Lets Go Motorhomes Review

Customer rated 3.4 / 5 from 15 reviews

Editors Review

Previously known as Around Australia Motorhomes, Let’s Go offer motorhome and campervan hire in Perth, Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Cairns, Darwin and Adelaide, ranging from 2-berth to 6-berth. Their focus is on offering quality service, in conjunction with modern and well-equipped vehicles. They have over 20 total years of experience in the industry. 

Fleet

If you’re looking for a motorhome or campervan that’s relatively virgin, then, Let’s Go are likely to be able to provide one. Let’s Go frequently upgrade their fleet by offering their older vehicles for sale, with two or three years’ worth of use at most, from which it can be inferred that the average vehicle in the rental fleet is significantly younger. 

Let's Go Motorhomes are exclusively fitted out with Jayco manufactured vehicles. Jayco has been manufacturing campers and caravans in Australia since 1975 and are a market leader. I just want to point out here that Jayco had revenue of $1.5Bn in 2015 showing just how big the campervan, motorhome and caravan industry has become, but I digress.

The all-inclusive outfitting of Let's Go means that all vehicles come equipped at no charge with linen and bedding (including towels), as well as outdoor tables and chairs, and kitchen equipment. In addition, nearly all models include fridges.

Automatic transmission is standard for the 4-berth and 6-berth motorhomes that Let’s Go hire out (which also have a clutchless manual feature), and it may be available upon request for 2- and 3-berth motorhomes and campervans.

Children over the age of 6 years can travel in all Let’s Go vehicles, while baby and booster seats are provided for some vehicles for those under the age of 6.

Vehicle Types Offered

Two campervan models are available: the Jayco HiTop Campervan and the Jayco 3-Berth Cruiser.

The HiTop Campervan - 2 Berth

The HiTop, a Toyota HiAce, seats two adults only; unusually for a basic-standard campervan, it comes equipped with a fridge, along with a sink, stove and microwave. A dinette converts into a double bed at night. No toilet facilities are included, due to its very compact size; however, it is ideal for the single traveller or couple on a budget.

The Cruiser Campervan - 3 Berth

The 3-Berth Cruiser is a Fiat Ducato, and seats three adults; it is also fully stocked with a fridge, sink, stove and microwave. Above the dinette, which converts to a double bed, there is a single fold-down bunk, meaning that it sleeps three adults at a stretch (more realistically, it suits parents with a child, or a couple). It also features a compact shower/toilet area, additional luggage storage space and air conditioning. A booster or baby seat can be fitted to the vehicle for children over the age of 6 months.

Four motorhomes are included in the range of vehicles: the Jayco 2-Berth Voyager, Jayco 4-Berth Conquest, Jayco 6-Berth Conquest and Jayco Conquest Royale.

The Voyager Motorhome - 2 Berth

The 2-Berth Voyager is a Toyota Hilux, the smallest motorhome offered by Let’s Go, and much like the Hi-Top, sleeps and seats only two adults. However, the double bed is permanently installed over the cabin, meaning that it is significantly more spacious than the Hi-Top campervan model, with enough room to be self-contained with a shower and toilet area. Air conditioning is also included. For a couple who aren’t on quite as tight a budget, the Voyager is probably the best and most comfortable model.

The Conquest Motorhome - 4 Berth

The 4-Berth Conquest, a Renault Master, sleeps and seats four. Two double beds — one over the cabin and one at the rear — are provided. It also goes above and beyond the Voyager, given that it has a 4-burner stove and griller installed along with the sink and microwave. It’s a much more luxurious model than the Voyager, with leather seats, a colour TV with a DVD player, solar panels and a reversing camera — and space for a bike rack. In addition, baby and booster seats (for children from under 6 months to 4 years old) are able to be fitted to the vehicle.

The Conquest Motorhome - 6 Berth

The 6-Berth Conquest is another Fiat Ducato, and is capable of sleeping and seating six adults (with space for a bike rack!). It has three double beds (two permanent, at the rear and over the cabin, and one convertible dinette) available; its kitchen facilities are probably the best of the bunch, with a 3-burner stove that has an electric hob and griller, as well as a two-door fridge-freezer. Like the Conquest, there’s a colour TV/DVD, solar panels, reversing camera and air conditioning are provided. Seats for children from 6 months to 4 years can be fitted.

