Wicked Campers Review

Customer rated 2.5 / 5 from 27 reviews

Editors Review

Wicked Campers Review – Are They Really Wicked

Ah, Wicked Campers Australia. The most polarizing campervan hire company in the country. You’ll either love them or hate them. With each van individually painted you will stand out from the crowd anywhere. Other Wicked renters will flock to you so you can compare notes, any and all backpackers in the area will know there is more backpackers inside that van. It is your ticket to having people come to your van to talk.

Wicked Campers – A Wicked Reputation

Wicked Campers has a reputation for encouraging their renters to flaunt rules, cut corners, and generally do anything to save money. This encouragement has been excitedly gobbled up by many a renter in the past and, having maybe gone just a little bit too far, has given Wicked renters a somewhat dubious reputation. Their customers have a reputation for not maintaining standards. Unfortunately, Wicked themselves have also been accused many a time of not maintaining standards by their own renters. Stories of breakdowns and being left in the middle of nowhere with no help from Wicked abound. But keep reading there is a silver lining.

Wicked Campers were the first successful kid on the block with the “budget” vehicle where comfort and quality took a back seat to just getting from place to place in the cheapest possible manner. Their reputation grew, and now they are a worldwide company. However, they had a reputation of skimping on little things like servicing the vehicles and keeping them viable operational and then not giving a hoot when a renter called from the middle of nowhere with a breakdown. This reputation must have finally started to hurt the bottom line as more competitors entered the market as they now seem to have expanded their fleet to include “premium” vehicles and the reputation for breakdowns has diminished. There are still plenty of haters out there, a quick trip to facebook will come up with some Wicked Campers hate groups with a few hundred members, however, you will also notice that they have over 4000 people who like them, they must be doing something right.

The long and the short of renting with Wicked is this: you get what you pay for. They are aiming at the discount market and are simply the most successful company to do it. You can’t get to number one by being the worst, so suck it up and if you rent from Wicked, go in with your eyes open. Cheap but very cheerful.

Wicked Campers Vehicles

Wicked vans are simple and work to the same basic layout. They have an esky (cooler box) instead of a fridge, they have a 40-litre water container (removable) for the sink. They have the kitchenette section at the back that must be used with the rear door open. They come with advice on how to best save money whilst traveling. There are no bells and whistles, but they are simply the most loved brand of cheap van because they don’t try to be something they are not. You will have the best or the worst time in a Wicked. Like I said at the start – polarizing.

In the last few years, they have expanded their fleet a little to include 4wd, mini campers, and Premium models. Here is a short rundown of them:

Mini Campers:

Small hatchbacks kitted out with some basic sleeping gear. Only to use short people who only have a small backpack each as luggage. Will be cramped and will suck if you just need to hang out in it while it rains. Basically, this is just sleeping in a car.

4wd:

Well, as they clearly mention, their vehicles are All Wheel Drive. The difference between 4wd and AWD is that a true 4wd will have a Hi range and Low range gear selection. This is all about the gearing ratios in the mechanics that I won’t go into here. AWD basically is just a normal car that has 4 wheels engaged at all times. AWD vehicles are OK on dirt roads but once you get in to really rutted terrain are going to struggle more. Also, the brands of the cheaper versions, Honda and Suzuki do not have a great reputation for staying together and if you break anything whilst in a more remote location, you are going to struggle to find parts in smaller towns. The more expensive Toyota 5 seater (sleeps 3 or 5) can be expected to be more reliable, more comfortable to ride in and a lot easier to get parts if you have to have repairs on run. Pretty much all their 4wd vehicles sleep in roof tents so you need to be comfortable with heights and the idea of sleeping in a tent.

On the Wicked website, they suggest some popular trails. These vehicles will cope on the Oodnadatta track, the Kings Kanyon track and most the others, however, I DO NOT RECOMMEND you do the Gibb River Rd in these vehicles – particularly after and bad weather. That river crossing can be a b!tch and that river is full of crocs.

