Wicked Campers Review

Customer rated 2.5 / 5 from 27 reviews

Editors Review

Wicked Campers Review – Are They Really Wicked

As an Aussie website born and bred we reckon we know a bit about this iconic company! Ah, Wicked Campers Australia. The most polarising campervan hire company in the country. You’ll either love them or hate them. With each van individually painted you will stand out from the crowd anywhere. Other Wicked renters will flock to you so you can compare notes, any and all backpackers in the area will know there is more backpackers inside that van. It is your ticket to having people come to your van to talk.

Wicked Campers – A Wicked Reputation

Wicked Campers has a reputation for encouraging their renters to flaunt rules, cut corners, and generally do anything to save money. This encouragement has been excitedly gobbled up by many a renter in the past and, having maybe gone just a little bit too far, has given Wicked renters a somewhat dubious reputation. Their customers have a reputation for not maintaining standards. Unfortunately, Wicked themselves have also been accused many a time of not maintaining standards by their own renters. Stories of breakdowns and being left in the middle of nowhere with no help from Wicked abound. But keep reading there is a silver lining.

Wicked Campers were the first successful kid on the block with the “budget” vehicle where comfort and quality took a back seat to just getting from place to place in the cheapest possible manner. Their reputation grew, and now they are a worldwide company. However, they had a reputation of skimping on little things like servicing the vehicles and keeping them viable operational and then not giving a hoot when a renter called from the middle of nowhere with a breakdown. This reputation must have finally started to hurt the bottom line as more competitors entered the market as they now seem to have expanded their fleet to include “premium” vehicles and the reputation for breakdowns has diminished. There are still plenty of haters out there, a quick trip to facebook will come up with some Wicked Campers hate groups with a few hundred members, however, you will also notice that they have over 4000 people who like them, they must be doing something right.

The long and the short of renting with Wicked is this: you get what you pay for. They are aiming at the discount market and are simply the most successful company to do it. You can’t get to number one by being the worst, so suck it up and if you rent from Wicked, go in with your eyes open. Cheap but very cheerful.

Wicked Campers Vehicles

Wicked vans are simple and work to the same basic layout. They have an esky (cooler box) instead of a fridge, they have a 40-litre water container (removable) for the sink. They have the kitchenette section at the back that must be used with the rear door open. They come with advice on how to best save money whilst traveling. There are no bells and whistles, but they are simply the most loved brand of cheap van because they don’t try to be something they are not. You will have the best or the worst time in a Wicked. Like I said at the start – polarizing.

In the last few years, they have expanded their fleet a little to include 4wd, mini campers, and Premium models. Here is a short rundown of them:

Mini Campers:

Small hatchbacks kitted out with some basic sleeping gear. Only to use short people who only have a small backpack each as luggage. Will be cramped and will suck if you just need to hang out in it while it rains. Basically, this is just sleeping in a car.

4wd:

Well, as they clearly mention, their vehicles are All Wheel Drive. The difference between 4wd and AWD is that a true 4wd will have a Hi range and Low range gear selection. This is all about the gearing ratios in the mechanics that I won’t go into here. AWD basically is just a normal car that has 4 wheels engaged at all times. AWD vehicles are OK on dirt roads but once you get in to really rutted terrain are going to struggle more. Also, the brands of the cheaper versions, Honda and Suzuki do not have a great reputation for staying together and if you break anything whilst in a more remote location, you are going to struggle to find parts in smaller towns. The more expensive Toyota 5 seater (sleeps 3 or 5) can be expected to be more reliable, more comfortable to ride in and a lot easier to get parts if you have to have repairs on run. Pretty much all their 4wd vehicles sleep in roof tents so you need to be comfortable with heights and the idea of sleeping in a tent.

On the Wicked website, they suggest some popular trails. These vehicles will cope on the Oodnadatta track, the Kings Kanyon track and most the others, however, I DO NOT RECOMMEND you do the Gibb River Rd in these vehicles – particularly after and bad weather. That river crossing can be a b!tch and that river is full of crocs.

One the up side, you can rent them if you are under 21y.o.

