Epic Campers Review

Rated 5.0 / 5 from 12 reviews

Editors Review

Last Updated: 10/18/19

Started as a side gig now a full-time business, Epic Campers is now a well-known, local, and independent campervan hire with depot in Auckland rents out white-washed, self-contained 2 berth campervans.

About Epic Campers

In 2018, the owners combined their love for travelling with business, hence the birth of Epic Campers. They are located in Mount Albert, which is a 20-minute taxi ride from Auckland Airport. They may allow pickups/ drop-offs outside their office hours but for an extra charge. Epic Campers knows the fun and beauty of freedom camping; hence, they focus on self-contained campervans that can be rented by 21 yrs. old or older. Their rates are on the budget side, which is an added feature to the good reputation of this small but growing company. And when you freedom camp in NZ, better know the freedom camping rules ahead so you will have a more enjoyable and convenient adventure. 

Fleet 

All Epic campervans are exactly the same―white-washed, high-roofed Mazda Bongos with the self-containment sticker and company logo on the exterior. Since all campervans are self-contained, renters are blessed with freedom and ease while travelling. The age ranges from 2011 or newer so that you are assured of highly functional campervans. These models, however, are only suitable for up to two people; hence, large families couldn't take advantage of their fleet. 

Vehicles

2 berth Campervan 

As the Epic fleet is packed with all 2 berth campervans with the same layout, features, and extras, renters will not have a hard time choosing. To start, the exterior of the campers is simple with a slight hint of advertising. Featuring a dual battery system, you can run the fridge while listening to music or charging your laptop and other devices. Inside, you get to enjoy the pull-out kitchenette loaded with essentials including sink, gas cooker, 15L WAECO fridge, and some kitchen utensils. Whether you're cooking or reading your fave book, the interior LED lighting does its job effectively. The 2 bench seats with a nice table become a large, comfy double bed.  And since this one is a self-contained unit, you are furnished with a portable toilet for extra convenience. 

Insurance

Epic Campers insurance excess is $5,000 while bond amounts to $2,500 (Risk Taker). This can be reduced by taking one of their excess waiver options namely: Chancer and Epic Cover. For Chancer, an additional 17.5/ day for 21 to 25 yrs old or $15/ day for 26 yrs old+ reduces the excess to 2,500 and bond to $1,500. On the other hand, the Risk Taker at $30/ day for 21 to 25 yrs old or $25/day for 26 yrs old+ limit the excess to $0 and bond to $200. 

Reputation

Whilst Epic Campers only offers a restricted fleet of the same campers, they hold a great reputation when it comes to the quality of service and maintenance of vehicles. All rentals are personally handled by the owner, hence seamless instructions and communication. Their campervans may be smaller but these are pretty cosy inside with all the essentials you need, just like the pictures noted on the website. For a personable team like Epic Campers, you get to enjoy your road even more. And all their numerous, positive feedback can attest to that. 

Summary

Orbiting around a range of all 2 berth, self-contained campervans, Epic Campers has done a great job as a small, independent campervan hire in Auckland. 

From the Agency

EPIC Campers is a boutique campervan rental company, offering modern self-contained 2-person campervans for hire at an affordable price. We pride ourselves on exceptional personal service and high quality campervans, which are perfect for couples, two friends, or solo travellers. We have depots in Auckland and Christchurch, New Zealand. Get an instant quote on our website, or feel free to get in touch via phone or email. We hope to meet you soon!

Pros

  • Self-contained units
  • Personalized quality of service
  • Good reputation

Cons

  • One depot
  • Suitable for up to 2 people only
  • Limited fleet

Facilities

Branch Locations

See who else rents Campervans in the same cities

Instant Price Comparison

Just Got Questions? Want a Quote direct from the company?

Fill in this form to contact the Agency direct.

