Cheapa Campa Review

Customer rated 3.4 / 5 from 24 reviews

Editors Review

Cheapa Campa Australia is part of the Apollo campervan family and as such their vehicles are very similar. Ahh, who are we kidding, their vehicles are identical! You even pick them up from the same depot location. Their vehicles are well designed and young(ish), they have a campervan or motorhome to suit just about any budget or travelling party size, and they have depots in lots of locations, so, yes, Cheapa Campa and Apollo are pretty much the same. The main difference? Age. When they are brand new, they are Apollo, when they are a few of years old they are moved to the Cheapa Campa brand. 

Cheapa Campa Hi Top CampervanSo what’s the go here? Well on VERY close inspection you will notice a few little niceties supplied in the vehicle are different between the 2 brands. Apollo will include a personal kit such as towel, sheet, pillow etc where Cheapa Campa will not and there are few minor other inclusions in the insurance dept. But the main difference is the wear and tear. After 2-3 years of regular use, the campervans can become a little worn and they are no longer up to the Apollo brand standard so they are passed to Cheapa.

Cheapa Campa tell us you can have the same holiday - just a little Cheapa. They stress the bargain element of their large fleet size and selection. They are proud of being one of the largest privately owned motorhome rental companies in the world. They have grown a lot since inception in 1985 and the Apollo group have more vehicles on the road than any other company in Australia. They offer quality campers at a cheaper price and friendly service. 

What does Cheapa Campa have to offer? 

Well, hi-top roofs spring to mind. Every one of their vehicles is a hi-top meaning ability to stand upright in the back. This might not sound all that fantastic initially, but after a few hours of having to bend over in a vehicle, you will notice the luxury of being able to stand upright. The “budget” campervan companies bypass this expensive addition to vehicles, which helps keeps their prices down, abut also means you have to keep your head down. Cheapa Campa has spent the extra dollars on their vehicles and ability to stand upright in the vehicle is assured in all models.

Other items to note about Cheapa Campa is that all models come with a fridge, the ability to cook inside, are manual gear (stick shift) and they have a selection of diesel and petrol models. If heading to the outback then you will definitely want a diesel but if you are just sticking to coast roads, then it really won’t matter.

Whilst Cheapa Campa might be a little cheaper compared to their Apollo brothers, they are not necessarily the cheapest in the market. There is definitely cheaper campervan hire out there if you want to shop around. The Apollo family’s budget range is Hippie Campers, so if money (or lack of it) is your driving factor then Hippie is where you want to look, however, if you are looking to get some luxuries but are willing to cut out some trimmings then Cheapa Campa should be on your radar.

The Fleet

Cheapa Campa has a smaller fleet than Apollo as only some are passed down.The models are ...

  • HiTop - 2/3 Berth - 2 adults 1 child
  • 2 Berth - 2 adults but a bigger campervan than HiTop
  • 4 Berth - 4 berth motorhome
  • 6 Berth - 6 berth motorhome
  • Cheapa 4wd Camper - Standard model 4x4
  • Cheapa Trailfinder - more rugged 4x4

HiTop 2 Berth Campervan

Cheapa Campa 2 berth Hi Top campervan

This is a stock standard Hiace based hi-top campervan. There is nothing particularly special about this campervan that plenty of competitors don't have. Cutlery, crockery, pots pans, maps etc included, but paying extra per person for bedding. It has a fridge which not EVERY competitor will have so that is a bit of a bonus, but there is little else that sets this campervan apart from others. No child seats allowed. The upstairs single bed is rated for only 50kg hence you can only put a child up there. What makes this campervan attractive is simply that it is part of the Cheapa Campa brand and that it is likely to be only 3-5 years old. Many competitors will be older than this.


2 Berth Campervan

Cheapa Campa 2 berth campervan Interior

Built on the much bigger Ford Transit or similar VW model, this is the "luxury" camper for a couple. With an internal walk through access from front to back, shower, toilet and internal cooking, this camper is much better suited to long-haul travel. The toilet and shower mean you have much better options for free camping rather than caravan parks, and the large interior makes the campervan feel much more like a home. It has a larger fridge than the hitop, as well as a 3 burner stove. However, I am never that impressed with 3 burner stove tops as they are so jammed together you can't fit 3 pots on at a time anyway! But the toilet, shower and much larger space make this campervan a much more enjoyable experience for a 2 berth for those who can afford it.