The Conquest Royale - 6 Berth

The Conquest Royale is the classic “top-tier” vehicle of the Let’s Go fleet; this Fiat Ducato seats 6, has a permanent queen-sized bed, complete with ensuite bathroom (the shower even has an extractor fan!), 4-burner stove with oven and grill and fridge-freezer. A colour TV/DVD and air conditioning are included, and baby and booster seats — along with a bike rack — can be fitted.

Insurance

A $500 or 10% deposit (whichever is the larger) is required while booking.

The standard insurance requires a $6,000 bond, which averages out at around $1,000 more than some comparable companies ask; basic insurance is included in the daily rental rate, but does not cover any damage to the windscreen or tyres.

The Collision Damage Waiver package reduces the bond to $2,000, and is $19 per day for HiTop campervans and $26 per day for all other vehicles (the maximum premium payable per rental on either of these options being $1,250). It also does not cover windscreen or tyre damage.

The Maximum Protection Package reduces the bond to $450, at $25 per day for HiTop campervans and $45 per day for all other vehicles (the maximum premium payable works out at $1,800). This package is the only one to cover windscreen or tyre damage; it includes one windscreen and two tyre replacements.

These deposits are payable only by Visa or MasterCard, and will be fully refunded provided there is no damage and the vehicle is returned with fuel and gas full, but in the meantime, during the rental, the money will be taken off your card.

Reputation

On the positive side, customers describe Let’s Go vehicles as living up to the “all-inclusive” promise — they are comfortable and well-equipped, stocked with a wide range of holiday essentials. Most also say that the standard of customer service is good, with multiple reviews stating that staff at each depot across the country are friendly and helpful.

However, a vocal minority — as with any travel company — have made their dissatisfaction clear. Issues which continue to arise include worn-out campervans (one customer had the disappointing experience of hiring a vehicle described as “recent” and “luxury” which turned out to be 5 years old, with over 200,000 kilometres on the clock), as well as poorly-maintained vehicles (for example, sticky gears, non-functional GPS and broken lights, as well as hygiene offences like grease and dirt coating surfaces).

This is coupled with apparently poor communication from customer service (to the extent that calls have been known to go unanswered for weeks) and ‘money-grabbing’ policies. Some of the worst experiences reported include the company attempting to charge customers for damage incurred after the vehicle is dropped off, as well as unexpected fees and bonds being repaid in installments rather than all at once.

Although, as stated above, the majority of customers report a hassle-free hire experience, some of these issues are too glaring to ignore, and score significantly against Let’s Go as a motorhome hire company.

Extras

All Let’s Go vehicles come freely equipped with awnings (of different types depending on the vehicle), as well as outdoor tables and chairs; many other companies require you to hire these. Bike hire is available — and as part of standard service, you can order food online at Coles, have it delivered to the relevant pickup depot and Let’s Go will fully stock the cupboards and fridge.


Branch Locations

15 reviews from our community

Write review
, Australia
1 Review

"Recommended!"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

I don't normally write reviews but after reading the negative reviews (which almost put me off going with Let's Go) I felt I should give my opinion to balance it out.

I rented a two berth hi-top campervan for a one-way trip trip from Melbourne to Cairns for three weeks. The van was in excellent condition - almost brand new (1,000 km on the clock) and the inside was clean. The van was great to drive and we had no real issues with it. At one point the auxiliary battery stopped working so we went to the Brisbane depot (as we were nearby) who fixed the issue in less than 5 minutes. They also happily switched our sat nav for us (as the suction pads weren't working that well for us).

We had no issues when we dropped off the van in Cairns and were refunded our deposit (other than a deduction for replacing a pole in the awning - which we had damaged so fair enough). They also only charged us for replacing the one damaged pole rather than replacing the whole awning which was a pleasant surprise.