One the up side, you can rent them if you are under 21y.o.

Premium:

Vehicles are all relevant to the starting point of Wicked Campers. Their premium is still pretty crappy compared to some companies, but seeing as this is a budget company, you are looking at the premium in that space. They might have premium paint jobs, but really they are just managing to crawl in the bottom level of most of the other major campervan companies. If the facilities of the wicked Premiums interest you, you should look seriously at other companies too in this rental space like Hippie Campers and Cheapa Campa or maybe even Camperman

Summary:

Wicked Campers come with hi adventure with maximum unknowns. Not recommended if you want to get to your destination on time, or at all, but the unknown and unplanned element of a journey are normally what make for the best memories. However, go in with your eyes open, this is a budget company and things are going to be tacky, sticky, dirty and broken, but they are going to be dirt cheap.

By Tim Ahern


Branch Locations

Get a quote on your next camper holiday

27 reviews from our community

Write review
, Belgium
1 Review

"Absolute, complete ripoff"

  • Reviewed 2 months ago

When picking up the van, they hit us with a $600 surprise extra charge, after booking confirmation and everything. So they left us with 2 options: forfeit our several hundred dollar deposit and find another company to rent a van, or pay the extra $600 to rent theirs at an exorbitant price. The van itself wasn't great either, a bit shabby and uncomfortable and a ridiculous gas guzzler compared to similar sized vans. We were promised camping chairs and a table upon booking, yet upon pickup they were "unavailable" so we didn't get any, even though we were promised them. Staff were rude and unhelpful when we voiced our complaints. AVOID THIS COMPANY, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Sweden
1 Review

"They stole my money!"

  • Reviewed 3 months ago

Don't do business with wicked campers. They are not a serious business. I rented a car for ten days and was told there was a fee for a special track. As I was unsure wether I would take the track or not I asked what I should do. Their response was pay upfront and if you don't take the track we will refund you.

When I got back without having taken the track they told me the refund would take ten days. It's been 2 months and several emails but still no reply. The first two emails I got a reply "we'll get back to you soon". After the third email they haven't even bothered answering me.

Very dishonest and poor customer service. They wouldn't take cash because once an employee took the money and flew to Thailand. I mean come on!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Their vans don't break."

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

They gave us a van which would not break. When we returned it after 10 minutes, they refused to change it.
We then drove 1 hour before parking the van an finding out that they had forgotten to give us the key to close it (yes, it needed a separate key for that)
So we returned to the Sydney depot, where they gave us the key a said they would compensate us. But they never did.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Shit company- boycott!!!!"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

Do not go with this company! Charge for out of hours return, read the fine print carefully as the liability reduction is pointless and there are so many hidden charges. Shit service, crap vehicles

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"VEHICLES ARE NOT ROADWORTHY, DO NOT HIRE!"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

The van we were issued was not roadworthy and literally fell apart as we were travelling along a 100km highway. We then had to organize emergency assistance, a mechanic, and stay at a run down motel in the middle of nowhere for three days whilst we got the van fixed. After many emails back and forth they offered no compensation for the motel stay and issued no apology for endangering our lives on the road. DO NOT HIRE FROM WICKED CAMPERS. A truly awful company that does not care about its customers

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Brazil
1 Review

"Wicked Campers is NOT an option"

  • Reviewed 7 months ago

This should be the last of your lasts options. Way too much money for what you get. I already knew that the vans were old and beaten but pray you won't need to depend on Road assistence. Of coure it breaked down and the worse part was having to deal with their "road assistance" service. The guy must be the biggest cunt in Australia. They didn't answer my calls and would respond my messages 2 hours later. I was on my own with a broken van with no assistance at all at night! This is outrageous. Not to say that he refuses to send me a new Van, really really bad... Wicked is a TRAP!!! Never ever again

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Worst Company!!!!"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

WORST COMPANY!!