Premium:

Vehicles are all relevant to the starting point of Wicked Campers. Their premium is still pretty crappy compared to some companies, but seeing as this is a budget company, you are looking at the premium in that space. They might have premium paint jobs, but really they are just managing to crawl in the bottom level of most of the other major campervan companies. If the facilities of the wicked Premiums interest you, you should look seriously at other companies too in this rental space like Hippie Campers and Cheapa Campa or maybe even Camperman

Summary:

Wicked Campers come with hi adventure with maximum unknowns. Not recommended if you want to get to your destination on time, or at all, but the unknown and unplanned element of a journey are normally what make for the best memories. However, go in with your eyes open, this is a budget company and things are going to be tacky, sticky, dirty and broken, but they are going to be dirt cheap.

By Tim Ahern


From the Agency

No word from this agency yet. Come back and see if they checked in soon.

Pros

  • Cheap with great paint jobs
  • Rent to under 21y.o
  • Sociable – Wicked renters talk to each other
  • Good advice on saving money
  • Lots of vehicles and depots

Cons

  • Break down reputation
  • Reports of being feisty and unclean
  • Low headroom inside most vehicles
  • Bottom end equipment
  • Have been targeted for unsafe vehicles

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Compare prices now

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
, Belgium
1 Review

"Absolute, complete ripoff"

  • Reviewed 5 months ago

When picking up the van, they hit us with a $600 surprise extra charge, after booking confirmation and everything. So they left us with 2 options: forfeit our several hundred dollar deposit and find another company to rent a van, or pay the extra $600 to rent theirs at an exorbitant price. The van itself wasn't great either, a bit shabby and uncomfortable and a ridiculous gas guzzler compared to similar sized vans. We were promised camping chairs and a table upon booking, yet upon pickup they were "unavailable" so we didn't get any, even though we were promised them. Staff were rude and unhelpful when we voiced our complaints. AVOID THIS COMPANY, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Sweden
1 Review

"They stole my money!"

  • Reviewed 6 months ago

Don't do business with wicked campers. They are not a serious business. I rented a car for ten days and was told there was a fee for a special track. As I was unsure wether I would take the track or not I asked what I should do. Their response was pay upfront and if you don't take the track we will refund you.

When I got back without having taken the track they told me the refund would take ten days. It's been 2 months and several emails but still no reply. The first two emails I got a reply "we'll get back to you soon". After the third email they haven't even bothered answering me.

Very dishonest and poor customer service. They wouldn't take cash because once an employee took the money and flew to Thailand. I mean come on!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Their vans don't break."

  • Reviewed 8 months ago

They gave us a van which would not break. When we returned it after 10 minutes, they refused to change it.
We then drove 1 hour before parking the van an finding out that they had forgotten to give us the key to close it (yes, it needed a separate key for that)
So we returned to the Sydney depot, where they gave us the key a said they would compensate us. But they never did.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Shit company- boycott!!!!"

  • Reviewed 9 months ago

Do not go with this company! Charge for out of hours return, read the fine print carefully as the liability reduction is pointless and there are so many hidden charges. Shit service, crap vehicles

1Service 2Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"VEHICLES ARE NOT ROADWORTHY, DO NOT HIRE!"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

The van we were issued was not roadworthy and literally fell apart as we were travelling along a 100km highway. We then had to organize emergency assistance, a mechanic, and stay at a run down motel in the middle of nowhere for three days whilst we got the van fixed. After many emails back and forth they offered no compensation for the motel stay and issued no apology for endangering our lives on the road. DO NOT HIRE FROM WICKED CAMPERS. A truly awful company that does not care about its customers

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Brazil
1 Review

"Wicked Campers is NOT an option"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

This should be the last of your lasts options. Way too much money for what you get. I already knew that the vans were old and beaten but pray you won't need to depend on Road assistence. Of coure it breaked down and the worse part was having to deal with their "road assistance" service. The guy must be the biggest cunt in Australia. They didn't answer my calls and would respond my messages 2 hours later. I was on my own with a broken van with no assistance at all at night! This is outrageous. Not to say that he refuses to send me a new Van, really really bad... Wicked is a TRAP!!! Never ever again

1Service 1Mechanical 2Interior 1Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Worst Company!!!!"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

WORST COMPANY!!