4 Berth Motorhome

This is the first model you want to go to if you are travelling as a family rather than a couple. A smaller double bed on the ground level and a larger one above the driver cabin is how the bed system plays out but the downstairs bed is table and chairs during the day. This is a pass-down of the Apollo Euro Camper and is a very liveable motorhome. Toilet and shower mean you are less reliant on caravan parks for facilities and I think there is plenty of room in there for 4 peeps. You can expect it to be around 3-5 years old, hence older and therefore cheaper than the Apollo version so you can also expect a little bit of wear and tear. Don't expect this motorhome (or any from Cheapa Campa) to be absolutely perfect inside. 3 years of rentals can take its toll on interiors so if you approach it knowing that you are not in a 5-star hotel room, then you will probably have reality better match your expectations.


6 Berth Motorhome

Cheapa Campa 4 berth campervanMy last hire of the Cheapa Campa 6 berth was quite pleasant. Whilst there was wear and tear you would come to expect of a 3 year old motorhome overall it was a great trip. The layout of the 6 berth is pretty common - a permanent bed above the driver and 2 dining stations that become beds at night. As with all motorhomes this size, there's a toilet, shower, air-con, microwave, electric water pump, and 3 burner gas stove. I took out the extras package so there was also sheets, pillows, camp chairs, a table and all the things you could want. There were some leaks in the window when it rained, but that was kind of dependent on the angle the motorhome was parked at and what side the water ran off. To give some direct examples of the kind of wear and tear you could expect, the rear cushions were a bit tatty, there was plenty of white gaffer tape on the rear of the camper covering up where other people had put minor dings in it reversing, it pulled a little to the left when driving and one drawer didn't latch properly and would come open on corners. The awning support arm had trouble staying fully extended but it stayed up in general and it was still useable and used a lot. The motorhome is easy to drive, was very clean on pick . It was the cheapest 4 or 6 berth motorhome out of Cairns on the dates I wanted - yes even some 4 berths were costing more - so it was a no brainer and was well worth the money. Recommended. (see video for some sneaky inside pictures)

Cheapa 4wd Camper - Standard Model 4x4

Cheapa Campa campervan - 4wd The Cheapa 4WD Camper is perfect for off-road adventurers on a budget. It is built on the 'unbreakable' Toyota Hilux ute with  a "tortoise shell" home on the back. You can't  walk through from driver cabin to the back, but you can't do that in any 4wd campervan. The pre-built 'drop-on' shell living area allows for a more  space that converting a 4wd directly will achieve, so when it comes to 4x4 comfy living, this model is probably better. The downsize of this design is weight. This model is going to be back-heavy and the Hilux, whilst being a great workhorse 4x4 vehicle is not specifically built to do long haul 4wd, more for getting tradesmen into quarry like work sites. So when it comes to serious off-roading, the Trailfinder model is probably better. However, if you are just wanting to head to outback Australia and be confident that you will not get stuck on any of the dirt and sand roads, this model will be fine and will be slightly cosier at the same time.

Cheapa Trailfinder - More Rugged 4x4

Cheapa Campa 4wd campervan TrailfinderIf you are looking at really going on ANY road in Australia (within the Terms and Conditions of Cheapa Campa), then this model is for you. Built on the most reliable vehicle in the country, the Toyota Landcruiser Troop Carrier, this campervan will get you where you want to go. This is the model of car that locals buy who live in the harshest  parts of the country. I love this vehicle. I can live in one. I did already actually - for a year! Not luxurious, not sleek, not quiet but a great lot of fun. This is an ADVENTURE vehicle. Get this and get lost! It has all the things you need to live with like gas burner, cutlery, crockery, fridge, water tank, bench space and comfy place to sleep but nothing you don't need and no fluff. The only thing missing is not part of the fixed attachments but what Cheapa Campa does not seem to supply that others often do - recovery equipment. Whilst this campervan can go almost anywhere, it can still get stuck, or is often the case, you come across someone ELSE who is stuck and needs some help. I would like to see some basics like a shovel, a snatch strap with D-shackles and a distress beacon for peace of mind. That notwithstanding, this is a great campervan for a true Australian outback or bush adventure and highly recommended.