We hired one of wicked campers 3 sleeper mini campers picking up at Adelaide and dropping off to Melbourne. Unfortunately, we had a number of things wrong with our camper and we are extremely disappointed at the quality of the car we was provided. We have a list of things that went wrong and were unacceptable for the amount of money we paid to hire this camper. After countless emails back and forth they showed no interest or care in our concerns and we have now been completely ignored.

- Our car had no horn, this is illegal to drive a car with no horn. We was driving the great ocean road and a kangaroo jumped out on us in the road. This should of been checked before we was given the car. Johns response to this was that this is a "minor issue."

- This is supposed to be a 3 sleeper camper. We are 3 small girls and this was unbelievably uncomfortable to sleep in all 3 of us, this should be a 2 sleeper!! We had to take turns in sleeping in the car as the sleep was too uncomfortable.

- Our car had a noise the tyre was making the whole journey. The lady said to us this has been fitted with bigger wheels than it should have which is why the car is making this noise, however hiring a car for 5 days straight and hearing this whilst driving on winey roads like the great ocean road, this gave us low confidence we was driving a safe car.

- We paid $10 per day for kitchen equipment. Our equipment provided had food over the plates, the cutlery was dirty and the wooden spoon was mouldy. This was disgusting and we refused to use the plates we were provided. After one use of the cooker, this also broke and we struggled to use this at all without people around us assisting or letting us borrow theirs. It should not have been provided at all and should be thrown.

- The tent is secure on the roof with Velcro only. We was driving along narrow roads and the tent cover opened up and fell infront of our windscreen - whilst driving which nearly caused an accident. When we dropped off our car we saw other cars with straps to hold their tent on top safely.

To top all of this off, we tried to drop off our car keys as explained, and there was nowhere to leave them. Someone else was there, spoke to someone on the phone and said we can leave it in the box at the front. We then received an email to say we will be charged $200 if these aren't returned.

In addition to all this the tent we was provided with was half broken and extremely dirty.

Overall, we are incredibly disappointed with the quality of the service wicked campers provided. And the ignorance of their staff.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Shameful disgraceful company"

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

The off colour remarks and the appearance of their vehicles are totally inappropriate! On their website the word C**T!!! is written in texta on the inside of the vehicle, my daughter asked me what's a c**t daddy, she actually said that. Disgraceful, misogynistic and revolting. Who creates a company like this? Shame!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Canada
1 Review

"YOUNG FIRST TIME TRAVELLER’S DON’T HIRE - invest your time and money in safety instead."

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

After travelling with Wicked Campers, I would NEVER do it again nor recommend. The most appealing aspect was affordability, but it comes at the price of SAFETY. My friend and I were both renting a vehicle for the first time and took it on the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne. While giving the benefit of the doubt, our vehicle proved unsafe for normal road conditions and would not pass a road inspection. The van had minor defects (i.e. broken radio, curtain fixings without curtains) but the greatest SAFETY concerns were:
Sideview mirrors - would turn in on uneven roads or when reached 80km/hr driving speed
Steering Wheel - incredibly misaligned. Driving straight had the steering wheel at nearly 75% angle. Obvious an accident had taken place before and repair was not completed.
Windshield wipers - outdated and worn out. Even when cleaning the blades, it made driving in the rain WORSE.
We discovered all the defects while nearly out of the city. In addition, we were given the keys and left to leave the lot without any instructions for vehicle use. There was also no car manual. Just lots of stickers and decals posting any liability of the car on the renter (this is why it is CHEAP).

Upon returning the vehicle, we voiced are concerns and felt that they were well received. We received instructions for who to communicate with regarding our dissatisfaction. After sending a very polite and thoroughly crafted e-mail, with photo and video evidence, we were told that an investigation would take place and our concerns would be taken care of. After a month, no follow-up e-mail was sent so we inquired about the status of our complaint. One day later, we were told that nothing was done. Based on the hiatus time, and the response to our follow-up e-mail, we doubt the company did anything and that car is still on the road. For a company that values “Safety, Value and Practicality” but views these concerns as “minor inconveniences”, shows the misalignment of morals as a business practice principles.