Write Your Own Review

Tell the world about your experience renting from this company
Roz. W - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Best decision to support local NZ small business"

  • Reviewed 4 days ago

Can't recommend EPIC Campers highly enough. Andy was fantastic to deal with and very accommodating. Having travelled NZ a couple of times in campers, the set up of the vans at EPIC is ingenious. Everything has a place which makes it easy to keep organised, yet the van was small enough to go over the hills and park in towns without any issue. Perfect for our 2 month trip. Perfect van, perfect service. So glad we could use our money to support a small local NZ business through these challenging times. Infinitely better experience than the big name motorhome rental companies we have used in the past.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
L. O'Donnell - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Epic Campervan Experience"

  • Reviewed 1 week ago

I sincerely hope that Epic Campers survives the world shutdown of tourism due to Covid-19 as they certainly deserve to. Their level of service stands out way above other companies and they have done a fine job of converting their small vans into very comfortable campers. I did a lot of research and read many reviews by fellow travellers before booking my van for a three week solo adventure. I am so pleased that I decided to choose Epic Campers.

They exceeded my expectations and I wouldn’t consider any other company for future travels in New Zealand. Andy, the owner, genuinely cares about his clients and does everything he can to ensure a memorable road trip. He is easy to communicate with, both before and during your van rental, and thorough in acquainting you with your home on wheels before you head off.

The interior layout is cleverly designed, thoughtfully considered and easy to live in. My van “The Voyager” was spotlessly clean inside and out. It’s compact design wants for nothing and is very easy to drive on New Zealand’s winding and sometimes narrow roads and to park. If you are looking for a small self-contained van to tour New Zealand and have found Epic Campers, consider yourself fortunate. They are definitely the company to book.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
S. Hughes - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Best decision I made for NZ!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Renting a van through Epic was one of the best decisions I made for my NZ trip. It was all slightly last minute and Andy was super accommodating, understanding and helpful in planning and getting it all sorted! Having a pickup/drop off in Christchurch made for an easy transition and the van itself was clean and functional and actually ridiculously comfortable to sleep in! Despite some pesky bugs on the first few nights camping in Arthur's Pass and a couple of rainy hikes, visiting NZ is up there with one of the best adventures I've ever taken. Traveling solo isn't for everyone and isn't always easy, but this van was the perfect thing to make it all come together. It was really good on fuel and super easy to put the bed up and down if you just wanted to sit rather than lay down for lunch and the weather was bad. NZ is amazing, the people are unreal and you feel like your constantly driving inside a postcard. I couldn't recommend Epic more, plus, the outside paint job means it actually looks quite groovy in pics. Thanks again team Epic

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
A. Gibb - avatar not loaded
, New Zealand
1 Review

"Epic Holiday"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Epic camper experience was incredible! Andy was so attentive, professional and accommodating throughout our whole trip. The attention to detail with the camper fit out was amazing, which made our vacation all the more enjoyable. We couldn't recommend Epic Campers enough and will be using them again for any future trips around our beautiful country.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
L. Salerno - avatar not loaded
, Australia
1 Review

"Epic Campers"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just wanting to thank you Andy and the team at Epic Campers for the use of Bessie, a fantastic little camper. We had a great time. We loved the fact that Bessie was smaller than most campers but definitely large enough to provide us with a very comfortable home for our 10 nights. She had plenty of room, was great to drive and easy to park.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
E. Atwood - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Amazingly EPIC!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Andy and crew are the very best! We visited New Zealand with our two year old from Alaska and Andy made it possible to comfortably camp in a van for 2 months!!! With a TODDLER!!! Everything about the van was clean and proper and beyond expectations. Andy made sure we had everything we needed and communicated promptly when necessary. I can’t say enough good things about the crew and the fleet! They care about you and you will not be disappointed camping with Epic. Aptly named for a super rad company!!! Thanks Andy! Cheers ?

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
M. Pichler-Scheder - avatar not loaded
, Austria
1 Review