I would definitely recommend Let's Go - the whole fleet of vans looked very new and well kept. We had good customer service throughout and no nasty surprises/charges at the end.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"First timer to a motor-home"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

Rented for 8 weeks in October 2016. Good explanation of workings on pick up. Comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed. Deposit refunded immediately (arrived back on our credit card 3 days later) following inspection on handing van back. Very satisfied with our experience and would definitely recommend this company.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 4Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"very happy"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

I would use Lets Go Motorhomes again

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"great"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

this was a superb motorhome. loved every minute of it.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
12 Review
  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Lets Go Motorhomes was previously Around Australia Motorhomes and a few other smaller companies. As they only changed their name in the first half of 2016, the older comments refering to their previous company names have been left up.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
2 Review
  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Hi Eric

You hit a kangaroo in regional NSW. You rang us and reported it. You drove to our depot in Sydney and we checked the vehicle to make sure it was safe and then conducted necessary repairs.

I'm not sure what more proof we can supply than your admission.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
2 Review
  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Stephen

Your complaint was investigated by Fair Trading in NSW and it was rejected. We co-operated fully with them and they advised that there was no issue.

They complimented us on our co-operation and our record keeping and advised there was absolutely no issue with the safety of our vehicles.

Our fleet is currently being refurbished with all new Jayco vehicles and are of the highest safety standard.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Don't use LETS GO Motorhomes. They blackmail you. I paid for a Collision Damage Waver and paid a little extra to save bond. On pick up I was asked to pay $2000 bond. No bond, No vehicle, No refund. Some plastic moulding fell off of vehicle. They kept $605 as damage without consulting me. Vehicle not in spotless condition as stated. They said I signed agreement as to condition therefore everything was okay according to them.
Avoid this company. A change of names does not change their method of trading.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Italy
2 Review
  • Reviewed 11 months ago

Yes better stay away from them.

I'm still considering to file a suit. Can Around Australia Motorhomes charge me for something they claim I had damaged without showing proof for it? What legal action could I take?

Advice appreciated.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 11 months ago

Hey guys, stay away from Around Australia Motorhomes!
We rent a 6 birth conquest in Adelaide from 4th July - 11st July 2016. It is brand new with 1000km in meter. Everything looks so good.
BUT
Small problems occurs during our trips. Such as the interior windows cracks for no reasons, the water tank lock disappeared (locked every time before driving) when driving, etc.
Afterward, they just take 1000+ dollors from our deposit with no explanation and receipt.

i'm still arguing with them by email, but they reply me mostly once a week. And i preparing to lodge a complain to fair trading.

guys, just don't choose Around Australia because of the lower cost. They will make you pay more by other way.
SO STAY AWAY FROM AROUND AUSTRALIA Motorhomes!

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, France
1 Review
  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Avoid Around Australia Motorhomes AU!
In December 2015 we rented a motorhome 'Voyager' from AA motorhomes. Their website describes 'luxury' and recent motorhomes.
The one we got in Cairns was nearly 5 years old, over 200 000 kms,there were several impacts on the windscreen, the air conditioner was so noisy that it was impossible to sleep, inside all was greasy.
We tried to cancel the reservation and agreed to lose our 500 Australian dollars deposit. We had a long and difficult (we are French speaking people) conversation on the phone with a very unpleasant manager from AAM in Sydney.
We eventually had to take the vehicle. But after 3 days we understood that we couldn't spend our 10 last days in Australia in that unsafe ,ageing, uncomfortable motorhome and we decided to return it . We lost quite a lot of money.
We were cheated by a dishonest and unscrupulous company.
SO STAY AWAY FROM AROUND AUSTRALIA Motorhomes!

1Service 3Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Italy
2 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

Better stay away from Around Australia Motorhomes AU!

After driving from Melbourne to Adelaide we were driving to the West along the Murray River. One evening we didn’t quite make our way completely to Narrandera where we had reserved a camper site and that made us drive after nightfall for about half an hour. Murphy’s law promptly made us hit a kangaroo at about 65 or 70mph on the front side. The poor animal was dad but the impact seemed light enough (one loose light but still everything was working) to continue our journey. The next day we drove another 560km to Sydney, where AA Motorhomes made us change the vehicle. The offer was gladly accepted since we had some other issues with the vehicle: the transformed bed in the mid section (based on the table) was falling down occasionally during night; the toilet pump was broken; and the freshwater level sensor never worked during the first week.
As the staff was examining the damage, they pointed out how lucky I was that the CPU / on-board computer system was not affected by the image a fact that seemed natural after driving that extra day. In contrast, several front panels and sheet metals including the light fixation and the driver’s side door needed replacement.
While I continued happily the journey with my family the staff continued to examine the damage over the following weeks. 10 days later they reported that the CPU was no longer working and that it needs further examination before they could close the repair bill. After that several months passed as the CPU allegedly had been shipped to Europe for repair and my bond of AUD 6000 remained frozen. After more than half a year I got my final bill including the repair of the CPU of AUD 2200, making up more than 50% of the total repair fee.