While the price is an incentive, the safety as claimed by the company is not to standard. Spend the extra money with another company (with an international reputation), to have a safe, enjoyable, and hassle-free trip.

3Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Austria
1 Review

"Ruins your vacantion"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

At the pickup already a huge spider (I mean Australian huge) sat in the car. No liquids where checked and the car had a broken bumper and head light. Wanted to return it sooner, because of the whole experience but of course no refund. I hope I will see my deposit again... why is it taking them to deposit it into an Australian account 2 weeks? Crooks

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Spain
1 Review

"Never never never"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

They are a totally disaster. Dirty, unsafe, they don't have most of components they say they have. Only goods to take pictures of them. I don't recomend it at all and I will never hire with them. Take any other company or book a car and a tent.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, France
1 Review

"Go elsewhere!!!!!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Customer service is the worse I have received, when things go wrong with the van don't expect anything to be done with any urgently. Not only haveing to chase them up for updates all the time we where let down time and time again and seemed like they just tell you anything to get you off the phone. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone I know! Hopefully this helps you

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 1 year ago

"C#%t" do you wanna be surrounded by pictures of male genitalia and misogyny? This is your company!

Ok, so as a traveler, I too like to find the cheapest nastiest deal to get me to my next destination. The upside to wicked campers is that yes, they'll probably give you the cheapest deal (even though they'll charge you unknown fees for insurance, "remote location" or one way journeys).

When you book with them, be prepared to be surrounded by a cesspool of teenage Bogan misogyny. As a woman in a same sex couple, I wasn't really prepared to be surrounded by male genitalia. Actually regardless of my gender or sexual orientation... Should I have to be surrounded by male genitalia!?! In every box I opened- and yes, I appreciate the pretty pathetic irony- I found a picture of a penis with generally hairy balls. The side of the van was graffitied with a picture of a lurid green python erupting from a man's pants with the slogan "trouser snake", the other side of the van told me to "ride the snake". Then there was the casually misogynistic sticker, with wicked logo, on the kitchen wall telling me to clean up the van using the word "c#%t" and then the slogan on the boot saying "b#%ch, I know I said I wanna loose weight but I'm hungry".
Could it all be a wonderfully ironic piece of art? I don't think so- as much as I wish it were so.

Top this off by not being told how to put the bed together (in a three seater it requires significant manipulation of the third seat) being asked to vacuum the sand from the floor at the end of hire (I'm not talking excessive amounts but what ANY hire car company would deem reasonable) and being surrounded by tacky permanent marker brain farts.

I have vowed to never again use this company. This is my second time (the first time I specifically requested a van that didn't have a sexist slogan on it... They told me they could not hand pick the van given the demand at the time of rental). I will pay for the privilege (maybe an extra $50-$100 for a week, of believing in a different kind of humanity- one that doesn't tell a "c#%t" to clean up the kitchen (I apologize for the language, but you should know what you're getting yourself into).
If you need a van... Rent from Juicy Campers or Hippie Campers of hitch hike, or message me, I'll give you a lift... Anything to stop these disgusting vans from being on the road.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Wicked Campers Review"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We actually ended up renting from Wicked Campers for our New Zealand road trip. Its actually a bit funny- As americans, we had absolutely no idea how many campervan companies operate in New Zealand. We counted over 15 different companies renting out everything from rusty old Toyota Vans to brand spanking new $150 k mansions on wheels.

We ended up quite please with our Wicked Camper Iconic 2 Seater. It turned out to be just enough room for the both of us to fit in the back comfortably when it was sleepy time, which is something of a feat since we're both 6'Ft.

The kitchen setup was far from luxurious as we're talking about a plywood table and some plastic bins, but it seemed like a high society setup whenever we saw other campers pulling out milk crates containing their stove, cook ware, and food all jumbled toghether.