One word of advice, despite having a multitude of vehicles in their fleet, Cheapa Campa does book out often. At peak times it books out extremely early, so if you think this brand of campervans might be for you, then you are advised to book as early as you can. However, there are plenty of other campervan companies to choose from if you can’t get a Cheapa Campa.


Branch Locations

Get a quote on your next camper holiday

24 reviews from our community

Write review
, Netherlands
1 Review

"CheapaCampa 4WD Perth - Adelaide feb 2017"

  • Reviewed 4 months ago

We - a couple 68/69 years old - rented a Cheapa 4WD campervan (Toyota Hitop) for 3 weeks in feb 2017 travelling from Perth to Adelaide. We are returning customers with Apollo and Cheapa, also having rented from Britz, Maui and several others. Having read many comments, here is my advise for future rentals and our experience with Cheapa this time.

General observations.:
1. Many users complain about additional costs when collecting the vehicle and unforeseen additions. Yes, they may try to convince you that you really need all these extras and additional insurance-options (which are ridiculously overpriced: to further reduce your liability you will pay 25% of the risk!). And yes, they do charge for everything extra. And yes, you will know that in advance if you care to read their terms and conditions, rental agreement and the information on their website. Nobody will force you to buy additional cover or services on the spot. We didn't, apart from a 140 AUD cover for tires, windscreen and towing assistance which we found useful and worth the money.
2. If you wish to avoid paying creditcard fees, book through one of the many intermediary companies: we paid our rental costs - on request - by bank transfer. Unfortunately when collecting the vehicle you can only pay your bond - in our case 5000 AUD - by creditcard; however this procedure is followed by all major rental companies. Cheapa charges a 2% non-refundable (!) handling fee over this bond which is very customer-unfriendly. Again, we knew this in advance and we took this additional payment of 100 AUD into account when calculating the total rental costs. You should do the same (with Cheapa).
3. Our bond was refunded two days after car return.

Rental experience and advise:
1. Inventory of these Cheapa campers is poor. It seems they do not wish to spend one dollar more than needed. No camping gear but standard cheap and breakable household items. Don't break a glass when camping in the bush because you will have to share the remaining one for some time. Incomplete and non matching items. Two knives so blunt you cannot cut butter with it. Washing line was a short piece of thin and frayed rope, Etcetera, This is a weak point with all rental companies but certainly with Cheapa. Advise: bring items such as sharp knives and be prepared to shop for some items such as small boxes, wineglasses and a simple coffee perculator. It's no major thing, just be prepared.
2. The vehicle exterior was reasonably clean, inside it was reasonably dirty. Floor is ok but when you open a cupboard to refill the water container, put on some plastic gloves because it has never been cleaned. Yak. So be prepared and don't expect too much. Problem is, when you collect the vehicle, are you going to refuse it because it's not too clean? You want to be on your way, don't you...
3. When explaining the vehicle functions (our staff member in Perth was very friendly and certainly helpful), they do not use a check list. Result: things are forgotten. Advise: don't rush this and ask all the questions you need. Make your own checklist in advance! They will take the time for you, but only if you ask for it.
4. Pre-check of these vehicles is poor and I do not think they use checklists, but rely mainly on customer comments. Strong advise: check everything and have all main items demonstrated. You will no doubt find some defects or missing items. Check the spare wheel, you may need it! Make sure there is a jack. Check the vehicle tools (there were some essentials missing!) We asked to demonstrate the awning and it appeared it was broken on one end, which was invisible from the outside. You dont't want to find out when camping the next day. Battery meter was not working. The popup roof was very hard to pull down at the front (we had to live with that). On previous occasions we had broken chairs, a defective table etc. etc. You get the point.
5. Don't rent chairs for 20 AUD or more, but visit Bunnings on your first day and buy camping chairs for 7 AUD. Much cheaper and you get new stuff. We also bought a step-up and some buckets. Useful. Leave the chairs on your last camping.
6. Don't ask for a Cheapa welcome package. We did, but it failed to make us feel welcome. Two small coffee and tea strips and a dishwashing fluid sample. No cleaning towels, even matches were not included.
7. When renting an Apollo/Cheapa 4WD camper, don't expect any recovery tools. This is basically very strange, because in a 4WD you may be bogged down. The only item was a (way too small) folding shovel. We brought our own compressor - you will need it when on sandy tracks! Good point: they did provide an emergency GPS beacon.
8. A basic medical kit was thrown in, which is certainly helpful if you fail to bring your own. However they may not tell you that opening the kit will cost you!
8. Before you go, take pictures of your vehicle, especially from the outside, and make sure you date/time stamp the pictures. This also serves as a reminder that you adjust your date/time settings. In case of damage-claims when returning the vehicle this will save you al lot of trouble (unless you really did cause the damage of course).