While I surely blame myself for both, driving at night (killing that poor mate) and not having bought a better insurance the way my case has been handled by Around Australia Motorhomes AU makes me feel utterly uncomfortable. Even upon request and in spite of obvious indicators, the company never felt obliged to provide any proof showing the linkage between the impact and the damaged CPU.

My take-away:
Better stay away from Around Australia Motorhomes AU!
Better buy a good insurance!
Don't drive at night!
Enjoy the ride anyway!

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

We decided to use Around Australia for our dream trip around Australia. The campervan was lovely (apart from a few issues with lights not working, bike locks not supplied, unroadworthy bike and a few other minor bits and pieces) but we took a day out of our trip and got them all fixed easy enough.

During the 3 months we had a great time but their communication was average (no answer to calls, not answering messages) but again it wasn't a big deal as we didn't have urgent issues so just tried again until we did get an answer.

The problem came when we returned the campervan when they kept most of our 6000 dollar bond for nearly a month (they gave it back in instalments). They then charged us over 1000 for damage that occurred after we dropped the campervan (we even got the cctv footage to prove that the damage occurred after we dropped the van off).

We contacted Fair Trading about our experience and they contacted Around Australia on our behalf. Around Australia wouldn't budge so our only option was to go to court in the state we picked up the vehicle so by the time we paid for flights to get to Melbourne (where the van was picked up) it wasn't worth the hassle.

I'd avoid Around Australia if at all possible!

2Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 4 years ago

We rented a motorhome for a month, November to December, in Perth. Several things have made us very unhappy with AAM. WE selected them because the web site cited insurance included, but once there we find out that Australian insurance is required. That cost almost an extra $1000 dollars. Fees for using AMEX were not disclosed, until we were there, even though the deposit was charged to AMEX. They claimed the booking company is to blame for non disclosure. More unexpected fees. We also got a chip in the windshield, reported it, and was told it would be around $300-400 dollars because if the chip is on the drivers side, it can’t be repaired. But when we returned the vehicle, the chip could be repaired and we were spared another big bill.
We found the company to have different answers when talking to different people. The unexpected fees were very upsetting, do you lose your deposit without a back up plan or pay more? We came away very unhappy with the Perth office and the overall feeling we had been duped and deceived. I will not recommend AAM to anyone.

2Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 2Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 6 years ago

We got a reloacation campervan from Sydney to Adelaide and we never were told that the car was already broken. Having 3 very young kids, the relocation offer was too good to be true (we thought). We took the car for the 5*relocation offer and paid the full price for the 1 extra day we wanted to spend on the south-east part of the Australia. We were shortly to see that the car’s computer was a mess and in certain circumstances the car wouldn’t change a gear from 4 to any other higher gear. We called to the service company a couple of times and they said when the problem accured you have to disconnect the battery in order to solve the problem. Nobody from the company nor the service company told us we should call the service every single time the problem occured so we kept on fixing the same problem over and over again.

We soon realized we could not do it via Lakes Entrance nor south-east Australia but we should take the Hume Highway to Melbourne/Adelaide. The car kept having the problem with the gearbox every once in the while. It made our trip a hell. Even if the car was cheap we’d never booked it if we knew it wsa broken.

When we got to Adelaide the owners of the car said us to be happy to get the car so cheap and forgot all about the problems since we didn’t call the service company every time the car broke down. We got no compensation what so ever! We never wanted a compensation for a days we did only pay a relocation cost but since we paid a full cost for the last night (and we were not able to take our original route because of the wreckage of a car breaking down!!!), we never got a dime for compensation. That’s what we’re very upset about. So beware if you are after a compensation, you’ll never get it. That’s how helpful/understanding the staff is.

Beware of this company — if everything goes right it could be a good company but if something goes wrong you’ll be totally ignored. I would not recommend the companies – Bartrack Australia nor the Around Australia Motorhomes to a aware customers.

2Service 2Mechanical 2Interior 2Value