We hired one of wicked campers 3 sleeper mini campers picking up at Adelaide and dropping off to Melbourne. Unfortunately, we had a number of things wrong with our camper and we are extremely disappointed at the quality of the car we was provided. We have a list of things that went wrong and were unacceptable for the amount of money we paid to hire this camper. After countless emails back and forth they showed no interest or care in our concerns and we have now been completely ignored.

- Our car had no horn, this is illegal to drive a car with no horn. We was driving the great ocean road and a kangaroo jumped out on us in the road. This should of been checked before we was given the car. Johns response to this was that this is a "minor issue."

- This is supposed to be a 3 sleeper camper. We are 3 small girls and this was unbelievably uncomfortable to sleep in all 3 of us, this should be a 2 sleeper!! We had to take turns in sleeping in the car as the sleep was too uncomfortable.

- Our car had a noise the tyre was making the whole journey. The lady said to us this has been fitted with bigger wheels than it should have which is why the car is making this noise, however hiring a car for 5 days straight and hearing this whilst driving on winey roads like the great ocean road, this gave us low confidence we was driving a safe car.

- We paid $10 per day for kitchen equipment. Our equipment provided had food over the plates, the cutlery was dirty and the wooden spoon was mouldy. This was disgusting and we refused to use the plates we were provided. After one use of the cooker, this also broke and we struggled to use this at all without people around us assisting or letting us borrow theirs. It should not have been provided at all and should be thrown.

- The tent is secure on the roof with Velcro only. We was driving along narrow roads and the tent cover opened up and fell infront of our windscreen - whilst driving which nearly caused an accident. When we dropped off our car we saw other cars with straps to hold their tent on top safely.

To top all of this off, we tried to drop off our car keys as explained, and there was nowhere to leave them. Someone else was there, spoke to someone on the phone and said we can leave it in the box at the front. We then received an email to say we will be charged $200 if these aren't returned.

In addition to all this the tent we was provided with was half broken and extremely dirty.

Overall, we are incredibly disappointed with the quality of the service wicked campers provided. And the ignorance of their staff.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Shameful disgraceful company"

  • Reviewed 11 months ago

The off colour remarks and the appearance of their vehicles are totally inappropriate! On their website the word C**T!!! is written in texta on the inside of the vehicle, my daughter asked me what's a c**t daddy, she actually said that. Disgraceful, misogynistic and revolting. Who creates a company like this? Shame!

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Canada
1 Review

"YOUNG FIRST TIME TRAVELLER’S DON’T HIRE - invest your time and money in safety instead."

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

After travelling with Wicked Campers, I would NEVER do it again nor recommend. The most appealing aspect was affordability, but it comes at the price of SAFETY. My friend and I were both renting a vehicle for the first time and took it on the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne. While giving the benefit of the doubt, our vehicle proved unsafe for normal road conditions and would not pass a road inspection. The van had minor defects (i.e. broken radio, curtain fixings without curtains) but the greatest SAFETY concerns were:
Sideview mirrors - would turn in on uneven roads or when reached 80km/hr driving speed
Steering Wheel - incredibly misaligned. Driving straight had the steering wheel at nearly 75% angle. Obvious an accident had taken place before and repair was not completed.
Windshield wipers - outdated and worn out. Even when cleaning the blades, it made driving in the rain WORSE.
We discovered all the defects while nearly out of the city. In addition, we were given the keys and left to leave the lot without any instructions for vehicle use. There was also no car manual. Just lots of stickers and decals posting any liability of the car on the renter (this is why it is CHEAP).

Upon returning the vehicle, we voiced are concerns and felt that they were well received. We received instructions for who to communicate with regarding our dissatisfaction. After sending a very polite and thoroughly crafted e-mail, with photo and video evidence, we were told that an investigation would take place and our concerns would be taken care of. After a month, no follow-up e-mail was sent so we inquired about the status of our complaint. One day later, we were told that nothing was done. Based on the hiatus time, and the response to our follow-up e-mail, we doubt the company did anything and that car is still on the road. For a company that values “Safety, Value and Practicality” but views these concerns as “minor inconveniences”, shows the misalignment of morals as a business practice principles.

While the price is an incentive, the safety as claimed by the company is not to standard. Spend the extra money with another company (with an international reputation), to have a safe, enjoyable, and hassle-free trip.

3Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review

"Wicked Campers Review"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

We actually ended up renting from Wicked Campers for our New Zealand road trip. Its actually a bit funny- As americans, we had absolutely no idea how many campervan companies operate in New Zealand. We counted over 15 different companies renting out everything from rusty old Toyota Vans to brand spanking new $150 k mansions on wheels.

We ended up quite please with our Wicked Camper Iconic 2 Seater. It turned out to be just enough room for the both of us to fit in the back comfortably when it was sleepy time, which is something of a feat since we're both 6'Ft.

The kitchen setup was far from luxurious as we're talking about a plywood table and some plastic bins, but it seemed like a high society setup whenever we saw other campers pulling out milk crates containing their stove, cook ware, and food all jumbled toghether.

The vehicle itself was in good shape. I was pretty skeptical as we'd heard a lot about piss poor condition vans from wicked, but ours was in fantastic shape. It was a late model Toyota Voxy that ran like a top the entire time we had it. The tires looked brand new and it was turned over to us nice and clean. In fact, we ended up being the ones to return it worse for the wear- someone backed into our van in the parking lot of a national park. They left a huge dent in the back and shattered a taillight. Still waiting to see how wicked handles the charge for it.

5Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 5Value
, Canada
1 Review

"Awful..."

  • Reviewed

If you rent a camper van that is spray painted with graffiti here are the things you NEED TO KNOW
- Much of the graffiti is quite offensive, lots of sex and drug references.

- Many private campgrounds will not allow you to stay as they want to be seen as family friendly. I felt as if the staff purposely withholds this information so prepare to be turned away.

- While on hire with a wicked camper van somebody vandalized our van (smashed the tail lights) at a national park due to its offensive nature. I luckily purchased the insurance policy but they still charged me for half of the materials. This would not of happened in a regular white camper van.

- Van was cleanish and ran ok but had trouble getting up many of the hills in Tasmania

- Some of the states in Australia are beginning to ban these awful vans

Just spend the extra 100$ and go with someone else, I will never rent from Wicked ever again

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Austria
1 Review

"Ruins your vacantion"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

At the pickup already a huge spider (I mean Australian huge) sat in the car. No liquids where checked and the car had a broken bumper and head light. Wanted to return it sooner, because of the whole experience but of course no refund. I hope I will see my deposit again... why is it taking them to deposit it into an Australian account 2 weeks? Crooks

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Spain
1 Review

"Never never never"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

They are a totally disaster. Dirty, unsafe, they don't have most of components they say they have. Only goods to take pictures of them. I don't recomend it at all and I will never hire with them. Take any other company or book a car and a tent.

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, France
1 Review

"Go elsewhere!!!!!"

  • Reviewed 1 year ago

Customer service is the worse I have received, when things go wrong with the van don't expect anything to be done with any urgently. Not only haveing to chase them up for updates all the time we where let down time and time again and seemed like they just tell you anything to get you off the phone. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone I know! Hopefully this helps you

1Service 1Mechanical 1Interior 1Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 3 years ago

It's interesting how wicked have also moved to include small hatchbacks with rooftop tents on them. Not bad for those who just want to stick to the bitumen!

4Service 4Mechanical 4Interior 4Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

I had an ok time in my Wkd campervan, the back of ours said “Running on pure faith”, and boy we were.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Australia
1 Review
  • Reviewed 7 years ago

I would rent from Wicked Campers again.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Netherlands
2 Review
  • Reviewed 8 years ago

The trip along the east cost with the wicked camper was so awasome for us and we have made a lot of great experiences. We have rented an Ultra Wicked – 2 Seats camper in sydney and 3500 km later we have arrived cairns. We didn’t have any problems with the van, it runs perfectly. It’s a cheap way to travel around in australia. I would recommend Wicked Campers to anyone.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, Netherlands
1 Review
  • Reviewed 4 years ago

Had a awesome with wicked in Australia and New Zealand. Hired a wicked for 3 months in Australia and drove more than 14000km without breakdowns =)

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
, United Kingdom
1 Review
  • Reviewed 4 years ago

In the land of Oz now, the Queensland Gov’t is going after wicked. We have rented thrice from them: Darwin, Adelaide and England, marvelous vans, good people, sort of third world in the best way possible. Go wicked!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value