Problems when travelling:
When renting a cheaper vehicle, which is usually a bit older, chances of problems and break downs are obviously a bit higher. If you don't want to run the risk, go for Britz and pay a lot more. That being said, the rental should be reliable. in this respect we did not have problems with Cheapa, our vehicle was in good mechanical condition and we did not have any problems apart from a not too good windscreen wiper. When you need something repaired or replaced when travelling, in our experience they will be accommodating (though not always very knowledgable).

Yes, we did have a very nice vacation!

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"HIdden cost of using cheapa-campa hire"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

The vehicle was fine apart from one or two minor niggles, the worst of which was a non-functioning CD player. However I was very disappointed with Cheaper Campa/Apollo's requirement that I buy a $2700 insurance bond using my credit card with a 2% surcharge that applies even for debit cards. I chose them largely on the basis of the price and calculate that this opaque extra charge has added 11% to my bill. I have rented vehicles around the world for nearly 40 years and have never had this experience before. Even if it is really necessary to buy such a bond, which they justified by saying that "customers have cancelled their credit cards so that they are protected against deductions for damage", then why can't you pay either in cash or by electronic banking transfer in advance? I will not be using them again and would warn others to check the total expected cost before making a booking.

2Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"our experience"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

TV did not work due to issues with the antenna

due to issues with engine, max speed limited to app 50 KM/hr during the last 200 KM

welcome pack not issued

3Service 2Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We were given the wrong model that we booked (an "upgrade")
Disgustingly dirty
returned early because of breakdowns and were given no aplogies, or refund for returning early.
My partner and I were on our honeymoon, and this left a sour taste in our mouth. We will tell everyone we every meet thinking about hiring a camper van to avoid Star/Apollo/Cheapa like the plague.

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

First and only time... Staff horrible from onset, unhelpful!! And the hidden charges are a nightmare! Don't bother paying for better insurance cover options you end up paying anyway! If you want to travel buy a cheap van or jeep!!

Just be mindful Apollo trades under different names but still the same terrible company, misleading and a waste of money!! Never again!!

1Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

I definitely DO NOT recommend Cheapa. They are part of Apollo for a start, although they advertise as a separate company. This seems misleading from the outset. The whole concept is a rip-off, because you have to pay for every single item such as bedding. Imagine going to a hotel and having to pay for bedding! Bu you are there to pick up your van and they have you over a barrel. What an annoying start. The staff are too rushed and don't take time. I think they need more staff but they are probably trying to save money there. The van was not clean and everything seemed worn and old. Not a nice feeling. The toilet didn't work and we didn't notice until we were too far away. Calls for assistance were largely ignored and the people on the phone did not seem to have a solution to offer. Steer clear of this company, go elsewhere. The whole thing leaves a really bad taste and is not what a holiday should be about. ihatecheapacampa.com

2Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Stay away from Cheapa camper!
Making a few bucks on all the little things you need , like extra driver $40, credit card use <$100 for 2 weeks rental etc.
the van we got had 247K on the clock but was just under 5 years old, very noisy, auto transmission worn out and sometimes took awhile to get into any gear . However it ran ok and did not let us down. First evening I was made aware that one headlight did not work . Did I drive away from Depo with only one light??
The light bulb was incorrectly fitted .
Still have not received my security deposit yet, after 5 days .
When I asked I was told it may take to 15 days depending on your Bank ( visa via ANZ). Funny that, only took one day to get it out
Expect no luxuries like BBQ tongs or a plastic wine glass, you have to buy your own tea towels if you want to dry your dishes etc. In short - go elsewhere to hire.

2Service 4Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

DO NOT, repeat DO NOT hire your van from this company. The hidden charges are an absolute rip-off! It will leave you feeling bitter and ruin your holiday, as happened to me using Cheapa Campas.
I cannot stress enough to avoid this company, there are much better options available.

1Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 1Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 3 years ago

Hired a motorhome in Adelaide and dropped it back to Perth.