"Truly EPIC experience"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our campervan rental with EPIC campers was the most exceptional experience and gave us the opportunity to explore New Zealand the best way possible. Andy of EPIC campers was very helpful from the start - our options, additional equipment, functionality of the van and pricing was clear. We exchanged multiple e-mails with additional questions, and even asked if we could borrow some kitchen equipment before our rented trip, and Andy was always quick to reply and helped us out a lot. When starting our trip he took the time to explain everything, make sure all equipment was working and we knew how to operate it. You really feel that he wants to have his customers to have a good experience. The van turned out to be perfect for our purposes. We had originally planned to rent a larger vehicle including built-in kitchen and sanitary facilities with a different company, but in retrospect we are glad that we came across EPIC campers. During our trip we came across all sizes of campervans and often valued the flexibility that comes with a smaller vehicle. You can park in spots for regular cars, need less space on (sometimes) crowded campgrounds, and the van is easier (and faster) to drive on the curvy NZ roads. Since we wanted to see as much as possible in our four weeks trip, this was definitely a bonus. And: not to forget - the EPIC camper was WAY cheaper than the campervans with built-in shower and kitchen. In comparison with the other option we were looking into, it was less than half the price. Despite being small, it had everything we needed. We had mostly nice weather, so we enjoyed cooking at the back of the vehicle, the power converter and multiple USB outlets helped us charge our phone, camera batteries and other electronics, and sleeping was super cosy. Vans are well designed for optimum use. For the saved $ we could regularly stay at the nicest campgrounds so we never felt we were missing anything. Would rent with EPIC campers again anytime.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J. boissevain - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Epic Campers was TRULY EPIC!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great little camper! We had an Epic Camper for 2 Months everything worked perfectly. Cooking facility that pulls out the back is great quality and is so ideal, life made so easy (great crockery to!). Andy is super helpful and prepares everything for your arrival! Not far outside auckland airport quick Zoomy/taxi to collect your van. Couldn't recommend Andy and his Epic Campers enough.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
S. - avatar not loaded
, Switzerland
1 Review

"Best Campervan rental of New Zealand"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After we've read the references of three campervan companies which offered us a van for a cheap price we almost cancelled our plan to rent a vehicle in NZ as the comments written were mostly bad. It looked like the chance to have a good experience was around 50/50. Then Andy from Epic Campers sent us a very kind message with an offer that was a bit higher than the other three mentioned above.

But after comparing references and vehicle we realized that renting a van from Andy will assure a positive renting- experience. And it truly was like that. As my wife and me traveled with our few month old daughter he offered us the Toyota Hiace which is slightly longer than his other campervans and in this van it is also possible to put a baby seat in the front. The bed was very comfy and the vehicle was equipped with everything you need for sleeping, cooking and washing dishes.

The vehicle was in a very good shape and it was a pleasure to drive it. As it's a small company you've direct contact with the owner (Andy) who is a sympathetic guy taking good care of his vehicles. If you're looking for a hassle-free rental don't hesitate to go for Epic Campers. In case the offer should be higher than from other companies don't worry because you get what you pay for. I recommend to have an insurance that covers the excess of his insurance. We had a chipped stone in the windscreen and signed only for the basic insurance of Epic Campers. We payed Andy for the damage and reclaimed the cost successfully from our travel insurance (Zurich). Make sure that they also cover campervans/motorhomes

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
J. Wood - avatar not loaded
, United Kingdom
1 Review

"Epic campers, epic service, epic times. The only hire company with transparent pricing!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our experience of Epic Campers was awesome, from beginning to end. Andy was so helpful, right through from enquiry to saying goodbye to our beloved van, Phoebe. The vans themselves are great - they've clearly put lots of thought into the design of the interior, and the extra touches like the delicious coffee they provide, to the windscreen chip repair kit (which was an absolute lifesaver for us) make a big difference. Whenever we had questions, we got a reply straight away.

We looked at lots of other hire companies and we felt that the pricing was very vague and what actual van you would end up with was a mystery - with epic campers you know exactly what you are getting, and the pricing is really clear. I couldn't recommend them any more.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
K. H - avatar not loaded
, Canada
1 Review

"Highly Recommended!"

  • Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I rented a campervan from Andy based on a friend’s recommendation and I couldn’t have been happier! The vans were clean and organized with the layout well thought out. They also thought of everything you might need for your travels from a coffee press to salt and pepper. I had a great time exploring in the van and it wouldn’t have been possible without the hard work from Andy and his team. I wouldn’t hesitate to rent from them again in the future!

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value
C. Salas - avatar not loaded
, United States
1 Review

"Awesome Camper !"

  • Reviewed 10 months ago

Having an Epic Campervan was a great experience. We were able to set the pick up and drop off hassle free. The van had a lot of amenities that made out while trip easier, like a converter plug that allowed us to charge our computer and camera batteries wherever we were. The benefit to hire a van from a family owned business is that you are dealing directly with them, and they will make sure to help you as best as they can.

5Service 5Mechanical 5Interior 5Value