot of selections from smaller companies that focus more on competitive rates and compact vehicles. 

From the Agency

Why hire a campervan from Campervan Village? Welcome to Campervan Village, a global tour de force in RV & Campervan rental. At Campervan Village you can hire a campervan or RV for your holiday from over 14 locations across Australia, New Zealand, South Africa or Namibia. Campervan Hire Australia from $29 Per Day. Book Online With over 20 years of experience in the industry, you can be sure that whether you are looking for a campervan or 4WD in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane or Perth, Campervan Village will not be beaten on service or price. There are more reasons than ever to rent with Campervan Village, with popular models like the Suzuki APV Campers & Nissan Navara 4WD hirevehicles available.

Pros

  • Multiple branches in Australia
  • Diverse vehicles from different companies on fleet
  • Affordable rates
  • Campervan and 4WD options

Cons

  • Some vehicles are not fully-equipped
  • Additional budget for optional extras
  • No airport pick-up and drop-off services
  • Not ideal for bigger groups

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
M. Colville - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Good little Getaway"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time down in Hobart. Vehicle was clean and tidy. Older model, but no issues. Staff were great and we got free table and chairs with our booking. Overall was great experience and would recommend anyone do a campervan trip in tassy!

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value

  • Brand Manager

    Thanks for kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your trip.

Tamara - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Top End trip thwarted"

  • Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is unethical to hire out campervans in tropical Australia that are unfit for the environment. Our wicked camper, hired through Campervan Village, should have been fitted with either mosquito proof flyscreens on the windows or with a hangable mosquito net. You cannot expect customers to sleep in a van with no windows or doors open and no air-conditioning in >30 degree heat and 80% humidity. At minimum, hire companies must tell customers they need to self equip with a mosquito net. We were unable to camp on our campervan (after a terrible sleepless first night) and we rearranged our camping trip to enable motel accommodation.

3Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hi Tamara,

    We're sorry to hear you didn't get to enjoy your trip, however Wicked hires do not fall under campervan village.

    As it stands, wicked campers do not give out mosquito netting, due to mistreatment and issues with customers in the past. It is clearly outlined on their website, as with ours, what is provided to the customer for their hire. We apologise if you feel mislead, but when collecting the vehicle, you would have been shown the vehicle and all of it's features. If this was an issue, I would recommend informing Wicked Campers of this on collection.

    Thank you and again we're sorry you did not enjoy your trip.

S. Mongomery - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Terrible and over priced"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The campervan had no curtains, no bedding. We flew into Adelaide with just a suitcase. We had to buy bedding just for two weeks.
We got charged an extra $300 at the end for returning it 30mins late, and apparently it was dirty?

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value

  • Brand Manager

    Hi there,

    We're sorry you weren't happy with how your trip played out. We do however clearly outline that we do not provide curtains or bedding with our vehicles. This was due to customer misuse and cleaning issues. Mouldy curtains and mistreated bedding can cause too many issues, so our solution was the darkest possible tint for windows and to let customers bring their own bedding options. Given our competitive pricing, this is more than compensated.

    Can you provide me more details on your late fee? What was your booking number? What date and time did you return the vehicle? That way I can look into this and look for a possible solution for you.

    Thank you.