Purpose of the trip was to play in the Annual Chasing the Sun Tournament on the Nullarbor Links Golf Course.

Was a Cheapa unit; no problems, clean. and practical for a pair of seniors.

WOULD HAVE TO COMPLIMENT THE APOLLO STAFF AT BOTH THE ADELAIDE AND PERTH DEPOTS FOR JOBS WELL DONE.

Would recommend Apollo.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 5 years ago

When I picked up the motorhome there were many faults. The van was dirty including dirty cutlery and crockery. The cutlery drawer was broken, the shower did not work, one of the gas rings on the hob did not work, the toilet did not flush, the dining table was broken. They forgot to give me sheets and the baby seat I had booked. They apologised for the dirty van and the lack of booked equipment. They gave some new cutlery, extra sheets and fixed the table for free but could not replace the van or fix the other broken things. It took 4 hours before I eventually got away from the depot and my wife and two small children were extremely tired waiting for me. I was advised to phone in a few days to see if they could arrange a replacement campervan. I phoned several times and they never returned my calls despite me leaving messages. Each time I phoned, the people who had dealt with me were never available and the person I spoke to could not help me but told me they would phone me back. They never did. The brakes on the camper van were also very weak. I reported this to the company. When I returned the vehicle I explained all the problems and gave all of the information you read here. The representative shrugged his shoulders and had nothing to say by way of explanation. Not even an apology! I feel they should not be renting out this vehicle as it is in breech of the description of goods as advertised. They said they didn’t have another vehicle to offer as they were so busy.

2Service 5Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 5 years ago

We rented a 4D camper van for about a month. The camper van was just perfect for our purposes, an extended trip to the Outback. The cooking facilities are great, and A/C is an added bonus.

The problems started after returning the camper van. After 2 weeks we got an email from Apollo, that there’s a traffic infringement and Apollo will charge 100 dollar admin fee for that, which they will refund provided e prove the infringement is not valid. My credit card was promptly charged by Apollo. After a lot of hassle with Eastlink, we got email from them confirming that the infringement was invalid since we had a valid Melbourne Pass on the alleged day of the traffic infringement. That done, I sent the confirmation to Apollo and expected to have the refund swifty paid, given that I had already had to spent hours of my holiday sorting out a mess that was not even our fault. It has been now 6 weeks and I still have not been refunded by Apollo, basically we have been ripped off by Apollo and thanks to them our honeymoon in Australia has a bitter stain.

I wanted to share this experience so you will be aware what to expect from them.

1Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 5 years ago

Great price-quality value, camper was 100% o.k!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 5 years ago

Although it was a little bit of an older van, that’s fine with us -since they are really cheap- we didn’t had any troubles with it at all.
We had a great time on our trip and the camper was pretty comfortable and well equipped.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 5 years ago

Cheapa Campa? crapa campa would be a better name. we got 400kms into a planned 2000km journey when the camper we rented had a major engine failure caused by lack of long term servicing according the the RACV man who came out. we were then told by chepa campa that it would take them 5 days to replace the van and whatever we did until then was down to us. once we agreed that we had no choice but to cancel our trip cheapa said they’d refund us all but our 1/2 days use we had out of the camper at about $90, instead they kept over $400. AVOID these shysters like the plauge and also I’d avoid APOLLO too as it the same company under a different name.

1Service 1Mechanical 3Interior 1Value
, Germany
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

Prices are reasonable, but they charge you a lot for the insurance- i.e. if you only want the standard insurance you still have to pay credit card fees & transaction fees etc. quite a few hidden costs.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
, Netherlands
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

Good service, but cars can be better checked before giving them away.

4Service 4Mechanical 3Interior 3Value
, Germany
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

we know the van are 3 years or older so they were in good condition for us no problem.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

Well equipped campervan – has everything we need but we were slightly misled as to what the price included. Comfprt wise though, very good.

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 2Value
, Austria
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

Cheapa Camper was one of the cheapest.Therefore the van is a bit older. Thats ok. Not ok was the start:
1) Battery needed charging
2) Gas was empty
3) It wasn’t very clean

The car is all in all ok. Good average

4Service 3Mechanical 3Interior 4Value
, United States
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

We have a 4 berth campervan and love it + love tourism radio and music + info.

4Service 4Mechanical 5Interior 4Value