The vehicle itself was in good shape. I was pretty skeptical as we'd heard a lot about piss poor condition vans from wicked, but ours was in fantastic shape. It was a late model Toyota Voxy that ran like a top the entire time we had it. The tires looked brand new and it was turned over to us nice and clean. In fact, we ended up being the ones to return it worse for the wear- someone backed into our van in the parking lot of a national park. They left a huge dent in the back and shattered a taillight. Still waiting to see how wicked handles the charge for it.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!...EVER!!!
Just hired a Wicked camper van with my girlfriend for three weeks. I will try to explain our experience as best and accurate as possible. The concept of Wicked is great, but the execution was far from remarkable.

Firstly be warned that the pick up and drop off 'depots' are in the middle of no where. Our pickup location took us 4 hours from the main city that it was described to being closest to. Took a 50 min train, waited 45min for a bus, 15 min in the bus and a 20min walk in 37 degree scorching sun with luggage and finally we discovered the pick up point. We were met by a person, who was lovely, but explained that he did not work for wicked buti in fact his mate who was some where else did and he was just 'filling in' for him.

The "bed" in the back is hardly a bed and myself and my girlfriend (who are 180cm and 165cm tall respectively) were forced to lie like pretzels squeezed in a sardine can in the back for 21 days straight. Fun for the first few nights but not being able to stretch out in the comfort of your bed gets tiring after half a week.

Our van had a sexist 'tagline' plastered all over the back, which was very embarrassing to drive around in.

Finally after three weeks we arrived at the specified drop off point, at the time and place specified in the contract, and waited...and waited...and waited. Again in the middle of no where. After 45min of waiting we missed our train and our connecting bus. During this time we called the head office NUMEROUS times, Over and over. We tried calling the number of the person who was meant to pick up the car, no answer. We tried called every number on the contract and the website, and what do you know, no answer! After waiting over an HOUR and depleting our credit on our mobile phone after calling over seas and local numbers again and again, and using Internet searching for an email for wicked we decided to leave and drive to the next state.

After we finally got the car out of our hands, thank god!, and we missed out connecting train and bus, Wicked tried to argue via email that we didn't take the required steps to contact anyone when there was no one at the drop off point, and that compensation for loss of transport fund was not due???

All in all we had an amazing experience on our holiday, we did some amazing thing and saw some beautiful places, but the van really let us down. I would NOT RECOMMEND WICKED TO ANYONE!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 2 years ago

We hired the mini camper without the tent on top for 5 days driving from Adelaide to Melbourne. The staff was friendly, gave us plenty of cookware, soap, and a small grill. The car was fine the whole time, no accidents or issues. Watch out for kangaroos as hitting those is not covered in the insurance policy, which we did opt to buy. Our biggest challenge was trying to find places that we were allowed to sleep overnight in our car, but we found free places to sleep with BBQ grills and bathrooms for 3 nights and paid for a caravan park for the other night. They expect you to clean the car at the end at a carwash, but they barely checked it when we dropped it off. I would recommend the company.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 3 years ago

I recently took a really pleasant road trip renting a wicked camper, the sales team are really friendly and the vehicle was pretty much brand new - BUT - it's been 4 weeks since I returned the vehicle and I'm still waiting to receive my whopping $5K bond back. I haven't been able to get in contact with anyone but sales, who repeatedly have told me they don't have any new notes on my booking, and can't/won't put me in contact with accounts or any other area. I feel that this company is very poorly managed and I don't think I would not rent from them in future. I'm currently stuck thinking I may have to claim credit card fraud with my bank just for my bond to be returned!

1Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 3Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 3 years ago

It's interesting how wicked have also moved to include small hatchbacks with rooftop tents on them. Not bad for those who just want to stick to the bitumen!

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 3 years ago

In the land of Oz now, the Queensland Gov’t is going after wicked. We have rented thrice from them: Darwin, Adelaide and England, marvelous vans, good people, sort of third world in the best way possible. Go wicked!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Netherlands
1 Review
  • Reviewed 4 years ago

Had a awesome with wicked in Australia and New Zealand. Hired a wicked for 3 months in Australia and drove more than 14000km without breakdowns =)

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value